Productboard Reviews

4.7
Overall rating
Reviews

4.7
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Productboard

Productboard is the customer-driven product management system that empowers teams to get the right products to market, faster. It provides a complete solution for product teams to understand user needs, prioritize what to build...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.3
Features
4.3
Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Support
4.7

Browse Productboard Reviews

152 of 152 reviews
Sort by:
Andrew
Andrew
  • Industry: Venture Capital & Private Equity
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 04/11/2019

Curate your user feedback and manage your backlog

Pros

Productboard is an excellent tool to help you make sure your roadmap is driven by real user feedback and value to your customers.

Cons

Productboard is a fairly young company and is still building out some "no brainer" features, but they also release fantastic updates often!

Alternatives Considered

Jira , ProductPlan and Aha!
Jo
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 20/10/2023

So close to being a great product

I was the person that championed the implementation of productboard and I still really like it. But the lack of concerns for less "important" integrations and automation is making my life more miserable. I would love to continue using productboard but I am not sure if we can

Pros

1. Feedback management: we have found productboard's integration with intercom to be wonderful. They really nailed it with 95% of the features in Notes, especially for individual feedback. 2. love the diasctintion between maker and (free) viewers. This allowed us to roll out the tool to the entire company without incurring excessive costs. 3. We really like the portal feature but we are not using it yet.

Cons

1. Feature hierarchy is a difficult concept to grasp for new comers and gets messy. What I hate about the feature hiearachy is that there's not flexibility once you have listed something as a "product". You can't change it to a feature of a subfeature. This rendered us with a ginormous "product" with all features listed under one thing. integrations: 2. integration with any development platform that's not jira is completely useless. We use shortcut and we understand it's a small player and it's also fault on their part but the integration is utterly meaningless with the current state. We 3. Integration with zapier is also close to being useless given that the only trigger is "new note" or "new feature", and anything that's imported from an integration to be a new note is not editable. Why??? We would love to automate our workflow and centralize all research findings in productboard but these pain points are impossible to overcome. We are thinking about switching to something else just because of this. Honestly, if they just give us the option of another trigger event on zapier like change of status, we would already be so happy. 4. The research insights are only very qualitative focus and possibility for automation is low. It's funny that productboard owns satismeter but the satismeter integration is also not great. We ended up setting up our own satismeter integration through zapier. But, there's also no way for us to easily sort through low/high ratings or filter.

Alternatives Considered

ProductPlan

Reasons for Switching to Productboard

Feedback management, viewer option, and general usability is a bit better
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
N/A

2
Reviewed on 08/06/2023

Terrible Search, Terrible UI, Unstructured Data

Migrated from Canny to Productboard. Canny is far and above an easier to use, more pleasant, effective solution for feedback management

Pros

- Logging in with SSO integration was easy.- You can use it to capture product feedback, even though there are much better tools out there.- Integrates with Zendesk

Cons

Where to begin???- 3 different search boxes, no unified search.There's one search for views, one search for notes, and another for topics that notes are about.This makes it slow, and difficult to know what search to use at what time.- Data is unstructuredAs far as I can tell, notes don't seem to have ability to have custom fields. Leads to ton of unstructured and poorly searchable data.- The user interfaceThere's no hierarchy to data. The UI/views are overwhelming, and feel disorganized. It's like the worst email inbox or notes app imaginable for complex feedback + data.- Votes on product feedback populate as distinct notes Makes the already bad search even harder to use

Top Productboard Alternatives

Hayley
  • Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 29/10/2019

Great tool for centralising product information

Pros

A place to put all the feedback where it won't get lost and forgotten since it can be linked to specific features and used to inform planning.

Cons

Nothing major. There are features we'd appreciate in future like objectives on timelines, user story mapping, etc but they're not vital.

Switched From

Asana

Reasons for Switching to Productboard

It scored highest on our criteria and was better looking than our 2nd highest (Aha!). We prioritised for multiple views for different teams/people, visual prioritisation matrix, having Objectives as a standalone thing, feedback library and various integration needs. AirFocus scored as well on roadmap aspects but had no feedback functionality, the cost of standalone feedback tools ruled this out.
Steven
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 06/11/2019

Best software for Product Managers!

Problems business solved:
-Backlog centralization
-Prioritization decisions
-Roadmap visibility

Pros

I receive a lot of different input across many channels. With Product Board, I can use my Chrome extension and send everything there. Once a week a specific time is designated to search across all input and find the most valuable insights.
The flexibility is also a great benefit, I highly use custom tags and split different views based on our needs for prioritization decisions, market reach or competitors gap.
All our product management is around this tool.

Cons

Nothing particular, the team keeps adding great features on new releases.

Alternatives Considered

Jira

Reasons for Switching to Productboard

Product board is more specific to solve our needs.
Pieter
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 04/11/2019

Invaluable for those who really care about user input

Pros

Linking user insights to feature development; Making insights available to developers, designers and others that are working on a feature; Communicating the roadmap with users; Collecting insights from portal as well as other channels in one place."

Cons

It still lacks multi-language support (any other language than English) and the ability to directly interact with user insights.

Hartley
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 30/10/2019

Productboard review

We'll be using productboard for as long as our company is in business

Pros

Ability to create a home for product feedback

Ability to organise feedback against the product's hierarchy, which then completely objectifies what to build next -> productboard is the only product that can do this

Creating a publicly available portal

Cons

You can't automatically link your userbase and their orgs, meaning that you have to manually create a new organisation each time you receive feedback from a new company

The roadmapping section hasn't been great (no gantt view), however, it's about to be released

Gregory
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 05/11/2019

Best of breed Software

Pros

There is no better way to record your feedback and, more importantly, link your feedback to a feature that a user has asked for.

Also: the ability to strategically view all features is amazing.

Cons

There is no way to record conversations (actual audio) and save it.

Some of the filters are slightly confusing.

Andy
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/11/2019

Opinionated yet flexible

It's been great and has been helping my company stay aligned on product priorities.

Pros

Productboard has all the features you'd need for product management and those features can even act as a guide as to how you should be managing your product. It is also flexible enough to adjust to your workflow. I also like the ability to share features and get feedback internally and externally. The Gif feature is also really cool.

Cons

I wish there could be limited maker access since I have junior pms and product analyst that supports feature spec'ing but they don't own the process and it would not be a full-time job for them.

Alternatives Considered

Aha!

Reasons for Switching to Productboard

Ease of use, more supportive of agile, seemed to support my current process but had way more capabilities.
Rakesh
Rakesh
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 18/10/2022

A great bridge for bright product idea and its launchpad

Productboard allowed me to easily organize, understand, bucket feature requests and feedback the items from customers. As a project lead, I have to understand where the customers are facing difficulties and what additional features they might require. This software is really helpful in gathering insights and trend analyzing.

Pros

Productboard has a lot of built-in features (Objectives & Drivers) and is super simple to customize. It helps one in planning and prioritizing effectively. UI is very intuitive and clean, l personally feel good that they are always updating to the latest features based on users requests.

Cons

They are constantly bringing new features to meet the requirements of the users. However, the integration with the Gitlab has been missing is a setback for my project. Also, the upvoting features are little cumbersome to use.

Alternatives Considered

Jira and Notion

Switched From

monday.com
Alex
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 01/08/2022

Great for iterating on customer feedback

Productboard is a great tool for software companies looking to build a process around their customer feedback.

Pros

Productboard's insights are a great way to process customer feedback and group that feedback into actionable features for our engineering team. The user impact score helps us prioritize this feedback based on needs, and when a feature is complete we can circle back to the insights and see everyone who requested the feature.

Cons

Sometimes the customization options can be overwhelming. It would be nice to have a templates feature that lets you reuse certain processes & functionality between views. I sometimes think I'm doing something the 'wrong' way because there are so many ways to accomplish it.

Alternatives Considered

monday.com , Asana and Notion

Reasons for Switching to Productboard

Productboard had the best approach to high-level feature planning, and it has a clear process for managing customer feedback. The Azure Devops integration is a nice bonus.
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 24/10/2019

Life saver for product managers everywhere

Pros

Product board is an easily-navigable single source of truth for all product ideas along with a single source for all product feedback. Saves so much time and hassle for product managers whilst bringing together all stakeholders from around the business.

Cons

Can't really think of anything to be honest.

Alternatives Considered

Craft.io

Reasons for Switching to Productboard

ProductBoard is flexible so I didn't feel locked into a specific workflow. I could make ProductBoard work for me.
Will
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 18/12/2019

Fantastic way to communicate and manage your roadmap

I have worked with productboard at multiple companies, and it's always been received well. People like the feel and organization of it and how much of the process it can help with; parts that just don't get enough attention with other products.

Pros

The best part about productboard is how teams can vet and plan improvements to their products based on how much those improvements support and achieve a company's objectives. It's so easy to get things in, annotated, and shaped that you actually do it; you don't just say you will eventually.

To start, you can use just the parts that are the most important to get up and running, and then you can use more of it as your team begins to integrate productboard into their process. And it's not hard work to get your ideas and backlog in and move forward—it's cathartic.

Cons

The biggest thing for me is performance. Sometimes some parts of the UI feel a little sluggish when lots of items are displayed and clicks get delayed. It would also be a little nicer to have the Drivers feature available at the lowest level of pricing.

Guy
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 07/11/2019

One of my favorite tools

Reallt great

Pros

helps with roadmapping and input management. Help me organize, explain my priorities, and share internally.
They are also an example of how product mgmt should be - from new features, communication of value, ux and more

Cons

Slightly hard to get started. Might create duplications with Jira and other tool. Great for PMs but not always for the rest of the team

Alternatives Considered

Airtable

Reasons for Switching to Productboard

Just better
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 18/12/2019

Very powerful tool

Pros

I love that with Productboard you can collect all the customer feedback easily and customize it according to your needs. Thanks to this, it's easy to see what should be implemented first and which requests can wait

Cons

It can be a bit overwhelming at the beginning as it has a lot of different functionalities. However, [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] was amazing on the calls and explained to us how everything works.

Alternatives Considered

ProdPad

Reasons for Choosing Productboard

Price, UX of the tool, integrations

Switched From

ProdPad
Angie
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 30/11/2022

Product-led platform, built for PMs

Pros

As PMs know, the key is getting lots of insights then filtering down into the ones that bring about actual value. Productboard enables everyone in the company to contribute ideas and insights. Once PMs have done prioritization, they can visualize the plan in multiple dynamic roadmap dashboards. Overall this works well as a product-focused tool which can also integrate with other systems.

Cons

Feature-wise it's still a bit sparse. From an insight perspective, it would be nice to add constraints or templates to help structure the feedback. This would help when pruning the backlog of items.

Miroslav
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 24/10/2019

Amazing helper for every organization1!

Pros

- central location for gathering all your product feedback from several locations
- easy collaboration with a team (e.g. comments)
- data driven decision support (e.g. user impact score, driver impact)
- roadmap preparation capabilities

Cons

There are definitely minor thing to improve, but nothing that would prevent us from using the tool efficiently. Really, we love using Product Board on a daily basis.

Victor
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 06/07/2017

Our new product goldmine!

Better customer insights. Raw feedback that even developers can read about. Centralised team ideas.

Pros

We love using the feedback highlighter tool to link it to features and components, this is such a flawless function!
The custom views you can get on the different sections of the product really make our jobs easier.
You can really deep dive into your target groups preferences, understand the major needs and remove unnecessary noise. The progress of the features is easy to track and to share with stakeholders.

Cons

On Firefox, there is a very slow scrolling speed when all features are expanded, which can be frustrating. Also, the fact that there are only one-way integrations with Trello and Github makes us create many duplicate features.

Alejandro
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 10/11/2022

Great product and market leader for a reason

Pros

It's a very easy to use product while still providing very robust functionality

Cons

There have been some features that we've missed and some integrations that would help a lot with our specific workflow, like with Asana, for example.

Alternatives Considered

Craft.io and Aha!
Tobias
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 06/11/2019

Great for planning, prioritizing and communicating product development

Planning, prioritizing and communicating product development across many individual products / modules.

Pros

Higher level planning of product features with details in Jira. Ability to link stages (e.g. Design, Dev) to their individual Jira Epics. Communication of Roadmap and easier prioritization and capacity planning. Link customer feedback to Features.
Great and responsive customer support when it's needed.

Cons

Somewhat high price per admin user. We'd add more users at a different price point.

Sefi
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 04/11/2019

A great tool to stay on top of feedback channels

Pros

Productboard takes the vague notion of “users are asking for it” and translates it to something much more actionable - who exactly asked for it and in what context.

Cons

Productboard has a zapper integration but I still wish they had some more built-in integrations.

Matt
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 25/10/2019

Designed for product leaders

UX is great. Functionality feels like it was designed just for me. Love it.

Pros

With ProductBoard I am able to organize the team from the product vision down, in a way that is specific to the focus of product leaders. It's not a bottoms-up task organization tool - it's built to help build products.

Cons

I would like a little more hierarchy and better 2-way integration with tools like Jira.

Zachary
Zachary
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 04/12/2018

Giving Product Managers much needed structure

Pros

- All the tools you would want as a product manager (user research collection, prioritization, feedback dashboards).
- Fantastic UX that's very simple to use.
- Great scoring mechanisms
- Integrations are getting stronger!

Cons

I've been a long time user so most of the things I liked least are start to/have been fixed. I can't think of anything off the top of my head that I like the least?

Perhaps having more browser based extensions for users to submit feedback? Currently limited to Chrome.

Elizabeth
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 15/10/2019

Use it everyday and I love it

We are using it to sort and manage all of our customer feedback into categories which has been great since we get dozens of feedback a week in all types of categories.

Pros

It is really easy to use and navigate around. When I was first introduced to this, it took me no time to pick it up and get used to everything on the platform. It's so great at organizing. Would not know what to do without this!

Cons

I have been using this for 7 months now and I don't have a single thing that I can think of that I don't like about it.

Andrew
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 23/12/2019

Amazing Flexibility and Customer Service

I was trying to produce a centralized product backlog and tool for managing the development of requirements through to hand-off to the Dev team.
Additionally, I was looking for a way to communicate the product roadmap to clients. ProductBoard rocked this requirement!

Pros

I love the flexibility of the product. Whenever I have had a need that I think did not quite fit - the team has been able to show me how I can configure the product to meet my request.

The customer service is fantastic! Response time has always been incredible. They also seem to take suggestions for new features and improvements seriously. Sharing their product roadmap with their customers (using their tool to do it) really shows the power of using their tools.

Cons

The only thing I would say is a 'con' so far is that their exports could be improved. This is on their product roadmap though.

152 reviews