2Checkout Reviews

4.2
Overall rating
Reviews

4.2
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About 2Checkout

2Checkout is a digital commerce solution that has both Payment Service Provider (PSP) and Merchant of Record (MoR)/reseller capabilities. The PSP products enable online merchants to accept global payments through various...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.1
Features
4.3
Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Support
3.9

Browse 2Checkout Reviews

86 of 86 reviews
Sort by:
Ahmed Samy
Ahmed Samy
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 10/11/2022

The top payment gateway for global online payments

Pros

I started using 2Checkout in 2015 and I really liked its smooth way for integration with custom developed websites, and their powerful fraud protection system. 2Checkout is also accepting online payments via credit card and PayPal.

Cons

They should be more flexible when it comes to integrating with websites that has multiple activities as they are only offering their payment processing services for the websites that has one business activity! so if you sell e-books and courses on your website, you can't use 2Checkout according to their policy, you should include only one business activity.

Response from 2Checkout.com

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review, Ahmed! We highly appreciate your feedback, and we will forward it to the appropriate departments.

Replied 14/11/2022
Ismaël Huberson
Ismaël Huberson
  • Industry: Apparel & Fashion
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 04/12/2022

2Checkout

Pros

2Checkout is a payment processor that is partnered with many of the top online payment gateways. They make it easy for merchants to create an account, accept credit cards and make payments on the go. The platform empowers merchants with a suite of features that make it easier for them to reach more customers and increase their revenues.

Cons

This is one of the easiest ways to process online payments. I'm able to set up my 2Checkout account in a matter of minutes and start accepting payments from shoppers all around the world.

Response from 2Checkout.com

Ismaël, we're really grateful to have you on board, and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. Thank you for choosing 2Checkout. Have a great rest of your week!

Replied 08/12/2022
Carolina
  • Industry: Apparel & Fashion
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 22/06/2020

Only because 0 wasn’t an option

Horrible.

Accounting mismatches, as they do reserve roll over fees.
No customer service
Have withheld thousands of dollars, restricted accceaa and no customer service. Calls to Romania.

Pros

It was the only choice available for my region of the USVI using WIX

Cons

Customer Service and Accounting Reporting
Not a US based company, call center in Romania. Has targeted me after not wanting to leave a positive review but freezing my site during Coronavirus

Response from 2Checkout.com

Hello! Thanks for your honest feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to review our platform and services, and we apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. We can assure you that we are taking the satisfaction of our customers very seriously and we are sorry if we did not live up to your expectations.

Also, please note that leaving a review won't impact the business partnership we have with you and we encourage speaking your mind regardless of the experience.

For further information, please feel free to reach out directly at [email protected]? Looking forward to hearing from you!

Replied 02/07/2020

Top 2Checkout Alternatives

Dmitry
Dmitry
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 22/11/2017

Good support, outdated UI

Pros

Platform support is really good and they really take care about each request. They have huge number of options but sometimes it is hard to tune them in the right way as they are quite messy.

Cons

We are using platform for more than 2 years now and missing the critical feature to allow us passing discount information from our site to the platform without entering it in Avangate cPanel.

We also were trying to set up subscriptions for our products but lost in options. 20-30 connected with each other features made it impossible to set up without a good knowledge of how do they work. Platform developers made it over complicated.

Commission rate is 5-8% that is quite high. Administration UI is old - coded in early 2000 and requires a good product manager to be sorted out and redeveloped.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 26/05/2022

Good, strong and stable payment procesing company

Pros

Connects quickly, it had a ok to low transation fee. Felt safe and robust.

Cons

Shopping cart integration had some issues that we cleared out, but a little more info or service on their end would had been nice.

Alternatives Considered

PayU

Reasons for Switching to 2Checkout

Good trackrecord and reputation

Response from 2Checkout.com

Hi there!

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us feedback, we really appreciate it.

It's a pleasure to hear that you've found our online payments solution safe, robust, and convenient.

We sincerely apologize for the shopping cart integration issues you have experienced. It's good that everything is sorted out now. We will consider your feedback for future improvements.

Thank you!

Replied 27/05/2022
Dmitry
Dmitry
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 17/08/2016

Avangate

Been using Avangate as our primary payment processor for 6+ years with literally no problems. It just works and does what it should do. Customer support is acceptable, email response is usually within 24 hours (my experience with their support is limited as I only need to contact it 1 or 2 times a year at most).

Pros

Easy to set up and integrate, intuitive, everything's well documented.

Cons

Sometimes customers complain that the Backup CD they ordered is not delivered or significantly delayed. I'm not sure if it's Avangate fault, though.

Ann
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 15/11/2017

Avangate is the third global e-commerce platform we've tried, and by far the best.

Pros

Technical support is quick (often immediate via online chat), courteous, professional, and knowledgeable.

After initial set-up and some familiarity with the control panel, Avangate is easy for our customers to purchase through and for our team to administer.

Cons

Avangate's Affiliate Program feature is geared towards software companies with broad-interest software promoted on "affiliate" websites that are usually promoting a wide range of software with "coupon" or "discount" pricing. Our software is very niche market (educational / scientific software) and we would prefer an affiliate program that can be easily tailored to screen and accept specific affiliate sites, e.g. software resellers that offer other software in our niche market, sites that review software and other resources in our niche market, and affiliates who are also providing technical support and training for our software through their own business.

Reza
Reza
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 11/08/2016

Most reliable gateway processor

We use Avangate as payment processor for almost 3 years. I worked with too many providers before but never had a good experience as what I have with Avangate. Support agent was really helpfull when we contact them several times in a day to help us to develop our custom module for Avangate.
process of accepting money is very good and professional while most of gateways only accept payments and when a chargeback happen just put a penalty (mostly Money!) on your account.

Iliana
Iliana
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 26/09/2018

Great tool for recurring billing

Helps launch and keep our business growing steadily.

Pros

We are able to bill our clients in time to be able to meet payroll. Their recurring billing solution is very advanced and makes any subscription service easy to implement.

Cons

Since they integrated with Avangate, i think they are a great provider.

Juliana
Juliana
  • Industry: Computer Hardware
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 29/04/2019

The Improved 2Checkout Platform Brought Flexibility to Receive Payments

The 2Checkout Payments Platform enables us to exploit its profound involvement in online payment solutions. One of the best solutions for E-commerce, it supports multiple payment methods and has high end security protection. Also the service and support provided is incredible, all our needs are fulfilled. The platform gave us the flexibility that we needed.

Pros

Flexibility, multiple payment methods supported, multiple currency support, great management tools.

Cons

A little tricky to implement, you need to have a team with previous training.

Ricardo
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/01/2021

My experiencia

I've installed a newsletter with paid subscribers. 2checkout worked fine, it satisfied all my needings

Pros

It wasn't easy to find a provider for subscription. I tried other services, but 2checkout offers all I wanted.

Cons

The financial information is given in many currencies. I would prefer to see all the data in dollars.

Response from 2Checkout.com

Hello, Ricardo!
Thank you a lot for your review! We are happy you are enjoying our platform and services and we are grateful you took the time to give us feedback.

Most of the reports display an amount in a default currency which you can actually convert to your currency of choice. To learn more about this, please refer to this article -
https://knowledgecenter.2checkout.com/Documentation/19Reporting/Revenue_split

Thank you for your understanding! If further questions arise, you can always reach out to us at [email protected].

Replied 11/02/2021
Adil
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 28/01/2021

Awesome Service

2Checkout is the best in the industry and believe me they provide such a user-friendly support that I cannot even think of switching to any other service.

Pros

I have been using 2checkout services for 10 years and found it one of the best in the industry. The customer support is awesome. The online support agents instantly resolve the issue and even email queries are addressed within 1 hour.

Cons

Very convenient, easy to set up and integrate and there are no signup charges.

Thea
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 24/07/2018

Ease of use and implementation for a payment gateway

Pros

I used 2Checkout to function together with Shopify. The speed of integrating the 2 is fast and seamless. I didn't have to worry about the security, or if I did the right thing. It also has a sleek design that the people paying over the gateway feels that the payment gateway is trustworthy, and they can put their credit card information in without fear.

Cons

The payment scheme is quite strange. I didn't like that you need to bulk the amount before you can withdraw. I also think that the cut that they make is quite large for international organizations.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 27/01/2021

Great Gateway!

Pros

2checkout is great & reliable. I've been using this for almost 2 years & their service is great so far.

Cons

They've a 2FA system which is kind of broken. Also there's no chat support, only email support. But they respond quickly on working days.

Dani
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 17/11/2017

Avangate is great for small companies thanks to its friendly costumer support

Pros

-Friendly and fast costumer support,
-No upfront fees,
-Automatic key delivery,
-Multi language,
-All the features you need to start selling online.

Cons

-Confusing dashboard until you get used to it.
-Minimum payout, it isn't much but it's still there.

Brigita
Brigita
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 17/02/2020

Takes care of your payments

Very flexible implementations with a lot of functionalities, supports a lot of payment methods, allows convenient payment options for our customers.

Pros

Always great customer support, when requested, quickly provide solutions to problems. Having someone else handle the payments just allows us to worry about other aspects of the business, especially, makes it easier when having clientele from all over the world!

Cons

Quite a lot of double charges have occurred on separate occasions - basically all clients in a couple hour span got double charged, and the amount of accidents only confirms that it was definitely not the case of human error. Everything was solved quickly on their part, but it created inconvenience for the clients.

Usman
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 27/01/2021

Satisfied User for almost 6+ years

Pros

Easy to setup and manage
I have found 2CO very reliable during this time

Cons

The only con for me is the high percentage that I have been paying.

Alternatives Considered

Stripe
Philipp
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 14/11/2017

Lots of features and excellent customer support

Pros

There are a lot of features included and after some time getting used to them I was able to configure everything the way I required it to be.
The customer support is very responsive and helpful and it's excellence warrants the fairly high price.

Cons

Avangate merged with the horrible company 2Checkout (worst I've experienced in this sector!) earlier this year and plans to operate under the name of 2Checkout in the future. I'm very worried that things will go south in the aftermath of this merger and that the poor reputation of 2Checkout will damage my sales. If I had known this in advance I would not have become a customer of Avangate. - But due to Avangate's good performance in the past, I'll give them credit and hope for the best.

Tammy
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 04/05/2018

Absolute Lo Jack

For the price You can't beat it!

Pros

Avangate's Absolute Lo Jack software helps to track your laptop (or other devices) by simply downloading their software on the device. How convenient is this?!

Cons

If the device is turned off I think the software stops tracking it, so if they do not turn on I still can't locate my device.

Stefan
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 09/07/2020

Their acceptance process is gruesome

Pros

They have the best regional availability compared to other alternatives I could find.

Cons

They will decline you for allegedly selling prohibited products, even though you are not selling those products in particular. Just use Stripe, or Braintree or whatever else you can, I guarantee you will have better communication and experience!

Response from 2Checkout.com

Hello! Thanks for your honest feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to review our platform and services, and we apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. To help us sort this out, could you please provide us with more details directly at [email protected]? Looking forward to hearing from you!

Replied 20/07/2020
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 17/11/2017

I'm mostly satisfied and will keep using Avangate

Pros

So far the service was very reliable. Flexible fulfillment options, flexible configuration. I recommend it to others.

Cons

Withdrawal options are very not flexible. I wish Avangate would allow multiple withdrawal ways adjustable on-the-fly.

Hany
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 07/09/2020

Good

Pros

Easy to use you don't need any training

Cons

Non, I didn't finf any cons till now, if you find something please tell me

Thomas
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used for Free Trial
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

3
Reviewed on 26/01/2020

Seems like a dodgy company, bad support

Pros

nothing so far good to say. Because a Wordpress Plugin provider opted to use their payment methods, I came across a dodgy tax situation.

Cons

Had a business question in relating to how they add taxes to orders between European countries. They shouldn't, but still do. Their customer service did not answer my question nor my follow up questions. Seems like a very dodgy company that needs to be IRS investigated.

Aparna
Aparna
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used for Free Trial
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 05/11/2018

Payment Gateway for Business

Pros

2checkout provides a wide range of payment solution and integration library which can be simple use with an single click to any of CMS solution;

Cons

Support is little slow and sometimes they refuse without any reason.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 20/03/2019

Used a number of times as an alternative to Paypal

Pros

Used when Paypal didn't work properly, seemed to be a great alternative!

Cons

No complaints, it seemed to work well for us.

86 reviews