OnSite Reviews

4.4
Overall rating
Reviews

4.4
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About OnSite

OnSite is a business management solution designed to help embroidery, apparel and other businesses streamline processes related to production scheduling, order processing, invoicing, job costing and more. Professionals can...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.4
Features
4.3
Ease of Use
3.9
Customer Support
4.6

Browse OnSite Reviews

166 of 166 reviews
Sort by:
Chris
Chris
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 28/06/2018

Very good experience.

There are many benefits to this software. Records communication with customers and vendors. Many types of reports are offered, from reviewing CSR's current order and closed orders, reports on customer discrepancy log, reports on the quantity of any certain garment or size garment that was sold. Love this software

Pros

Love how it keeps your communication and orders organized. When customer places reorders it takes moments to create a new order. The reports are at your finger tips, checking profit margin's, ect. I can see what all CSR's are doing at any given time.

Cons

The biggest complaint I have is the software training tools are out dated. This software isn't easy to learn and when you are trying to train yourself it gets very frustrating not knowing what you are seeing isn't correct because the software had been updated. This makes learning even more difficult

Tammy
  • Industry: Apparel & Fashion
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 11/01/2022

Very happy overall

I love how it works overall. Being able to see profitability and match PO's, etc. Just makes things easier than they were before.

Pros

As the bookkeeper, I like how the manufacturing side and bookkeeping side work together.

Cons

Reports aren't attractive and some nice little features like being able to add within a field and pop up list when you start typing (like when creating a debit transaction).

Dani
  • Industry: Apparel & Fashion
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 11/01/2022

System Works

It's loads better than the previous program for sure.

Pros

What I like most that it's more inclusive than the last program we had (only the sales reps had access to it, none of the artist)
and because of the inclusive nature, the reps no longer have control over art and how it's entered -- in the sense that, for example, they don't always know that this design looks like a 3 colour but in reality, it's like a 6 colour becuase they forget about black, white -- as both Highlight and/or underbase so it's actually 1 or 2 more additional screens, etc.

And as the Art Director, I can manage who gets assigned to what -- catch issues entered by the rep before it proceeds further into the process and avoid potentially major issues down the line.

I also like the variation option --- before, on the old program, there wasn't a nice way to do colour switches -- sometimes a new design number would be generated and people might not realize. THis way, the main ID stays the same -- so we know what design is being pulled and the variation tells us which colours are being changed. It's much more streamlined this way.

Cons

Right now, what I didn't like was that after the last update, I've noticed a few ..glitches..such as missing scrolling options (before, it was hidden, you had to hover over the edge and it shows) but sometimes now even that doesn't work. Sometimes I am surprised when it does).

Top OnSite Alternatives

David
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 19/01/2022

Manufacturing Usefulness

Organization, inventory, and production of jobs

Pros

Inventory, manufacturing and organization

Cons

Lots of steps and often confusing to navigate

Greg
Greg
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 05/07/2018

When my growing company was unable to answer "Where is my stuff questions?" I knew we needed...

Powerful data management tools to allow me to run my business no matter where i am at.

Pros

ShopWorks does not try to replicate how my mind works to run my decorated apparel business it takes daily best practices from hundreds of the most PROFITable decorators in the industry and gives me the tools to run my business better.

During my research I thought I was looking for software that processed like our clip board and NCR paper order forms did. Boy was I wrong, we could have never grown to be an industry leader without the robust data management power that SW brought to our workflow.

SW is a great example of "garbage in yields garbage out", to get the most out of your SW investment you must have strong management and a commitment to proven data entry procedures to get the most our of SW.

The best example I can think of is when a customer calls and says I want to place a re-order but I don't have the PO, I don't remember the garment style or when I bought them but the shirt had a killer design with a patriotic eagle on it with our company name.

If you SOP requires a naming convention the names the purchaser, the main 2 elements of the design along with the date you can find the requested information in just a few key strokes. If you get lazy and name the art "final proof back" you are back to the GIGO thing.

Another few keystrokes and you are sending a proof to the customer with an order approval for their signature.

Their is no way we could run our very successful contract decorating business without SW or something just a powerful.

Cons

Shopworks is like Photoshop or many CAD programs, I bought it for a few key features and we use those hundreds of time each week on each work station.

I know I bought and paid for much more power than those key features but have yet to find the time to fully explore all the bells and whistles SW provides

I am also quite frankly tired of hearing other users trash the accounting look of SW.

My accountant would love for me to simply export a pretty QB end of period but SW has the same info to satisfy the IRS, my bank, my financial planner and me as the business principal.

The accounting principals I have learned have made me a better business owner.

Sarah
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
5

3
Reviewed on 20/01/2022

Good system for simple production. Like all-in-one system but needs a lot of automation...

Overall good. As our business has grown its been hard to grow with Onsite due to all of the manual steps.

Pros

All-in-One software. Don't have to use 3-4 other system (i.e. webstore, inventory system, Quickbooks). Customer service is great. Pricing is good.

Cons

Way to many manual steps/processes. Needs bulk shipping, required fields, management dashboard like power bi, more importing ability, automation and overall simplify order entry.

Alternatives Considered

SAP Concur and Commonsku

Reasons for Choosing OnSite

More robust system.

Reasons for Switching to OnSite

Flexibility in program at that time, price, customer service
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 07/06/2018

I could not run my business without it

I only use about 60% of the program but am always learning as I go along. This program helps to find every order we have ever done. Much faster than looking up the client info from a hard copy

Pros

Like that we can send out a quote and art approval then quickly convert it to an order. Easy to find repeat orders. Easy to find what invoices are outstanding or partially paid and what orders are in production.

Cons

A lot to learn for someone who has never used it before. would be nice to have the video close to the data entry we are doing at that time. as a help button.

Cory
Cory
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 28/06/2018

Salvation for our Promo Products Company!

Pros

The wheels were coming off, as we were growing fast, but still using spreadsheets to track orders.
Cloud hosting is hands-off and a great value.
Excellent organization of designs, products, pricing.
Easy to invoice and submit purchase orders.
Inventory management is very robust.
Accounting module is outstanding.
Shipping integrations are Ok...wish they had a ShipWorks integration.

Cons

Profit/Loss and Balance Sheet reporting is rudimentary, not Quickbooks level.
Little to no CRM built into the platform.

Kelly
Kelly
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 04/06/2018

Best software available for embroidery & screen-print companies . Couldn't run without it

Running a business with so many parts its hard to find software that can do it all but this does

Pros

The purchasing/receiving and being able to access all parts of an order in a general location to see if its been purchased, received, produced and even paid.

Cons

When entering orders sometimes it doesn't take right away when trying to put in a color of product . You have to click 2 or 3 times if the color inst entered as a drop down choice. Also in the general ledger if you clone it gives the same date as the clone not the date you cloned

Jerry
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 27/03/2018

We have been shopworks user since 2001. We consider it a competitive advantage on our...

The software is one of our most valued employees.

Pros

Does a great job managing information in a very detailed industry. It is built by people who have worked in and understands our industry. Handles all aspects of our business except for payroll.
Worked for us as a small two person operation and works well as a larger company.

Cons

Cumbersome to install and learn but worth the time invested. My reccommendation is to install it early in your company's growth.

Fadare
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 30/01/2022

''The best ways to grow your business''

OnSite is something that i can recommend for as long it takes for people to achieve there goals.

Pros

OnSite doesn't take long to duplicate how my brain works its day-to-day procedures for most of the other apps to emulate, to my findings, I thought I was searching for programming software that can handle a large formation of information. it was so pretty good at first, we might have never become an industry without the hearty information the board power OnSite brought to our work process. OnSite is an incredible illustration of excellence all through, to take advantage of your business OnSite venture has a solid administration and a pledge to demonstrate information section to get the best out of us. The best model I can imagine is the point at which a client calls and says I need to submit a request yet I don't have the opportunity sometimes I don't recall many of it but when I had an incredible plan with an enthusiastic bird on it with our organization name. the names of the buyer, the components of the plan alongside the date you can track down the mentioned data in only a couple of button taps the off chance that you get sluggish and name the workmanship you are back to another couple of and you are sending a proof to the client with a request endorsement for their mark. There is no chance we could run our exceptionally fruitful agreement designing business without something simple and strong.

Cons

The toughest and the most challenging thing with OnSite is the accounting sections, it took a while before it started working the way we wanted it to. it later works but gives us a tough time before run it normal it's lacking a sales automations.

Tim
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 25/11/2019

Our lifeline

A huge time saver, also documents are professional looking and the ability to pull history from previous orders is great

Pros

This software eliminates the duplicating data entry multiple times, gives real time inventory, easy part creation and generating reports.

Being able to clone orders is a real time saver especially in the awards industry.
I also like being able to attach documents/images to emails or parts for visual confirmations

Cons

Needs to improve shipping section to include ship to phone number and email address.
Needs to make sure that the number of characters typed into the ship to field matches/shows up on the sales order instead of cutting off city/state/zip.
Faster way in sales order of "reducing quantity" of pulled line items, you have ADD feature.
Faster way to "return" pulled inventory sales order, like a "Return all" feature.

Amber
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 11/01/2022

Shopworks is all encompassing

The software seems to be the best on the market in terms of all of the operations it has. I like that we can manage production and do our books in one place.

Pros

We like that SW is all encompassing and keeps everything from order entry to book keeping in one program.

Cons

The software is very dated in how it looks and in some aspects of how it operates. There are key features that could be drastically improved on to make it more user friendly.

Alternatives Considered

Printavo

Reasons for Choosing OnSite

We needed more.

Reasons for Switching to OnSite

It had the most features.
Katrina
  • Industry: Textiles
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 14/01/2022

ShopWorks for Embroidery and Screen Print manufacturing

Overall we have been very satisfied with the program. We have been able to capture our internal costs to generate our company revenue. Training is minimal.

Pros

Shopworks is an easy program to train and use. The order follows the natural flow though your company departments as if works its way through your plant. The entry of the order also enters the PO and Invoice so it creates less touch and data entry requirements.

Cons

More ability to customize and build reports that work within your company needs would be great. The accounting is basic, super basic and needs an overhaul to keep up with large size companies using the program. We feel we will outgrow it within 2-3 years time.
Also to be able to set font sizes within an order type user wide. Small customizations would go a long way. Also to create quick keyboard short keys, it is a very mouse driven navigation.

Caren
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 11/01/2022

Caren Wu Bookkeeping Review

Great experience.

Pros

Because I have backgrounds in other accounting database softwares like SAP and Oracle, I really like the FileMaker Pro database OnSite software. The Accounts Receivable Credit Memos, Debit Memos, Payment entry templates are designed for accrual accounting. Onsite keeps the Accounts Receivable data streamlined and categorized.

Cons

I heard comments about OnSite from people who have used QuickBooks before, and they keep on complaining that OnSite is too complicated, and it does not do what QuickBooks did for them. The FileMaker Pro database has powerful search capabilities that you can track different categories, for example, if you want to track refunds, just enter "Refunds" in the field, and search that field.

Terry
  • Industry: Apparel & Fashion
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

3
Reviewed on 11/01/2022

Shopworks

Start up was hard, takes quite a bit of time to train new staff

Pros

At time of purchase was the best system available. Support staff is very knowledgeable

Cons

File maker seems really clunky and outdated. We use hubspot side by side with shopworks to fill the voids

William
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/11/2019

Shopworks is the Best!

The support is awesome and the accounting module is very complete and helps with reporting for Sales Tax and Income Tax time.

Pros

The ease of cloning old Orders. The ease of Searching and the voluminous number of reports you can generate!

Cons

Because it is so robust the learning curve is challenging especially for me as I'm no longer young (lol) so that took a bit of time. The younger people here caught on much quicker. Once you learn it you just keep on learning new things!

Tony
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 10/07/2018

Shopworks is a very robust software package that can handle many different types of ...

Pros

This software can be used for various types of decorating companies. Contract work..no problem. Direct sell...no problem. Fulfillment company that pre-prints their shirts...no problem. If you are in the Promotional product, apparel/decorating business then this software can help you organize the various functions of your business from art to production to delivery!

Cons

There is always a wish list or things you would like to be done differently. So not sure I would call them cons. We are just always sending in our thoughts and suggestions hoping to see these changes in upcoming software releases. Right now we are hoping for improvements in internal messaging and job-costing.

Leslie
  • Industry: Apparel & Fashion
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 11/01/2022

OnSite for Sales is Great

My experience has been pretty good with OnSite. Working with ShopWorks [SENSITIVE CONTENT] and the ease of communicating with him has helped. When building our system it was a lot to take in and he always answered my calls and emails efficiently and effectively.

Pros

The functionality between the various departments is easy to see. I love how each point is integrated to see the process of an order from start to finish. I love how the integrated data can easily be analyzed and evaluated through the software.

Cons

I do not like that data can be modified or deleted by others that did not enter the data. I do not like that when information is added or changed ihat information is not stamped by the user. Therefore changes made are not able to be changed back, nor do you always know who made the modifications (or why).

Sharon
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 19/01/2022

Shopworks

Overall the product is good, it is easy to use and the tutorials have been very helpful.

Pros

I find the product very easy to use, the importing function has made updating vendor pricing a breeze and the importing of customer payments has saved me an enormous amount of time.

Cons

I don't like that you now have to click the edit pencil before entering instructions into a PO...it's an added step.
It would be nice to be able to search preprint parts by component
when importing customer payments the option to import the check or card number would be helpful as this is a reference when making deposits

Brian
  • Industry: Sporting Goods
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

3
Reviewed on 11/01/2022

Software for Simple use

I have had small issues with the software crashing but that may have more to do with our hardware's performance that OnSite.

Pros

It does what we need it to do. Moving between different departments takes a little getting used to but becomes second nature over time. This system has a work flow that makes it easier for most users to navigate.

Cons

My only complaints would be about the platform it is built off of having limitation. Filemaker is not a great system. I have been told it is moving to cloud based which will make any future developments and suggestions far easier.

Cheri
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 14/01/2022

Pros and Cons

We had several problems with a "glitch" in the software that took to long to resolve and went through too many people at OnSite. Since that has been resolved we are very happy with the software.

Pros

The information helped our ROI/bottom line, it helps us to make good decisions based on true numbers/facts.

Cons

The setup was time consuming and we did not get enough training to understand the value of entering everything in a proper sequence. Once you understand or take the proper training the value of the organized information/reports and history is amazing.

Scott
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 28/06/2018

This is a great tool for any business. It is easy to use and customer support is very helpful.

Multiple tabs allow for easy access and quick look up. Allowing certain areas to be blocked from the main server is nice too.

Pros

Each tab is it's own entity which allows us to block certain sections from our main server. I love the easy use of the program and the fact it allows the company to manage every aspect of our areas in one place. When an invoice is duplicated it is indicated in red. Adding customers and customizing their field is simple.

Cons

Learning the program and allowing certain area's to be blocked locked other sections. Our company needs to access the main customer page but if it is locked no one can edit it. They have to go to another tab to do that. Time consuming to go back and forth.

Deborah
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 11/01/2022

An Accounting Clerk's Review

Overall the software is pretty user friendly. Being new to the company and to not have had much training, the training videos you provide very helpful.

Pros

I like to ease of moving from one tab to another and search the function in PO's (you don't have to go to the Home icon, find and enter in the PO number).

Cons

There is no payroll function in Accounting; you have to use a third-party processor. I'm still trying to figure out why the figures don't match on the reports we use for monthly sales and sales tax.

Michael
  • Industry: Apparel & Fashion
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 18/01/2022

18+ year long user very pleased with Shopworks

I have used this program for 18 years and very pleased.

Pros

I like most that this program was created specifically for the promotional products industry. It fits our needs well and many of our company procedures are based upon Shopworks. Shopworks customer support is always fantastic whenever I have an issue or need.

Cons

I wish the program was a little more drag and drop friendly. There are a few more features I wish I could custom to my particular business needs.

166 reviews