User Reviews Overview

About Emburse Chrome River Expense

Emburse Chrome River EXPENSE is a cloud-based expense management solution for midsize and large businesses across industry verticals such as banking, manufacturing, retail and technology. Key features include automated approval...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.5
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Support
4

Browse Emburse Chrome River Expense Reviews

141 of 144 reviews
Sort by:
Ravinder B.
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 30/04/2020

Chrome River Expense - An easy tool for expense and travel management

Earlier we used to submit hard copy receipts and excel files which is a time-consuming process for the employer as well as for accounts staff. I am really happy with the product because it saves a lot of time and makes the expense reporting process very easy.

Pros

Chrome River Expense is fast, fluid, and easy to use the application to report travel expenses done with a corporate credit card or even with a personal card. The application is available for all platforms including desktop, mobile, and tablet, etc. which makes the expense reporting process fast and easy even when you are on the go. Some of the features of the application are – Automated spend control, automated approval routing, credit card integration, Snap and send receipt submission, optical character recognition (OCR), integration with leading financial systems, configurable policies, and routing, online dashboard and self-service inquiries. The application has a powerful analytics engine that saves a lot of time for employers and accounts staff.

Cons

You need to spend some time initially to understand it as the tool includes a lot of categories and sub-categories which makes it a little bit confusing to use, but trust me it saves a lot of time. Receipts have to PDF formatted. Ad-hoc functionality seems a little slow and can be improved.

Tess S.
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
1

3
Reviewed on 30/03/2021

Need more control and responsiveness from Chrome River team

- We have experienced a drastic reduction in turn around time for our help desk tickets. Untimely or disparate responses and questions back to us. Attempting to charge us extra fees when there are minor changes to our expense rules that happen regularly.

Pros

Tiles are easy to use and explain. Process for submitting and tracking expenses is user friendly.

Cons

- Importing in Pcard expenses and receipts seems to take too many steps and are at different visual points for users.
- The initial form is not configurable to select the type of expense report you are completing FIRST

Jacob K.
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 17/02/2021

Chrome River Expense is Great!

It has been pretty positive.

Pros

The user interface is customizable and several changes can be easily made for your own specifications.

Cons

Some things you can't remove in the eWallet like "trips" which we do not use and this clutters up the screen and confuses field employees creating firm paid expense reports.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 11/01/2018

I have worked with Chrome River four years and lead the upgrade from the Platinum to Mercury.

Pros

The platform is user friendly and intuitive. Travelers have the capability of taking pictures of their receipts and sending them directly into their Chrome River e-Wallet. We use Egencia Travel which is in the process of integrating with Chrome River. This will result in all travel data also being housed in the traveler's e-Wallet. Our travelers also like the mobile capability of the new web-based platform, Mercury, which allows them to have access to the site while on the go. Credit card integration has also proved very valuable enabling travelers to see transactions they need to submit on their reports. Approvers have the ability audit and approve reports on the go with the ability to easily review receipts that are being billed to their projects. With the ability to program policies and routing, approvers can be assured that reports are meeting programmed company policies. If there is a need to split the allocation of the expense - Chrome River makes it very easy. Employees love the ability to easily delegate access to others and assign approval to coworkers while on vacation.
We have been very happy with this software. It has simplified and made the expense report process very efficient for our firm.

Cons

As a travel manager, the analytics engine that I use frequently could be more intuitive. If reports are required outside of the standard list, the engine to produce custom reports is not very user friendly.

Nathaniel W.
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 18/02/2020

Chrome River - Easy Expenses!

We went from an in-house excel based expense report to CR so it was amazing to go from a spreadsheet to a real expense submission site. The improvements that came with the app and how easy it is to do expense reports now make the old way seem like a nightmare

Pros

CR Expense makes expense reports incredibly easy, both from the submission to the approval. The newer apps also alleviate the need to collect a folder of receipts that you have to later attach to paper and scan in manually, as with the app you can sign in on your phone or tablet and take a picture of the receipt right there. For other things, like receipts you receive via email, it was just as easy to sign into the site and upload a PDF copy of the email. Or if you still want to do everything at once, you can upload all your receipt images and attach them to individual items that way as well. With the available options and easy use there is no reason for people to be missing images or late on submission

Cons

The only down side/complaint I have is the "old" version (pre-mercury) still requires flashplayer. And I don't believe the admin tool has been migrated to mercury either so you still need to go into the old site to manage anything manually or investigate problems

Olga P.
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 29/07/2020

Compliance and Ease of use

A positive overall experience with some very nowledgable and patient team members.
CR Expense has impressed us from the beginning (tendering process). Mobility, integrations, OCR, GUI - very positive about the solution.

Pros

All our Expenses Policy has been built into the system - threshholds, variations, warnings and violations.
The user interface is really straight forward and the solution being fully mobile has put the expenses claim process into a completely different eprspective.
OCR functionality enable quick scan and upload receipt process, integration with Credit Card provider eliminate clunky process we had before.

Cons

The biggest challenge was the implementation and understanding the old-fashioned rule building via excel sheets. Luckily this process is changing gradually as is becoming more sophisticated and current. This will be a benefit not only to new customers but a huge step forward for existing ones too.

Kortney F.
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 20/11/2020

Great Service for a Great Price!

Great! We'll never use another software

Pros

I love how easy it is for people to use and our guys in the field love being able to simply take a picture of their receipts.

Cons

honestly, there is very little we dont like.

Trena M.
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 30/07/2020

Efficiencies increase over 50%!!

At Indiana State University we use Chrome River for all of the Travel expense reimbursements. The product is a great tool to have, especially in today's environment. I was able to process requests remotely from home.

Pros

I am so happy that this system was in place prior to COVID19. Electronic invoicing made it easy to review and approve expense reports and pre-approvals for travel. Routing steps that were already determined per index made it easy for approval to be completed without requiring signatures from everyone. Adobe signature is not readily available for everyone.

Cons

We have had some issues with the files from Chrome River being

Sonya F.
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 09/04/2021

Easy to use and teach

Our travel department was able to become mostly paperless using Chrome River. Most of our end users are pleased with the product.

Pros

All of our travel is processed through Chrome River. I really appreciate the ease of use of the product. It is also very easy to teach and create training materials. Our travel card program integrated very well with the software.

Cons

I would like to see more scoped administrator roles to choose from.

Danielle B.
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 02/09/2020

Happy Chrome River Admin

Pros

I love how user friendly the software is for my colleagues that need to enter expenses. On the admin side, I love that I can pull information and analytics easily. Since everything is automated I can focus my time on projects and cost saving initiatives rather than be buried in paperwork.

Cons

I do not have any complaints. Chrome River is constantly updating and giving more power to admins. I can make a lot of changes on my own, and create custom reports.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 18/09/2019

Excellent Tool to go from paper to Digital Expense Review

Chrome River helped us digitize, and streamline our expense claims and workflows for all levels of our organization.

Pros

from a user perspective, this software has helped eliminate steps in submitting and processing expense claims. The use of the Snap App to process the paper claims and combined with OCR capabilities help to make claims a breeze compared to our older manual method. Further, our AP team and others have gained greater efficiencies by being able to collect this information in real-time and process it faster.

Easily integrates with other accounting system or organization uses.
Easy to use user interface.

Cons

The reporting/analytics features can be revamped, as well as greater flexibility in customization. Overall, the tool does a great job.

Michael Z.
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 05/04/2019

Excellent Frontend, smooth implementation

We are using ChromeRiver to save our employee'S time while travelling. On return, the expense claim is already almost done and finished with a few clicks. Great experience.

Pros

the fully responsive frontend without dependencies

Cons

matching legal compliance for Germany was initially a bit tricky but solved now

Elaina K.
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 24/03/2020

Very Easy To Use

Pros

My favorite feature is taking a photo of my receipt on my phone and emailing an expense receipt. We recently upgraded to the Mercury version, and it is even easier to use.

Cons

It does take some time to get used to the software, but it is easy to use once you get the hang of it.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 02/04/2018

Quick Expense Reporting

Pros

The ability to use my phone to take a picture of my receipt and upload that either to a computer or an app makes providing and processing expenses quick and easy.

Cons

It would be great if this app could leverage optical character recognition to load information from the receipt directly into the details about the expenses.

Gricelda M.
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 21/08/2020

Chrome River Expense Review

Chrome River is an easy and efficient way to process employee expenses. In addition, it helps keeps us in compliance with our policies. It also integrates well with our accounting and payroll software.

Pros

Transitioning from paper to online. The ability to submit and approve on the the go. The employees that travel, love this feature.

Cons

I still have trouble with the Admin Tools.

John H.
  • Industry: Food Production
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 25/03/2019

Save time and money with Chrome River Expense

We have been able to increase the % of expense reports audited which is a great.

Pros

Allows us to save time, money and tons of paper through the digitization of the expense approval process.

Cons

There is little that I dislike. The new updates have solved any small problems I once had.

Chad G.
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 24/02/2017

Streamlined Expense Reporting

The overall experience has been good so far! The implementation took longer than the Chrome River norm due to the nature of the customization on our part and asking the system to do things it had not done before. The implementation team was great to work with when building our specific interface and as a result have seen improvements in the turnaround of expense reports. Users like the fact that expense reports are now routed electronically for approval and the Accounts Payable Dept. has benefited from approval authority being automated so they don't have to manually check each person's limits along with other automated policy compliance checks. The one area that we would like to see become more user friendly is the reporting function.

Sara C.
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/05/2018

Where has this product been all my life?!

Efficiency

Pros

The ease of use! The ability to submit, reject, review and process expense requests is extremely easy, within a very limited learning curve.

Cons

The need to require specific amounts of data for certain items is a bit frustrating. Their adhoc reporting could also use some work.

Maria O.
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 04/09/2019

Simplicity

Pros

I like that it is user friendly. I was able to catch on quickly with administrative tasks.

Cons

Have not had negative experience as a new user. Perhaps updates in the reporting area.

Braxton T.
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 30/09/2020

Liking it so far

Pros

The ease of use has been a major factor in purchasing Chrome River. We have a fair amount of credit card holders in the field who aren't necessarily tech savvy. A good UI/UX are essential for implementation.

Cons

We have had some minor hiccups when integrating with our ERP, but we are very close to working out all the bugs.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 05/10/2018

Chrome River

Pros

Pulling expenses directly from my card statement and attributing them is made quick and easy.

Cons

Having to itemize hotel stays often has a glitch that makes the report hard to submit. Redirecting the expense account can also be difficult.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Other for Free Trial
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 18/11/2019

Review of Chrome River

Pros

I like how it will provide visibility on spending trends and provide analytic reports to ensure compliance

Cons

it does not allow for personal charges to be taken out of the end-user bank account.

Joe T.
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 20/01/2017

Chrome River

Chrome River has made expense reimbursement simpler and faster for everyone at the firm. It was quick and easy to implement. It has also streamlined our firm credit card reconciliation. This is an easy, great win for any firm.

Nancy H.
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 19/01/2018

To approve travel expenses

We got rid of paper forms, we now have automated the process and get quicker approvals. It is also a great tool for record keeping.

Pros

Efficient way to enter travel expenses and approvals for PI's, it allows you to make reservations and follow approvals.

Mario R.
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 20/08/2020

Great Visibility for Business Expenses

We are keeping track of all corporate spend, and submitting them all on time now. The visibility of where all expenses are in their approval process has been great for our users. Since everything flows faster, we are able to process reimbursements faster too. Our ability to also track compliance violations helps with know where user need additional training. The compliance reports are very useful.

Pros

Integration with our corporate card program has been such a time saver. All users are able to track and expense their incurred business expenses in a timely fashion, and that helps with decision making. We also integrate with our travel agency, so expencing full trips now take way less time.

Cons

Setting up the routing rules was a challenge with some of the exceptions we had to work through, but once the time was spent to consider everything, the system does what we expect.

141 reviews