4.5
Overall rating
Reviews

4.5
Overall rating
Reviews

About Intercom

Intercom is the only complete Customer Service solution that provides a seamless customer experience across automation and human support, delivering increased customer satisfaction while reducing costs. We're building a future where most customer conversations are successfully resolved without needing human support, freeing up your team to work on higher value customer conversations.
Intercom Software - The Intercom Messenger
Intercom Software - Support Bots
Intercom Software - Advanced Ticketing
Intercom Software - Shared Inbox
Intercom Software - In-product Engagement
Intercom video
Intercom Software - The Intercom Messenger - thumbnail
Intercom Software - Support Bots - thumbnail
Intercom Software - Advanced Ticketing - thumbnail
Intercom Software - Shared Inbox - thumbnail
Intercom Software - In-product Engagement - thumbnail

Intercom pricing

Intercom does not have a free version but does offer a free trial. Intercom paid version starts at US$39.00/month.

Starting Price:
US$39.00/month
Free Version:
No
Free trial:
Yes

Alternatives to Intercom

Airship

Airship is a customer engagement solution, which enables businesses in media, retail, finance, airline, telecom and...

JIRA Service Management

Formerly known as Jira Service Desk, Jira Service Management is an IT service management solution that unlocks...
Gist is a cloud-based help desk platform that helps small to large enterprises manage customer queries and streamline...
Brevo is a cloud-based email marketing tool suited for organizations of all sizes. It offers marketing automation,...
Pendo is a product management solution that helps businesses in educational technology, healthcare and financial...

Confluence

Confluence is a project management solution that enables organizations to create, collaborate, organize and review...

Intercom Reviews for UK Users

Feature rating

Value for Money
4.0
Functionality
4.4
Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Support
4.3
5 reviews of 1,042 View all reviews
Jennie
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 15/10/2019

A Great Lead Capture

Makes customer communication and customer acquisition easier. I wish the chat flows were more advanced and customizable. There was definitely a learning curve with the chat flows. Also, I don't believe I can export contact information with my leads.

Pros

-Capturing emails and names
-Integrating to Hubspot and other software for easy lead closure
-Creating chat flows allows us to communicate to customers faster and saves us time

Cons

-Would like to combine actions on Intercom
-Hubspot Integration is not perfect; would like to have specific field matching
-Chat flow capabilities are limited

Alternatives Considered

HubSpot Marketing Hub and LiveChat

Reasons for Choosing Intercom

We were on a free plan with LiveChat for a year because we were part of an Incubator. When the year ended, we wanted to consider other options. Intercom gave us a startup plan, so it ended up being cheaper than LiveChat.

Switched From

LiveChat

Reasons for Switching to Intercom

Intercom was recommended to us from other entrepreneurs.
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 25/02/2021

Engagement with Customers is Great!

It is an easy choice if you want to create unique, engaging customer journeys! It also connects to many other tools, so it's a great addition to any software stack.

Pros

I like that we are able to gain insight, offer promos, convert leads, provide support, host a help center, and create unique customer journeys right from within one platform. The Inbox feature is very helpful in providing quick and easy support, especially when using the Intercom mobile app!

Cons

There are few things I would consider cons about Intercom. I wish they offered a bit quicker support, as I often wait a day to hear back, but it is a minor detail compared to the value we get from using the platform.

Alternatives Considered

Zendesk Suite

Reasons for Switching to Intercom

At the time, I believe Intercom had been around a bit longer, so offered features outside of just the support desk functionality.

Response from Intercom

Thanks for taking the time to leave us this review and let us know how Intercom is helping you create unique, engaging customer journeys as well as integrate so well with your existing etch stack :)

Thanks for your feedback regarding our support response times. These vary based on the urgency of the issue as well as plan, but we always aim to get back as soon as possible. I'll make sure to pass this feedback on to our team here.

Thanks again,
Kate (Intercom - Customer Engagement)

Replied 04/03/2021
Susanna
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
2
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 02/12/2020

Unreponsive and caused a severe service disruption

When COVID hit, we were evaluating our software solutions and inquired about switching from an annual contract to month-to-month. We asked what the changes to our pricing and feature suite would be if we moved forward with that change. We didn't get a response. Instead I received an automated email from their [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] that our contract was cancelled effective [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN]. We reached out and for several days, did not get a response. On September 17th, our service was completely halted in the middle of the workday. Our team was unable to respond to any customer tickets for the remainder of the day. When we finally did get a hold of someone, they told us they were switching us to month to month, just as we had asked. We were told that was a completely different business platform and required a transition. None of this was communicated to us prior to the (entirely preventable) service outage, and again, we were just inquiring about the options should we choose to switch. We lost our settings as well as a previously agreed upon pricing discount built into our contract when they made this change.

A manager was brought onto the phone and we were told they would get back to us with a concession because of the severe service disruption. We were never contacted again, until today when I was sent an email stating that they will not offer any concessions and they are sad to see us go, but that my Relationship Manager [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN], will no longer be available to me starting next week.

Pros

When we were first started using them, they were flexible, had great customer service, and seemed genuinely invested in helping us succeed.

Cons

Their customer service has been incredible poor. They caused a completely preventable service disruption that caused several hours of outage for our team, and have been difficult to get in touch with.

Response from Intercom

Hi Susanna,

I'm sorry to hear about your experience with Intercom - this is certainly not how we want our customers to feel.

I've taken a look through your account and can see there's an opportunity for us to more clearly communicate the necessary steps when changing billing models so you don't miss any steps. This is something that we're working on at the moment so I assure that your feedback will not go unheard. We never want an Intercom user to loose access to our tools as we recognize businesses rely on our services.

Our Relationship Managers work exclusively with customers on annual contracts so as you will be moving to a monthly model you will no longer have access to that team, however you will still have access to to our support team via the messenger. I do want to recognize that response times in previous months have not been where we'd like but we've made changes and are back on track now.

Thanks again for this post,
Kate (Intercom - Customer Engagement)

Replied 16/12/2020
Michelle
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 03/11/2023

Intercom is a helpful tool that can help your company expand

As the capabilities of Intercom become more widely understood, customer service can only improve. At the same time, my productivity in the office has increased because of my newfound familiarity with the team's workflow and methods. Using Intercom to log all of our communications has allowed us to work more efficiently, which has allowed us to serve our customers better.

Pros

Intercom's keyboard shortcuts are one of my favourite features, and they help make it a top-tier platform for efficient communication. By letting users include gifs, emoticons, photographs, and comments on conversations about any topic, it maintains a lively conversational atmosphere. It analyzes conversations and flags them as potentially repeated soon.

Cons

If you have a lot of active chats, the search function may take too long to return results when you need to find something specific quickly.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/02/2021

More than a messaging platform

We are using Intercom as our main costumer messaging platform in all our ends, from emails to customers to internal communications for our team. Intercom does everything in a neat and easy way.

Pros

In a few words, using Intercom is such a wholesome experience with zero to non competitor in the market who can compete with his top notch features and constant improvements. There is always something new in the works to make it even more useful.

Cons

The overall quality of the SaaS is very good, but the price you have to pay for everyone of the features is a bit too much compared to what is offered from the competition, don't get me wrong, being at the top of the list comes with a hefty price tag.

Alternatives Considered

Zendesk Suite

Reasons for Choosing Intercom

Our team needed a more robust messaging platform.

Switched From

HelpCrunch

Reasons for Switching to Intercom

While being a bit more expensier than the competition, the overall quality of Intercom's is hard to match.

Response from Intercom

Thanks so much for letting us know how Intercom is helping you manage your communications with your customers and teams.

Thanks too for you feedback regarding our pricing and packaging. Our aim is to align the price you pay to the value you see, and it's a difficult one to get this right for every type of business model. I'll make sure to pass your comments on to the right team.

Thanks again,
Kate (Intercom - Customer Engagement)

Replied 17/02/2021

Related categories