xTuple Reviews

4.2
Overall rating
Reviews

4.2
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About xTuple

xTuple is Inventory Management Solutions for Manufacturers who want to GROW their Manufacturing Business. We're helping manufacturing and inventory-centric companies use management software and best practices to grow their...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.2
Features
4.0
Ease of Use
3.9
Customer Support
4.0

Browse xTuple Reviews

118 of 118 reviews
Sort by:
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Food Production
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 01/02/2019

Xtuple

Like any software there is no perfect system, but overall we are very happy with our choice. If I had to go back and make the decision again I would still go with this software.

Pros

I love that this is an open system allowing us to customize it to our needs. I always hear about other companies who use the big name system and how they are doing something that actually hurts their business but they have no choice because that is how the system works. With Xtuple we can do anything!

Cons

I wish they had more integration such as with receipt management systems to allow for easy entry direct into the software.

Response from CAI Software

Thanks for your review. ERP is definitely not for the faint of heart, and the open platform is a BIG help. Thanks for the integration idea(s) - keep 'em coming! Let us know if you want to hear more about that later this year...

Replied 07/02/2019
Roland
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 08/10/2018

Open source ERP that delivers

As a software developer and open source solutions specialist we don't manufacture items and our own product as well as the product from our vendor partners is rather ethereal and so isn't stocked. But once we had attached a "physical" presence to electronically transmitted support contracts and longer term consulting engagements, receiving in, shipping and invoicing became second nature and remarkably accurate. Financials are solid but do spend time getting your head around VAT processes.

Pros

There are many ERP solutions and there is plenty of open source software. xTuple is different because it is an open source ERP solution that does actually work.

ERP does require quite an amount of configuration and management and xTuple is no different. Understanding how ERP works if pretty core to making any ERP solution work but once you have that, once you have committed the effort to properly configure it, xTuple provides the sort of solution that suppliers of vastly more expensive alternatives would argue is out of reach of open source software. xTuple does have a knowledgeable and helpful community and plenty of plugings and add-ons to ensure that it provides the solution that you need. If it doesn't, then the PostgreSQL background and QT foreground make it sufficiently simple for you to make your own modifications.

Cons

As open source solutions go, there are remarkably few quirkinesses but those that do exist do require some thinking around. Like most ERP solutions, it demands that it follows it's processes so deviate and you are in for some pain. The key to a successful implementation is learning how it works. If you have never implemented ERP before then you are strongly advised to either dedicate quite some time to getting it wrong and starting again or bringing in someone with the expertise and experience. Fortunately, xTuple will help you there!

Response from CAI Software

Thanks for reviewing our free PostBooks¿ product, Roland. Sounds like you've got great knowledge of the system. Let us know how we can help with any increased functionality you need.

Replied 07/02/2019
Angela
  • Industry: Sporting Goods
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

3
Reviewed on 29/06/2018

Xtuple is complex and very powerful if you know how to use it otherwise it can be difficult to...

Pros

I like the date and user stamping for each transaction which really helps with auditing. I also like the way transactions are connected like from PO, to receiving document, to invoice and from SO, to invoice, to cash receipt, you can search back to the start of a transaction.

Cons

Sometimes the software lacks flexibility for instance the Purchase Order auto fills the vendor terms and there is not a way to override the due date when entering the invoice.

The reconciliation tool could be more user friendly for instance the deposit amounts sort alphabetically instead of numerically and when you view notes in the checks area it makes all the transactions several lines deep and you are not able to view very many transactions at a time. Also the reconciliation reports are entirely useless since all JE transactions are considered "Adjustments" and deposits and expenditures are combined without showing if the value is positive (went in to the account) or negative (came out of the account).

Response from CAI Software

Thank you for your review and investment in xTuple Manufacturing. Your ERP is a powerful tool with many options for default settings to automatically populate fields. Reach out to your system administrator or let¿s connect you with our Professional Services Team to ensure you¿ve got everything configured just like you need it, for the job you have: https://xtuple.com/contact-professional-services They may also recommend a class or direct you to some free online resources at https://xTupleUniversity.com.

Replied 12/02/2019

Top xTuple Alternatives

Janine
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 10/01/2018

Overall the xTuple software has been wonderful. Easy to use and presents very professionally.

Functionality for our very unique type of business, and website integration are the top two benefits.

Pros

You can begin with a free version and if that version fulfills all of your needs you can continue with that, however for added functionality there are licencing fees for that functionality. It is easy to use (once the beginning numbers are in) and it makes a small company look larger due to the look and design of their forms (you can design your own as well). The functionality is incredible. The type of business we are in requires things that most software does not provide for which has made running our business quite a bit easier. We are a modification center and xTuple allows us to use different parts to make the same end product by using substitutions, this has been a tremendous help to us. It was nice to be able to start with the free version and see just what this amazing piece of software could do. They also have an "online university" where users can communicate with each other and xTuple themselves, that has proven to be extremely valuable. Many times the issue or question we have has already been dealt with through another customer and the answer sits right there accessible to us. Overall xTuple has been great for us. They also are now hosting our website and although there have been some rough patches, I don't think we would go anywhere else as they allow it to integrate with our software, a big help.

Cons

Their customer service is probably their weakest link. Although they make an appreciable effort to respond to the issues we bring up, from our end sometimes it doesn't seem to be taken care of as quickly as we would like, and we have to follow-up for resolve. The website integration has some bugs, but eventually the bugs get worked out. We have two very capable IT employees who sometimes can figure out the bugs before they do, which is a big plus for us, as we can correct the issues then pass on the fix to xTuple. We all agree that the issues with customer service are worth the extreme value that the software has brought to our company.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 03/02/2019

xTuple ERP

We have put all of our ordering/manufacturing/accounting/finance functions on xTuple, including some company-specific functions that we built ourselves without consulting. We've been running the system for 7 years with great success.

Pros

Cost-benefit is off the charts. A full, highly complex, highly customized install of xTuple can be achieved at about 1/3 the cost of other proprietary systems.

The open-source environment allows a technically-inclined administrator with some programming experience to extend the software in business-specific ways without the use of high-cost consulting.

Tech support is great, and bug fixes often arrive in a couple of days after reporting.

Cons

The documentation provided for scripting is too heavily geared towards an experienced C/Qt programmer rather than a SQL programmer. There aren't enough specific scripting examples, and too many references to class libraries which don't make much sense to someone with no C/Qt background.

Response from CAI Software

Thank you for a great review. What version of xTuple are you on? Can you chat with xTuple¿s process guy? He'd always looking for stories on how companies are using the system, especially about customizations, to help other similar businesses. We are also working on standing up a scripting library which might be of use to you. Feel free to contact us: https://xtuple.com/contact-marketing

Replied 07/02/2019
Tom
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 28/09/2018

Very powerful software, but comes with a learning curve.

I think that xTuple is a great piece of software, but it is much more attuned to larger, more regimented businesses. For the small and flexible business, QuickBooks is much more suitable to the style of operation that I have experienced with smaller businesses.

Pros

I can quickly and accurately keep track of all aspects of business operations.

Cons

The fact that once you post something, you cannot change it. In a lot of smaller businesses, a managerial style of accounting is used. A lot of little mistakes happen or a customer requires an invoice to be worded a certain way, etc... With xTuple, I have to void the transaction and start over. Not always feasible. Also, the limited ability to customize line items without creating an item is extremely limiting for smaller businesses.

Response from CAI Software

Thanks for your review, Tom. What version of free PostBooks¿ are you on? Can you chat with xTuple¿s process guy? He'd be curious to know how you're using the system, to see what might be missing! Message us: https://xtuple.com/contact-marketing

Today¿s ERP solutions clearly miss the mark for the vast majority of smaller ¿ (but AWESOME!) manufacturing businesses who metaphorically don¿t need a bus to drive to the train station! The elephant in the room is that ERP is the wrong solution for small business, especially those who've outgrown QuickBooks. Watch for xTuple to shake up a 40+ year old industry with a new option in September 2019!

Replied 09/02/2019
Rebecca
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 01/02/2019

Extendable ERP

I have implemented xTuple a number times. In all cases the businesses were small and unique. I worked with the xTuple team to get their ERP to work for businesses in manufacturing, education, and health care. In all cases the extensibility of the product was key to our success.

Pros

ERP systems are complex and can be difficult to extend to accommodate unique business needs. The open source nature and configurable design of xTuple overcomes the effort and cost barriers of other ERPs. An IT person can customize xTuple for their business or they can work with the xTuple team. The technical support and professional services they provide help get projects up and running.

Cons

The technologies used in xTuple are not for the faint of heart. A considerable amount of technical accum is required to customize the system. Even simple changes to screens and reports require an understanding of SQL and JavaScript.

Response from CAI Software

Thanks, Rebecca, for your very concise review. ERP is definitely not for the easily intimidated. That's why we're working on a whole new way for businesses to get that ERP functionality they so desperately need, but can't tackle due to cost, or lack of resources, or plain old FUD (fear, uncertainty, doubt).

Replied 07/02/2019
Nathan
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

3
Reviewed on 05/07/2018

An application dragged through different paradigms.

Pros

It is open-source and therefore can be tweaked, modified and customized to fit the business, from minor revisions to reports to entirely new tables, screens, etc. It is truly cross-platform with the same codebase compiled for Windows, Linux and MacOS.

We've used it to run a mid-size manufacturing business for the last 8 years, though it has required hundreds of hours of customization during that time.

Cons

xTuple has gone through a few different development / application paradigms and it shows. Some parts of the application are entirely client-driven with SQL statements constructed in the client C++/Qt code. Others are *mostly* driven by PostgreSQL stored procedures, others are controlled by Javascript stored and revisioned in the database, creating and controlling screens via a customized javascript <-> Qt library. And in some places the two are mixed. The complexity and ability to customize a given screen depends entirely on how old it is.

The company spent several years focusing on rebuilding the application for a web/mobile market but it didn't seem to gain a lot of traction and never came close to fully replacing the C++/Qt thick client.

The manufacturing modules haven't been significantly updated in years. xTuple support is good, but once you're off the beaten path with customiztaions, you're on your own.

Response from CAI Software

Thanks Nathan. Watch for xTuple to shake up a 40+ year old industry with a new option in September 2019!

Replied 09/02/2019
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 28/09/2018

The best CRM/MRP/ERP System on the market today!

Implementing a new system is one of the hardest things a small and fast growing company can do. xTuple made our integration seamless and the process went very smoothly. We love the tool and we use it for all of our company processes.

Pros

I liked the fact that you can do everything in one tool. All business processes are included in one package from Customer lead all the way through to the collection of money. I also very much like the fact that the software is Linux based open source and offers full customization for your business.

Cons

I cannot think of anything I do not like about the software!

Response from CAI Software

Thank you so much for your glowing review. Could you chat with xTuple¿s process guy? He'd be curious to know how you're using the system, to help inform others who are in similar businesses! Message us: https://xtuple.com/contact-marketing

Replied 09/02/2019
Trey
Trey
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/09/2017

We Use Xtuple for every aspect of our business, so we know first hand the value it can offer.

Like any software packages there are always things that you would like to have improved or tweaked. With Xtuple the nice part is if you want the feature, report or pretty much anything you can have them created it. Basically the only limited is your wallet and compared to other companies your money goes further.

Pros

It nice to have all aspect of the business in one place. So many companies have to utilize several different software to keep their business running. With Xtuple it is easy to switch between CRM, Accounting to even formulations. Its a one stop shop.

Kerry
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 02/07/2018

xTuple has been a great software for our manufacturing company. Very satisfied!

Pros

Simpler to use than other ERP solutions. Integrated well with other critical software that our business depends on.

Cons

The report writer functionality is difficult to use and takes a good bit of time to learn. Most users will need to use an xTuple consultant to build custom reports. This includes even your basic invoices, packing lists and things like that.

Response from CAI Software

Thank you for your great review and your investment in xTuple Manufacturing in the Cloud. Glad you find xTuple ERP simpler to use than other applications. RE: any difficulties you¿re experiencing with the OpenRPT report editor. If you need to learn more about building custom reports, we¿ve got some great classes and some free online resources at https://xTupleUniversity.com. Let us know when you¿re ready to upgrade to the latest version (that will help a lot!): https://xtuple.com/contact-professional-services.

Replied 09/02/2019
Mike
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 03/07/2018

xTuple user since 2013...highly recommend for a small distribution business

Pros

xTuple has proven reliable and highly adaptable to our evolving business model. We have been able to fully customize this ERP with little to no support (or billing) from xTuple.

Cons

You will need one superuser to customize and work with the xTuple support staff in order exploit the full functionality of this ERP.
xTuple needs to develop a smartphone app for warehouse functions.

Response from CAI Software

Thank you for your great review and your customer testimonial at https://xtuple.com/products/xpress-distributor. If you're still on version 4.6, you might consider upgrading, and we're happy to help. Re: your suggestion to "develop a smartphone app for warehouse functions," our professional services team can help with that too! https://xtuple.com/contact-professional-services -- Carolyn

Replied 02/08/2018
April
  • Industry: Building Materials
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 03/02/2017

Incredible company to work with!

We have been utilizing xTuple ERP for 7 years and are extremely satisfied with the product, it's features, value and support. xTuple ERP is an extremely flexible and scaleable software that can be easily customized to fit your companies needs. We have added many features and customization over the years at a very reasonable price. xTuple is also easy to use, from report writing to every day use. The staff at xTuple are very knowledgable, approachable, quick to respond and generally just nice people to work with.

Pros

Ease of use, flexibility, easily customized, great price point

Cons

Limited CRM

Response from CAI Software

Thank you, April, for your review and your investment in xTuple Manufacturing in the Cloud. ERP is the heart and lungs of any organization. We especially appreciate your work with us to improve CRM for major version release 5.0!

Replied 12/02/2019
Brody
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

3
Reviewed on 28/06/2018

Your software has come a long way from the original OpenMFG days.

A better look at inventory management than previous software

Pros

It is very flexible and adapts to small and large companies.

Also, in an age where small business ERP software comes and goes all the time, you guys stuck with it and kept on building your product.

Cons

It took a lot of years to get to a place where it was bug free and truly usable. But I was a user when the code was still being written in the office next to me, so I saw the ugly broken beginnings.

Response from CAI Software

Thank you for your review and investment in xTuple Manufacturing in the Cloud. Thanks for hanging in with us as a vital part of the xTuple Community as we built the software to meet the needs of our customers, small and large.

Replied 09/02/2019
Graham
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
1

2
Reviewed on 28/06/2018

Full of bugs. Not very user -friendly. Outdated interface.

Pros

Has some useful features. Database platform is very sound, even if the database desing is the worst I have seen in my years of database work.

Cons

Full of bugs which is concerning when we have to report our results to the tax authority. Not very user -friendly. Outdated interface. Can get different numbers by looking at different screens in the app - worrying! Poorly designed database.

Response from CAI Software

Thank you for your review of the free PostBooks¿ community product. I believe you may be on an older version? Upgrading often addresses most concerns. If you're no longer using PostBooks®, please let us know, so we can update your Account.

Replied 12/02/2019
Eric
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 28/06/2018

Good experience, Strong Customization Options

All the benefits of an ERP and excellent customization.

Pros

I like the ability to customize and develop new screens, new reports and add functionality to current screens. We have used this to track material purchases for sales orders and project bookings for months ahead.

Cons

That it can sometimes be to obscure. No resources are readily available regarding some of the classes that are available. Especially in the toolbox and in the xtreewidget. Often times I have to search through existing scripts to see how some functions operate.

Andrea
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/09/2017

xTuple is a software that is very easy to use for the end user with minimal training. ...

Pros

1. Ease of navigation through applications
2. Ease of upload of spreadsheets through csv utility
3. Developer tools for reports, metasql, screens and scripts are user friendly
4. Screen filters and export to excel
5. Intuitive for the end user and developer

Cons

As a developer, not all screens and scripts are available to make customized modifications to meet the needs of our clients and myself.

Response from CAI Software

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your longtime use and investment in xTuple.

Replied 12/02/2019
Lee
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/09/2017

Supremely flexible open source system solves problems

The ability to customize the software to my business. instead of customizing my business to the software.

Pros

The software is truly open source and highly customizable without breaking the core functionality. It allowed me to implement things that could not have been possible with any other product. Combined with the OpenRPT reporting system and PostgreSQL, it's hard to beat.

The price is nice too.

Cons

The learning curve can be a little steep when customizing the product. However, it is still better documented than the vast majority of ERP systems out there and the code is available to view.

Mitch
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 20/09/2017

I am a software developer and IT consultant specializing in business systems integration.

Pros

This software is developed with the highest quality standards. Being open source, it helps developers to more easily build integrations and customizations. With some training, customizations can also be built by non-programmers.

Cons

There is a high learning curve which is addressed with training and an implementation partner or resource.

Response from CAI Software

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your longtime use and investment in xTuple.

Replied 12/02/2019
James
  • Industry: Food Production
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 27/02/2017

My company runs on xTuple every day, day in and day out

My company has used xTuple for the past seven years. We use xTuple for so many aspects including sales, orders, processing, manufacturing, warehouse, accounting, royalties, commissions, and now e-commerce. This excellent software is produced by a company that understands manufacturing, daily challenges and ever changing technology. PS: I have a food company and xTuple is perfect for lot traceability.

Pros

Constant improvement.

Cons

Reports could be more plentiful and easier to write.

Joel
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 28/06/2018

I've used xTuple for about nine years and it has been a great system for my company.

Pros

The aspect of this software I like most is the ability to customize it to suit our business needs.

Cons

Updating the software can sometimes create issues. I understand software development is an iterative process that needs debugging but there are times when something that has never been broken (or has been fixed previously) breaks after the update.

Larry
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/09/2017

Solid, affordable ERP for distribution and manufacturing businesses

Up to date information and analysis

Pros

Overall architecture. World class database which is free. Database and application supported on Windows, Mac, and Linux.

Easy remote access.

Customization capabilities.

Cons

No issue for me but perhaps support for other inventory valuation methods.

Response from CAI Software

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your longtime use and investment in xTuple.

Replied 12/02/2019
Jim
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 25/09/2017

I've worked with ERP software for more than 20 years. Xtuple is my current platform of choice.

Pros

I like the open source platform and the ability to extend and customize as needed. The ability to customze allows us to integrate with other systems as requested by our customers.

Cons

The user interface can be a bit complex on some screens. With the amount of data presented that is a common complaint.

Matt
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 18/09/2017

Great integration. Responsive support fills whatever gaps you may find.

Pros

The integration of functions we used to have several different software packages to perform. Almost infinitely customizable. The e-commerce integration is cutting-edge for this level of software. xTuple is genuinely interested in customer feedback to improve the product.

Cons

The base software has some gaps that need addressed. Installation /upgrade packages require a pretty high-level of computer skill to install.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Investment Management
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 28/09/2018

Good accounting software - blows quickbooks out of the water

Pretty good - esp with handling purchases and assets and when you have to do your own accounting since almost all the accountants in my area are incompetent (and im not even an accountant)

Pros

Its much more thorough and such. Downside is that you do need knowledge/skills in understanding out to set up your database (not made for dummies like quick books). Other than that, i personally prefer dekstop based apps vs web based ones (primarily due to speed for executing the platform on a desktop vs chrome/firefix/microsoft edge, etc)

Cons

Setting up thag data base is a PITA...should deff work on making it more dummy friendly

Response from CAI Software

Thanks! We keep asking the same question you are ¿ why are smaller companies continuing to select an option that history has proven is a disaster for them? The answer is simple, there hasn¿t BEEN another option ¿ IN-BETWEEN ¿ once companies outgrow QuickBooks. We¿re going to fix that ¿ watch for an announcement on a brand new IT choice for small companies like yours who do big things in this world!

Replied 09/02/2019
118 reviews