About Neat

Neat's all-in-one small business accounting and bookkeeping software replaces the guesswork of spreadsheets, handwritten records, and manual invoices. Increase efficiency with real-time reporting, mobile receipt capture, fuss-free customer billing with online payments, and more. Perfect for small teams, add up to five users to one account. Access unlimited, personalized support. 30-day money back guarantee. Try for free today!
Neat Software - 1
Neat Software - 2
Neat Software - 3
Neat Software - 4
Neat Software - 5
Neat Software - 1 - thumbnail
Neat Software - 2 - thumbnail
Neat Software - 3 - thumbnail
Neat Software - 4 - thumbnail
Neat Software - 5 - thumbnail

Neat pricing

Neat does not have a free version but does offer a free trial. Neat paid version starts at US$288.00/year.

Starting Price:
US$288.00/year
Free Version:
No
Free trial:
Yes

Alternatives to Neat

QuickBooks Online Advanced

QuickBooks Online Advanced is a cloud-based accounting solution that helps small to large enterprises manage expenses,...

Neat Reviews for UK Users

Feature rating

Value for Money
3.7
Functionality
3.8
Ease of Use
4.0
Customer Support
3.6
5 reviews of 100 View all reviews
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
0
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 20/11/2018

EXCELLENT tool for a common paper hoarder!

Only scanner that I have used or will use due to how easy it is.

Pros

The scanner that works with this software is easy to use and easy to install.

Cons

Sometimes there are connection issues. Overall, it's workable

Response from Neat

Thank you for the positive review! We are happy to hear that you are enjoying the software and Scanner provided. Thank you for choosing Neat!

Replied 26/11/2018
Barry
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
0
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
2

5
Reviewed on 28/08/2020

when you no longer need it they extort you to pay to keep access to your receipts and documents

Worked fine but have to pay for service I don't need to keep data

Pros

Easy to use, fast, quick accurate. Could scan receipts as I get them, and toss the paper

Cons

I have used NEAT since it was Neat Receipts. The idea is to scan documents and receipts, or photograph them, so you can be paperless.

It worked fine, and I have thousands of receipts stored. Except…….now comes “Extortion” from the company.

After Covid and retirement, I no longer need their services. So, I wanted to end my monthly subscription. However, unless I continue paying, I don’t have access to the receipts and documents I have scanned.

So, if I get an IRS audit, or need other documentation that has been scanned, I can’t access them unless I continue to subscribe to their service. So even if I don’t need their services anymore, I have to pay for them.

They offered me the option of downloading each receipt one at a time. Thousands of receipts. Not reasonable. And they cannot be downloaded in a batch.

I’ve been a client of theirs for many years, possibly over a decade or more, I purchased 3 scanners from them (no longer usable due to updates, which happens as technology progresses), but now I’m being extorted out of money for perhaps 7 years (based upon IRS rules for keeping receipts).

It is an outrage, and might I suggest that while you might feel your data is safely stored, you can’t have it once you don’t need their services anymore.

I contacted an attorney to find out if they are required by law to give me access to my data.

Thanks for listening to my warning.

Response from Neat

Thank you for submitting a review!
As stated, when you no longer pay for your subscription, you do not have access to the software. We do apologize that bulk downloading is not a feature that is currently available. Please follow the steps within this article to access any PDFs of your receipts that are store onto your computer - https://support.neat.com/smartorganizationsystem/access-local-pdfs-of-all-neat-cloud-images-offline
When signing up for a Neat subscription, you agreed to the terms and conditions which state that if you cancel your subscription with the Neat company, access to the software will be denied. We apologize for any confusion caused.

Replied 14/09/2020
David
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 08/05/2019

Neat used to be cutting-edge, but it's become very mediocre in recent years

After wasting way too much time over several years to get their system to work properly, I finally realized that I'd been giving into a sunk cost fallacy. After dozens of additional crashes during the 2019 tax season, I had finally had enough and cancelled my account. As a parting shot to customers leaving their platform, they also don't refund prepaid subscriptions after 30 days, so beware signing a long-term contract if you're testing it out!

Pros

I used their products for about 10 years and recommended many users to them over the years. Their scanners and OCR scanning abilities used to be top-notch.

Cons

Their quality and support has continued to degrade over the last several years, as they've moved to a paid SaaS product from a hardware-focused company and stopped producing their NeatDesk scanners. Since then, the relational database functionality the system used to provide has been largely removed and the accuracy of their OCR scanning has somehow gotten progressively worse over the years. In fact, their Mac app has occasionally been unusable for months at a time and the Web app doesn't allow you to sort tables with more than 200 records! The reporting functionality often breaks (it took dozens of attempts to get a series of partial exports when I stopped using the platform).

Response from Neat

Thank you for submitting a review!
We appreciate the feedback that you have provided. It seems that you are speaking of our Legacy software that has been retired for quite a few years now. We do apologize that you have not enjoyed the current product but we are gearing up for the release of a new product that will have many new features and features that are similar to the Legacy version as well. Additionally, when signing up for a subscription the terms and conditions state the refund policy which is why you were not granted refund after 30 days. We appreciate you being a long term customer and hope to see you back with Neat!

Replied 09/05/2019
Yvonne
Yvonne
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 19/07/2018

I like Neat Receipts -their customer service needs improvement. Very hard to get them on the...

I love the fact that i don't have any paper receipts all over my office.

Pros

I can scan receipts easily. I can find a receipt when I need it. I record expenses easily. It gets rid of having paper receipts all around.

Cons

Their customer service needs improvement. They are not easily available to help with technical support. I pay per month for cloud service and sometimes I need help

Response from Neat

We are sorry to hear that you had difficulties in reaching our technical support department. Our Tech support department is available M-F 9am . - 8pm eastern time. Please note that our automated system will attempt to look you up by telephone number first, so to make it easier to reach technical support please make sure you provide the telephone number that you registered with. We also offer support via email and chat.

Replied 23/07/2018
Amy
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
0
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
0

4
Reviewed on 02/12/2018

Great with some bugs

Pros

I like that we have a scanner... and when it works it works well. It integrated with Box which allows me to upload files into my EHR from my computer or my iPad which is nice.

Cons

The scanner works 70% of the time. The other 30% we have to shut it off then turn it back on. It’s irritating. Customer service hasn’t been much help.

Response from Neat

Amy,
We appreciate the time you have taken to write a review! We apologize for the difficulties you have experienced with your scanner. When you do come across any issues using your scanner device, please reach out to out help center here - https://support.neat.com/

We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed using the products for the amount of time that you have!
Thank you for choosing Neat!

Replied 03/12/2018

Related categories