Keela Reviews

4.3
Overall rating
Reviews

4.3
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Keela

Empower your nonprofit organization with Keela, the premier, affordable CRM platform designed specifically for the needs of the sector. With intelligent tools and guided decision-making, fundraisers will gain access to the...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.4
Features
4.0
Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Support
4.5

Browse Keela Reviews

270 of 270 reviews
Sort by:
Leigh
Leigh
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 11/01/2018

Keela has been highly responsive and quick to evolve to meet the practical needs of its...

Pros

I like the simplicity of Keela however, it's important to point out that the simplicity doesn't compromise how useful the tool is. They've stripped down the CRM model to make it exactly what fundraisers at small and medium size charity need and got rid of all the extra widgets that just make tracking donor data unnecessarily complicated.

We have also greatly appreciated the quick response time of the support team. Multiple features that we have suggested would be useful have shown up in new iterations of the product and the team regularly checks in with us to make sure that we are happy.

Cons

The dashboard isn't the best. I would appreciate being able to customize it to be able to see the information that is important to you at a glance.

Response from Keela

Thanks for your feedback! We are planning to make some improvements to the dashboard and we'd love to hear your ideas. Please get in touch with us here: http://bit.ly/2H0UvvM

Replied 13/02/2018
Doug
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 18/05/2023

Very satisfied with Keela

Our experience with Keela has been amazing from the original sales presentation, to onboarding, to learning how to use the software, to ongoing customer support. Their team is fantastic and probably one of the main reasons that we continue to stay with them. The product is great but the customer support team is just as good. Always very responsive and helpful. Quick to listen to suggestions for improving existing features or adding new capabilities. The Keela DRM has also been extremely helpful to us as a small nonprofit because it puts every aspect of our fundraising, communication and donor management all in one powerful and easy-to-use tool.

Pros

Keela provides all of the tools we need in one place. Not only can we manage all of our donors' information, interactions, and transactions, but we can also organize multiple donor campaigns, create various donor and subscription forms, send out all of our email newsletters and fundraising email blasts. Keela allows you to run just about any type of report that you can think of, set up multiple dashboards for monitoring various metrics, and gives us the ability to set up powerful multi-step automation sequences that can be triggered by various actions. Keela is very affordable and their customer service team is one of the best I've seen anywhere. They're very responsive and listen to their customers for new ideas, potential bugs, and much more. We are very satisfied with Keela and would highly recommend it to any other nonprofit that is looking for a DRM.

Cons

There is not much that I do not like about Keela because whenever I encounter a problem or limitation, I just contact their support team and usually get a response very quickly. Probably my least favorite thing about Keela is their mobile app. It is good but is just a little limited in it's functionality.

Reasons for Switching to Keela

Keela had the most functionality for the best price. So many features and functionalities integrated into one tool with a simple-to-use and intuitive interface. It was a clear choice for us.
Courtney
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

3
Reviewed on 11/09/2019

Keela Review

So far it has been good, I am happy with our choice and the abilities, I think with some key enhancements this could be a really great platform.

Pros

I like the overall donor management options including importing donations from other sources, the ability to soft credit, adding volunteer hours, etc. The cost of the software if excellent and it links to several other programs we use. Customer Service is great when I do reach out for help.

Cons

I would the forms to be more dynamic, right now I have to create too many forms. An example if a campaign we did for a free sticker, within the campaign we wanted to offer the donor a chance to pay for the sticker shipping and possible donate something extra. I couldn't do this in one form, I needed a for ​the free part and separate from if they wanted to donate. Overall I think the forms could be improved to allow for more flexibility​, I would like to have some of the questions like "pay for the fee" to default to Yes. Pulling reporting from specific forms is not easy, we use this for tour registrations and it is cumbersome to get to the responses sorted by tour day, overall forms could be more efficient​ and enhanced.

I would also like to see a mobile app.

Reasons for Choosing Keela

The cost of the two separate platforms was too much for our organization. We wanted on the ​platform for all donor management.

Reasons for Switching to Keela

Overall package, features, pricing and customer service during the process. We were also referred to Keela by another sanctuary who spoke highly of the platform.

Response from Keela

Hello Courtney! Thank you so much for this wonderful feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time. I'm so glad to hear that you are happy with Keela! The Customer Success team have loved working with you too! We've got some really exciting enhancements to forms scheduled soon - I think you're going to love them! Stay tuned and thanks again.

Replied 18/09/2019

Top Keela Alternatives

Trail Blazer Non-Profit Manager

Laura
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 20/04/2021

Very happy with our experience!

Overall we are very happy. Keela is easy to use and has helped us improve our donor experience. Our staff can now check donor accounts and see all relationship details at a glance.

Pros

As a smaller charity we are most impressed with the integrated features on Keela. Being able to direct our donors to give online and know that they will automatically receive a tax receipt and thank you makes us very happy. Tax receipts are now branded and our charity is listed on our donors credit card bill. This helps tremendously with brand recognition! We are now able to save a lot in administration costs by no longer having to be dependant on third party processors. More importantly than money saved is the improved donor experience that we can now provide. We never have to direct our supporters to a third party to resend tax receipts, update credit card information, stop or increase monthly donation, etc. The BCC and FWD email features are a real time saver as well!

Cons

There are some features that need improvement to completely satisfy our needs but we find Keela always makes the effort to continually improve their product and is open to suggestions through their Ideas Portal. At the moment our biggest challenges with the software are: limitations in reporting, e-blast design features are limited and donor interactions are not able to be imported.

Alternatives Considered

Salesforce Sales Cloud

Reasons for Choosing Keela

eTapestry was very clunky and difficult to use and there was very little customer support.

Switched From

Blackbaud eTapestry

Reasons for Switching to Keela

The price point is good, on boarding costs are reasonable, the platform meets our needs and customer service is great. We also liked the idea of supporting a smaller, local company.

Response from Keela

Oh, hello Laura! Thank you for taking the time to share this wonderful feedback. Firstly, let me just say that the Customer Care team think you are great, too! Your feedback over the last 9 months (Wow, has it really been that long?) has been absolutely integral to our Product Road Map. I'm very happy to share that enhancements to Reporting and E-blasts as well as the ability to import Interactions are on all on there! Keep an eye out for communications about each improvement as they're made in the system. Thanks again - we really appreciate you!

Replied 21/06/2021
Richard
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 11/09/2020

A Modern and Innovative Tool that Helps Us Manage Our Donors and Sponsorships

Keela has helped our organization have a centralized data management center that multiple volunteers can access to perform tasks that keep us in compliance with our local and national government. In simple terms, it's made everyone's job a little bit easier!

Pros

It was fairly easy to switch from our previous CRM database that we were unhappy with. This software has given us the ability to communicate effectively with our donors, keep track of sponsorship pledges, and track our yearly fundraising goals. All of this has been easy to customize to our organization and add the custom fields that pertain to us.

Cons

To be fair, it's hard to be a "one size fits all" for any product, so of course there could be things that could be enhanced or added. For us, I would like to see when a pledge payment is past due and be able to create a segment or report that could show who is behind and by how much. Also, I would like the ability to create custom reports that would allow custom queries. The nice thing though about the Keela team, is they REALLY listen when you have a particular need like I just mentioned and they provide an Ideas Portal for just that!

Response from Keela

Thanks so much for your detailed review Richard, this is great feedback for our team. I am happy to hear that Keela has supported you with data management, donor relationships, and fundraising reporting - that's exactly what we built the system for! If we are not saving you time, we aren't doing our job

I noticed there are a few things in the system you are still on the lookout for. Specifically when it comes to viewing and reporting on Pledges. You can actually view the 'Status' of all of your Pledges by going to the 'Fundraising' tool and clicking on the 'Pledges' tab. Here you will be able to view and 'Filter' by Pledge 'Status'. As for the ability to have a visual report of who is behind and by how much, this would be an excellent idea for our Product Portal for our team to review (https://portal.productboard.com/keela/1-product-portal/tabs/1-under-consideration).

As for custom reporting, I reccomend reaching out to our Support team at [email protected]. We have become

Replied 19/02/2021
Douglas
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 10/11/2020

Keela "Thinks" Like We "Think"

I'm sorry that, when a person reads the "cons," it probably sounds like I'm "dissing" the software. But the truth is - it's the best we could find. And there's something else: They (the entire team) seem to have such a customer service orientation that they LISTEN! And they aren't afraid to admit that something needs to change. For example, see above when I mentioned the problem with state abbreviations. After I submitted the idea into the idea portal and copied the customer support email, they wrote me back a personal email and admitted that they should have caught this earlier. The fast-tracked the fix and -- I'm serious - they rolled out the fix within like... maybe three weeks max. (As fast as we would have wanted them to make a fix, test it, and releast it.) In fact, they've listened every time - and they've begun implementing changes based on sincere user feedback. Last week (I'm not making this up), they arranged a call with the [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] and the [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN]-- both on a Zoom call with the customer support specialist that they assigned to us. Their main purpose seemed singlefold: To listen. They never became defensive... not once. They basically said, "Make a list of your 'pain points,' and give ALL of them to us." No software vendor had EVER done that for me before (even though I've been equally forthright with ALL of them). The pricing is fair for what we get. Imagine - we sent out 9800 emails. Keela did GREAT. There's so much more I could say. Love it.

Pros

Keela's pricing structure was straightforward and fair. They didn't charge "by the user," like some vendors do. Yes, there's a sliding scale based on the range of contacts, but for our org, the scale seemed fair. We had tried numerous (I forget how many) products previously. I'm ashamed to admit we rarely stayed with one product longer than a year. DonorPerfect. CiviCRM. Salesforce. Blackbaud. Bloomerang. Salsa CRM/Engage. The list goes on. Not sure why - but when we found Keela (I'm not kidding), it was like finding "the one." For one thing, they didn't make me make an appointment with some sales rep that would do a 30-minute demo, then ask me if I had questions, even though I had already watched everything in her/his demo in dozens of YouTube reviews. (That's a crazy system, if you stop and think about it.) Keela let me open the account, set everything up, do my first imports, and start using the program all without having to wait on ANYONE in ANY time zone. (It's not that I'm anti-social. I just wanted to experiment with it on my OWN.) They advertised some outlandish increase we should expect in fundraising. I remember thinking, "Now how could they know that?" But I'm serious - from the day we first installed until the first email campaign, it was under 90 days. And our first email/printed mail campaign has just topped (you're going to think the company hired me to say this - but they didn't) $100,000 in income. Our typical email campaigns had been $10,000 or $12,000prior

Cons

I need a bigger box. (haha) I didn't like the way they seemed to want to hide certain fields from me - like, they were afraid it would make the software seem too complex. The reporting module seemed sooooo basic. I just wanted them to give me a "field picker" for every field and let me choose exactly which fields I wanted. Instead, someone in their product development team had apparently decided which fields that he or she thought were important enough to include in a report. What's so hard about giving us a dropdown box with choices -- ALL choices?! States and Canadian provinces were listed in a dropdown - but I had imported thousands of records with state abbreviations -- and, strangely, it wasn't an option to search for those. (?????) Again, it was like they were trying to make the program so friendly that they prevented us from graduating to more of a "power user" posture. The software was fast (I mean - we have 17,000 contacts and it seemingly always finds the desired contact within 1 second - seriously), but some of the clicks and steps between functions are dreadfully filled with twists and turns and dead ends. Too many clicks. They allow the user to manage importing - and they have documented it well - but I can't designate a "key field" that I want to use as the key. They have their own Keela index - but it's hard to assign multiple keys. They DO keep an "external index" and they use it - but sometimes I'm not clear how to mesh the two.

Response from Keela

Doug! We've said it before and we'll say it again - thank you from the bottom of our hearts for your enthusiasm, your passion and most of all your willingness to work with us to make the system better. Keela is on a rocket journey to the moon and we're so glad to have you onboard! Thanks always, the Keela Customer Care team (and every single team member t Keela if I'm being honest - we are all BIG fans!)

Replied 23/02/2021
Laura
  • Industry: Music
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 17/09/2022

Keela review to date

We have only just started using the software, so do not feel we have had enough time with it yet to review it. We have noticed a couple of glitches with the software which are unique to our two organizations, as mentioned earlier in this survey.

Pros

We are very new to the software, so our focus so far has been on data entry and setting everything up and developing convention for entry to ensure consistency.

Cons

We would love to see the ticketing software that integrates with Keela. We have been using TicketPeak and it is not a simply process to ensure we are accurately capturing contact info. One system for our CRM, fundraising and box office would be ideal.

We would also like there to be a way in which we can issue tax receipts for each of our two charitable organizations without having to pay for two separate databases. They are essentially the same contact list, but donations are made to either or both organizations. It would be great to find a solution to this within just the one database.

Shauna
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 31/10/2023

Review of Keela as an admin and user

Pros

I like that it has features we can use on a daily basis all in one system.

Cons

Any new product enhancement isn't automatically added to your subscription. Often has to pay additional fee.

Kayla
  • Industry: Philanthropy
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 30/10/2023

Capterra Keela Review

With Keela being fairly new for us still, everyday we use it we are learning new things that can be done within Keela! It has been a bit of an adjustment but we see lots of potential with Keela.

Pros

I personally love how customizable Keela can be depending on the user. It's also nice that there are many functions that can be taken advantage of in Keela, keeping most of our Data in 1 place instead of spread out between multiple products.

Cons

With the amount of Data that was in our old database, we have had a hard time with the transition of correct data into Keela from our old server. It has taken more time then we have envisioned to get everything into Keela from Kindful. Additionally, I have personally had issues with importing taking up to 6 hours with Keela.

R. Brad
R. Brad
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 18/11/2018

A Quick, Low-ish Cost Solution for a Non-profit that lacked structure

Overall this software has (or will be) a lifesaver. Our staff have had difficulties adjusting to the new system, mainly because there is structure and specific data points where before it was a mish mash of data in notebooks, Excel files, and Post-It notes. I would like to see some additional development devoted specifically to customization of the system. Keela is very much a rigid cloud solution with little to no customization options. Having the ability to control the look and feel of the system, donor-facing data, and being able to control what inputs are allowed from users would be a huge help. At the end of the day, though, Keela is a great solution for a small nonprofit who is looking for a quick solution at low cost.

Pros

-Easy to onboard donors and volunteers (the difficult part was organizing the data to make it upload properly which has more to do with the administration of the organization that the software.
-Immediate, flexible training for the staff.
-Relatively simple interface. I say relatively because sometimes its almost "too" easy and some members of the staff overlook the simple solution.

Cons

-I am not fond of the analytics tool. Again, maybe this has more to do with the fact that its too simple, but as an analyst I find it difficult to get the information I want easily.
-We have had some struggles with the integration with other vendors-specifically MailChimp. After following all the instructions for both companies, we still cannot complete a good link.

Response from Keela

Hello Brad! I'm so glad to hear your feedback - especially your sentiments about training which the Customer Success team are particularly proud of :). I'm also pleased that you find the system to be easy - Our goal is a simple system that users can transition to easily so this is very good news! I understand that the Analytics tool can be challenging sometimes - and I'm happy to let you know that we're making improvements to it early this year! We'd also love to hear your suggestions for what you'd like to see (you can post them here: (https://keela.ideas.aha.io/ideas/new)) In the meantime, if you would ever like suggestions on how to access your desired information please don't hesitate to reach out to [email protected] - we will do our best to find a quick and easy way to get what you need. Also, please also let us know if you are still experiencing issues with MailChimp - We'll be happy to take a look.

Replied 18/01/2019
Annastasia
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/05/2023

User Friendly and Excellent Customer Service

Pros

We love how easy it is for people to learn the system. New staff are up and running on it effortlessly. The customer service is also stellar. The team really listens to our needs and helps us find solutions.

Cons

integrating our email provider with Keela's email function was difficult and managing unsubscribes has sometimes been a challenge.

Avi
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 13/08/2019

Great solution

Tracking contacts and donations and hopefully will expand more for e-blasts.

Pros

Easy to use and very user friendly.
Screens are managed and viewed easily.
Easy to enter and log information (like contacts, donations and so on)

Cons

Support (although very professional) only by email.
Would prefer a phone support.

Alternatives Considered

Neon CRM

Reasons for Choosing Keela

sumac doubled their price after being purchased

Switched From

Sumac

Reasons for Switching to Keela

Because all of the pro I listed above

Response from Keela

Hello Avi, Thank you for your feedback and we are so glad that you are enjoying the solution! Feel free to reach out when you are ready to try E-Blasts and we would love to send you some resources to get started. Also you will be happy to know we are working on adding phone support sometime in the future. Thanks again for your time!

Replied 06/09/2019
Meghan
  • Industry: Individual & Family Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 22/04/2021

Fantastic product for NPO's

We're happy to finally have a cloud-based database where many of our team members can access important information and we can all work together to perform tasks. Working with Keela has been a positive experience from the beginning and we especially appreciate that they consider feedback and are constantly improving and making updates.

Pros

Keela has become our one-stop-shop for donor, member, e-mail management, etc. and has streamlined our processes immensely. The integration and import of all of our current data was seamless and quick and if we ever ran into any issues, customer service was very helpful. Keela is very easy to use and learn, which made training our very busy staff and volunteers very easy.

Cons

Our organization has some pretty specific needs, and not every feature from our previous donor/member database was able to be customized in Keela. However, we were able to find some work-arounds and the pros of using Keela vastly outweigh the cons.

Alternatives Considered

Neon CRM, Bloomerang and Little Green Light

Switched From

Claris FileMaker

Reasons for Switching to Keela

Cost, features, customer service

Response from Keela

Hello Meghan! This review made our hearts sing - This is exactly the experience that we are striving for you and your team members. While you said so many wonderful things, it's your comment about us considering feedback and making constant improvements that I'm most pleased about. Our Product Team works so very hard to collate and action each piece of feedback that we receive and it's brilliant to see that their hard work shows. I'll be sure to pass this through to them! Of course, your compliments for our customer service was the cherry on top. Thank you again! Keep sharing your feedback and we'll keep building together.

Replied 21/06/2021
Melissa
  • Industry: Fund-Raising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 04/08/2018

Keela Review

We are now able to track all of our sponsors and communicate more effectively with them. When we have fundraisers, we can create e-blasts and link them to our website. Support in is up! I am so happy.

Pros

This software is so user friendly. When I began using this software, I had extremely limited knowledge of computer use and I was still able to figure it out quite easily. The software is able to accommodate all of our needs and do what we need it to do to help our animal shelter and fundraisers run smoothly and with accurate data. It is easy to track everything we need. I am so impressed. And for the price... I can't imagine using anything else. There is no need to spend a lot of money on some of these other programs when Keela and do ALL you need!

Cons

So far, the only thing that I don't like is that I cannot print off an e-blast that I design to post in various vet offices and at the shelter. I have to create a separate brochure for anything besides e-blasts. Maybe this is possible and I just don't know how to do it. But to me, this is the only draw-back.

Response from Keela

Hi Melissa, thanks for your feedback! Posting an E-blast at vet offices and shelters sounds like a great idea. You can definitely save a PDF of an E-blast for printing. You can find instructions for how to do this here (https://keela.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/360000961432-Saving-an-E-blast-as-a-PDF) - and don't hesitate to reach out to our Customer Success team if you need assistance with anything. You can reach them at [email protected].
Screen reader support enabled.


Hi Melissa, thanks for your feedback! Posting an E-blast at vet offices and shelters sounds like a great idea. You can definitely save a PDF of an E-blast for printing. You can find instructions for how to do this here (https://keela.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/360000961432-Saving-an-E-blast-as-a-PDF) - and don't hesitate to reach out to our Customer Success team if you need assistance with anything. You can reach them at [email protected].

Replied 16/08/2018
Angela
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 15/01/2018

Great experience and meets many of our needs, but there's still room for improvement.

Pros

The contacts database is great - it's easy to use, searchable, updates donations automatically, allows the team to stay up to date on who is assigned to the individual and events involving the individual. We used DonorPro at my previous place of employment, and it was more expensive and more complicated to use than Keela. Keela offers great value for it's database. Would love to connect to people's linkedin profiles and have pics, etc.

Customer support is excellent. I get answers to my questions quickly, and they are always happy to help.

Cons

Some functionality is still missing - when adding tags to new contacts, you need the option to check a bunch at once (almost everyone has more than one tag) as opposed to having to select each one individually.

We haven't used the campaigns option much as we are familiar with and like the options of MailChimp. It's great that we can import data from MailChimp; however, we make all of our templates and mailings on MailChimp because it has so much more to offer in design and customization than Keela's campaigns, which we find to be very basic.

There's also many features that I wish Keela had so that it could be a "one stop shop" for our needs. For example, a calendar that has deadlines and events on it for all to see that also connects with other parts of Keela so if there's an event on the calendar, this then becomes an automatic option for an "interaction" with those who attended; better syncing with Google Docs so that we can open and edit the docs in Keela versus having to download them or go to another webpage; ability to do/plan social media; and a Keela mobile app to access things on the go.

Response from Keela

We're excited to let you know that our mobile app is coming soon! The best way to be notified of new feature is to subscribe to our blog for updates.
Re: your other ideas for new features, we're always happy to receive suggestions on how to improve Keela.
Please get in touch with us so we can hear more about what you have in mind: http://bit.ly/2H0UvvM

Replied 13/02/2018
Susanna
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 24/08/2020

Great for tracking and managing our contacts for our non-profit

It is a great CRM for our needs. It has increased the ability to share contacts and all associated correspondence and information. As we move to track our donations and volunteer connections, I think it will be an effective tool to manage and track them. I have also been blown away by the awesome customer service when I have a question.

Pros

Keela is very easy to use. There is lots of support, training, and help available, both through a person, but also through online tutorial videos, etc. Makes storing donation (dollars and in-kind) and volunteer hour information easy. I love the smart list feature to tease out certain profiles and get some statistics. Being able to store correspondence information is great, especially for sharing the information with staff.

Cons

Keela is very tied to Google products, which is great for Google product users, but is lacking for other browsers and platforms (i.e. Mozilla Firefox). A method to do a bulk volunteer hour/donation input within Keela would be great. The spreadsheets for doing this are a bit confusing.

Response from Keela

Hi Susanna,

Thank you so much for your review. It is great to hear that Keela's support materials have been helpful for you in getting familiar with Keela. As for Volunteer Activity and Donation Imports, we have drastically improved our importing data process in Keela 2.0. Matching your spreadsheet columns to accepted fields in Keela is a lot more automated and straightforward. You also have a lot more options to customize how you want your data to be imported into Keela. We would recommend migrating over to Keela 2.0, this way you can explore our new import tool and several other enhancements.

Reach out to [email protected] if you are interested in migrating to our new system. We would be happy to introduce you to importing 2.0 style ;)

Maggie
Keela's Success Team

Replied 31/08/2020
Sandy
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/04/2021

Love Keela

Pros

Keela is very user friendly, makes it easy to communicate with our donors and has great value for the cost.

Cons

I have not had any difficulties or things missing with Keela since we started using it.

Alternatives Considered

DonorPerfect and Bloomerang

Switched From

Sumac

Response from Keela

Hi Sandy - thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback. It's so very appreciated! It's brilliant to hear that you're finding Keela easy peasy to use - that's the dream! If you come across anything at all, you can always reach us at [email protected] - we love feedback and questions!

Warmly, the Customer Care team

Replied 21/06/2021
Doug
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 16/09/2020

First-class for customer support

Keela is allowing us to combine all of our donor and revenue data in one platform, with the ability to easily create new forms, send e-blasts, and track all revenues, and compile a complete profile for each donor to enable more intelligent and focused fundraising. You don't need to spend big bucks to have the features you need!

Pros

Keela is a mid-range platform that is relatively easy to use, with many useful features and a commitment to continuous improvement that is second-to-none. I have found their representatives very responsive to questions and concerns. The data onboarding process was relatively inexpensive and straightforward, though be sure to prepare your data properly, or you will end up having to correct a lot of issues. I have yet to fully explore the forms and e-blast functions, but these look to be robust. And the Contact Insights feature that identifies a donor's gift potential and suggests a gift range is simply brilliant.

Cons

There's nothing difficult to use. More advance coaching on the onboarding process would have been appreciated, but once we got started, everything fell into place. I look forward to the addition of new features such as a peer-to-peer fundraising module.

Response from Keela

Hi Doug, it always makes our day to hear from you! Our Support Team appreciates all of your throughout and insightful questions that you send through. We appreciate the feedback on onboarding, we are always looking for ways to improve this process, so we will certainly take note of your experience and recommendations.

Also, it sounds like you are in the midst of getting started with E-blast and Forms! Aside from our Knowledge base resources on these features, we would happy to support you with any questions you have or engage in brainstorming with you, so you can make your organization's ideas come to life. You know where to find us ([email protected])

PS: peer to peer is on its way, stay tuned!

Replied 19/02/2021
Tara
  • Industry: Events Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 30/10/2023

Customize Keela to suit your needs!

Keela has a fantastic team that is very supportive and willing to work with you - right from the initial meeting we had with the sales team, through integration and uploading all our data, to support as glitches were found... the Keela team is there for us!

Pros

The ability to customize the program to do what we needed it to do. The main purpose is to send emails to our various stakeholders, ensuring the correct people get the correct messages and emails. Keela definitely lets us do this!

Cons

It is a big expense for us! We continually monitor our numbers to stay within the contact limit allowed by our current level. The jump to the next level is outside of our budget so we need to ensure we don't go over.

Rebecca
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 18/09/2019

Pros and Cons of Keela

This program is great. I'm only 6 months into this program. I would reccomend this to others. But it will take time to learn how to run it properly. I am still learning.

Pros

Its easy to enter the contacts.
Once you set up an e-blast, its easy to choose the recipients.
Once you learn to create the e-blast letter, it looks great.

Cons

It can be difficult to log in. It will redirect me from log-in to setting up a new account.
It can be challenging to learn how to work the e-blast letters and setting up the campaign.
Its difficult to get answers quickly. It takes a while to reach someone, and it usually is only email communication.
It can be difficult to create the email body for e-blasts.

Alternatives Considered

Bloomerang

Reasons for Switching to Keela

Price and reviews

Response from Keela

Hello Rebecca - thank you so much for this amazing feedback. I am so glad you find the system easy to use. This is exactly what we're after so it's very reassuring to hear we're on the right track. At the moment Keela offers unlimited online support and you'll always hear from us within 3 business hours of your email - often sooner! If we're able to introduce phone support in the future we definitely will! Thank you so much again - we look forward to seeing the incredible things that you and your team achieve with Keela.

Replied 30/09/2019
Briana
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 06/11/2023

Best Nonprofit CRM out there!

Keela is the best do-it-all CRM for any nonprofit!

Pros

Keela has everything in one place for nonprofit contact/database/fundraising management. They also have the best customer service in the industry.
One of the items that really sets them apart is their monthly webinars to help you learn more! They help you learn about their systems but also provide valuable industry content as well!

Cons

There are things that I wish Keela did that it currently doesn't. However, Keela is very receptive to new ideas and takes customers' insights into consideration when upgrading things.

Michelle
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 31/08/2021

Good bang for your buck!

Amazing customer support and service. They go above and beyond to make sure their customers are happy and using the program to the full potential!

Pros

It is such a great, simple to use CRM. I love that you can easily track all your donations, communicate with your donors, run reports, create forms to imbed on your website and it even sends out donation receipts!

Cons

The one con would be that I can't create a form to sell a large variety of items. We sell gift cards as a fundraiser and would love to be able to create a form with all the cards and denominations we offer. This would allow us to be completely online with our fundraising. Also, the fact that it can only integrate with Eventbrite doesn't help us. We use different platforms like Auctria and EventCaddy and would love to see those integrated so we can essentially be using Keela exclusively for our fundraising.

Response from Keela

Hello Michelle! Thank you so much for sharing the Keela love. I agree that the ability to sell items (tickets, purchases - all of it!) would take Keela to the NEXT level. Lucky it's on our 2022 Road Map ;) But be sure to act surprised when it's released! Let me tell you - our Customer Care team think that YOU are amazing, too. I guess we're a match made in heaven! Thank you again - it is so appreciated. - The Customer Care team.

Replied 28/01/2022
Verified Reviewer
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 15/01/2018

Bit of a learning curve, but user friendly - excellent support and service

Brings our team together on items we are working on independantly and collectively. Helps to provide a systemized approach to getting information out to customers and donors. Helps to organise tax receipts and track donor funding. Helps us to organise our members into categories they feel comfortable working in

Pros

1) Dashboard - customizable for our social enterprise/Charity
2) Cloud based, allowing more mobile/rmote access for our team members
3) Pricing - fairly reasonable
4) Tags - customizable
5) Donations - easy to track and issue recipts
6) Tasks and Projects - easy to track - provides accountability for team members (reduces redundant follow-up
7) Customer service and technical support - willing to work with an organisation to help improve (maximize) use of features

Cons

1) eBlast templates need to be more user friendly for custom uploads - (organisation branding)
2) Pricing - there needs to be a mid-tier pricing for the 2500 contact range - 1000 is too small for our organisation, and it will take 2-3 years to get to 5000 as we build - while building, we need to watch costs closely
3) Though easy to use once familiar with the programme, it can be a learning curve: more on-board training needs to be assigned as part of the package price.
4) Drop down menus from top right could be expanded and more explicit - some items could be buttons instead of items in a drop down.

Response from Keela

Thanks for your feedback! We're always happy to receive suggestions on how to improve Keela.
Please get in touch with us so we can hear more about what you have in mind: http://bit.ly/2H0UvvM

Replied 13/02/2018
Eliane
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 21/12/2020

Good Product - Needs a Few More Featuers

Fairly good! Like I said above, the functionality as it stands is good right now, but not great. Many little kinks that could be better, but I believe you're working hard on implementing new features/fixing old features.

Pros

It has a very clean look and it is somewhat easy to get around within the database. The customer support team is very responsive as well which is lovely. It seems like the development team is always adding new features, which I take to mean that they are constantly trying to make the product better for it's users. It's not perfect, but I like that they are working towards that. I like how the eblast function is built in. I also like how the tagging system works

Cons

When using the software daily or weekly, there are just some little things throughout the process of using it that are slight nuisances. So it isn't something big that is very annoying, but just several little kinks along the way that slightly slow down work or could be better thought out. I am giving my feedback to the customer success team, so I won't go into the specifics here.

Response from Keela

Thanks for sharing your experience with us Elaine! Your suggestions for enhancing the system have been great. They touch on smaller details that make big differences, especially when you mentioned the ability to edit the Company Position from the Company Profile. We know it's the small things that go a long way. Keep that attention to detail coming, we love the recommendations :)

Thanks again for reviewing Keela, we look forward to hearing from you as you continue to explore the system!

Replied 23/02/2021
Erika
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

3
Reviewed on 15/05/2019

Great Option for Beginning Non Profits

Overall, I've most enjoyed the amazing customer service with Keela!

Pros

Keela offers what we as a small non-profit need without all the overwhelming features that others have and at the best price.

Cons

Keela is great for what we need but still lacks many necessary features other software programs offer.

Alternatives Considered

Salesforce Sales Cloud and Donorbox

Reasons for Switching to Keela

Price and available features.

Response from Keela

Hiya Erika - Wow! Thank you for the fantastic feedback. First and foremost, the Customer Service think you are amazing too! We're definitely committed to increasing the features and functionality of our system and your feedback has been instrumental to this :) There's lots more to come and I look forward to working with you in the future! Thank you, again!

Replied 21/05/2019
270 reviews