Datasite Diligence Virtual Data Room Reviews

4.7
Overall rating
Reviews

4.7
Overall rating
Reviews
Visit Website

User Reviews Overview

About Datasite Diligence Virtual Data Room

Datasite provides a Saas solution for the M&A lifecycle. Its flagship product, Datasite Diligence, offers sophisticated analytics, ironclad security and dedicated customer support to enable deal success, from deal preparation and...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.1
Features
4.6
Ease of Use
4.6
Customer Support
4.8

Browse Datasite Diligence Virtual Data Room Reviews

80 of 80 reviews
Sort by:
Sean
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/03/2024

Works great as a secure VDR

Pros

Datasite was easy to use and took little effort to set up.

Cons

The Q&A feature felt clunky and confusing. You aren't able to hide questions from specific users without setting up a whole new workflow.

Response from Datasite

Greetings, Sean! Thank you very much for your review. Very glad Datasite has been easy to use and set up! I've shared your feedback on Q&A with our Product Team, and I appreciate the detail you provided. Again, thank you for taking the time to review Datasite! We look forward to working with you again soon. Best regards, The Datasite Team

Replied 01/04/2024
Felipe
  • Industry: Investment Banking
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/03/2024

Very good program for the price

Pros

It is very easy to be an admin and keeps files save. Cheaper than other options

Cons

Sometimes the webpage was slow or crashed

Response from Datasite

Hi there, Felipe! It's great to hear that you've found Datasite to be a great value, and an easy-to-use solution! Thanks for sharing your feedback on system slowness and outages. I've shared that with our Product team. Anytime you notice anything, contact our Datasite Assist team ([email protected]). We'll call or email you as soon as the system is up and running again. Thanks for your feedback, again! We look forward to hosting all of your future deals. Warm regards, The Datasite Team

Replied 26/03/2024
Andrew
  • Industry: Capital Markets
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 19/03/2024

Quality data room option

Pros

Datasite offers a safe and secure environment where we can share sensitive information without losing control of who has access.

Cons

The tradeoff with security is speed and ease of access. Resetting passwords and two factor authentication are must haves for a secure environment but this can sometimes slow down the speed of access.

Response from Datasite

Hi Andrew! Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us. I'm glad you've discovered some of our optional but valuable security features, like MFA. We're releasing some multi-factor authentication updates this spring that will hopefully make it a bit easier to login. I did pass along your perspective to the Product team. Stay tuned - we'll post about it on the webpage linked below. Again, thank you for the detailed review. We look forward to supporting you and your teams on future deals! Warm regards, The Datasite Team

https://www.datasite.com/en/resources/new-features

Replied 27/03/2024

Top Datasite Diligence Virtual Data Room Alternatives

Thomson Reuters Legal Tracker

0

Venue Virtual Data Room

Alia
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

3
Reviewed on 22/03/2023

Valuable review :-)

Overall easy to use.

Pros

Customer support is excellent. Easy user role and access management.

Cons

A major critical feature that is missing is unique identifier (ID number) for documentation. The reference for documents change if you change the order, which is a massive cons. Lack of integration with other systems.

Response from Datasite

Dear Alia, thank you for your kind words about Datasite and our service team. Your feedback on unique document numbers was very timely. We have just released an update that will enable you to search for files by their unique number. We encourage you to contact us at [email protected] to learn more. We look forward to working with you on your next deal. Best wishes, The Datasite Team

Replied 28/03/2023
David
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 19/03/2024

Works well!

Pros

Very easy to use. Many data rooms are similar but Datasite has an attractive layout

Cons

None. I wish access was easier but understand the need for security protocol.

Response from Datasite

Hello there, David. Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us! We are so glad to hear that you find Datasite's interface visually appealing! I can definitely understand your comment about permissions being complicated. Our Product team is actively exploring ways we can simplify the setup, and I've shared your notes with them. Again, thank you very much for your review! We look forward to a continued partnership. Warm regards, The Datasite Team

Replied 26/03/2024
Eric
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/03/2024

Great Service

Outstanding. Really enjoy the user experience.

Pros

I use Datasite for a number of the deals I work on. I find the product extremely user friendly, easy to access, and helpful to find the materials I need. It is top of the market for this software.

Cons

Notifications could be a bit more rapid and clear as to when new documents are uploaded, although it's not any worse than peer products.

Response from Datasite

Greetings, Eric! Thank you very much for your detailed and thoughtful feedback. I'm so glad you have used Datasite repeatedly and find it easy to use. I've shared your feedback on notifications with our product team - that's an area we've improved upon recently. I'll link to a video below. They're a bit more customizable than they used to be. Again, thank you so much for taking the time to talk to us. We look forward to working with you on many more deals to come.
Best regards, The Datasite Team

https://datasite.hubs.vidyard.com/watch/2zoKCaor4zRAdQfzbzndXk?

Replied 27/03/2024
Michelle
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 19/03/2024

Great data room

Pros

Files are secure, easy to access, and user access is very easy to manage.

Cons

The search functionality could be improved, especially for pdf files.

Response from Datasite

Greetings, Michelle! I'm so glad you've found Datasite to be easy and secure to use. I've shared your note about search and PDF files with our product team so they can investigate, and I appreciate you bringing it up. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We look forward to working with you again soon! Warm regards, The Datasite Team

Replied 28/03/2024
Alex
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/03/2024

Great Product

Pros

Easy, simple to use, and effective for both managers and users of the VDR. Highly recommend!

Cons

It is on the pricier side and with constantly changing functionality, can be difficult to keep up with what's new.

Response from Datasite

Greetings, Alex! Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us. I'm so happy to see that you've found Datasite Diligence easy to use for all reviewers and admins alike. We release updates every month in an effort to deliver maximum value, and I'd encourage you to check out our New Features page, linked below. We'd also love to connect and make sure you're getting the most value on your investment with us, so please contact us ([email protected]) for your next deal so we can walk you through the latest innovations. Again, thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts with us! We look forward to working with you again soon.

https://www.datasite.com/en/resources/new-features?application=diligence

Replied 25/03/2024
Renee
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/03/2024

Private Credit Review

I like it! I've found it very easy to use and the people at customer support are helpful when I can't figure out a tool / have tech issues.

Pros

I think it's easy to use, and I wish I would use it more; however, I don't set up the data rooms (the bankers send me links and I sign up for whatever one they choose)

Cons

N/A - it is my favorite VDR by miles. I think the next best is Intralinks, but Datasite is far better

Response from Datasite

Hi there, Renee! Your feedback made my day. Thank you so much for sharing feedback on your Datasite experience. We're proud to be your favorite VDR, and we're so glad you've been able to partner with the Datasite Assist team. Again, thank you so much for your kind words. We look forward to working with you again soon. Warm regards, The Datasite Team

Replied 26/03/2024
Jalpa
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 20/03/2024

Finance Controller

Overall great experience and would like to use again.

Pros

The process for any Diligence is easy, secure and trackable.

Cons

Only could be a cost, instead of cost by data if we had fixed fee could be helpful.

Response from Datasite

Greetings, Jalpa! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are thrilled you wish to use Datasite again and that you've found our product easy to use. I encourage you to talk with your sales rep(s) when your next deal arises to make sure we are offering the right pricing model and package for your needs. Again, thank you so much, and we look forward to serving you again very soon. Warm regards, The Datasite Team

Replied 09/04/2024
Austin
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 29/07/2020

Excellent data room provider

Pros

Datasite is consistently excellent. Their platform is easy to use, intuitive, and customizable. Their customer support is top notch, and the optical character recognition has been incredibly useful for making documents searchable.

Cons

I have used Datasite many times, and it has always been a great experience. However, on the last project I worked on, it would default to the "Index" view of the data room which was not very helpful. I had to manually revert to a different view each time I visited the data room.

Alternatives Considered

DealRoom

Reasons for Switching to Datasite Diligence Virtual Data Room

Datasite has excellent customer service and a consistently excellent product.

Response from Datasite

Dear Austin, thank you for taking the time to leave us such a kind review. We are thrilled to hear you have had such positive experiences with our applications, and with our service team. Recently, we have redesigned our user interface to make it easier than ever to customize your index experience. If you are interested in checking out our latest innovations, please send an email to [email protected]. We hope to work with you again soon! Sincerely, The Datasite Team

Replied 27/03/2023
Caroline
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 22/03/2023

Review

Pros

It is easy to use, everything to you need to do takes seconds and very few pushes of buttons.

Cons

I would like to add documents in the Q&A without having to save them in the structure in the VDR.

Response from Datasite

Dear Caroline, on behalf of Datasite, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are very glad to hear you are finding the platform easy to use. I have shared your note about Q&A with our product development team. If we can do anything to further assist you, please contact us: [email protected]. We look forward to working with you again soon! Warm regards, The Datasite Team

Replied 27/03/2023
Jonathan
  • Industry: Industrial Automation
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 08/12/2023

Great VDR for M&A processes

Overall pleased I use them for all our M&A deals.

Pros

UI is easy to use and has multiple functions and features, it's not overly simplistic which is good.

Cons

Could be quicker, have better redacting tech, more automation.

Response from Datasite

Greetings, Jonathan! Thank you so much for taking the time to review Datasite Diligence. We are glad you continue to choose Datasite for your deals, and glad that you have found balance with great features that are easy to use. We also appreciate your notes on speed, redaction, and more automation. I'm sharing your feedback with our Product team - thanks for that! Again, we're really appreciative of your feedback. We look forward to working with you again soon. Warm regards, The Datasite Team

Replied 02/01/2024
Ralph
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 11/04/2023

Feedback

Good

Pros

Generally easy to use although the recent change to the look & feel didnlt benefit us much and we rever to the previous view as asier

Cons

On occasion slow turnaround times but this has been fixed over time to satisfaction

Response from Datasite

Dear Ralph, We appreciate your thoughtful review of Datasite, and we are very glad you find Datasite easy to use. We are excited about the latest upgrade of Datasite and would love the chance to give you a personalized tour of it. There are some very powerful new features in the new look of Datasite which can make it easier and faster to get your work done. Please send us an email at [email protected] if you like us to show you around. Best wishes, The Datasite Team

Replied 13/04/2023
Alexandar
  • Industry: Environmental Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 08/12/2023

Keep it simple in its best way

Pros

The VDR does what it should do without overwhelming the user with useless messages like "encrypting data" like it does with competitors VDRa

Cons

Permissions should be fine on Folder level to adjust and not on file level

Response from Datasite

Hi there, Alexandar! I cannot tell you how much I appreciate your feedback - there's an art creating a powerful data room with the necessary tools that ISN'T overly difficult to use, and I'm glad you've found this to be the case with Datasite Diligence. I've passed along your note about simplifying permissions to our Product team to review, and I understand where you're coming from. Permissions can certainly get intricate. If you ever need assistance setting or editing permissions, contact the Datasite Assist team ([email protected]) and they can give you a hand! Again, thank you so much for your thoughtful feedback. We look forward to hosting your next deals! Warm regards, The Datasite Team

Replied 03/01/2024
Marta
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 11/04/2023

Good dataroom for due-diligence

Pros

The data room was easy to use and we could redact the files in the data room after they were already uploaded. Having different access privileges was easy to set up and very handy. The system emails reports to all users notifying them of what has changed/been added to the data room which we found very useful.

Cons

The price per page is quite high so we had to ensure we were only adding the files that were most important.

Response from Datasite

Dear Marta, On behalf of Datasite, thank you for taking the time to review us. We're happy to hear that redaction, permissions, and alerts have been helpful to your team. We strive to build high-value applications and capabilities, and we want to make sure you're getting the most out of every transaction we help you manage. Let's talk when your next deal comes around - please contact us at [email protected]. Best regards, The Datasite Team

Replied 13/04/2023
Francisco
  • Industry: Investment Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 12/04/2023

Positive Review

Reall positive

Pros

Easiness of usage, and really supportive team whenever I have an issue

Cons

I would recommend to have the ability to personalize the # of wards / characters that can be used in the Q&A section, so I could avoid having several questions in one question

Response from Datasite

Dear Francisco, thank you for your kind review and insightful feedback! We are very pleased you have found our service team to be helpful. I have shared your note on Q&A word limits with our Product team. We look forward to working with you on your next deal! Best, The Datasite Team

Replied 25/04/2023
Isobelle
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 08/12/2023

M&A transaction data room

Good, would generally recommend as a good site for M&A deal due diligence.

Pros

Generally user friendly, good range of functions and AI redaction tool is very helpful, sandbox folder is helpful when learning how to navigate data room and preparing folders before publication.

Cons

Setting permissions for groups of users was not as easy to vary as some other data room sites used. Expensive in comparison to some other similar platforms.

Response from Datasite

Hi there, Isobelle! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are thrilled to hear that Datasite Diligence has provided the tools you need to complete deals, including AI redaction. I've shared your note about permissions with our Product team, and I appreciate your candor. We take your feedback very seriously. With regard to price, it sounds like you've discovered some of our more advanced features already, but know that we're constantly adding more tools to help you work more efficiently. For your next deal, contact us at [email protected] so we can show off our latest innovations and make sure you're getting the most value from your investment. Again, thank you so much for your feedback! We look forward to working with you again soon. Warm regards, The Datasite Team

Replied 03/01/2024
Alex
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 07/12/2021

Great Features but Pricing Structure Can Outweigh That

Pros

Great service by [SENSITIVE CONTENT]. Customer support always helpful and responsive. Great product overall.

Cons

Nothing. Only issue has been pricing structure with cliff based on # of pages or length of project. Would prefer predictable monthly amount.

Response from Datasite

Dear Alex, we were delighted to read your review, and very glad you got to experience our Service team. We're always evolving our platform based on our customers' needs, so feedback like yours is of utmost value to us. I'd invite you to visit Datasite.com to read all about our recent updates, including a subscription offering to support the entire M&A lifecycle. Contact us at [email protected] so we can support your next deal. Thank you for your thoughtful review! Best wishes, The Datasite Team

Replied 28/03/2023
Daniel
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 08/12/2023

Datasite review

Great experience of Datasite, well established dataroom that has been used before by most counterparties

Pros

Easy to use, and has the features required for an extensive due diligence process

Cons

Sometimes hard to understand where I might switch on/off different features

Response from Datasite

Hi, Daniel! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We're so glad to hear that we've struck the balance between offering the tools you need, but remaining easy to use. I've shared your note about on/off toggles with our Product team, and I thank you for letting us know! Again, we appreciate your feedback. We look forward to hosting your coming deals. Warm regards, The Datasite Team

Replied 03/01/2024
Samuel
  • Industry: Venture Capital & Private Equity
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 19/03/2024

Datasite VDR

Pros

Ease of use and user-friendly interface.

Cons

No major complaints, but some issues with bulk downloading

Response from Datasite

Hi there, Samuel! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts on Datasite with us. Glad you've had a positive experience overall, and passing along your note about bulk downloads to our Product Team. If you encounter any issues downloading, be sure to contact Datasite Assist 24/7 ([email protected]) so they can troubleshoot. Again, thanks so much for sharing your feedback! We look forward to serving you again very soon. Warm regards, The Datasite Team

Replied 27/03/2024
Laura
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 23/02/2024

Game changer

Pros

The level of security around it is second to none

Cons

Nothing really its a very well designed format

Response from Datasite

Greetings, Laura! Thank you so much for taking the time to review Datasite. We are glad you've had a positive experience, especially with our security solutions. We look forward to supporting you and your team again soon. Warm regards, The Datasite Team

Replied 29/02/2024
Cal
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/03/2024

Datasite Review

Pros

It is highly functional and easy to use. The best feature is the redaction tools.

Cons

The worst parts are the bugs using datasite outreach.

Response from Datasite

Greetings, Cal, and thank you so much for taking the time to review Datasite Diligence. I'm so glad you've discovered the in-app redaction tools. I've shared your feedback on Outreach with our Product Team so they can investigate, and if you encounter any issues, night or day, please contact our Datasite Assist team so we can escalate ([email protected]). Again, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your review, and we look forward to a continued partnership!

Replied 25/03/2024
Yifeng
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/03/2024

Good data room

Pros

efficient. good to use. not hard to navigate

Cons

expensive. not good value for money. could be cheaper.

Response from Datasite

Hi there, Yifeng! I'm so glad you took the time to share your feedback on Datasite, and while I'm glad you're finding Diligence easy to use, I have shared your feedback with our pricing team. We encourage you to consult with your sales rep for your next deal, so we can be sure to find the arrangement that best suits your needs. Again, thank you so much for your candor, and we look forward to working with you again! Warm regards, The Datasite Team

Replied 09/04/2024
Omae
  • Industry: Capital Markets
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for Free Trial
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 08/12/2023

Good platform

Pros

Easy to use
Very convenient and very secure

Cons

Nothing, it does what is required from it to be done

Response from Datasite

Greetings, Omae! Thank you so much for taking the time to review Datasite Diligence. We are so glad you've had a pleasant experience with us, and we hope to get the chance to work with you again in the very near future! Warm regards, The Datasite Team

Replied 03/01/2024
80 reviews