User Reviews Overview

About Prophix

Prophix is a financial management solution used for financial consolidation, budgeting, analysis, planning and management reporting. The solution provides a spreadsheet-style interface that helps users to analyze financial data...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.5
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Support
4.5

Browse Prophix Reviews

60 of 60 reviews
Sort by:
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/01/2021

Flexible and easy to adminster CPM

Budgeting, forecasting, reporting and consolidation across global user base. We have several systems across multiple entities and we utilize Prophix to consolidate and report out of at the global level.

Pros

Our experience with Prophix has been very favorable. We were looking for a tool to centralize our global financial reporting and planning functions and Prophix allowed us to accomplish this at a very reasonable cost vs other applications that were under consideration. The interface is intuitive and easy for end users to complete the required tasks. The web client satisfied our need for a solution that could be implemented globally.We are also able to administer and maintain the tool within the finance function which increased our flexibility and reduced our reliance on IT. The reporting capabilities met our needs and allows us to easily consolidate and present our data in a multi currency environment. We use Prophix for reporting at all levels, from individual business unit data to Board and Executive level reports. We have several connections to other systems to import data and plan on adding more. The drill through capability to this data is also a nice feature.

Cons

Template/Report formatting can be tedious at times

Michael F.
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 23/01/2019

Great Product with Excellent Customer Support

My overall experience has been great. They support customers through their Prophix Academy and annual user conference. The monthly webinars are very informative. The staff is always very friendly and easy to work with. We are hoping to bring more processes into Prophix in the future.

Pros

I like the flexibility of this product. You can build any type of report, forecast, calculation, etc. that you want as long as you can feed data to it. I also really like the customer support - they are very helpful and responsive when their's a problem.

Cons

There are some manual activities maintenance activities you need to do. I can navigate it fairly well with the documentations provided.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 18/12/2018

Robust and flexible with on-premise deployment option

Pros

Robust framework for Detailed Planning of HR, CAPEX, etc. plus ability to define workflows to support custom business processes in these areas. Also it is built on Microsoft SQL Server stack, which is ideal for our org as our other systems are based on the same and we can set up highly customized integrations using familiar technology.

Cons

Updates for the on-prem deployment are a little cumbersome and involve an uninstall/reinstall, plus editing web config files if you're deploying the web client.

Donna F.
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/09/2020

Prophix Fan

Prophix has improved our monthly and annual processes with one true source; the Prophix support team has been instrumental in teaching every step of the way with professionalism and patience.

Pros

We primarily needed a budget that didn't require Excel spreadsheets being sent and complied in hopes nobody added a column or row! Not only are we able to all share the input of budget data, but we have comments, details, and a history of who did what!
As a bonus, we were able to create all of our monthly financial reports in Prophix and automatically generate them into a PDF or in Excel! A nightly process that can also be run on-demand imports the GL details from GP, so we can review within minutes!

Cons

There is definitely a learning curve, but once you understand it, creating reports and viewing ad hoc details gets easier.

Jenny B.
  • Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 10/09/2020

User friendly, multi-purpose software with great support

Prophix has been the perfect solutions to our company's need.

Pros

Prophix is a well rounded software that is easy to use and is well supported by the Prophix team. Prophix has met and exceeded our company needs while continually improving on a daily basis.

Cons

There is some difficulties extracting multiple years of data our of the system.

Tiffany M.
  • Industry: Philanthropy
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 06/02/2018

Prophix Power User

Pros

Great for budgeting and forecasting. You can set up different templates to budget and forecast and other users can enter their values. Limits user access to certain areas. Has a personnel planning feature that eases the budgeting process for all wages, taxes, and benefits. Has a good reporting feature and interacts with your accounting software to import info with ease.

Cons

If you need to upgrade or make a large change you have to ask for support from Prophix and they aren't always easy to work with or quick to fix major issues. The reporting feature requires a lot of manual steps to set up new reports. It isn't super user friendly if you don't use it on a regular basis.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 24/01/2019

Prophix Review

One-source place for data. Budgeting/forecasting and financial statements

Pros

The software is flexible. Allows you to have multiple versions and multiple cubes

Cons

Sometimes the software is slow in generating reports

Shauntae E.
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 13/09/2020

Prophix

So far Prophix has been great and easy to use.

Pros

The ease of use of ad hoc reporting is great. I also like that you can build templates and reports that are frequently used to save time

Cons

The cloud implementation was not as smooth as expected

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 21/12/2017

Prophix for Budgeting

Great price and the Helpdesk has been prompt and wonderful every time I have needed them. Dynamic information and ability to drill to specified levels of information. I think if we had a full team or at least an employee who's full time job was to manage and maintain this system it would be great.

Pros

It is dynamic and multidimensional, as someone who uses it regularly with IT experience, I find it to be a good tool. I like that we can add comments and Line item details to our Budgets and flow information through our versions if need be.

Cons

Many of our managers do not use our system regularly since the Product can be a little confusing for end users that are not in the IT or accounting world. Sales Managers find it difficult to remember what steps/versions they should be using. Also, it looks similar to Excel but the screen is smaller and the system has many quirks when trying to build templates, especially when involving formulas.

Jeff D.
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 06/03/2019

Budget your Expenses and Revnue with Prophix Software

Prophix Software is very detailed, allowing you to budget month by month. I have been using it for my budgets for 2 years now, and it has worked for me and my company in detailing several rounds of budgets each year.

Pros

Prophix Software enables our finance team to enter and coordinate budgets for the entire company. We all can go into it at any time to see how much we have budgeted for a given project or department in a given time frame.

Cons

When you have a lot of different people entering and approving budgets, it is hard to know when your budget was changed and by whom. So, you may go into the software thinking your budget is one number and another number shows up, without really knowing why.

Larry C.
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 25/01/2019

12YearProphix User_Review

Budget Planning and Analysis

Pros

Ease of use.
Little learning curve.
Stable and reliable.

Cons

Licensing and User Roles is confusing for users.

Dan H.
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 23/09/2020

Great for budgeting when multiple inputs are required

Pros

Prophix is easy to use with a nice interface. Data is stored efficiently and drill down analysis is easy. The best thing about Prophix is that it is easy for multiple users to enter their information into Prophix.

Cons

Graphs could be nicer and time periods updates could be easier

Colin M.
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 07/10/2016

Prophix Business Performance Management

Prophix Business Performance Management is allowing us to track the performance of our company in real time, everything flows through to the end user and reports and can be viewed to assess where were are for the month.

Liusik C.
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 25/04/2016

Very easy tool

Making templates and reports are too easy. We can see quikly all data to make decisions on accurately

Amanda C.
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 30/12/2019

Plethora of Options

Prophix is the best planning and expense analysis software I have seen. It has allowed me to streamline so many processes. This company also provides excellent training so that we have the ability to control the software and create whatever is needed. The consultants are knowledgeable and have helped us to customize the system to our company.

Pros

The Prophix Software is very versatile, starting with it creating a web-based platform. This was important for our company and allows the software to be updated quarterly without issue. We are able to use Prophix for Expense tracking, Expense and Capital planning, reforecasting, Compensation planning, Project tracking, Expense allocation, GAAP PLOB reporting, and still have several more tasks to implement through Prophix. The data can be sliced and diced many ways, and each user is able to do it however they like. It is easy to create or run existing reports. We have made many of our processes more efficient, and Prophix has allowed us to save more time than you can imagine. The software is easy to use and visually outstanding. The Prophix consultants were patient and supremely knowledgeable, personalizing and customizing the software to our company’s needs.

Cons

There are so many options within Prophix that at times, it can be overwhelming. I think it’s necessary to have a few Admin to create reports and assist users, so that the users do not have to know how to use everything.

Kelly C.
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 15/09/2020

Propohix

Overall experience and support is generally average, but we did have a poor experience with customer support throughout our migration to the cloud.

Pros

Ability for multiple users (owners of each product line) to submit budgets and forecasts within Prophix. The work flow process allows my team to then analyze all submissions in consolidation, all within Prophix. Drill across capabilities are used constantly by the finance teams within our organization.

Cons

The excel add-in is not as good as others that I've used. Our migration to the Cloud environment was also very difficult for our team.

Erin G.
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 27/12/2019

Dynamic and Easy to Use

Pros

It is a very intuitive software. It is easy to learn (and to teach). I especially like the Excel add-in functionality, which we use for financial consolidation, managerial reporting, budgeting and monthly forecasting. It is also a great tool for ad hoc reporting.

Cons

Like any software, it can be sluggish sometimes - especially when dealing with large amounts of data.

Marina R.
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 15/09/2020

Intuitive and Insightful

Prophix has been great for budgeting and projection financials. It allows for easy insight into the general ledger data which has reduced my time spent piecing together information from multiple systems/sources.

Pros

I like how easy it was to grasp the basics of this software. Without being an expert I still feel that I am capable of getting the information I need and continuing to learn the system intuitively.

Cons

Some features of the software are a little more challenging to pick up and understand without adequate training.

Erin G.
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 18/06/2019

Dyanmic and User Friendly

Great product - I've been very happy with it.

Pros

It's easy to use. It's a great tool for budgeting and monthly projections. It consolidates data from multiple sources and is more flexible than other softwares that we have utilized.

Cons

Switching from desktop application to online version is time intensive. This would not be an issue for new users - all new users receive the online version.

Kyle S.
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 21/03/2019

Great Product

Pros

I really like the ease of use of this product. Makes it easy to train a new user on how to get information.

Cons

There are many limitations to using this product as far as formatting and amount of info used in a single report.

Ashleigh A.
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 25/01/2021

Easy to use budgeting tool

Pros

I do like how easy it is to use. I had very little training but was able to learn very quickly on my own and run the software as the admin all on my own. I also love how easy it is to create an ad hoc report.

Cons

The only thing I do not like is the fact it does not integrate easily with our financial system so we cannot get actuals into Prophix. This could be our own fault though as we have not switched over to the cloud.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Other for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 29/01/2021

Prophix Review

Their consultants / client service team are very knowledgeable and always provide timely support!

Pros

As long as all the cubes, modules and formulas are set up in Prophix, there is no worries about someone will accidently changes them. Those accidents easily happens for Excel models.

Cons

Some formulas are not flexible as Excel. For instance, it is hard to apply seasonality for sales forecast.

Luke K.
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 15/09/2020

Very Powerful Tool!

Pros

There is a ton of power in Prophix and the data models. We are moving away from excel in our finance team and will hope to become much more analytical rather than just producing reports.

Cons

Can be a little complicated to run and administer processes but they are improving that as well.

Damir H.
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 06/01/2021

Great Software for a small or mid size company

Pros

Ease of use. Looks very nice. Data integration is easy. Formulas are easy to use as they are very excel like.

Cons

Complex statistical analysis is difficult and you would still need sql or R to do the heavy lifting. However, the end results can be displayed in Prophix which was ok for my company

Harshit B.
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Other for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 10/08/2017

Good analytical software

Pros

compatible with microsoft sql & analytical products like Excel, PPT
Capable of running high frequency ratios/metrics

Cons

on sql server or flat files data can be integrated into the software for analytical purposes
Small scale system, still needs to be enhanced further

60 reviews