User Reviews Overview

About Manager

Manager is an accounting solution that caters to small businesses across various industries such as retail, food and beverage, non-profit, education, consumer services and more. Key features include fund accounting, bank...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.5
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Support
4.5

Browse Manager Reviews

69 of 69 reviews
Sort by:
Ebrahim A.
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/09/2020

The best value for price I have ever got

Never been happier to spend USD 39 a month, ever.

Pros

It's ease of use and it's strong core personality. There are no fancy gimmicks to draw attention to useless dashboards but the core functionality is among the strongest I have ever seen. The fault tolerance of this service is amazing, you can mess thing as much as you want, and any competent accountant could make quick work of fixing it.
The custom reports, templates and easy API (which has no complete documentation as of now, but many are using it -- that's how easy it is) gives you the ability to integrate it and automate things that are not originally include.

Cons

Everything has some down sides, or I might just be nitpicking here. There is no way to lock your reference numbers. The billable expenses and manufacturing still need some work.

Norman N.
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 29/09/2019

Great tool, depending on your needs

Excellent. Happy enough that i'm taking some time to write a review

Pros

Proper accounting software, with debits and credits. Keeps getting better. Good reporting tools and export. Easy to use once you have the basic. No cost for desktop version.

Cons

Web version seems a bit expensive. Proper accounting functionality is not what everyone wants, especially in small business.(meaning debits and credits)

John T.
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 12/09/2019

Fantastic Accounting Software

I use it for all of my accounting functions.

Pros

Straight forward cash based accounting features that meet all of my needs of a solopreneur.

Cons

No integration to my online tax program.

Justin F.
  • Industry: Chemicals
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 26/09/2018

A Perfectly Growing Software

As a manufacturing firm, this software caters to all my needs, from production orders to inventory management to taxation.

Pros

A very simple and user friendly software. With a very good team of moderators who help out on all issues where users are stuck, be it small or complicated.

Cons

The coding to create different templates and custom reports is something that can be improved and I understand is under development to make it more user friendly.

Pieter C.
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/08/2018

Manager book keeping

Having a problem get solved in their Forum very quick. Lubos is very professional and help and listen a lot.

Pros

One of the easiest software to use and it is free.

Cons

No real dislikes at all. You get help so quick.

Junjie L.
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 06/03/2018

Simple and effective accounting software for small businesses

Pros

I like that Manager provides a (free) desktop edition of its accounting software for the Mac. At a time where most accounting software are going on the cloud, which can be slow waiting for things to load, Manager's desktop edition is like a breath of fresh air where you can just key in what you need quickly without waiting. If you need to key in lots of entries, these waiting time really adds up.

Cons

The software is not optimized to resize its content to fit the window size. I run a 4K monitor and usually run apps side by side. When the software takes up half the screen on a 4K monitor, its content does not scale/reflow to fit properly, resulting in some horizontal scrolling.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 16/02/2021

Great free accounting software for multiple companies

Pros

The ability to quickly get started and do the bookkeeping for a number of simple but separate legal organizations is extremely helpful compared with alternatives that tend to charge per organization.

Cons

Reporting is a bit basic and I couldn't find an easy way to import my data from my previous accounting system (Waveapps)

Benard M.
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 09/01/2019

good

it is very friendly and it is reliable

Pros

it manages stocks and reports very clearly

Cons

the security is poor, no passwords requied

Aqeel G.
  • Industry: Textiles
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 20/10/2018

excellent

overall good

Pros

easy to use and to understand the details

Cons

GST should be added to this software as per Indian rules

Hennie E.
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 15/08/2018

Professional accounting software for free

I run a small accounting office and I use Manager.io for all my customers and it is still great to work with this software

Pros

Manager.io is very solid. It never crashes and it is very flexible in a way that you can print reports from any date till any date. It is for instance, very easy to drill down to the basic-entry. Also the functionality is great.

It is however very important that, if you are unexperienced with accounting software, you ask someone with experience to help you setting up the system. It saves a lot of time at a later stage. So take time to read the guides

This is just a general remark and warning for everybody new. The advantage of Manager.io is that you can fairly easy correct your mistakes.

Cons

There are hardly any cons. The creation of own reports is only possible via exporting data to a spreadsheet.

Gaurav B.
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 04/09/2018

Ease Of Use

Its One of the Best Software to use

Pros

The best thing is that you can learn this software within a Day or even less, Its Simple and easy to lear and use and it adapts according to usage

Cons

Some features missing like, serial number by default, No Total of items sold

Ramiz M.
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 18/09/2018

Best accounting in the world

Its very accurate and portable if you have letest beckup in your pandrive you can open your all data into your prasnal leptop only with one pandrive. In backup fill all data all invoices all cn dn shown in.

Pros

1. Data sync and reports creation is very fast and accurate.
2. Backup option is very fast and easy.
3.PDF ganrator and Email sender is very fast. Each and evry mail and pdf create very fast.
4.gst byfucation and tax recollection very accurate then other systems.
5.its can be work without interent as well as on cloud its good for all types of users
6.Customise as per your need. Like use diffrents sales invoice theam and much more.
7. Its very good for big bisiness as vell as small if you need multi user go for server or cloud.

Cons

1.imei vice or serial no vice inventory managment is not possibal. Ex you having one item with qty of 50 and all heving uniq serial no. You cannot consume stock with serial no.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 06/07/2020

Very Use Full

Pros

I like most about this software because it very easy

Cons

The Software offline version is now for one user, I hope it will increase for many user.

Maria R.
  • Industry: Business Supplies & Equipment
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 13/11/2018

Good and easy

I can have an excellent picture of my business in a daily basis. The reporting system provides me periodical reviews the way i want them.

Pros

Free, easy to learn, easy to use, and very flexible.

Cons

It works in a single Window, i would like to have simultaneous view of multiple windows.

Mark R.
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 11/11/2018

Great software for our not for profit organisation

Pros

This software is rich with features, easy to install and setup and very intuitive to use. Everything works, it seems to be a stable platform. Our administration workers, who up to now just used books, have really adopted Manager as their way of doing things. We are using most of the features, it has made our jobs easier and more effective.

Cons

Some more reports may be helpful but at the moment we export to excel and can get what we want.

Jose A.
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 12/03/2019

Accounting

I am working on that on this month.

Pros

1) Entry Journal. It would be better if any field reminds what i wrote before.

Cons

I didn't find a Journal Entry Report and Comparative Report of Expenses.

Musaab S.
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Other for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 18/09/2019

Manager Review

Aside from a few drawbacks, Overall the Manager Software is a good choice if your looking for an easy to use, flexible software for your business.

Pros

The Software offers incredible Flexibility and can be modified at will to suit the needs of any business with out any hassle.
The Account heads provide links to transactions so that one may trace a transaction from the report to source entry.
The User Interface is friendly and easy to use.

Cons

The report system is a bit tedious to work with, the detailed form can become a bit cumbersome to assess and analyze.

Abdullah M.
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Other for Free Trial
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 16/02/2019

Wonderful

Wonderful

Pros

Thanks a lot for such program, it’s one of the best programs I’ve seen

Cons

Maybe the Arabic language translation
I think that it needs a little bit development

James A.
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 02/09/2015

This software is very simple and easy to use especially at a glance you can see all your...

the arrangement of transactions were in ascending order which difference from other accounting software . automatic print out with headings is not there.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 31/01/2021

No nonsense, feature rich, double-entry accounting

While Manager and I have had our frustrating moments (see Cons), most of the time it just works. You might even call the software BORING. And I think that's exactly what you want your accounting software to be. :-)

Pros

Manager was a breath of fresh air after using MYOB for so long. It has a modern interface which lets you at your data quickly and easily. It's highly modular, meaning you can add in just the modules you need, and it comes with a lot—far more than I need—including staff and inventory management. It supports GST reporting right out of the box.

There's a great support forum with expert uses, and the developers themselves, who are mostly very responsive to questions. I remember once reporting an issue which the developer fixed the SAME DAY!

And incredibly, this software is free for small businesses and individuals who don't require the multi-user and networking features of the Cloud Edition (which is US$39 per month). The free Desktop version runs on Linux, Windows and (all-importantly for me) Mac.

Cons

Being a cross-platform app build on web technologies, Manager lacks some of the OS integration and polish that you might expect from a native macOS app. There's no integration with the system Address Book, and the Mac menu bar is basically empty (save for some rudimentary window management). No big deal, but there was one feature that caused me a lot of grief: custom HTML themes.

The invoice templates that shipped with Manager were pretty basic and didn't meet my needs. I'm a web developer, so building my own template using HTML and CSS didn't faze me, and it worked fine… until Manager changed its whole templating system over to Liquid-based themes and their own home-made PDF generator. The biggest problem was, the new system only supports inline style attributes, and only a very limited number of CSS properties. When I raised these issues, the developer recommended table-based layouts. :-( They could fix these issues by embedding Chromium, but at the cost of 50 MB increase in app size, which they were unwilling to do. I was able to eventually work around the issues and print to PDF using the macOS print window, but the whole process was painful and time-consuming.

Another frustration is Manger's insistence on tracking 'Foreign exchange gains (losses)' every time you pay for something in a foreign currency. If, like me, you pay for these up front (no credit) this is totally unnecessary, but there's no way to turn it off—you have to manually update exchange rates.

John S.
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 18/08/2018

Awesome Accounting Software

We have replaced Quickbooks with Manager Desktop (Single User) which has served as better and saved us money.

Pros

The Banking Dashboard in Manager makes it very easy to manage banking transactions . The bank reconciliation tool is the best I have ever seen. It has custom field feature and custom fields can be set to appear as column in tables on documents. It is light weight despite it many features and opens and closes very fast, it takes up very small system resources. The search tool makes it very easy to find transactions. It has reports which are not present in many popular paid accounting software. Has AR, AP, GL, Payroll, Fixed and Intangible Asset Management, expense claims, inventory management etc. Manager has a lot of customising features so you can make your documents look exactly how you want. Finally the Desktop (single User) is totally free and comes with all the features the server and cloud versions have.

Cons

The server version needs some minor improvement in Audit trail and User Access levels.

Selemani O.
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 09/04/2019

Manager is Simple But Powerful Accounting Package

I am using for our consulting company business accounts, using it for our customers some international companies and it fit any type of businesses. general it is a very good package.

Pros

Simplicity in designing business accounts, one page interface that accommodate all entities accounts and flexibility in designing business accounts from setting chart of accounts, customisation of forms, generation of customs reports, managing foreign currencies and keeping long records.

Cons

Need to add second level tracking feature. For example Departmental Level should have feature to break it down to Sections.

Norman S.
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 15/08/2018

Great accounting app

An extremely positive experience for me.

Pros

I'm a novice small business bookkeeper without formal training. I've used Quickbooks/Quicken and Manager is miles ahead for what I want. It has a simple, uncluttered interface, pages/forms are simple to complete, the pre-configured reports are well-designed, and it uses very few system resources so it's quick to open, use and close. The Manager Forum is a fantastic resource and although I have no programming background, I've customised some themes successfully.

Cons

There is nothing I've found that I dislike or that I find frustrating.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 06/12/2018

Manager has made it easy

I've been using Manager for more than 3 years and it is a perfect software solution for small businesses.

Pros

It's user friendly
Perfect for my kind of business
Have found solutions for all my queries in their forum itself.

Cons

To be honest I am absolutely satisfied and do not have any issues.

Zuri M.
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 28/02/2017

amazing software

its amazing, no stress, no worries, and very smart app, I have been using it for the last three years. No problems at all, whats beautiful is that you dont need internet.

69 reviews