GitHub Reviews

4.8
Overall rating
Reviews

4.8
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About GitHub

GitHub is a project management and code sharing platform that allows users to share their codes with others and create/iterate using collective intelligence. The software can be used for different kinds of coding assignments...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.6
Features
4.7
Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Support
4.4

Browse GitHub Reviews

6,027 of 6,027 reviews
Sort by:
Rishav
Rishav
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 12/04/2024

GitHub For All

Pros

open source community, easy deployment, easy to access, you can store all your code in the form of the repository, developers events now and then.

Cons

missing some features, pull request taking long time.

Hussain
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 05/04/2024

Excellent source control but archaic billing

Pros

It is very easy to collaborate and work on code changes, publish releases, and run automation scripts. The UI is fast and they are improving it constantly making it quick and efficient to navigate to the repository and even the file you want.

Cons

My biggest gripe about GitHub is the billing. You have to buy a fixed number of seats and you can only increment it in 10s. So, even if you need just one extra user, you still have to pay for 10. It also takes a long time (2-3 days, more in some cases) to get the licenses added. I can't even process why this is the case. I would much rather have preferred usage billing.

Alternatives Considered

Bitbucket

Switched From

GitLab
Bibhuti
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 10/11/2021

Github review (8 years of usage)

Pros

- free private repo is cool
- Github actions is awesome
- Github pages saves a lot of money for web apps demo & open source projects. I myself have hosted all of my open sources web apps on Github pages.

These are my favorites. Rest I can go on and on.

Cons

- Search feature is lacking. If there was better search functionality (eg. [SENSITIVE CONTENT] - powered by algolia), it would be a lot helpful. Searching one report among thousands is a pan right now.
- Dependabot is pain
- Sometimes Github pages doesn't update properly
- Don't get relevant projects on "Explore repositories" section

Alternatives Considered

Bitbucket

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

Github was better, in terms of free features and the UI.

Switched From

GitLab

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

GitHub has a lot of cool features for free.

Top GitHub Alternatives

Tommy
Tommy
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 19/03/2024

GitHub is one of the tools you just need

Works great, high quality and never loose any work. Check in often in busy collaborative environments, otherwise use the merge tools, no biggie.

Pros

It works. Fast and on Mac OS, Windows and Linux. Integrated nicely into both Visual Studio Code (PC, Mac) and Visual Studio (PC).
Code compare. Merge. No problems.

Cons

It starts to eat disk space and 50Gbyte gone the other day. Some more integrated cleaning would be great.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 24/03/2024

Simplifying Source Code Management

The experience is overly positive, as I am a developer I use it daily for work. I was also able to showcase my works and was able to get more projects. I could also collaborate with my team members more easily.

Pros

You can setup a repository for your code and collaborate with other developers throughout the world. With Github I can showcase my work so that I can attract recruiters. It is a social media for developers. I can also look for open-source code to learn and contribute to.

Cons

There is a learning curve to setup a repository and collaborate. People may also find it difficult to navigate through the app with so many features. Integrating with external tools to enable automation also takes a lot of effort.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 26/03/2024

Easily manage your projects with GitHub

I started using GitHub in 2020, a friend of mine recommended it to me. By that moment my coding knowledge was limited, but I managed to quickly learn how GitHub worked, I was able to create multiple projects and manage them very easily. GitHub is a really good option, I like its user friendly infrastructure and its amazing features.

Pros

Integration of AI if necessary, you are able to create your own websites and even add your own domain, you can have different versions of your project, you can integrate GitHub with Git, VS Code, IntelliJ IDEA and more.

Cons

The only think that I "don't like" is that you cannot publish private websites on GitHub, this is only possible on the paid version (GitHub pro). But if you don't have any issues publishing your project to the public, then this will not affect you.

Sai Meghana
Sai Meghana
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 06/04/2024

Collaborative Coding Made Simple by GitHub

Pros

GitHub is its robust version control system, facilitating seamless collaboration among developers. Additionally, users value its extensive community support, integrated issue tracking, and versatile workflow management features, making it a go-to platform for software development projects of all scales.

Cons

Have complexity of its user interface for beginners, occasional performance issues during peak usage times, and the need for more streamlined project management tools within the platform. Additionally, there have been concerns raised about GitHub's pricing structure for organizations with larger teams or specific feature requirements.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 23/03/2024

A lifesaver for dummy devs!

Pros

GitHub saved my business model. At the beginning of my journey in e-commerce I didn't have much experience in software development and I didn't have the money to pay for a professioanl dev to help me out.
Github did it for me. It comes at a fair price and offers a community that can help you with improving your software, and more than everything, debugging it.
It has monthly plans that cost a bit more than a Happy Meal and offer everything you need and more.

Cons

No cons for this software, it saved my business when I was struggling.

Chiara
Chiara
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 28/03/2024

Github is github

Pros

Github is simply the best platform there is for developers and software engineers

Cons

Some things are a bit harder to understand the mechanics of but overall you can easily learn

Adarsh
Adarsh
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 26/03/2024

Best Code repository platform

I like this project since the first day as I can easily manage my code base repositories with the GitHub. I hope GitHub comes up with new features to make the product better.

Pros

I like its various features like different branches and easy code deployment.
User-friendly interface for smooth project code base management.

Cons

Pricing for private repositories is higher.

Sven
Sven
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 18/09/2019

The #1 code hosting solution

We have been using it for code hosting for both private and public projects for several years, issue tracking etc not so much (mainly because the tracker is quite basic). As GitHub is using git underlying it can be accessed via any git compatible client out in the wild - so there are tons of ways to choose from suiting every developers needs.

Github provides many hooks for third party tools, so pushes can trigger all sorts of things like CI builds or posts in your company Slack. Automation and integration is dead simple and super flexible.

The company itself is really developer friendly, and you can sense that they are using GitHub themselves. Hosting of open source projects is free and their support and documentation are very helpful.

Availability is high - one of the most important reasons when choosing a code hosting service.

Pros

- high availability
- built-in code review, wiki, issue tracker, artifact hosting (private beta)
- great third-party tool integration
- automate everything
- uses git
- developer friendly company
- free for open source projects
- mature

Cons

- issue tracker could be more sophisticated
- new features could be developed more rapidly (although this has improved recently)
- native apps are not up-to-par with competitors, but luckily there are many free alternatives
- was bought by Microsoft, I personally would have liked to see them stay independent

Alternatives Considered

GitLab and Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

We've briefly tried out bitbucket and gitlab, but quickly returned to github for it's maturity and high availability. And it seems nowadays every developer is on github so collaboration on open source projects is very easy.
Adrian
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 06/01/2020

GitHub is essential if you are a developer

Anything I write or code goes into GitHub, if it's a file I put it on Google Drive, if not it goes on GitHub, simple as that. It means I always have a backup, an up to date version, can roll back and share code very easily. Also, we collaborate daily as an organisation on GitHub and it is essential for us to function :)

Pros

It's very easy to use and fast. Previously I was using another version control software which became very slow. GitHub is super fast and much easier to use. I love the project management feature and KanBan cards and also the fact that it integrates with lots of other tools.

Cons

I think finding personal info could be made easier, e.g. all your comments, comments in a certain timeframe, interactions and conversations. I am a programmer and don't mind manually adding in the flags for searching, but feel a much more intuitive interface could be created to make life easier.

Jason
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 22/09/2020

As a designer who codes...

Great. I used GitHub at my work daily and for at home for personal projects. It was set up & integrated well throughout our suite and comms internally. Personally, I have a repo set up for my personal sit and I wouldn’t ever choose another tool to host my code repository and handle deployments to production code.

Pros

GitHub has grown leap & bounds over the past few years. They have always offered really excellent tools for developers that is well built and very stable. More recently GitHub has put a lot of effort in creating a more intuitive user experience that makes it simpler to use for both beginners and experienced users. As a designer who isn’t the best with code and development but still knows how to setup and deploy code with GitHub there updates over recent years have been very helpful in day-to-day. Integrations & security settings are excellent as well.

Cons

Nothing much to say here. GitHub can be a bit overwhelming for a beginner but IMO they have been addressing this and making it much more comfortable to get started using. I’d like to see more of the same in other areas as well. Solving merge conflicts in GitHub was the only time I was ever frustrated with the tool.

Jose
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 07/10/2021

The easier source control app

The projects that we manage on my organization are confidential, so we have payed for the Github Businness plan and we control who is entering to the repositories and what are they doing. Also, we allow the access with specific IP's so that's is a really cool feature.

Pros

First, it has a desktop application, so it's easier to pull, push and track changes. It's free for private repositories and organizations (even if yours it's not an open source one). You have A LOT of integrations, like Slack, Jira, Jenkins, etc. Also, you can create your own integration if you need it.

Cons

I think the only thing is missing on Github is group repositories in folders. You can do something like that (using the teams feature) but at the end the repositories are not grouped.

Alternatives Considered

GitLab

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

Bitbucket is too expensive. In the other hand, if you are going to pay for any GitLab plan I think is better buy it on GitHub becase it has more features.

Switched From

GitLab and Bitbucket
HansOlivier
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
2

5
Reviewed on 17/11/2022

The code versionning standard

I have used GitHub personally and never had any problems. I also used it professionally and every time something came up, I knew with high confidence that my coworker or myself messed up and that it was not the software's fault. All of my code versioning with GitHub was used on teams with less than ten members.

Pros

The entire code versioning tool is so easy to use and does every branch operation with visual clarity. It implements git quite easily, especially with a RSA key.

Cons

There is no real issue with GitHub. It does exactly what it is supposed to be doing. I could say that I had a few difficulties learning the concept of versioning when first using it.

Alternatives Considered

GitLab, Jenkins and Bitbucket

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

GitHub was simply a more elegant and free solution for my needs. BitBucket was a more appropriate ressource for a bigger business, as it included in Atlassian. However, it is marginaly more expensive. GitLab also has the same cost issues. As for Jenkins, I simply felt that it was slower to reach roi.

Switched From

GitLab, Jenkins and Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

GitHub was simply a more elegant and free solution for my needs. BitBucket was a more appropriate ressource for a bigger business, as it included in Atlassian. However, it is marginaly more expensive. GitLab also has the same cost issues. As for Jenkins, I simply felt that it was slower to reach roi.
Sébastien
Sébastien
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 14/04/2019

A Secure, Reputable and Scalable Solution for All Your Developer's Needs

Because GitHub is a reputable service used by millions of developers, it serves as a great tool to show off your skills to potential employers. I personally got the privilege of getting access to more work opportunities as my experience using the service was taken into account when working remotely with a team. Being uselessly paranoid about potentially losing my files and projects, I feel reassured knowing that my code is being hosted on GitHub while being seamlessly synchronized on a third-party storage service, allowing for a painless retrieval of anything of importance in the worst case scenario. It also serves as a useful backup in case the code base gets messed up locally: it suffices to delete everything and start from scratch by pulling all the data from GitHub. The reverse is also true: if for some reasons a project has diverged too much from local changes being made, it is very simple to rewrite the history of a project by reusing only local references and discarding anything on the other side. Since Git isn't particularly easy to approach for beginners, having all those safeguards and the ability to undo most actions brings peace of mind to the user.

Pros

Since GitHub relies on Git underneath, one can be assured that it uses a strong, open source system behind the scenes. It integrates so well with the command-line that it's the main way I interact with GitHub on a daily basis. All essential actions you may need to perform are also available in the graphical interface on GitHub, making for a convenient experience when on the move as all necessary tools can be accessed either way. It offers security features such as the ability to link SSH and GPG keys, allowing users to verify their commits and secure their identity. The two-factor authentication system is also impressively well thought-out, having various recovery options including security keys, SMS number, recovery tokens, recovery codes and even fallback SMS number. If you often write the same content in form of comments, there is even a feature to have "saved replies", speeding up the interaction process for recurring matters. GitHub is also extremely accessible, offering unlimited private repositories for personal use. Even open source organizations can benefit tremendously without having to spend a dime as it includes by default everything one can need. GitHub is also perfect for students, giving you access to pro features and discounts through their "Student Developer Pack". GitHub Pages is another fantastic aspect of the platform, allowing you to host a website without any hassle, with really quick build time while also ranking very high on search engines.

Cons

Even though all members in a specific organization on GitHub may prove they are all verified students, there is still the need for the educational institution to set up a few steps on their own to approve changes being made, which slows down considerably the initial setup. The search options, although they are powerful, aren't very intuitive and many useful functions are well hidden in the documentation pages. As a regular user, there is no option to freely start collaborating in private repositories before scaling up, which is a feature that's often available on other similar platforms. On that note, the price tag for GitHub is relatively high for the added benefits compared to other solutions. There is a restriction on file size, which cannot exceed 100 Mb. In most instances, this is not an inconvenient, but it will not be an appropriate platform to handle sharing large files when rendering 3D models for example.

SI
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 18/06/2019

Convenience just a pull away: GitHub, a game-changing tool for developers

Overall, learning Git and GitHub made life as a developer convenient. We transitioned from manually merging our code to using GitHub. Although it required some practice, it was well worth the time. We realized that we were missing out and how our older projects would have been a breeze if we learned about GitHub sooner.

Pros

Knowing git and GitHub boosted the productivity of my team members and I. We were able to cutback on the times we were doing manual version control work rather than actual software development. It has been very useful to the point that it has been integrated into our project work pipeline. It has been very reliable and our team has never encountered problems in uploading and retrieving the code of others. We are able to document any changes to our code and fix conflicting code which made working in a team much more convenient.

Our team of 3 uses the free version which allows us to collaborate with each other, set up a public or private repository, document our bugs, and manage our workflow which already is a lot for a free service. Paid options allow for collaboration of bigger teams, analytics, and other advanced features.

Aside from that, a GUI version of the application allows you to visually see the changes in the project and simplifies the workflow. Tutorials and documentations on how to use GitHub, for both the GUI and command line versions are available. Most source code editors now even have GitHub integrated and allows you to do the commands without leaving the editor.

Cons

As great as GitHub is, it really takes some time in getting used to, especially for beginners. It has a steep learning curve and you are most likely going to have to use a search engine for the tasks you want to do. GitHub also has an application with a GUI which is relatively beginner friendly, but even then, the Git workflow is really something that requires practice. I personally use the Command Line Interface and the difficult part is knowing the commands to use in which I solved by printing out a cheat sheet.

Andrei
Andrei
  • Industry: Computer Games
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 10/05/2020

Popular and fast version control service but with less features than the competition

I am still currently working with GitHub due to the smooth Heroko and Netlify integrations that saved us a lot of hassle but for any projects which don't benefit from this I use GitLab (which is slower unfortunately).

Being such a popular service it was attacked a few times by hackers which lead to some downtime that luckily did not affect our studio.

Pros

GitHub is home to the majority of the web's open source projects. It was one of the first version control services and it aged pretty well.
The service's website speed is probably one of the best around when it comes to repository hosting services and this is very important as through the website all the information about projects can be found.
There is a lot of searching and navigating to be done within projects so the speed is a big plus.

GitHub also has it's own website hosting service called GitHub Pages which allows people to make their own website. This is great if you are the project owner and would like to link additional information within a look that looks less than a wiki page.

GitHub comes with a very easy to use desktop application which is used to manage repositories, both from GitHub as well as the competition's services.

Being so popular it has a great deal of integrations into other services, the most important one for me perosnally being the Heroku and the Netlify one. Whatever is pushed to the GitHub repo gets built and sent to Heroku and Netlify. saving up valuable time. These integrations are sometimes available for the competition services too but the steps are much steeper.

Another thing that GitHub done right was the monthly progress on the main page showing how many changes were made by the user. This helped with giving people an incentive to keep working every day to have the calendar-like frame green at all times (gamification).

Cons

When I started using GitHub a long time ago (~6 years) the services was very limited if you were a free user. The collaborators were limited and the space was very tiny and on top of everything your projects were not private. This is great for open source developers but for me, I could not allow myself to put game projects up for grabs so I mostly used GitHub for small prototypes.
Late came the option for free users to have private repositories and after that Microsoft bought GitHub extending the limitations.

Unfortunately even with their newest addition to the space of a repository using Large File Storage (LFS), the competition offers more space and a more streamlined workflow for big projects. Also a lot of features are behind a paywall for GitHub while the competition gives them for free, at a cost of slower website speed however.

Pawan
Pawan
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 01/03/2021

Best web version control

Overall my experience of using GitHub as a Software Engineer is pretty good. I have been using it to share my personal projects and also to work on group projects. Its also have been a great place to showcase my personal works and contribute to open source projects.

Pros

I have been using this great platform for 4 years and I am in love with it. I started using it in my bachelor's for hosting my projects and also collaboration with my colleagues on a group project. It's very useful to host code and share it with developers around the world and get feedback and help on the issues with the code. Also, it's a great place to find out many open source projects where you can contribute to and also use them on your personal or company projects. Also, it's great when it comes to working in a group, assigning tasks, creating issues, monitoring work progress, etc are great features. I also love the webhook feature to make automatic changes to the production/development environment so we get the latest code changes deployed. Also, creating, merging branches, etc can be done on the web. It's a great place to share your work and get feedback, contributions, and discussion on topics to make the code clean and more useful. Also, it has tons of tools in the marketplace which can be used for continuous integration, deployment, code review, etc to make the work easier. I love to star the projects so that I can view them later and I use it as a bookmarking feature. Also, forking is great to copy a repository with making changes on my own for my desired needs.

Cons

One issue that I am facing is the GUI bug where I search my one of my repository and open it and when I press the back button on the browser and when I try to search my another repository I am redirected automatically to my list of repositories instead of letting my search finish. Another con maybe it may be hard to use when starting using GitHub for the first time. Also, it doesn't let to perform the merge with the conflicting commits on its GUI and I have to use the command line commands.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 28/01/2022

If home is where your code is, Github is my home

I have used GitHub personally and professionally for over a decade. I use it primarily for work, but I have also used it to contribute to open source projects in my free time. I have found many amazing projects that I use regularly in my work and in my programming related hobbies.

Pros

Git hub gives you options to manage your code. I like that I can use the command line to interact with git, but I can also use the GitHub desktop application, or the plugin for my IDE of choice: Atom, or the plugin for my colleagues' IDE of choice: VS Code, or any number of other apps.
The pull request merge workflow is also wonderful in that it allows code inspection and comparison.
Minor edits can even be made on the GitHub website and will become part of the regular git history.
GitHub actions allow us to do things like run unit tests and check a test build before approving code for merging to the main branch.
My absolute favorite part about GitHub is that it allows me to collaborate and contribute to projects that are not directly under my organization's control, but part of the open source community.

Cons

Honestly, there is not much I dislike about GitHub. My biggest complaints about it are more related to the choices my organization has made around using GitHub. I would like to use GitHub for issue tracking and project management, but we have contracts with other paid tools that offer roughly the same functionality.

If I had one request for a better user experience it would be to improve the quality and capability to search for code within a specific repository. The feature exists, but it feels primitive and very basic. I want to be able to search through version history and have better search matches (instead of fuzzy matches). Better search tools would make GitHub even more useful.

Fábio
Fábio
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 25/04/2022

GitHub for devs and for security reviews

Overall, GitHub offers all main features of git in a user friendly website.
Everything can be done through the interface, including creating your own static site.

Pros

GitHub is the most well known git implementation.
For security reviews, GitHub offers many solid information regarding source code commits. It is easy to search for a new source code change on both command line and GUI, making it easier to detect new changes and potential vulnerable code.
It also is easy to understand what was changed to the source code after a security fix, allowing for easy comprehension of the implementation.

Cons

Since it is an implementation of git, the learning curve of more complex commands and features is very steep.
The average user will only use the basic features (like git clone, which downloads a copy of the repository to the local machine, or git pull/git commit, which will publish the changes to the remote repository), but when trying to use the more complex features (like merging, purging code, reverting a state) it can be time consuming to learn.

merroudj
merroudj
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 24/09/2022

Most unforgettable software service

Due to the comprehensive guide and article support part that you may utilize as long as it is linked to git for practically any topic on earth, you need not miss information when using GitHub. You may learn more about the SSH keys creation from its content. There is a reference for the appropriate git workflow available. You can have examples of gitignore for your upcoming project and other things (and more). You don't need to look elsewhere for all the information you want

Pros

Free service, while there are also premium options, a Large community, quick searches inside the structure of the repo, and accessibility to support.
With GitHub, you may store your projects and make them available to your colleagues for inspiration or collaboration. The beauty of it is that you can have many people work together remotely on a project, putting you all, so to speak, on the same page.
With GitHub, you may store your projects and make them available to your colleagues for inspiration or collaboration. The beauty of it is that you can have many people work together remotely on a project, putting you all, so to speak, on the same page.

Since Microsoft acquired GitHub, we are now able to host private projects, and they will function with any CI environment, including CircleCI or GitHub.

The most well-known git implementation is GitHub. GitHub provides a wealth of reliable information about source code contributions for security evaluations. Both the command line and the GUI make it simple to search for new source code changes, making it simpler to find modifications and potentially susceptible code. Additionally, it is simple to comprehend what changes were made to the source code following a security update, making it simple to grasp how they were implemented.

Cons

It isn't completely open because you aren't allowed to upload anything larger than 100MB and the free version's repository size is just 1GB.
Getting used to the mental model when you're new to GitHub is one of the difficulties that is frequently mentioned but becomes easier over time and with experience.
It might not be the ideal instrument for documenting ideas or the creative process. LayerVault or a program that is comparable to it would be a fantastic choice for this particular task. Git, in our opinion, is not the ideal tool for tracking design but is quite effective for tracking code. When drawings must be converted into code or exported to a production environment, it might appear to be a little bit of a murky area.
I'd love to see GitHub release a feature-rich mobile app to make managing repositories on tiny screen devices easier and more practical. This would be necessary for developer workflows that need problems or work-item capabilities.

Khalid
Khalid
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 05/10/2022

BEST code development means GitHub

My overall experience with app/software/SAAS can be summed in the follwing points:

A. The given app/software/SAAS has been solving the following business problems :
- automated deployment pipeline
- when in need of repository while working on open source projects
- deploying of programs within cloud platforms like AWS
- aids everybody in building great softwares
- helps in understanding the overall product requirements
B. i have been able to realize the following benefits with the help of the given app/software/SAAS :
-putting up of an open-source repository
- learn from other open-source projects
- helpful when multiple users working upon one single code

Pros

i found the following features as most impactful:
- version controlling
- dependabot for vulnerability scanning
- integrates well with third-party based app
- ability to go back to previous versions if present code shows error
- high repository privacy
Yes the product is quite easy to use for:
- hassle free source code hosting
- Container Registry quite helpful
- open-source community involvement fostering
- user interface is really smooth easy and Excellent
- open-source applications/code of all available to tweak
Yes i was successfully able to implement the integration of the app/software/SAAS with my existing business processes quite smoothly and easily as i could set it up with a little self-help, effort, and online training guides..

Cons

I found the following features that were either missing or could be improved:
- merger-conflicts through github could be improved
- pull request codeview could be improved
- no options for delete update and issues create for teams and users
- Like many other IDEs, the code editing environment features lacks in additional functionalities.

I found the following features or aspects of the product that are difficult to use:
- folder deletion
- absence of rich CI/CD
-one is  unable to install, download, as well as set up one's own GitHub server.
- permanent removal of unwanted files
- misleading repository contributions count
No, the integration of the app/software/SAAS with my existing business processes not so much difficult as i could set it up with a little self-help, effort, and online training guides.

Shamrul
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for Free Trial
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 01/02/2023

For a Developer Its too Good

I have a positive experience with GitHub, as it provides a robust and accessible platform for version control and collaboration. The platform integrates with a range of tools and services, and is home to a large and active open-source community. Additionally, GitHub is known for its ease of use and intuitive interface, making it accessible to a wide range of users, including those without technical expertise.However, as with any software, there may be limitations or drawbacks, such as limited customization options, cost, performance issues, and UI limitations. It's important to carefully evaluate the specific needs and requirements of the individual or organization before choosing GitHub or any other platform for version control and collaboration.

Pros

Version control: GitHub provides a powerful version control system that allows developers to manage and track changes to their code over time.Collaboration: GitHub provides a range of collaboration tools, including pull requests, code reviews, and discussion forums, that make it easier for teams to work together on projects.Open-source community: GitHub is home to a large and active open-source community, making it easy for developers to find and contribute to projects, as well as access a wealth of resources and support.Integrations: GitHub integrates with a wide range of tools and services, including popular integrated development environments (IDEs), issue trackers, and continuous integration/continuous deployment (CI/CD) systems.Security: GitHub provides a range of security features, including two-factor authentication, encrypted communication, and the ability to encrypt sensitive data at rest.Large repository: GitHub hosts a massive repository of open-source projects, making it easier for developers to find and reuse code, as well as contribute their own projects to the community.Ease of use: GitHub has a user-friendly interface and is designed to be accessible to developers of all skill levels, making it easy for users to get started with version control and collaboration

Cons

Limited customization options: While GitHub provides a range of features and capabilities, some users may find that the customization options are limited, particularly for advanced users.Cost: For larger organizations or enterprises with many users, the cost of a GitHub Enterprise subscription can add up over time.Performance: Performance issues can arise when working with large repositories, particularly when many users are making changes at the same time.UI limitations: Some users may find the GitHub interface to be limited or confusing, and may prefer to use alternative Git clients or GUIs.Limited issue tracking: While GitHub provides basic issue tracking capabilities, some users may find that these are limited and prefer to use alternative issue tracking software.It's important to keep in mind that the limitations or drawbacks of GitHub may vary depending on the specific needs and requirements of the individual or organization. It's recommended to carefully evaluate their needs and compare the features offered by different platforms before making a decision.

Hossein
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 14/03/2023

GitHub is a powerful tool that has revolutionized the way developers collaborate on software...

Overall, GitHub is an essential tool for developers of all levels. Its intuitive interface, powerful features, and vibrant community make it the go-to platform for collaborative software development.

Pros

As a platform for version control, it offers an intuitive and user-friendly interface that makes it easy for developers to collaborate on code, track changes, and manage multiple versions of a project.One of the important strengths of GitHub is its vast community of developers. GitHub provides a wealth of resources for developers looking to learn from others or share their own work with the world. This community also provides a platform for collaboration, allowing developers to contribute to open source projects, participate in discussions, and learn from one another.In addition to its powerful version control features, GitHub also offers a range of tools to help developers manage their projects. These include project management tools like Kanban boards and issue tracking, as well as integrations with other popular development tools like JIRA and Trello.Perhaps the greatest strength of GitHub, however, is its commitment to open source development. By providing a platform for developers to share their work with the world, GitHub has helped to democratize software development and empower developers of all skill levels to contribute to the larger community.

Cons

One of the biggest issues with GitHub is that it is very hard to learn how to use it at first. No novice developers, the tool can be overwhelming. A lot of features in GitHub requires a thorough understanding of coding and software development. Another disadvantage of GitHub is that for technical users, the free version is limited. The paid version is definitely recommended; however, small groups might find it on the expensive side.

6,027 reviews