User Reviews Overview

About xTuple

xTuple is Inventory Management Solutions for Manufacturers who want to GROW their Manufacturing Business. We're helping manufacturing and inventory-centric companies use management software and best practices to grow their...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

Browse xTuple Reviews

116 of 116 reviews
Sort by:
Carl E.
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

3
Reviewed on 12/07/2018

Sales/engineering involved with ERP use. Currently running 4.8.1. Previous system was ...

Pros

Has a Mac based client.

Has the option for on-site server or cloud server.

Highly customizable reporting capabilities. A decent amount of customizing interface windows. We have several very custom reports and some interface changes that have been made by a 3rd party developer.

A lot of features, some we're still learning to use in an optimal way.

Cons

The report editor is weak, at least up through 4.8.1.

Text boxes don't auto-wrap making form design difficult. This is a challenge even for our 3rd party developer that uses it all the time.

Not the most intuitive - interlinks between data sets is weak at best. Often we find ourselves needing to write somethings down from one inquiry to then go to the next, and the next to find what we need. MAS200 was much better in this regard.

Several accounting features that I do not use are also reported to have similar limitations as compared to MAS200.

No bug patches. Free updates while using the cloud sever are great, but any customization throws a slight wrench into that. Several bugs that we deal with have been fixed in newer versions but are not available as patches to our version. Since we have some significant customization, the actual upgrade cost keeps us from updating frequently.

Response from xTuple

RE: any difficulties you¿re experiencing with the OpenRPT report editor. If you need to learn more about building custom reports, we¿ve got some great classes and some free online resources at https://xTupleUniversity.com. Backporting bug fixes with patches can run you into all sorts of other problems related to required functionality that may not exist in older versions. It¿s like expecting to get an airbag in a `65 Mustang. Our best suggestion is let¿s help you upgrade to the latest version: https://xtuple.com/contact-professional-services -- Carolyn

Replied 02/08/2018
Verified Reviewer
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 28/06/2018

For someone who is not an accountant, the learning curve was steep. But in time, it became...

It forced me to learn true accounting principles, of which I still haven't mastered, but it's an ongoing experience. That, and the fact that it's free.

Pros

It's a true ERP/accounting software suite that covers all aspects of a business. There's no cheating when posting transactions. It forces you to get to know actual accounting principles and follow them.

I also like that it is platform agnostic. I prefer Linux to Windows, and the software runs on both. This versatility also runs to the database back end; I'm using PostgreSQL on Linux, which is quick and clean for my needs.

My accountant loves it, since it does what an accounting package is supposed to do, and not let me delete things if I screw up.

The entry-level offering, PostBooks, is free. You can request a free license key for up to four (4) users, running concurrently, which for small businesses or startups is fantastic! The database engine runs on a small server (Windows or linux), and users run the self-contained user interfaces from their desktops - no real installation needed there. If you wish to increase your footprint, additional licensing is available.

Forms and reports are fully customizable. With a little bit of time and motivation, you can create any form you wish and configure the environment exactly to your tastes.

Cons

It takes time to master the application if you are not familiar with accounting practices and principles. Being a small businessman who specializes in IT, I'm not accustomed to think in the ways of balancing buckets.

It's not Quickbooks (whatever that means). Office managers and financial people continually ask me why I should use something that's off the beaten path with respect to small businesses. Of course, I give them the reasons above. Needless to say, the argument inevitably comes back, "Quickbooks is still easier to use."

It's not easy to back out stupid mistakes. Again, this is an "operator issue". A non-accountant really needs to be trained properly to fully utilize the power of this application.

Response from xTuple

Thank you for your glowing review. What version of free PostBooks¿ are you on? Can you chat with xTuple¿s process guy? He'd be curious to know how you're using the system, to help inform others who are in similar businesses! Message us: https://xtuple.com/contact-marketing Be sure you've got the latest update for your software and renew your free license key: https://xtuple.com/products/postbooks/license-key-registration

Replied 09/02/2019
Lance K.
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 01/02/2019

review of ERP postqb rev 4.x

goal was to handle sales pipeline and contract manufacturing; sales people didn't like to use it. Free version is good value, but paid version is expensive when compared to competitive products.

Pros

multi-platform
customizable: forms and reports
structured work flow: modules link together properly (from sales to purchasing to inventory to manufacturing to shipments etc)
has expected and comprehensive list of data: AP, AR, INV, WIP, PO, Sales, Customers, etc

Cons

poorly integrated extensions (eg time and expense)
data entry forms are clunky for bulk entry
UX forms not consistent (over time the UX standards have changed, older forms have not been updated to use newer UX)
automation of import/export is clunky (it works, but not intuitive to configure)
chart of accounts and posting are very traditional approach, so cumbersome to fix data entry mistakes.
need manufacturing edition if doing manufacturing; base model has too many key manufacturing features disabled.

Response from xTuple

Thanks for reviewing our free PostBooks¿ product, Lance. Sounds like you may be using an older version? Be sure to get the latest update for your software and renew your free license key: https://xtuple.com/products/postbooks/license-key-registration P.S. Let us know how we can help with increased functionality you need.

Replied 07/02/2019
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 03/02/2019

xTuple ERP

We have put all of our ordering/manufacturing/accounting/finance functions on xTuple, including some company-specific functions that we built ourselves without consulting. We've been running the system for 7 years with great success.

Pros

Cost-benefit is off the charts. A full, highly complex, highly customized install of xTuple can be achieved at about 1/3 the cost of other proprietary systems.

The open-source environment allows a technically-inclined administrator with some programming experience to extend the software in business-specific ways without the use of high-cost consulting.

Tech support is great, and bug fixes often arrive in a couple of days after reporting.

Cons

The documentation provided for scripting is too heavily geared towards an experienced C/Qt programmer rather than a SQL programmer. There aren't enough specific scripting examples, and too many references to class libraries which don't make much sense to someone with no C/Qt background.

Response from xTuple

Thank you for a great review. What version of xTuple are you on? Can you chat with xTuple¿s process guy? He'd always looking for stories on how companies are using the system, especially about customizations, to help other similar businesses. We are also working on standing up a scripting library which might be of use to you. Feel free to contact us: https://xtuple.com/contact-marketing

Replied 07/02/2019
Daniel E.
  • Industry: Sporting Goods
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 29/06/2018

x-tuple works for our integrated mfg company. We would like better reporting and true backlash...

good standard costing, supports all business functions from finance to inventory to production to sales orders and shipping.

Pros

open source, reasonable features for the price, relatively stable running on our internal servers. Handles wide range of functions from finance thru to manufacturing. We would like better interfaces with ARENA solutions and with Pro-ship and ship station as well as Zen desk.

Cons

API's are poor - would be nice to make it easier to integrate with other packages like e-commerce, Zen-desk, shipping programs etc.

Response from xTuple

Thank you for your review and investment in xTuple Manufacturing. I believe you may be on an older version? Upgrading often addresses most concerns. Please chat with xTuple¿s professional team, they can help you set the system up just as you want https://xtuple.com/contact-professional-services. They may also recommend a class or direct you to some free online resources at https://xTupleUniversity.com.

Replied 12/02/2019
Mike B.
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 03/07/2018

xTuple user since 2013...highly recommend for a small distribution business

Pros

xTuple has proven reliable and highly adaptable to our evolving business model. We have been able to fully customize this ERP with little to no support (or billing) from xTuple.

Cons

You will need one superuser to customize and work with the xTuple support staff in order exploit the full functionality of this ERP.
xTuple needs to develop a smartphone app for warehouse functions.

Response from xTuple

Thank you for your great review and your customer testimonial at https://xtuple.com/products/xpress-distributor. If you're still on version 4.6, you might consider upgrading, and we're happy to help. Re: your suggestion to "develop a smartphone app for warehouse functions," our professional services team can help with that too! https://xtuple.com/contact-professional-services -- Carolyn

Replied 02/08/2018
April M.
  • Industry: Building Materials
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 03/02/2017

Incredible company to work with!

We have been utilizing xTuple ERP for 7 years and are extremely satisfied with the product, it's features, value and support. xTuple ERP is an extremely flexible and scaleable software that can be easily customized to fit your companies needs. We have added many features and customization over the years at a very reasonable price. xTuple is also easy to use, from report writing to every day use. The staff at xTuple are very knowledgable, approachable, quick to respond and generally just nice people to work with.

Pros

Ease of use, flexibility, easily customized, great price point

Cons

Limited CRM

Response from xTuple

Thank you, April, for your review and your investment in xTuple Manufacturing in the Cloud. ERP is the heart and lungs of any organization. We especially appreciate your work with us to improve CRM for major version release 5.0!

Replied 12/02/2019
Tom S.
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 16/02/2019

Xtuple review

It works well to manage the overall parts of the business.

Pros

Flexibility and customizable. The SW allows customization.

Cons

Flexibility and customizable. Sometimes it is necessary to write custom reports as the number of built in reports is minimal.

Response from xTuple

Thank you for your review - your comments are spot-on! "Flexibility & Customizable" can be both a pro and a con. Years ago, some ERP guy wrote a blog about modifying software, and the message was - just because you can, does it mean you should? We'd say yes, and no, it depends, and we have continuing education classes for that.

Regarding built-in Reports, there's no way to create enough specific to every business need/want. We do have an online course coming up April 15 on Custom Reporting (you may even have training credits to apply!). Let's get someone at your company signed up https://xtuple.com/training#upcoming-classes. We'll message you offline and connect you to your Account Manager.

Replied 25/02/2019
Denise C.
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
2

2
Reviewed on 02/07/2018

This program did not consult an accountant, there are so many flaws and issues that are...

Pros

The system is cloud based, and it allows a user to sort on screen in many columns. It's semi-easy to use and follow items for someone who understands accounting.

Cons

Issues are not always resolved timely. I am still waiting for a phone call from April 30, Customer support called once but I was in the NC office and I gave them my cell to call but it didn't happen. I put the information back into the customer support tab again on June 25th, today is July 2nd and it is still not resolved. I do not like when my AR and/or AP is out of balance. The reverse CM's do not always work. Printing an item from Xtuple is tricky, it does not always look like the screen, it adds items, deducts items and/or prints individual pages. Payables takes too many screens to do checks. We should be allowed to post zero dollar cash receipts, it happens in real life. It would be nice if you could void an invoice and/or cash receipt from a previous but post the void in the current month.

P.S. I used this software at another company in Henderson, NV prior to this and knew several issues. I would not have recommended this software but Canyon Stone had purchased it a few months prior to me being hired.

Response from xTuple

There¿s no excuse for your support issue to have slipped through the cracks. Our mission is for customers to be happy, and your investment in the Distribution Edition is important to us. I've checked our issue tracker and it appears this has now been resolved?

Replied 09/02/2019
Marco B.
  • Industry: Food Production
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 09/10/2018

xtuple for manufacturing.

Overall xTuple has been a great company to work with and their manufacturing product works well and is constantly improving.

Pros

The flexibility of development and multi platform availability is phenomenal. The training classes while very full of information are not

Cons

warehouse management permission structure could be more detailed, quality testing is not a feature of the system yet.

Response from xTuple

Thanks for your review. We appreciate your confidence in us. Are you planning to upgrade to the next major version 5.0?? Let's ensure you're getting all that you need out of xTuple. https://xtuple.com/contact-professional-services

Replied 07/02/2019
Trey M.
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/09/2017

We Use Xtuple for every aspect of our business, so we know first hand the value it can offer.

Like any software packages there are always things that you would like to have improved or tweaked. With Xtuple the nice part is if you want the feature, report or pretty much anything you can have them created it. Basically the only limited is your wallet and compared to other companies your money goes further.

Pros

It nice to have all aspect of the business in one place. So many companies have to utilize several different software to keep their business running. With Xtuple it is easy to switch between CRM, Accounting to even formulations. Its a one stop shop.

Lee G.
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/09/2017

Supremely flexible open source system solves problems

The ability to customize the software to my business. instead of customizing my business to the software.

Pros

The software is truly open source and highly customizable without breaking the core functionality. It allowed me to implement things that could not have been possible with any other product. Combined with the OpenRPT reporting system and PostgreSQL, it's hard to beat.

The price is nice too.

Cons

The learning curve can be a little steep when customizing the product. However, it is still better documented than the vast majority of ERP systems out there and the code is available to view.

Mitch L.
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 20/09/2017

I am a software developer and IT consultant specializing in business systems integration.

Pros

This software is developed with the highest quality standards. Being open source, it helps developers to more easily build integrations and customizations. With some training, customizations can also be built by non-programmers.

Cons

There is a high learning curve which is addressed with training and an implementation partner or resource.

Response from xTuple

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your longtime use and investment in xTuple.

Replied 12/02/2019
Alfredo M.
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 19/09/2017

It has been an excellent tool for our company

Pros

Easy to learn and to use. It works on Windows, Mac and Linux. It really help to reduce the TCO when it came to database licensing. It has a great scripting tool to customize.

Cons

There is only one kind of license, if you use a terminal in the production floor anyway you pay for a full license that access to the entire suit.

Response from xTuple

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your longtime use and investment in xTuple.

Replied 12/02/2019
Matt W.
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 18/09/2017

Great integration. Responsive support fills whatever gaps you may find.

Pros

The integration of functions we used to have several different software packages to perform. Almost infinitely customizable. The e-commerce integration is cutting-edge for this level of software. xTuple is genuinely interested in customer feedback to improve the product.

Cons

The base software has some gaps that need addressed. Installation /upgrade packages require a pretty high-level of computer skill to install.

Douglas M.
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 04/10/2017

Extraordinary software from a extraordinary company.

Pros

The best part about xTuple software is xTuple the company. xTuple's approach to licensing and development is refreshing. There are very few ERP solutions where one can easily connect with the head of development and the company president.

Marsha K.
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 18/09/2017

Extremely customizable

Pros

It's completely customizable and the automated reports we have designed provide transparency for all facets of our operation.

Cons

Updates can be released with critical bugs that can't be fixed right away so we have to develop work arounds.

Bernard L.
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 25/09/2017

Very strong ERP for the price

Pros

Lots of features. Dedicated team supporting and developing the software. Very open and approachable.

Cons

Sometimes complicated to setup and understand how to use certain features. Would benefit from a user experience QC.

Andrew M.
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 29/06/2018

easy to use, missing a few things for erp software and proper controls

I like that it is so easy to track production. But we supplement this software to get a lot of additional information.

Pros

I like that the software is easy to use. It Covers the bases and generally keeps track of production well. So it covers a need we have.

Cons

There is no rev control and no ecn functionality. Other software that I have used in other companies has those things automatically built in. This software leaves part rev control out completely so it cannot be controlled. In other software an ECN would be required to change a part ID or any information on the part. I'd say, at a minimum not having revision control at a part level is a large mistake.

Response from xTuple

Thank you for your review and investment in xTuple Manufacturing. Your ERP is a powerful tool with many options for controlling your business. Reach out to your ERP consultant for help with your questions. (He¿s a great one!)

Replied 12/02/2019
Ruby R.
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 05/10/2018

All in one CRM with great customer service

Overall experience is good, I've been using xTuple for 8 years now and the only complaint I have is not enough reporting features. The item and component management is ideal of our business and the xTuple engineers and techs are always available and helpful.

Pros

it's all in one functionality. the CRM workbenches allow you to manage your customers and vendors with ease.

Cons

reporting is not as advanced, not enough search parameter options.

Response from xTuple

Thank you for your review and your longtime use and investment in xTuple PostBooks¿ in the Cloud. ERP is the heart and lungs of your organization. Re: getting help with reporting. We¿ve got lots of self-help resources at https://xTupleUniversity.com and the xTuple Community is available for help at https://forums.xtuple.com. Please give them a try! Or let us know how else we can help.

Replied 07/02/2019
Bonnie S.
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 28/06/2018

Straightforward, easy to use after the learning curve.

Pros

Relatively easy to navigate, ability to use icons as well as toolbar for usage for the visual and technical user.

Cons

Shortage of resources for user help and troubleshooting. Inability to figure out solutions by one's self.

Roy R.
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 01/02/2019

Xtuple is great

Pros

It helps me be organized and track my manufacturing process

Cons

There are a lot of features on the program we don't understand and sometimes xtuple is not helpful

Response from xTuple

Thanks for your review. ERP is definitely not for the faint of heart, and the open platform is a BIG help to make the system flexible for you. Let's ensure you're getting all that you need out of xTuple. Feel free to contact us: https://xtuple.com/contact-marketing

Replied 07/02/2019
Tim S.
  • Used Other for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 02/07/2018

For a complex application, it is fairly easy to work with the innards. Particularly for...

Clean, professional looking quotations.

Pros

Customizeable with the help of the support site and a little knoweldge/experience with other apps using Postgre SQL

Cons

Complicated. Somethings are difficult to understand. This is understandable considering the app is designed for many industries' use.

Response from xTuple

Thank you for your review and for your contributions to the free community version of PostBooks¿. Let us know when you need help with an upgrade: https://xtuple.com/contact-us

Replied 09/02/2019
Derek L.
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 11/04/2019

Bottom Line Booster

We elected to go with a different software at time of purchase do to implementation.

Pros

Enjoyed the cooperation to supply chain on our side.

Cons

The ERP that XTuple didn't seem as seamless as other competitors.

Response from xTuple

Thank you for your review. Did you use a private demo of our enterprise software or only test the community version called PostBooks? I can't seem to find you in our CRM.

Replied 12/04/2019
Jake S.
  • Used Other for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 28/06/2018

Customizable and Open Source

Pros

I like the idea and the ability to customize nearly every aspect of your businesses process. Having every step of your business accessible in a single program allows for streamlining processes and higher efficiency.

Cons

Well our biggest issue with this software is, while the program is customizable, any major changes would be lost in upgrades or would be broken from the upgrade process. This resulted in us abandoning a very expensive software migration and seek other solutions.

Response from xTuple

Hi, Jake - Thank you for your review. Customization is key for any software to be flexible enough for growing businesses. Let's talk again: https://xtuple.com/contact-us

Replied 06/02/2019
116 reviews