User Reviews Overview

About Adaptive Planning

Workday Adaptive Planning, founded in 2003, provides a web-based system for budgeting, forecasting and reporting. The solution is suitable for a wide variety of company sizes. Delivered over the Web in a software-as-a-service...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.5
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4.5

Browse Adaptive Planning Reviews

171 of 171 reviews
Sort by:
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Apparel & Fashion
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 02/10/2016

Best financial tool on the market in my opinion

I use Adaptive as a replacement for excel in some aspects of my job. I mainly use it as month end communication to send out financial status reports pertaining to actuals vs budget vs forecast. Adaptive Discovery is one tool I utilize to aid in visualizing data in multiple ways through the use of graphs, gauges, pie charts, tables, and many more.

Pros

Allows so many different ways to breakdown data.
Great customer support. The respond quickly and are very knowledgeable.
Easy to manage users with different access levels.
Adaptive is always working to enhance or update features. The platform develops continuously, which is great for the large user base.
Hosts free webinars every so often.
Can be accessed from anywhere as long as you have internet access.

Cons

The learning curve is steep, it takes a lot of time to really get comfortable with the platform.
Not a lot of video tutorials.
The terminology can be confusing sometimes.
Adaptive is open to technical/programming suggestions but often take time to be enacted. You sometimes have to wait for the next release to get the issue resolved.

Claire P.
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 02/09/2016

Amazing planning software for non-profits!

Implementing Adaptive Insights has made me feel like a kid on Christmas morning. Every new feature or discovered capability is a wonderful gift giving me my time and sanity back. I am the only FP&A for a mid-size company. We had outgrown Excel but had a hard time finding a planning software that could handle the allocations fundamental to non-profit accounting. We found Adaptive Insights and haven't looked back. The sales team is amazing, They are not only no pressure, but extremely helpful. We wanted to make sure our entire management team would be on board with new software. AI sales came out and did a personal demonstration for us and answered all of their questions. They also introduced us to great implementation consultants to help us set the instance up.We just finished our first year of planning in Adaptive and it was easy and user-friendly. I love Adaptive and will use it throughout my career.

Pros

The user-friendly interface, customization, regular updates and wealth of support and information. Reporting is also easy to use and very powerful. One of our main challenges is accurately planning and reporting our allocations. AI makes it easy.

Cons

There is nothing I dislike about this software but there are a few things to be aware of. Unless you have 2 people exclusively working full time to set up the instance it will take you much longer than you think. Allow yourself a few months to set it up and know that a full, complete roll-out will probably take a full budget cycle.

Sam P.
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 03/08/2016

Adaptive Planning Review

Overall we have been pleased with Adaptive Planning. We originally transitioned to Adaptive from excel based reporting due to increasing data allocation requirements. After several months of implementation we were able to start populating our weekly financial reports entirely from data exported from Adaptive. The end result has been a significant decrease in reporting time, even though we now splice our data by more dimensions than we have looked at in the past. This would not have been possible in excel, and we now have more time to analyze our information instead of being stuck in the reporting cycle.

Pros

The best part of the software for me is the ability to quickly create reports based on any selected dimensions, levels, and timeframes. This is something that historically would have taken us a significant amount of time and is now done in minutes.

Cons

My least favorite parts about the software are the difficulty in navigating the data sheets and the inability to lock formulas and values in historical versions while updating formulas going forward. I would love to see greater functionality to search in data sheets by specific columns.

Tyler R.
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 09/02/2018

Quick results with an intuitive design

This is a very robust software, that allows a strong look into the performance of your Company. The software has changed the way we are able to analyze our business.

Pros

I love the adaptability and ability to gain access to various information. It has allowed much greater access to analyzing our Key Performance Indicators.

Cons

For items that are not uniformly put into our accounting system, there are some workarounds needed to figure out how to display the correct data.

Chris W.
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 28/02/2018

Great tool of value!

Pros

User friendly and adaptable. Will help keep you organized and get the job done. Budgeting and forecasting creation was excellent. Helped with a focus on KPI's and benefitted from building dashboard. Great experience with customer service. Very friendly and quick to respond.

Cons

Set up took awhile. Slight learning curve. At times page loading slow. As a netsuite user I have had data integration issues. Adaptive did its job. No other complaints.

Mike F.
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/07/2016

Best Planning Tool Period

We chose Adaptive over competitors because it's in the cloud, it's customizable, and the price was right. It has improved every aspect of the FP&A function within our company. Our budgeting cycles are shorter, our data is more reliable, and analysis and reporting are more real time.

Pros

Easy user adoption. Customizable. Reporting is sophisticated but not complicated.

Cons

N/A

Samuel G.
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 22/02/2018

Super fast and easy to use

Pros

I have been in FP&A for for 5 years and have become somewhat versed in different systems and adaptive has been the best. Super fast updates with the ability to create different forecast scenarios.

Cons

Some of its features don't work on Macs, but otherwise nothing to serious here.

Sanchit A.
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 09/11/2016

Adaptive Insights: Forecasting tool true to its name

Adaptive is a much better tool than Excel in handling data as time is not wasted in linking different spreadsheets and validating versions. It is easier to implement throughout the organization so that managers and employees can log in to check the status. It makes the process of monthly forecasting easy and this we can focus on analyzing the results rather than spending time in gathering data in Excel.

Pros

1. Adaptive can link to Office Connect and users can remotely connect to the system without the need of a VPN.
2. What-if scenarios help the managers to design systems which give it a strong forecasting ability.
3. It offers a dynamic interface and offers a cloud access by means of which people can enter data from anywhere and trends are visible dynamically.

Cons

1. It requires quite a bit of practice to be proficient in the use of Adaptive. So, it takes some time to be an efficient user of the software.
2. The graphics are not that great, so you might an additional software to get presentable results.
3. Monthly forecasting is the lowest level of forecasting that we can see which limits its use to an extent if businesses want to see more detailed forecasting.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 14/08/2019

Best planning tool I have used!

Pros

I loved the user experience as a whole. The interface feels very modern and as easy to use.

Cons

I wish it had more functionalities to easily do project level budgeting.

Jarred C.
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 20/03/2018

Great Analytics Software

I would recommend this product hands down over the competitors.

Pros

Full-featured software with all the bells and whistles. It has unlimited flexibility in reporting and analysis options. The reporting features are extremely easy to use, and they can be customized and shared with ease.

Cons

Requires a lot of training to use, but it's worth it in the long run. The software is expensive, and it does require assistance with implementation since there is so much to do to get it up and running.

Sara J.
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Other for Free Trial
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 30/07/2018

Adaptive Insights for Dynamic Businesses

Pros

There are so many dynamic factors in today's business climate. As a start-up MSP as we are adding partners and capabilities - both software and software across different verticals in our business plan daily, we have a very elastic business model. Yet, we are still financially constrained in start-up mode. So, our projections for revenue, allocation, and hiring as we build our short to long term business plan requires more agility. The ability to aggregate more nimble data to make adjustments in our projections, justifications in key areas like hiring or expansion, and where to focus our budget allocations requires the sophistication representative of what Adaptive Insights offers as opposed to something more static.

Cons

It is too soon for us to measure the impact, but we can't imagine undertaking our growth without something like this for managing and forecasting.

Frank J.
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 01/05/2017

Adaptive is overall a great tool. I'd like to see the UI improved to be more on par with new...

Makes my job a lot easier. I was able to distil the core KPIs of my business and report on those instead of simple reporting top-line and bottom-line without strong data behind these numbers

Pros

Good versioning and flexibility
Import/Export is simple
Easy to collaborate
Nice customization options

Cons

User interface is frustrating and dated
Lack of simple undo
Cell history should save information from prior versions

Samuel G.
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 18/05/2017

The fastest updating planning software available

Pros

I love how quickly one single change flows through all our financial statements and reports and views.

Cons

Our customer service has been a little spotty, but the software is awesome enough that I would still recommend it.

Sahil G.
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 09/11/2016

One of the best reporting tools available in the market

Adaptive Insights is an excellent tool for maintaining data as it allows for entries in the system through just an internet connection without the need of a VPN. The administrator can set up different levels of security in order to protect the information, thus maintaining the confidentiality of data. It is definitely better than most of the other management software's available owing to its dynamic response to data and reporting capabilities.

Pros

1. Access to the sensitive information like employee salaries and the management criteria's are limited to authorized people.
2. Only needs an internet connection to access information on the system.
3. Minimal involvement of IT Department in setting up the system after the environment, so the system maintains the security of sensitive information.

Cons

1. There should be an improvement in the consolidation of data involving multiple currencies.
2. It takes some time to set up the environment as programming formulae have to be one by one and so it requires training at the initial level.
3. The connectivity of MS Office is still limited and there are some other software's which offer better integration.

Michael S.
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 24/03/2020

Just started

So far this does a great jobs with projections and actual for accounting. Also comparing both.

Pros

It is great for all different accounting needs. It seems to be pretty versatile. it allows for separating different lines of business and not allow others to mess with your projections.

Cons

You have to be really specific on what each line is and what will affect it. I find that I constantly having to ask or look up what goes into a field.

Ankit M.
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 09/11/2016

Great Tool in the Consulting Industry

AI provides cost-effective consolidation of accounts across departments and even companies. It ensures that latest data is available across networks, which remains secure and is easy to manage and generate reports. The main advantage is that it develops continuously on a large user base and the backend support is always on their toes to improve the functionality of the system to better suit the business it is set up for. The time required to set it up initially is totally worth it as it offers unparalleled performance later. Another advantage is that it is really easy to track changes and thus makes it a viable tool for audit purposes. It has the capability to connect to multiple data sources and generate front end user reports.
Making changes in the system, later on, can be a little expensive so a proper analysis of the requirements initially is very important. Apart from that it is a must have software in your toolbox.

Pros

Great support

Cons

Changes in system are expensive

Beth L.
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 27/01/2015

Great Addition to the Adaptive Suite

When first using the Discovery product in the Adaptive Suite, I found it to be a little difficult to maneuver, both due to slow load speeds as well as a non-intuitive interface. I found that after working in it a while, taking a couple of tutorials and reading through the user guide, I was able to maneuver through it better. The connection speed issues also seem to have been resolved since it's introduction. Despite those initial cons, the product provides immense opportunity for managers to view important operational metrics in a useful and eye-pleasing manner. It can bring metrics to your users in a way that works for them, as it is flexible to adapt to what is needed for multiple types of operations. The customer service from Adaptive is also very receptive and helpful. They are very attentive to your needs and have good follow up. Great Product overall.

Sarah S.
  • Industry: Environmental Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 11/03/2016

Wonderful experience with Adaptive so far

My company has rolled out Adaptive for our budgeting. It took quite a bit of time to build out al of our models. Our budget managers have responded very positively to Adaptive. We appreciate that we are no longer passing excel spreadsheets back and forth. One budget manager even started that she is having the important budget conversations a month earlier than she used to. We are still working to develop our reporting in Adaptive.

Pros

Various user groups can be built out to limit exposure to personnel information.

Cons

Certain sheets still use Java and this can slow things down.

Billy M.
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 27/06/2017

High learning curve; good product for reporting and planning

Pros

it could integrate with database, and have live data. It has feature like discovery to produce dashboard. Has regular new features rolled out.

Cons

the setup takes a long time, and it is not very good for non-profit. lack of update/training for customer to learn new features

Andrew B.
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 20/08/2015

Excellent FP&A Tool

We use Adaptive for all of our Expense and Revenue forecasting.

The most difficult part with Adaptive is breaking away from the Excel based formulas that everyone is so used to nowadays and embracing the Formula structure built out in Adaptive. It takes some getting used to, but in the end makes it so that you can be far more confident that you do not have errors in your calculations.

Using Adaptive regularly, you begin to really notice the power that you have at your hands and that the possibilities are limitless as long as you are willing to put forth the time to build it out. Having work with their training team, we have received excellent support and overall made our implementation much smoother than expected. They are very knowledgeable and continue to teach us new things.

Ryne L.
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/08/2020

Simple way to connect

Worth the investment.

Pros

Easy way to up data, collect information, and make adjustments to benefits and pay structure.

Easy to communicate with people involved.

Cons

The calendar format is not the most user friendly and do to the program doing so much it can get confusing and complex in certain areas

Anup D.
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 12/07/2016

adaptive planning - amazing tool!!

amazing experience - planning budgeting and forecasting across multiple scenarios and assumption criteria

Ben B.
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 24/05/2016

Adaptive Streamlined Our Budget Process

We implemented Adaptive Planning two years ago to move our expense planning out of Excel and we haven't looked back. Trying to manage 100 + workbooks with different versions, broken links, and incorrect formulas became too challenging and time consuming. If you are moving away from planning in Excel the sheets look very similar to an Excel worksheet and this helps shorten the learning curve for the end users.

Adaptive Planning has streamlined our planning and forecasting processes while giving us a fast and flexible reporting tool. The report builder is very easy to use and gives you the ability to quickly modify or build reports to compare actuals, budgets, and forecasts.

Verified Reviewer
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 03/05/2018

While good, I wish it drilled down lower

It aids in our budgeting process

Pros

Adaptive is helpful for accounting and P&L statements from a big picture standpoint. When you need to see your overall profit or revenue statements, it's good. When you need to drill down to find exactly what's in each cell, it becomes much harder.

Cons

I wish more users could access it for our work group. We have additional users that need to have access for budgeting purposes, but it is cost prohibitive to add them on to the package.

Chirantan M.
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 12/09/2019

Powerful but quite a decadent interface

Quite effective but very sloppy interface for getting financials. The design is decades old and seems frustratingly under developed. The reporting is there but it does not have advanced functionality that you would expect from such a pricey product.

Pros

Powerful - allows you to create custom reports, filter by various parameters, create different views
Reliable - Stable and does not crash
Light - Able to work through web interface which makes it a breeze even on thin clients
Compatible - with most browsers and does not have hangups

Cons

Interface - looks like 2 generations old. Very barebones and non intuitive
GUI - the design is extremely sloppy - and requires you to know your way through.
Lack of advanced functionality

171 reviews