About Lightyear

Lightyear is a cloud-based accounts payable solution designed to help businesses automate data entry by extracting details from invoices, credit notes, bank statements and receipts, streamline approvals through customizable workflows and maintain a record of outstanding amounts. Features include messaging, audit trail, statement reconciliation, multi-currency and duplicate auto-flagging. The application's rules automation feature enables accountants to automatically assign line items with general ledger (GL) codes, tax rates, categories or departments. Finance professionals can check product prices against the verified supplier pricing and route bills to relevant approvers. The dashboard lets supervisors view the number of bills processed, signed off, reviewed or awaiting approval. Lightyear offers integration with various third-party applications such as Abcom, MYOB, Xero, Sage 50, Fuelsoft and more. It comes with mobile applications for iOS and Android. It is available on monthly subscriptions and support is provided via documentation, live chat and phone.
Lightyear Software - Lightyear receipt upload
Lightyear Software - Lightyear user management
Lightyear Software - Lightyear signed off bills
Lightyear Software - Lightyear dashboard
Lightyear Software - Lightyear receipt upload - thumbnail
Lightyear Software - Lightyear user management - thumbnail
Lightyear Software - Lightyear signed off bills - thumbnail
Lightyear Software - Lightyear dashboard - thumbnail

Lightyear pricing

Lightyear does not have a free version but does offer a free trial. Lightyear paid version starts at US$79.00/month.

Starting Price:
US$79.00/month
Pricing Details:
Lightyear is available across 3 pricing tiers: Starter, Business, Enterprise. Pricing starts at $79/per month and scales with each tier, outlined below: Starter - $79/month - Unlimited Users - Unlimited Sub-entities Business - $179/month - Unlimited Users - Unlimited Sub-entities - Purchase Orders - Good Receivable Notes - Inventory Management Enterprise - $1,099/month - Unlimited Users - Unlimited Sub-entities - Purchase Orders - Good Receivable Notes - Inventory Management - Dedicated Account Manager - White Labelling Capabilities
Free Version:
No
Free trial:
Yes

Alternatives to Lightyear

Dext Prepare

Accountants make better businesses. At Dext, we give accountants, bookkeepers and businesses powerful tools that...

Hubdoc

Hubdoc handles the complex process of manual data entry by business owners using spreadsheets. Simply snap paper...

Medius

Medius AP Automation (MediusFlow) is a cloud-based Accounts Payable (AP) automation solution that helps control cash,...

PaperSave

PaperSave is a hybrid document management solution (DMS) that offers automated electronic workflows and transactions...
Xero is an accounting system designed for small and growing businesses. Xero connects small businesses with their...

AutoEntry

AutoEntry is an automated data entry platform designed to help accountants and bookkeepers with automatically capturing...

Lightyear Reviews for UK Users

Feature rating

Value for Money
4.8
Functionality
4.8
Ease of Use
4.9
Customer Support
4.9
5 reviews of 121 View all reviews
Megan
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
0
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/06/2020

Time Saver

Using Lightyear eliminates the overhead of a staff member and risk of manual data entry errors. Saves time and money for the business

Pros

- Ease of access for different managers to approve their own departments invoices
- ability to bring up old invoices as a click of a button
- quick turn around from customer service team
- Data interpretation to avoid data entry errors
- Access 24/7 anywhere in the world

Cons

Phone app does not have all the same capabilities as the website, waiting for further updates.

Evette
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/07/2022

Highly Recommended - A Cost Effective Solution and Amazing Customer Service

I wish we had moved to Lightyear a long time ago, it's a simple solution to a time consuming process.
Customer service has been second to none - from the start of demonstrations to ongoing support (which we rarely use now) the service has been 10/10!

Pros

Complete visibility across supplier invoices either via the dashboard as a quick view or in detail across all stages of approvals. This is especially helpful at the end of the month to see if all invoices have been through the entire approval process and exported to our accounting system before close off.
Search functionality is helpful and shows which stage of the process each invoice is at - search results can be exported.
The audit trails and notes show full history of the life of the invoice and save a lot of external communication and queries.
Implementation was easy after the demonstrations given to us by [SENSITIVE CONTENT] who took the time to understand what we wanted (which was a little bit out of the ordinary!) and configure the settings accordingly. We gained confidence in Lightyear through the demonstration/training process and the additional webinars.

Cons

Looking forward to enhancements to the mobile app to allow more functionality while on site.

Michael
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 09/01/2019

Failure

Terrible is all i can say to be honest

Pros

Nothing to like about light year it is doesn’t work simple

Cons

Slow, Unstable, inaccurate ocr of invoices causing excessive manual re-entry of invoices, customer support non existent as they can’t do anything as it is a terrible system I have waited for improvements over the last 3 months they haven’t happened stay from lightyear find something else

Response from Lightyear

Hi Michael, Thank you for the feedback. I've reviewed your history on our system and I believe you were using our system in the early days whilst it was still in Beta and were also having some connection issues with internet speeds. I'm sorry you didn't have a great experience with the product, certainly not what we strive for at Lightyear.

Lightyear is now in full release and has been receiving great reviews all round with a much improved user experience and speed. Our team would be very happy to spend some time with you and show you the product now if you like. Just drop the team a line if so.. Many thanks, Chris.

Replied 08/01/2020
Claire
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/07/2022

Charity Lightyear User

Its been a fantastic experience with high quality customer support and attentive account manager. It was refreshing that they have delivered the product that was sold to us. The fact that there is so much product development and opportunities to feedback means that you feel important as a customer.

Pros

The ease of use is exceptional and has made the implementation easy for our organisation. End users have said how much they love the product and all our admin teams and managers have embraced the change which is fantastic. It means that the finance team now have full visibility of where there are backlogs in invoices being sent in for payment which helps when suppliers have queries. The audit trail and approval listing is fantastic.

Cons

It may have helped to get some more feedback from a similar organisation on how they adapted their processes to fit in with Lightyear but the Lightyear team is very helpful and patient so we got up to speed quickly .

Rachael
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 27/07/2022

Time Saver

Charlie has been great and customer service has been very quick in replying and solving questions. Approval processing is working well, overall happy.

Pros

The Manager function has worked well for us as we have offices in different locations which has made the approval of invoices more efficient.
Easy to see where the approval process is up to.
Exporting invoices to our accounting system is great.
Also like the audit trail feature.

Cons

We haven't used the PO system yet but looking forward to the enhancements that will suit the way we use them. Yes they have listened to us and adding options to suit our business.

Related categories