NextGen Office Reviews

4.0
Overall rating
Reviews

4.0
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About NextGen Office

NextGen Office is an award-winning, cloud-based, clinical and billing solution designed for smaller, independent practices (≤ 10 providers). This all-in-one, full-service solution includes specialty-specific EHR content, an...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
3.8
Features
3.9
Ease of Use
3.9
Customer Support
4.0

Browse NextGen Office Reviews

1,261 of 1,261 reviews
Sort by:
JEFF
JEFF
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 09/06/2020

NextGen Healthcare-Still a leader in Patient/Physician communication

This was a Premiere Patient and Physician portal many years ago and worked so smoothly. I did live in another state, but happily when researching my info for older records, this Portal was still there and had all I needed. I did not pursue moving items to another portal that some of my doctors use today since they seems to be on an ever evolving and ever revolving system of chaos on some of the models being implemented currently. This wasn't broken, so I wish it had stayed for many other people. But a refreshing relief to still find it and get to use it. It may be working in other parts of the world and in those places I hope that the users feels as good as I do about it.

Pros

I needed to find some older records from another place and time. My portal still was available from 2014 and I had many and virtually all options available to me despite being in other Physician based web portals over the years. Beyond Helpful.

Cons

I only dislike that it is phased out in many common places and dominated by more complex systems. I experienced this issue recently at a physicians office.

Vipul
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 03/03/2020

family physician review

I'm overall happy. Every EHR system has its pros and cons, but I believe Nextgen Office has a very good combination of ease of use and overall cost.

Pros

It is very easy to complete my notes at the time of examination of the patients

Cons

whenever an upgrade or maintenance is completed over a weekend, many times we run into problems coming back to work on that Monday. For examples, slowness, screen freezes up, etc. The latest incident was this past weekend. It was eventually corrected on the Monday, but it slows us down.

Cheryl
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
3.5
Customer Support
4

3.5
Reviewed on 19/09/2014

Great potential, but needs some improvement!

Pros

They are improving the product consistently. There have been two product updates since we started with them in March. Customer service has improved greatly as well. 99% of the time someone who picks up the phone and helps you with your problems. They have daily webinars that are free of a particular topic, so you can log in, ask questions, get help, and then log off. The product has a lot of great things such as ease of sending the charges from the docs to the billing department, seeing the exact statement that a patient received so you can talk to them more intelligently, getting lots of detail on the claims, rescheduling a patient from one day to the next, and blocking a portion of the schedule or opening a portion of the schedule.

Cons

You can submit issues via email, but once they respond back, they close the case. Even if they didn't give you the answer you were looking for, you then have to email again and reference the case requiring you to print everything to keep track, because there is no way to follow the status of your case. If you submit feature requests, there is no way to know if they are working on it, aren't considering it, holding it for a future update, etc. There are specific reports that you can get, but if you need something that's not pre-built, there is very little way to obtain the info, if at all. I requested some kind of report writer. The reports all come out as an Excel spreadsheet which is good, because it allows you to manipulate and move around the data, but when you print it's very unwieldy and not pretty. They need to have a way to convert the report to a PDF format once you have it the way you like. Many of the reports don't offer options such as picking providers, locations, payers, so you have to manipulate the report after it opens to delete what you do not need, which is time consuming. The software is extremely dependent on location, which means everything you do has to be done by location creating a lot of work. If you have many offices, your docs do surgery in several locations and they are outpatient or inpatient. Changing or adding something has to be done many times, because you do it by location. It would be easier if there was a drop-down listing your locations and you only had to check the locations to which your additions or changes were applicable. Parts of the software feel as if they are too structured and everything has to fit into their predetermined way to do things. There is not enough flexibility and leeway to change portions that suit your practice. Vendor training was not great when we started and we paid for an outside vendor that works with Healthfusion to come on site and train us. I understand that the help and training portions have changed a bit since then and may be better. It has great potential if they would open up the software and be more flexible!

Top NextGen Office Alternatives

Compulink Healthcare Solutions

Cerner Specialty Practice Management

eClinicalWorks

Barry
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/08/2019

Get to know it

Took a while to learn the system, but in’s you learn the ins and outs of navigation it a breeze

Pros

Everything thing you need is there. Options are unlimited. Navigation is straight forward once you learn the system. Support is knowlegible and fast.

Cons

Tough to learn. Training team needs a lot to be desired

Alternatives Considered

SammyEHR

Reasons for Choosing NextGen Office

Bad support and very expensive to use

Reasons for Switching to NextGen Office

Betting linking with other ears , but tough decision
Isaiah
Isaiah
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 06/08/2020

One of the best EHR Vendors around

I have had a wonderful experience with this software and it's auxiliary products. Even when things don't go as expected their customer support has been on top of it.

Pros

I like the immediate transition of the company since the new [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] has taken over. Their commitment to customer success with new edge technologies has been a great shift and kept me as a customer.

Cons

I dislike the fact that they don't have a bigger stack in the hospital industry of healthcare. I think this needs to change particularly with their api and interoperability stack.

Alternatives Considered

EpicCare and Cerner Ambulatory EHR

Reasons for Switching to NextGen Office

The full product offerings was a perfect for our model of healthcare.
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
2
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
1

3
Reviewed on 27/01/2024

Incompetence with revenue cycle team and poorly built EMR

Poor. Been with this EMR for over 5 years and it seems to get worse every year. When you point out problems they just refer you to a different "team" within nextgen and this process continues while mistakes continue to be made. Very poor communication.

Pros

Its relatively cheap, however you get what you pay for...

Cons

Recurrent multiple mistakes by billing side (revenue cycle), very poor communication. Multiple teams handle your account but none of these teams communicate with each other causing recurrent mistakes and constant oversight by the user

Response from NextGen Healthcare

We hear your frustration. Thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention. The experience you describe falls far short of the high standards we set for ourselves. If you are open to a live conversation, I would welcome learning additional details. Please email me at [email protected] with some time options that work for you, and we’ll set up a call. Thank you so much. Sincerely, Colleen Edwards

Replied 09/02/2024
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
2

3
Reviewed on 11/05/2021

Not bad but it had to grow on me

We use NextGen to create patient charts to submit and generate claims to send through our clearinghouse. The set up was off to a rocky start but overall we have learned how to use the system and utilize the functions. It is not too difficult to use and for the most part easy to navigate and understand after fully learning the in's and out's of the system.

Pros

The billing chart entry is not terrible. After a while you get used to it. It is fairly simple to use once you have a full understanding of how it works and able to easily operate it. The charge entry is extremely simple giving you step-by-step charge entry points to easily understand.

Cons

The customer service was NOT great. I dont know if perhaps my experience was unique but especially when it came to deployment it had a very difficult time. I do not like how they restrict you on what you are allowed to do within your own database. I wish the user had more capabilities especially when initially setting it up for the office. I feel like every time I have an issue no one knows how to answer it and just passes me off to the next person.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 15/10/2023

NextGen Office, still a leader in patient/physician communication!

I am generally pleased with NextGen Office. Like any EHR system, it has its advantages and disadvantages, but I find that NextGen Office strikes a good balance between user-friendliness and cost-effectiveness.

Pros

One of its strong points is the ease with which I can complete patient notes during examinations.

Cons

The only downside I've encountered is related to system upgrades or maintenance performed over weekends. This sometimes leads to issues like slowness and screen freezes when we return to work on Mondays. The most recent incident occurred this past weekend but was eventually resolved on Monday, albeit causing some delays.

Gabriel
Gabriel
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
2
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 03/02/2019

Epic > NextGen

Pros

The software allows to you maintain a daily appointment book, while at the same time letting you keep track of a caseload of patients.

Cons

This software does not often run smoothly. It freezes and there is always someone in the workplace having an issue. Also, adding new patients can be confusing.

Alberto
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 26/06/2023

It is not perfect but it works

Pros

NextGen Office software offers a comprehensive suite of customizable features, from appointment scheduling to billing and revenue cycle management. It provides consistent and efficient practice management, making check-in, billing, collections, and AR processes seamless. The transition between Practice Management and EHR is smooth, enhancing usability.

Cons

I find NextGen Office's EHR to be increasingly disorganized over time, lacking crucial bug fixes and addressing user-requested improvements. It needs streamlined features like automated filtering for unpaid claims and easier claim attachment and review processes. The excessive tabs, scrolling, and button-clicking in the system's layout design are inefficient and don't optimize screen space.

Nathan
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
2

2
Reviewed on 14/08/2020

NextGen is not user friendly

I was unhappy with the product because it slowed me down and required so much excess minutia in button clicking and scrolling. Overall it is a very inconvenient software to use. Eventually I became accustomed to it, but you realize how bad it is once you switch to a better software

Pros

The layout is fairly readable.
Sometimes it is nice to click on a box and have it instantly bring up a table to select different options, but it is generally annoying and difficult to customize.

Cons

Excessive tabs, scrolling, and button-clicking. It is very time-consuming to complete exam charts due to the poor layout design of the system. The layout design does not utilize monitor real estate very well.

Debbie
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 02/02/2023

Next Gen Office from a Person who is not techie

The system provides a centralised and organized repository for patient data and medical records, making it easier to access and manage patient information. The appointment scheduling feature helps reduce wait times and improve patient satisfaction by streamlining the scheduling process. The billing and invoicing features of NextGen Office help automate the process of submitting insurance claims, tracking payment status, and generating invoices, making it easier to manage financial operations. The workflow management features of NextGen Office help streamline processes and improve overall operations within the healthcare organisation.Benefits Improved patient care: The system provides healthcare providers with quick and easy access to patient information, allowing for better-informed decision making and improved patient care. The integration of appointment scheduling, billing, and other features help reduce administrative tasks and increase overall efficiency within the healthcare organisation. The billing and invoicing features of NextGen Office help improve financial management by automating the process of submitting insurance claims and generating invoices. NextGen Office is designed to meet HIPAA regulations, ensuring the secure storage and transmission of patient information. The system is highly customisable and can be adapted to meet the specific needs of each healthcare organisation.

Pros

There are several benefits to using NextGen Office, including its user-friendly interface, robust functionality, and strong customer support. The system is well-suited for small and mid-sized healthcare organizations and can be customized to meet the specific needs of each organization. It also integrates with other healthcare technologies, allowing for seamless workflow and improved patient care.

Cons

Some users have reported that NextGen Office can be slow or unreliable at times, and that certain features may require additional technical support. Some users have also reported that the software may not have all the features and functionality required by larger healthcare organizations. Additionally, the cost of implementing NextGen Office and maintaining it over time can be a significant investment for some organizations.

Michelle
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/08/2018

IT Program/Project Manager

In 2006, a 3rd party integrator (no longer in business) sold NextGen to our organization and since this was their first time installing it, the installation and configuration was barely implemented. To mitigate, in 2011, additional Practice Management training from NextGen and EHR Training/template development resources from Ciscon were engaged to review billing processes and create clinical workflows. Thanks to NextGen/Ciscon, we were able to launch the EHR in 2013. Since then, they have helped us make significant improvements to the clinical workflow (customizing templates) and billing processing. In 2016, the NextGen reports allowed us to start receiving CMS Meaningful Use/ACI incentive funds.

Pros

1. Highly configurable...an organization can develop/program/configure any template or drop-down list box to tailor it to their clinical staff!

2. Software includes everything a clinic/hospital needs...and with NextGen's MirthConnect product, any interface or integration to another system is possible and easy! Besides the EHR and Practice Management, NextGen provides a Patient Portal, ePrescribe capability, Rosetta and MirthConnect (allowing interfaces to any system like LabCorp, Quest, Immunization Registries.), and much more!

3. NextGen Support is awesome...and if there is a new staff member, just request Tier 2 or Tier 3 support techs so your challenges are addressed quickly by experts in every area of the product!

4. NextGen Training is helpful from knowledgeable and experienced staff who have worked in clinical and front office environments. For any upgrades or projects, or if you are brand new, leverage the advanced trainers for additional training for staff and learning how to utilize/configure the system by having them review your configuration.

5. NextGen Development and NextGen 3rd Party Integrators (like Ciscon) are amazing to work with...If you don't have time to develop templates or learn, contact them to obtain a quote. I have been most impressed with support team at Ciscon! They have been able to streamline Provider templates and save tons of clicks so the Providers just adore and appreciate the efforts! They were also able to train all the clinical staff on the new workflows.

Cons

Like any EHR (vs a paper chart), there are lots of clicks for the clinical staff members.
In addition, the graphical user interface was so new to staff, this caused delays in the encounters.
(To mitigate, we spent time, money, and effort on training users as well as building customized templates...This was worth every penny!)

Lauren
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 12/10/2022

A medical records system you can trust!

My overall experience has been very positive. It was an easy system to learn, with reliable customer service and support.

Pros

Nextgen is an ideal platform when operating across multiple office locations or affiliate offices under one corporation. Medical records are viewable in one platform without having to log in and out for each location. Patients are easily searchable with alerts to prevent accidental adding of duplicate charts. You can add a feature to check insurance eligibility on both medical record and practice management side. And encounters instantly populate on both sides, making transferring from front desk to clinic seemless. It is easy to set up alerts for patients, whilst maintaining privacy features to protect their data. There is the ability to add a database of referring providers, which makes it easy to send referrals and records confidentially without having to print, scan or fax documents. You can also utilities a tasking feature to send trackable messages or assignments across locations or departments.

Cons

There are so many features it can feel a little overwhelming at first. It is highly recommended to take advantage of any training offered on this platform on order to best take advantage of everything it has to offer.

Dawn
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 07/11/2017

We have been on Nextgen since 2009. We are a pain specialty. We had MAPS templates for...

Pros

The customizations that are possible. WE are a specialty so it is important to capture the data, that is not always PCP. We have needs for rx report to be integrated which is coming in the new upgrade. We need to interface labs so doctors have quick and easy access to results. We have a responsibility to the community to keep them safe from people misusing or selling their medications. The templates and documents are easy to customize. The Nextgen support is helpful. We are excited to hear what the future hold for paincare, through their VAR Itelagen. The integration between EHR and EPM is coming along. Interfacing with labs, HIE. The reporting is made easy captured in the back ground for MIPS. They provide access to websites to become experts in there system. The help desk is not afraid to say if they don't know something and direct you to someone that does. The hosting is made easy. We are told it will be a 30-45 day transition very excited. The application has come a long way in looks it has been designed to be easy to access, it has shortcuts that only need to be hovered over to see data a quick glance. The Patient education was a nice add. It is user friendly and attaches to the encounter as a record it was done. The clinical reconciliation is a great add and makes things easy.

Cons

I wish the upgrades were easier. oTHERWISE i AM VERY HAPPY WITH THE SYSTEM.

Diana
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 21/07/2023

Worst RCM and Customer Service

Horrible experience.

Pros

Did not like. We switched from server based NexGen to MediTouch/Healthfusion in 2013. Unfortunately, NextGen bought out the company.

Cons

Overall, the software works. However, the company forces you into auto renew yearly contracts. Even when we tried to cancel the RCM company a month before the service was set to renew (which technically the Go Live date was two months after notification), they made excuses not to cancel. First it was that we did not cancel. Then it was that we did not cancel with Clinic Anywhere. Then it was that the balance needed to be up to date before they would cancel. Mind you, we were losing money with their lack of collections and their lack of knowledge of billing. I will not get into the billing specific issues here, but any biller should know what they were doing incorrectly. This is what happens with overseas outsourcing. We walked away from the company after 10 years because of their unreasonable negotiation with dropping the RCM portion of the contract.

Ashley
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

3
Reviewed on 26/11/2019

NextGen

Pros

The system is pretty easy to use. There are multiple ways to do pretty much everything in the system. Very rarely does the system go down.

Cons

Easy to delete some things. The system seems slow frequently but it is fixed fairly quickly.

Alternatives Considered

athenaOne

Reasons for Choosing NextGen Office

The system was always down and the cost.

Reasons for Switching to NextGen Office

The ease of use.
Kari
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 09/11/2015

I love MediTouch PM Software

Pros

I love the A/R features. I love how fast I get paid by commercial vendors. I love how intuitive it is on helping avoid claim issues. I did not have any issues with implementation. I have had nothing but good experience with support. We have had this EMR for over a year (and I have dealt with a few) and this is by far the best I've used. We have not had any issues with it going down. We have called when we have thought the system was down and they have guided use through issues with browsers, internet speed etc. So we were always glad we called, problems solved when we thought it was on their end. Yes, claim eligibility check is only on some providers but if you get to know how to use it more in depth it can be VERY helpful in further info not just for eligibility but for knowing primary care provider etc. I have had ZERO issues with auto post and yes, I have double checked. I also really like their statement service, I review each statement before I "send" them to them to send for me but no more issues with bad addresses etc and well worth the money. Their "help" section is great. The help sheets are AWESOME. I email support more than I've ever called them and they send me helpsheets when I can't find them.

Cons

I would like a better way to weed out the non paid lines with auto post instead of dumping them all to the appeal bucket. I would like to be able to attach a claim to the billing comments and be able to send them to another employee to review. I wish that I could upload our own forms to save in the system- I do not like the forms library at all, pretty well worthless to us, I would like it if I could upload, name our files and use it that way.

Jonathan
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
2
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1.5
Reviewed on 08/01/2013

I am a Pulmonologist in a busy private subspecialty practice. I have experience using several diffeent electronic health records. Our practice has been using the NextGen product for more than 7 years--so I can speak as a battle tested user of this product. There are certainly some advantages to using any decent electronic health record including access to outpatient records across campus, handling of phone calls, archiving of information, etc. However, the NexGen product has a long, long way to go to catch up. For communication with other physicians the product is atrocious. Computer generated notes are laden with typographical errors, grammatical errors, truncated sentences, and at times gross inaccuracies. For instance, our current template for physical examination puts no output into the office note for the pulmonary exam (and this is for a busy pulmonary practice!). Here is a recent example of text from a COPD follow up note template:

Reason(s) for Visit:
1. COPD - routine follow-up -The patient is seen in follow-up for COPD. The COPD - routine follow-up began since the last office visit. The COPD - routine follow-up has worsened. It occurs daily. The patient rates the severity of the symptoms as mildly severe. Symptom is aggravated by moderate activity. Symptoms relieved by resting and sitting. ....

On top of this there are nonsensical changes of font size and style in midsentence that make office documents look like ransom notes. I care about the quality of my written work, so I literally spend hours each, most of our template improvements are wiped out.

In my view, NextGen was clearly built first as a billing instrument, not as robust tool to promote all aspects of physician practice. The awards are certainly not for the quality of office notes or layout of screens for the enduser. Labs do not import into notes. Micro reports are difficult to read and necessitate scrolling through multiple windows. Data trending graphs are clunky, improperly scaled and often misplotted. As a practice group, we have tried to work with the NexGen programmers and have been very dissatisfied over 7 years with their lack of responsiveness and seeming inability to fix identified problems. Often when one problem is solved many more are created. As a result, our practice has invested a large amount of funding to support a local programmer to try to correct many of basic flaws in the software that should be part of the package out of the box. Unfortunately, with major system upgrades most of our template improvements have been wiped out.

Echo
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 13/04/2016

Wide improvements over the last two years

I've been working with NextGen EHR in a clinical setting with multiple specialties since 1999. As a Health Informatics EHR consultant, I have the opportunity to support practices internationally and am exposed to numerous EHRs. NextGen is amongst my top 3 favourites.
PROS: NextGen is fairly intuitive. It is easy to navigate through an encounter and locate the tools you need to manage your patient's care. The EHR offers a progressive workflow so you won't need to jump around between disjointed tabs or sections of the EHR to document an encounter or procedure. From one set of templates you can work through an entire encounter with every component readily available - SOAP/APSO, Care Coordination, patient communication and so on. Within easy reach is the ability to order and manage diagnostic and lab tests, immunizations, and monitor preventive milestones. There are many opportunities to view and manage common areas of the patient record so you won't need to jump out of an encounter to review medications, allergies, chronic problems, or medical histories - just to name a few. NextGen accommodates multiple specialties ranging from Primary Care, Behavioral Health, surgical specialties, and optometry and so on. Best of all, there are plenty of time-saving tools that work like Macros build, then load when applicable to a patient or encounter. This includes frequently reached for medications, phrases, treatment plans, PE and ROS findings...even an entire SOAP note for common complaints. Using these tools is often easier than dictation. NextGen is certified across all Regulatory Healthcare measures.
CONS: No doubt, this is an expensive product. Their implementation process is a nightmare. In my humble opinion, their Implementation process often lacks focus and project plans given to new clients are cookie-cutter and not at all relevant to the client's organizational needs. Milestones and deliverables tend to fall short. Training is oft left to tedious eLearning modules and recorded webinars. This is no way to learn a system as adaptive as NextGen and organizations adopting this as their EHR will find themselves frustrated long after go-live. I can't stress enough the importance of in-depth, workflow specific training, customized to how you do business.
SUMMARY: No EHR is perfect. But, out of the box this EHR will likely serve your needs and, with adequate training, you will find that physician adoption may be surprisingly high.

Cecilia
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 30/07/2012

We are a solo Family Practice. MediTouch is our first EHR system and we saw about eight demos before choosing this one. We loved the PM portion, but were not sure about the EHR. Since MediTouch does not require a long contract or huge start up fees we decided to give it a shot and started using it about 2 months ago. The doctor is still learning to use it and we have installed Dragon naturally speaking for him. The medical assistant's portion is pretty easy, they got it quickly and use it for vitals, medical history, family history, allergies, and social history portions. They have minor problems, like smoking use, it has the option of how many packs per day, but not how many single cigarettes per day. They also document chief complaints, but we are still working on customizing them. MediTouch comes with every possible question you can ask for all sorts of complaints so we have to go in to each individually to select the questions that your doctor would want. If you don't customize, you cannot just leave questions blank or it will not save in your encounter. It's a bit time consuming, but this way you get only the questions that your doctor would ask.

As far as the review of system, physical exam and so forth, our doctor has been dictating wherever he can. He is not a great typist so he prefers doing it this way. We have saved his negatives so that he just goes in to change any problems. This saves him a lot of time, but he's not using it for every single patient yet. At the beginning, the doctor thought it wasn't possible for him to use this system, but after some practice he feels if he puts in more time into learning it, he can do it. If you don't want to dictate, the system is mostly clicking, not much typing which I think is good, but if your doctor is not a computer person, this might be time consuming for him. Using a dictating system may help. The diagnosis portion is easy and the Escript portion has been great. If you get a request for a patient whose information is not yet in MediTouch, you do have to put it in before authorizing. Sometimes its difficult to find a pharmacy, unless you know what to search by, but that doesn't happen often.

Overall, we like the EHR portion of MediTouch, it just takes practice and time to customize the system to how you want it. I like that it has the capability of making the progress notes, just as the doctor would have in a written note. I think he will be using it for all patients pretty soon.

Kim
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
2
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 25/11/2019

In Need of a Little Help

I believe Oklahoma Foot and Ankle is NextGen's first podiatry practice. Having been with Next Gen almost 5 years, we have come to realize areas (such as the one's mentioned above) where improvement could be made and perhaps additional feedback from us could help you attract other podiatry practices. On-site training should be part of the cost of our monthly service fee. You offer webinars, but some staff would greatly benefit from hands on training.

Pros

I like the ease of transition between Practice Management and EHR.

Cons

With the ease of transition, there are some features that are totally different between the two features. Specifically, scanning in EHR doesn't give you the option to select a provider. Instead, the provider defaults to the first provider in alphabetical order in our practice. I've addressed this problem with support and they seemed to be unable to fix the problem.

Also, the templates are difficult to create in EHR. Podiatry specific templates would be nice.

Scott
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
N/A

1
Reviewed on 10/08/2017

From patient perspective this software is pathetic

Pros

You can email your doctor. You can see appointments. You can see previous statements. Whoopee, basic functionality that any software can do.

Cons

I design and implement software solutions for a living. I would be embarrassed to sell and implement NextMD. My Doctor's medical practice uses NextMD/NextGen. This software is very unresponsive to navigation inputs. When you view areas such as charts (which rarely works when you click on the View my Chart drop down), the data is not user friendly in presentation and it's difficult to retrieve. Additionally doctor will only electronically provide me lab results if I officially request. The documented instructions provided by the software vendor on how to request are totally incorrect and each 6 months I have to figure out how to do it again. When I complained to Doctor's office, they told me many people have had problems requesting their records using this software.
Additionally, their approach to access "security" is the usual standard lawyer bull of threatening statements followed by their technical approach of "What's your mother's maiden name". Wow, something anyone proficient in google can find.
Bottom line is from a user perspective this software is pathetic and not very usable. I find it hard to believe any medical practice would purchase it.

Alicia
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 08/11/2017

The implementation teams, customer service and support teams are very robust

Functionality and ability to customize has been key for our practice.

Pros

I appreciate the various platforms offered and the ability to interface with other products. The support and training is probably the best that I have seen. I love the reports and hate the reports at the same time. Nextgen can retrieve almost any data, but you have to know exactly what to ask it in order for it to pull the data correctly. I also like the support on compliance side of healthcare and regulatory updates. .

Cons

Price, reporting as mentioned above and that since it partners with so many outside vendors that it does not develop things on their own, that I think should be a part of Nextgen. An example would be the HQM. Nextgen should have a platform for a dashboard, but instead they partnered with someone, so that is yet another fee and vendor we would have to work with

Joel
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Support
2.5

4
Reviewed on 08/05/2016

One year of Meditouch now!

Pros

Started Meditouch EHR in 2015 after using a customized EHR since 1970s. Overall this past year a good product for the complexity of my medical office. Patients do like the interface and it is quite nice when I use my iPad Pro. Buttons are nice, clear. Search function is getting better.

Cons

I'm in a unique situation that Meditouch has never encountered. Because of my high complexity lab I have multiple billing lines for each type of bloodwork and Meditouch did not provide a solution. I have had to pay them for a lab interface but also had to purchase a LIS so our lab can communicate with the EHR just like commercial labs. Billing has been a nightmare for my office manager who did not used to spend hours finishing the day. We are a complex office with bloodwork but our per patient payment is much higher than a standard primary care practice. Patient portal isn't great and many patients complain. I miss my
Programmer and having in house support but Meditouch is getting better. Training is not great and there is a lot of learning on the go. My new physician has had difficulty with it and I'm worried about Locums learning it. I wish there was a support group for all Meditouch users to share their concerns and HF has not really provided that. A lot of EMRs use a groupthink method for billing and it would be useful. I wish there was an east coast office but this issue has improved over the past year

1,261 reviews