Document Control Reviews

4.4
Overall rating
Reviews

4.4
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Document Control

Document Control by MediaLab is cloud-based software that helps medical labs to manage policies and procedures. The tool caters to hospital-based medical laboratories, reference laboratories, environmental laboratories, blood...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.5
Features
4.3
Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Support
4.5

Browse Document Control Reviews

124 of 124 reviews
Sort by:
David
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/05/2018

MediaLab has been transformative. It has enabled me to better oversee document control.

Before using MediaLab we struggled constantly to manage the hundreds of policies and procedures in our lab. MediaLab has allowed me as the laboratory director to more easily review, edit, and approve all documents. It has also allowed me create more consistent documents in terms of formatting across all areas of the lab. Instead of using copies of copies of copies of forms or worksheets, we now have these in MediaLab, so there is no excuse not to have professional-appearing forms at all times.

Pros

Ease of use with regard to using Microsoft Word to create and edit procedures and policies. Customer service has also been exceptional.

Cons

There are some features I would like to see added, e.g., intradocument hyperlinks and the ability for me as a director to more easily convert from minor revision to major revision.

Amer
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 09/11/2018

Great document control software; easy to use

Overall, MediaLab LDC has been GREAT! We went from using an extremely buggy and unreliable SharePoint document control system to one that is seamless to use with excellent tracking capabilities, easy to upload, update and manage laboratory and personnel documents. Would highly recommend MediaLab to any laboratory especially accredited facilities.

Pros

It's easy to use and provides excellent reporting functions. Updating and uploading documents is seamless and tracking functionality is second to none.

Cons

Receive too many emails from database which leads to ignoring of important messages. Some aspects are not as easy to use as others and this is true of the personnel documentation section.

Heather
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 24/05/2018

Overall, positive. Becoming more proficient as I become more familiar.

Pros

Inspection proof: I like that our CAP checklist is imported and it is easy to link procedures to it. We will see how good it is during our upcoming CAP inspection. This will be our first inspection using Media Lab software.

Cons

There is definitely a learning curve with this product. There are some features "hidden" in places that don't seem logical to me. The interface is a little "old school" looking, but maybe that's why it's so cheap. I don't even know where to begin with Compass.

Top Document Control Alternatives

Jennifer
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 29/05/2018

This is the best document control system that I have ever used for a laboratory.

This product simplified the review and approval process, and made true document control a reality.

Pros

Tracking of revisions and approvals is simplified by far. You can always look up retired documents for retrospective review, changes are tracked and highlighted for quick review, as are all levels of review and approvals. It's easy to get to one's to do list, and the system can be set up to send emails when there are actions for you to take.

Cons

Can't think of anything that I don't like. The vendor is responsive to requests for changes. When we have asked for changes, they have been implemented in a fairly quick timeline.

Delanda
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 22/05/2018

Overall the experience with MediaLab have been very informative

The experience has been great.We use the software on a daily basis. The software helps streamline the workflow of the organization and it keeps our documents in a centralized location. Employees are able to use the current version of each document. Assigning documents by groups and individual employees is also a great benefit of this system. Being able to assign compency test so Scientists and other staff members can stay informed and current is also a great benefit.

Pros

Overall, I like the system. I enjoy assigning users to review important documents. I like the assessment field and continuing education. The system helps our company with retrieving and maintaining documents.

Cons

Too many screens and it is not easy to toggle back and forth. The Help menu is also hard to get the information that you are researching.

Rezvaneh
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 16/11/2018

Medialab Document Control

I am saving a lot of time using document control. By using Medialab document control feature, I know that my employees sign off on all documents as soon as they are approved and I can keep records of their activities.
Also, the fee is comparable to other software out there.

Pros

It is user friendly at most parts. Easy to upload documents and start approval process. Easy for biennial review. Reminders for different due dates helps employees. Helps getting ready for inspection via inspection proof.

Cons

Giving permissions to employees and group of employees have been a challenge for me. Also, I have problem giving permission to the Managers for biennial review of their department procedure manual.

Terri
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/11/2018

LOVE Media lab!

All around excellent experience with Media Lab.

Pros

Really easy to maintain compliance to CAP Document Control standards. Easy to use, track, generate reports, make assignments, etc, and would highly recommend to any laboratory without electronic Document Control!

Cons

The front end uploading of all SOPs took a bit of time, but once the manuals are organized, it makes maintenance and compliance a breeze. They also offer "Inspection Proof" which is a MUST HAVE for any lab inspected by CAP.

Samantha
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 09/11/2018

Makes document control easy

The system has been easy for the staff to learn and controlled permissions provide document security. I also like the fact that all your company SOPs and worksheets are in one place!

Pros

Ability to organize the documents for easy retrieval by staff. Also the ability to keep up with timely review of documents so as to maintain compliance.

Cons

Sometimes hard to find how to control permissions and access. Can usually find it, but sometimes takes a while to get it right.

James
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/05/2018

I do several sections, Safety, Point of Care and sign off of Dept manual/doc for the entire...

An entire easy to use document control systems that simplifies the process and makes usable.

Pros

How simple it is to update a policy and get it sign off. Reminders for updates. Minor vs major revision to help speed up the review process. Easy access to documents and manuals. Validation of sign offs by pathologists and reviewers

Cons

Too many Staff notifications for policy review - however part of that is due to staff not reviewing when they should

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Research
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

3
Reviewed on 22/05/2018

Very good for basic document control needs

Pros

Good pricing. Good entry level document control system. Easy to create accounts. easy to search for needed documents

Cons

Not very user friendly for assigning documents. Approval process cannot be customized. Geared towards use with blood banking and not GMP products. Not as many restrictions other Document control systems

Angela
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 29/05/2018

Media Lab is very user friendly

We use the document control, continuing education, and inspection proof

Pros

I like that it has a variety of functionality (i.e. document control, continuing education, competency, inspection proof).

Cons

We are a healthcare system and some of the functionality with the document control process does not lend itself easily to a system approach. Multiple facilities with multiple medical directors with the same policies.

Lauren
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
2
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 24/05/2018

MediaLab is not very user friendly. It's known throughout the company as kind of a pain to use.

Pros

Software keeps SOPs and PRCs updated. I enjoy that I can edit my email settings and that I can add content and DOCLs to assignments.

Cons

Not user friendly or intuitive, changes settings without alerting us often (switching people's permissions, etc), courses can get lost after creation. Reports are not always helpful to pull with courses that have multiple competencies/DOCLs associated with them (exporting the report in Excel does not show status of each portion of assignment, only how many activities have been completed)

Tiffany
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 29/05/2018

Love MediaLab's Document Control!!

Pros

Prior to using MediaLab's Document Control we kept hard copies of procedures. ML's Document Control allowed us to go paperless and be able to access all of our documents online which is very convenient. It keeps track of pervious document versions which is nice too.

Cons

So far, no major issues with the software. There was a delay in hearing back from a representative to have questions answered. Once we did get in contact with someone they were very professional and supportive!

Tracey
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/11/2017

Document control with MediaLab has really helped improve life in our lab.

Pros

This product is very easy to use. The ability to assign users to groups and groups to manuals has made it easier to keep up with performing employee sign-off.

Cons

Sometimes if you are adding additional approvers to a document, there is a bug that sometimes inhibits the user being added to sign from seeing the correct version.

Karen
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 22/05/2018

We use Document Control and Compass. DC works great in conjunction with Compass for training

Pros

The ability to share documents throughout the lab is useful. It is also a benefit to keep common documents (ie., meeting minutes for lab review)

Cons

The Help section is not as detailed as it could be. It can be frustrating to click on a help link a receive a message that the section is not completed.

Danica
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/05/2018

It is easy to use and navigate. There is a lot of white space which helps with finding...

A program that finally has a quick turn around time for corrections in the standard operating procedures. It also, is very easy to load other attachments and only assign the attachments/supplements of a SOP to a group or individual.

Pros

It has many functions that are specific to lab use like Medical Directors review of documents and procedures.

Cons

The access to view other department/facilities menu has to be given instead of just having all document control items viewable to all locations.

Karin
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 08/05/2017

This software has made my life much easier than it was before we purchased it.

Ease of tracking procedures from start to finish.

Pros

Automatic tracking of approvals, periodic review, staff assignments. Email and to-do list reminders. Ease of use.

Cons

Sometimes I outsmart myself by getting too fancy, e.g. use of labels or other alternate approval functions.

Jane
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 26/09/2018

MediaLab Review

Excellent experience

Pros

It is extremely easy to use and very cost effective. Easy to show that staff have reviewed since an email is sent to them each time a policy is edited.

Cons

There is not anything that I dislike about this software.

Devin
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 23/05/2018

This software has made our document control process so much more efficient

A uniform document control system across the laboratory

Pros

The ease of use and helpfulness of customer support. The email notifications help to keep you a track. I also like the reminder to update the paper version so that it always stays current.

Cons

Having to remember to assign groups, peer reviewers, admins, lab directors, for each manual. It's easy to miss a part that leads to problems.

Ann
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 24/05/2018

I wish it was more customizable for individual businesses.

Electronic document control.

Pros

Tracking potential of documents in the system. The to do list is very helpful and also the automatic annual review setting.

Cons

Would like to be able to " watermark" copies to easily see if it is an original controlled copy. This would administrators find uncontrolled copies.

Molly
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 09/11/2018

FeedbackCHW

Pros

Ease of access, user friendly format, responsive customer service

Cons

Additional features that could be customizable (i.e., include manual name in your to-do list, ability to organize to-do items when you have multiple roles - approver, director, etc)

Corinne
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 24/05/2018

New for us, so we don't understand it all but so far eliminates work and increases efficiency.

Efficiency--I don't have to manage documents as much because of the approval processes and the continuity (after original setup).

Pros

The automated approval process is nice. I like that we can link to other SOP's so easily. I also like the ability to customize quizzes and/or sign-offs for documents. So far it's been easy to manage--a bit time-consuming to set up, but it should be easier now that official setup is complete.

Cons

Not sure yet. There's been a learning curve so I don't understand all of it yet, but there haven't been any major headaches that I can think of. Some users have complained about the blurriness of the text (it's not as clear as our former software)--I'm not sure if this was affected by the upload speed or what contributed to this.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 27/03/2019

DOCUMENT CONTROL

We just started building our Media lab and it has been easy thus far. We will be open for our accrediation inspection. This software is supposed to make the inspection seamless.

Pros

Ease of use for electronic storage of records.

Cons

With Inspection Proof... with regards to the accreditation checklists ... once you select begin inspection .. additons or changes cannot be performed

Sarah
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 24/05/2018

It's been a great help to track versions and get updates out to all who need to review.

It's so easy to get control of your documents with this program. It's very easy to use and to teach others to use.

Pros

I really like the reminders for when policies are up for review. It includes all those who need to sign off so the policy can be forwarded to the next in line to review/revise.

Cons

Sometimes the policies get assigned to the wrong techs and it's a bit of a pain to get that straightened out.

Nekohl
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 24/05/2018

Medialab is a good tool to utilize in inspections to organize policies and competencies.

Pros

The ability to have staff go into the software by assigning different programs, also the ability for upper management and physicians to sign off.

Cons

It is not the easiest program to understand and it training or motivating people to begin the process is not the easiest.

124 reviews