User Reviews Overview

About IBM Cognos Analytics

Cognos Analytics is an upgrade to Cognos Business Intelligence (Cognos BI). By adding cognitive guidance, a web-based interface and new data visualization features, Cognos Analytics provides self-service analytics to large and...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3.5

Browse IBM Cognos Analytics Reviews

119 of 119 reviews
Sort by:
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 07/10/2020

Enterprise Reporting and Analytics Tool

It has been a solid tool for our company for last so many years. IT meets out current needs in terms of performance and capabilities. However, as we start exploring more cutting edge technologies like cloud, SAAS and Advanced Analytics, we see the tool is not in the top 3.

Pros

Well established took with huge user base and support. Being IBMs main BI tool, it comes with a lot of Support and Knowledge Base. There are tons of supporting products for Advanced Analytics, Visualization and AI/ML which makes the tool both powerful and versatile. It fits into both departmental BI as well as for Enterprise wide reporting.

Cons

IBM should increase the support the provide for their products. It is difficult to get quick help from IBM.Self service features of the tool and not as easy as other contemporary tools like Tableau and Qlikview. IBM has catching up to do in this area. Also cloud based SAAS is not yet advanced for COGNOS.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/10/2018

Business Intellegnce Software with Standard Reporting And Self Service BI

Overall it is a great product to use

Pros

Cognos Analytics is a flexible software for Standard Business Intelligence Reporting as well as for Self Service Data Visualization capability. You have the option to connect to a variety of the Data Sources as well as Multi-Dimensional Cubes. The new invention of Cognos Analytics software provides a greater flexibility for enterprise deployments and upgrades. It has the new feature of NLP (natural language processing) for predictive analytics by IBM Watson.

Cons

Too many modelling tools (Cognos FrameWork Manager, Dynamic Cube Designer, Cognos Transformer) for modelling the content. Too many studios (Report Studio, Query Studio, Analysis Studio and Event Studio) for report development. Maintainence and cost is huge

Luigi S.
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 15/01/2019

IBM Cognos 11 Analytics, the easy and reliable BI Tool

Pros

Reliability, easy of use, complete set of functions, integration with other web tools, security and maintenance

Cons

The price is not for small companies, the implementation of the whole functions always requires an expert

George H.
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 21/12/2019

IBM Cognos Analytics allows me to access our data warehouse

I mainly use it to get data from the customer information system. Cognos allows me access to customer information without getting access to the other system.

Pros

We use Cognos to access our customer info. The IT team set ups the report and we are able to export it for viewing and analysis. If built correctly, the reports can be easily run by the users. The users do need to know how to enter the parameters and known the data structure to fully utilitzed Cognos. We run Cognos through the browser. No need to install software.

Cons

Users need to understand the data structure in order to enter parameters. If the parameters are not entered correct, there will be no data, exports, or graphs. You also need to make sure the back-end servers are fast if you have a lot of data.

Ratnakar K.
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/10/2017

Best BI tool

Pros

Enterprise level BI implementation can be with less customizations. Can build robustic solution using product.

Cons

Most of small and medium size will not prefer this product because of the cost.
Real time analytics will not be available.

Ric D.
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3.5
Ease of Use
2.5
Customer Support
N/A

3.5
Reviewed on 24/04/2015

IBM Cognos Business Power

Pros

This software is very flexible and extensive enough to meet almost any of your needs. The reporting engine allows for complex queries and views that far surpass standard reporting methods.

Cons

While I was not involved in the purchase of the software it is my understanding the cost was a little high and this is not designed for novice users.

Nazeer S.
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 30/01/2017

One of the best report generating tools

It is easy to generate reports. Customized dashboards can be created for quick and usage. On demand menus for access to full capabilities. Easy to use. It is a good product.

Pros

Easy to create report

Rapid force T.
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/11/2016

COGNOS review

Cognos has performed splendidly, met and went well past our expectations. We use it for modeling, budgets, and forecasts. We exist in a sector with a lot volatility, so being flexible is everything.The architecture of the application can be tiered nicely for performance. This allows us to scale the application to support our growing user base. Cognos' mobile features are mature and we do use that as well.

Cons

Expensive product comparatively with other latest BI products in the market and revolving around BIG DATA.

Chaz B.
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 07/03/2018

Complicated but powerful

Pros

-can pretty much do anything you need
-backed by the mega corporation that is ibm
-has unlimited configurations

Cons

Very complicated to understand/ huge learning curve
Isn't able to accurately forecast how long it should take to run

Devesh S.
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

3
Reviewed on 13/12/2018

Good Reporting and BI Solution

Pros

Good performance and feature sets, easy to use functionality and get the ground running quickly for BI and reporting needs.

Cons

Requires technical and administrative knowledge to install, setup and create reports. Lack of integration capabilities to other third party products.

Juan N.
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 13/10/2016

A Complex BI Tool

I did not like the experience with this tool, I needed to develop a dashboard and it was really complex for me, it was not intuitive like other BI's that I've used, the interface looks old, probably it's because I'm used to work with newer technologies and Cognos seems to be in the past and it require more time in learning curve

Pros

Even when I did not use the OLAP connection I know is posible to do it and its a good advantage against other BI's, it has a great caipability to support big data models and for reporting purposes is a fine alternative. As an enterprise solution it will provide all the scalability and secutity that you'll need.

Cons

The process to develop a dashboard was not as quickly as I can do it with other tools, personaly it was not a pleasent experience, I'll have to spend more time and continue using it to see if eventually I find it better.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 02/02/2019

Cognos Analytics - Not up to competitors!

Pros

It comes installed with Cognos reporting.

Cons

A fraction of the functionality of all the other visualization tools.

Derek T.
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 07/10/2016

Integrated. Proven. Reliable.

Cognos suite of tools have always been good, but have evolved into an integrated solution that is second to none.

Parag M.
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 30/06/2015

Works mostly best for my needs

Pros

great user interface, better visualization, integration with custom APIs, several ways to interpret the data

Cons

fat installer, too many packages to install, needs better error reporting

Gary M.
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3.5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
2.5

3
Reviewed on 28/01/2015

Great for reporting, lacks in dashboarding

Pros

Users love it, but it has a steep learning curve.

Cons

It's a bit outdated in terms of GUI compared to BusinessObjects.

Ken K.
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 19/02/2019

IBM Cognos for corporate use.

Pros

Ability to find documents that are saved into the software. Ability to make team folders.

Cons

Time consuming when uploading documents. Hard to navigate at times when not familiar. Have to close one report and look up another.

Avineet A.
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 08/01/2020

New age and Traditional BI tool

Cognos is used for operational reporting and analytics and schedule reports to be sent via email to users on a duly basis. Used in mobile as well.

Pros

Cognos 11 comes with all the latest features expected in a BI tool, the graph generations and story buildings as well as predictions.

Cons

Interactive pdf is not available for reports. Can be difficult to implement without admin support for end users.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 10/01/2020

One Of The Best Self-service BI Software

one of the best complete solution for delivering insights from data at enterprise level

Pros

the powerful framework manager, allow us to implement complicated logic into model and deliver a package to end user, business user can do ad-hoc report easily.

Cons

steep learning curve for beginners. not mention people who doesn't have BI experience, Had a few new team members from tableau background. the FM package complexity is much more than they have done in the tableau data source.

Nabeel C.
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 18/11/2017

Cognos Review

Overall, if there is a company that wishes to automate it's reports and improve efficiency across their organization, Cognos is a must-have tool. There is a bit of upfront cost involved to get the reports created in Cognos but the efficiency achieved is almost unparalleled.

Pros

Cognos is an incredibly powerful reporting tool offered by IBM and it has a wonderful ability to be customized across different industries and companies. It can transform work efficiency but automating virtually any data that exists in a company's primary accounting and finance system.

Cons

Cognos is not very user-friendly and often times it can take a while for an individual working with Congos to get familiar with the functionality and the power this tool possesses. Furthermore, report writing and query studio functionality require some database knowledge so the true power of the tool is sometimes limited by these factors.

Alvaro R.
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 11/06/2017

The best software for business forecasts with functionalities for creating scenarios and...

TM1 allows you to build business models that display online results available to all authorized users of the organization.

Pros

IBM Cognos TM1 facilitates the creation of business models with the participation and contribution of users throughout the organization regardless of their physical location.
TM1 is a enterprise-level platform that allows an integral, flexible, rigorous and perfect control over the users that contribute with the creation of the budget.
It allows building multidimensional models that incorporate the business rules that govern the financial processes of the company.

Cons

IBM Cognos TM1 needs to train personnel to administer the platform.
The construction of the models requires specialized IT staff.
The cost of the licenses is for medium and large companies.

Elaine E.
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
1

4
Reviewed on 17/03/2018

Great capabilities, but really difficult to use practically.

Pros

Cognos Analytics has really great capabilities. There is so much that you can do with the framework if you know what you're doing. Good security features. Good for enterprise level reporting.

Cons

If you're hoping this will replace a dedicated reporting team or IT team, it will not. The ease of use depends on several factors and be SURE that you have an experienced team built the framework. No support whatsoever from Cognos themselves for end users, and they take a long time to get back to us on issues. The new visualizations can be clunky, especially maps. They are unusable for detailed maps. Scheduling features slow down the system considerably.

Natasha S.
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 23/08/2019

valuable yet expensive

overall its good and it is one of the initiators in the reporting market. We are still using it and find it quite useful to fulfill our client requirements.

Pros

you can combine multiple queries in one report to create your desired report, which can be formatted in multiple ways to meet your desired structure.

Cons

its little bit tricky to handle. You need to understand it thoroughly which actually takes time to began working with it from scratch. Also lacks the graphics and user interface.

Beena A.
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 26/02/2018

I feel Cognos is the best BI Product that I have come across.

Data Analytics, Dashboards, Complex KPI reports, Event studio objects

Pros

Very structured, Reporting features are very good and we can make use of various functions, Event studio tool is the most powerful.

Cons

I wish if natural language feature is added to Cognos. When it comes to the calculated fields we need to write functions in Cognos, but if IBM Cognos can make built in functions like Microsoft power BI then that would be awesome. High pricing is another factor.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 15/04/2019

Love it!

Pros

I love cognos. I can run any report, any time... past/present/future. So many options. Love the ability to create shortcuts to the reports I use on a daily basis as well. Quick & easy to use.

Cons

The only thing I don't like is the reports don't always give a good description before running them.

Worapot R.
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 12/05/2017

Good product for BI Tools.

Pros

I like the ability to create reports its has many functions ( Explore, Analysis, Report Studio, Event Studio).

Cons

I dislikes its. Because of so hard of setting page or design report page when it set wide and height.

119 reviews