Amazon S3 Reviews

4.7
Overall rating
Reviews

4.7
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Amazon S3

Amazon S3 is a cloud storage platform that allows businesses to conduct data storage, backup, archiving and retrieval operations on Amazon Web Services (AWS). Developers and IT teams can utilize the service to create data buckets...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.5
Features
4.6
Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Support
4.4

Browse Amazon S3 Reviews

1,088 of 1,088 reviews
Sort by:
ZAiN
ZAiN
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 05/05/2022

Industry Standard Storage

Once it's set up, it's all smooth sailing.
Worry free solution.

Pros

Plugins available on various platforms for easy integration.

Cons

Bit pricey, however you pay for quality.

Alternatives Considered

OneDrive

Reasons for Switching to Amazon S3

Amazon is the industry standard and there were many plugins available.
Ridhi
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 26/05/2019

A Simple Cloud Object Storage

Amazon S3 helps to setup the industry level infrastructure with no big investment and do not require the long term commitment as we can buy the storage space on hourly wages. The different storage classes help us to remain within the budget.

Pros

Amazon S3 is a simple cloud based object storage. The different storage classes are designed to manage the data as per the requirements of the objects. The Intelligent S3 Tiering upgrade or downgrade the storage class based on the access patterns of the object to enhance the availability and durability. The S3 cross region replication helps in replication of the S3 objects in other regions. The multi-factor authentication delete on S3 bucket is really a life saver feature to protect from accidental deletion of objects.

Cons

Amazon S3 is not as simple as its name, the objects locks and versioning features are amazing but not easy as the learning curves sharp. The Storage monitoring provides limited number of notifications under the free tier.

Alternatives Considered

pCloud Business and Google Cloud Storage

Reasons for Switching to Amazon S3

Amazon S3 is the industry leading solution by Amazon Web Services. It has solutions for all startup’s and large enterprise. The cost effectiveness is one of the reasons that I have selected the Amazon S3 over other.
Gary
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 14/04/2019

Amazon S3

Overall, S3 is a great provider for storage solutions. You just need to watch the bills and see how you can keep them in check.

Pros

It is true that AWS is a juggernaut in the industry. This is the reason I used them as my primary offsite backup repository. Many popular applications like Backup Exec integrate very nicely with S3. There is tons of documentation out there for most applications on how to use S3 with their products. The free trials for the first year are nice too.

Cons

I kept noticing that my data pool was getting larger and larger due to the types of devices I was backing up. Amazon "micro" charges for everything and my bill started to grow exponentially. You are charged for data coming in, out, at rest, long term storage, not stored long enough, lists, etc. This started to become unwieldy. Their charges are not high but in my case they just grew too much so I had to switch solutions.

Top Amazon S3 Alternatives

pCloud Business

Amazon DynamoDB

Oracle Marketing

AOS Distributed Storage

Gordon
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 21/03/2024

Amazon S3 - great product

Pros

Amazon S3 is a really flexible product that easy to use, its really easy to share the files with others but mostly great for uploading data from S3 into Redshift

Cons

The thing i dislike the most is the changes sometimes introduced means changing several processes.

Jeffrey
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 12/08/2020

S3 is a cost effective object storage solution for enterprises.

AWS S3 has helped us get binaries and artifacts to our AWS EC2 instances. It is also cost effective storage compared to our on-premises Nutanix hardware footprint.

Pros

It is available as a service as part of AWS. It works well with AWS IAM and allows role based access controls to be defined. It also works well with other AWS services such as EC2.

Cons

The encryption settings working with AWS KMS can be complicated. This can lead to objects being available through the web interface but not through the CLI.

Alternatives Considered

AOS Distributed Storage

Reasons for Switching to Amazon S3

S3 does not require purchasing compute to increase storage space available. It also works well with our usage of other AWS services as described above.
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
2
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 03/10/2019

For File serving, there's a lot of manual work that happens

Overall, it's better for large file serving than other alternatives we tried, which a very ui focused.

Pros

It's very cost effective storage that gives us a lot of control over access and permissions for files uploaded.

Cons

There are not great ways to make data public. These methods exist, but mostly require scripting or custom cloud formation apps.

Alternatives Considered

Dropbox Business and Google Drive

Reasons for Choosing Amazon S3

Dropbox doesn't provide direct file links very easily.

Switched From

Dropbox Business

Reasons for Switching to Amazon S3

We can't wget files from the alternatives.
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 03/12/2019

Great for file storage

This is the de facto industry standard for storing files. It's great and I'd recommend it to any team that has a website or something similar where they need to store/host files.

Pros

It's super easy to use. Cheap, reliable, and effective network storage. There is both a web GUI as well as client libraries for interacting with S3 via its REST API.

Cons

Some of the AWS CLI commands for interacting with S3 are a bit clunky. It would be nice if they streamlined the CLI to be a bit easier to use.

Alternatives Considered

Google Cloud Storage

Reasons for Switching to Amazon S3

We wanted to keep our stack together as we were already using Amazon EC2
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 22/02/2023

Store, transfer and secure data with Amazon S3

The overall experience with S3 is great . I gave us lot of flexibility to store our huge volume of more securely and safe .

Pros

The data storage made really easy with Amazon's S3 service. The power of the cloud helps the data transfer and encryption easy .

Cons

There are cases where the S3 event triggers at times wont work . Also ,If the S3 get a desktop client by AWS , I feel it would be a great value add.

Franklin
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 28/09/2020

The best cloud storage system available

Pros

That offers 4 different classes of storage

Cons

It takes a little bit of time to learn this system but once you do you will never want to use anything else

Marco
Marco
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 09/02/2021

On of the best object storage service available in the cloud

The Region availability is all over the globe and you can use it to store any type of file like documents, images and generic files. The commands are available via the web portal, API and AWS CLI.

Pros

The cost is affordable. You can use a S3 Bucket to host static websites (eg: Angular, Vue.js, ReactJS) and the performance will be super fast.

Cons

The AWS UI is a little bit old and ugly. Set permissions can become complex and not easy to understand.

Vignesh
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 26/12/2021

Easy and Convinient

We use s3 for all our data storage purposes like images, videos and files.

Pros

S3 SDK support is really good. SDK is for all of the programming languages. The community support for s3 is great and is one of the reasons I use it the most.

Cons

Few parts that are difficult to do is directory wise public access or changing permissions of directories.

Alternatives Considered

Linode

Reasons for Choosing Amazon S3

Ease of use Good UI for quick changes and access

Reasons for Switching to Amazon S3

High availablity Brand Name
Vikram
Vikram
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 05/03/2022

Simple and flexible service for Storage Solution

S3, at least in terms of distributed storage, has genuinely transformed the world. Calling an API, pushing data to it, and then forgetting about the data center that holds it is an idea that none of us would have believed a few years ago, yet here we are, with massive quantities of businesses relying on S3 and prospering. Since the first introduction of S3, Amazon has constantly developed and released capabilities, each of which is incredibly valuable and complementary to the preceding feature set.
We utilize S3 for a variety of applications, from public UGC buckets for web apps to internal data vaults that store sensitive and confidential information that is protected at rest. S3 is a good fit. I began by utilising S3 as an off-site backup service, then expanded to include additional services. It performs its goal admirably, although it is a touch inconvenient, with several modifications along the process and a rigid business strategy.

Pros

We don't worry about the help since we're on vacation because it's so accessible and repetitious.
Use Amazon's SDKs to get basic functionality from a variety of structures, or create your own.
There are a plethora of container techniques and security improvements that may be tailored to meet the demands of individual clients. Solid compatibility with the AWS biology system, notably in terms of access permissions. It's so reliable that you can count on it to stay online and available from anywhere in the earth. Its static site facilitating feature is a hidden gem: it provides the least priced, most reliable, and high-performing static web facilitating available in PaaS. In today's world, data is king, thus storing large amounts of data is critical. Amazon's Simple Storage Solution (s3) is the finest and most cheap cloud storage service on the market. On S3, we may store large amounts of data in a variety of formats, including documents, text files, PDFs, audio, video, and more. S3 offers a variety of storage choices, including frequent data and seldom used data that may be saved on AWS Glacier's low-cost storage. The data is stored on AWS S3 and protected with multi-level access protocols such as public, private, and so on.

Cons

AWS environment is riddled with perplexing and incomprehensible configuration options, and S3 is no exception. Fortunately, it's widely used, to the point that you can always find arrangements on sites like StackOverflow. Because S3 defaults to security rather than open access, getting IAM consents to work correctly for Static Website facilitating takes some trial and error. Because AWS S3 is incompatible with system-level applications such as desktops, it has to find a solution that is simple to use. We are unable to store files larger than 5 GB.

Filippo
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 14/11/2023

A huge and cheap tool for storing several TB of data

Amazon S3 is the heart of our cloud architecture, providing all the buckets we need to read/write data, both from production and sand environment. It's highly integrated with other AWS services and it's quite cheap and easy to set up and manage.

Pros

It's a cheap solution for storing data. You can easily access AWS s3 both with data processing platforms (e.g. Spark) and client softwares (e.g. Cyberduck). You can also choose which type of storage fits better your need, depending of the access frequency (once a week, once a month, once a year...). AWS S3 supports all data format, while some of them (parquet and iceberg) are highly recommended for storing huge tables. You can also set lifecycle rules to delete old and unused files after a custom period.

Cons

As a minor hiccup, there is some trouble in deleting corrupted files.

Alternatives Considered

Google Cloud Storage
Esra
Esra
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 17/04/2019

Simple Storage Service for everyone

Before S3 we stored our sensitive files on hard drives where also our web application resides. One day it crashed and the files were gone. We started to use S3 and now our application does not depend on where is resides. We don't worry whether our storage is enough.

I also use S3 to store my personal files. It is very cheap.

Pros

Amazon S3 (Simple Storage Service) is an object storage service for the cloud. You can store any amount of data and access it anywhere in the world. You may stop depending on hard drives for your web applications and start using Amazon S3 to store your media files, log files etc. It provides 99.999999999% durability which means you may lose just one file in 10,000 years.

S3 has versioning option which helps you to prevent accidential deletions. Lifecycle policies help you manage and automate the life of your objects in S3, keeping you from leaving your data unnecessarily available. For example, you can set a lifecycle for your log files to be automatically deleted after 30 days.

You can host a static website easily and in a cost effective way without worrying about the underlying hardware.

Cons

S3 has buckets to store objects and these buckets have universal names. So for example, you probably won't be able to open a bucket named "photos".

Configuring security is a bit tricky. You have to be careful which buckets will be public and which will be private.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 06/05/2019

a simple but fairly expensive cloud based data storage solution for your enterprise

Overall experience is very good, and aws cli interface which nicely works with python and the linux terminal enables one to smoothen the overall aws s3 experiences. Because there are no restrictions on filesizes or file types, any company can host its data on aws s3 and be sure to have reliable service. The caveat with aws s3 is that one must understand that it is not a traditional database storage system, therefore will not behave like one. also ensure the admin of the software must be well versed with the various concepts surrounding aws s3 to enable the best bang for buck.
I would recommend this without reservations.

Pros

Literally anything and every type of file can be saved to s3 buckets without any limitations. Images,csvs and what not can be easily and safely stored to s3 buckets.
One can provision users to have specific permissions regarding bucket access.
Literally 99.999% availability at most times.

Cons

it is only as good as the user/admin who knows how to make the most out of this software. there is a deep learning process involved without which one could be flying blind and exposing otherwise sensitive data to the public.
the search functionality is practically absent.
So there is no easy way of choosing or searching for files.
the date columns on the UI seldom work

Nidhi
Nidhi
  • Industry: Computer Games
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/04/2019

Simple Storage Service by Amazon Web Service

Amazon S3 pricing is designed so well that we can limit our monthly bill for S3 using the bill alerts. Different storage classes from S3 Standard to S3 Glacier Deep Archive can be set as per the objects needs. Big Data analytics help to manage and analyse the data lakes.

Pros

Amazon S3 provides the object storage with amazing web interface and a lot of features like scalability with great availability designed for 99.999999999 % on data durability. We can move our bucket's object to cost -effective storage class and the newly designed storage class 'S3 Intelligent -Tiering' move the objects based on access patterns. We can manage and monitor the objects with using tags and create the lifecycle of the objects according to tags. Multi-Factor Authentication can be enabled on delete operation which help in accidental delete operation. Versioning of objects can be enabled from bucket. The Cross-Region Replication helps in instant access.

Cons

Objects in the cloud are always vulnerable if firewall is not setup well. AWS snowball and snowmobile are either less availability or no-availability on geographical location.

Esther
Esther
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 05/09/2019

A Bit Daunting at First, But Powerful Enough for Wide-Ranging Uses

Amazon S3 is, of all of the major public/private storage services on the enterprise level, probably the easiest and most-reliable. For most basic uses, it excels at being as easy as managing files on your own web servers. Additonally, when combined with Amazon Route 53, it can be a rapid static web serving option. However, when you start getting into advanced security options or attempting to ensure that your files are only accessible to your own applications, you need to be very adept at studying Amazon's specific ACL formats, lest you lock yourself out or, even worse, expose your data to public download. Nonetheless, there's probably nothing better in this area, and the time that you spend learning these skills is well worth it for this service.

Pros

Flexible storage options, integrates well with other Amazon Web Services options, able to be used for static web hosting, fine-grained security settings

Cons

Advanced security settings are often hard to configure, pricing is not always clear and it is possible to quickly accrue large fees when testing

Juan
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
1

5
Reviewed on 24/10/2022

For pros only

Good for using in software products, bad for simple day to day storage.

Pros

It is very inexpensive and reliable. It's an amazon product, you know it'll work as expected.

Cons

It is almost impossible to know how much you'll pay with AWS pricing system. Using it as an alternative to Google drive or other user-friendly storage solutions is highly discouraged, as it is overly complicated for non-ITs (almost as if they did that on purpose). You don't have support unless you pay for it.

Alternatives Considered

Dropbox Business

Reasons for Choosing Amazon S3

Price

Reasons for Switching to Amazon S3

Price
Mukul
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 24/06/2021

Reliable S3 Storage in every continent to achieve low latency.

I am using S3 for the backup as well as CDN purpose and my it never disappoint me because of the tight integration with other AWS services like Lambada etc.., it support full IAM policy so the segregation of storage bucket make it unique as well as object lock feature make it total safe place to store backup.

Pros

AWS S3 is having a presence in each and every country so the latency is very much less as well as guarantee of 99.999999999% up time gives peace in mind to every user that their data is safe and in reliable Data Centers.
As AWS is the oldest cloud based storage solution so it has a compatibility with all of the leading backup and disaster recovery software like Veeam, Cloudberry and others,

Cons

Pricing is bit on higher side as compared to others like Backblaze and Wasabi cloud storage (for the hot storage) on the same time for cold storage and glacier pricing is way cheap but in the case of cold storage there is a wait time associated when the matter comes to the file retrieval.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 14/02/2024

AWS S3: The Ultimate Storage Solution with file versioning, integration with multiple AWS...

I am happy with AWS s3 with handling large static data with one write and many read purpose, good experince with s3

Pros

Its support multiple AWS services, we can easily integrate s3 with other aws services, we can add media images, videos, zip files, log files in s3 and access anywhere in internet with permission. we can also use s3 for storing and hosting static website and low cost. offering different storage classes for cost optimization and uses.

Cons

1. Permission Handling
2. Access data anywhere in internet
3. Support CDN
4. Integration with multiple AWS services
5. storing archive data files
6. versioning control
7. transfering speed

NOEL
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 12/12/2019

Great option for file storage

Overall it has been a great tool for hosting files, both submitted through our web app but also internal files that we serve on our site. It allows us to control who has access to certain buckets and an easy way to securely receive files from our clients.

Pros

We use S3 buckets to store data that is submitted through our website. This is great because it allows sensitive data to be uploaded and transferred securely to our team. It also allows for quite a bit of security on the back end to ensure that no one is able to get in and access your files. When you want to host files for your website, this is a great option as well. Whether you're looking to host image files or some other asset. Linking to your S3 bucket allows for easy asset management.

Cons

S3 buckets are a bit complicated to set up. We luckily have an AWS administrator who handles most of it but I definitely found there to be a learning curve that required reading a few online guides to make sure I was configuring it correctly. With that complication, however, comes the ability to really control the security level of your buckets.

Don
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 30/03/2022

S3 Buckets are an excellent option for powerful, scalable web resources

hosting websites and resources for smaller user pools is very cost effective

Pros

Easily scalable and very powerful, can be very cost efficient

Cons

Unique lingo of the AWS ecosystem takes a while to learn

Gurleen
Gurleen
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 06/01/2019

A Simple Storage Service for OBJECT STORAGE.

Amazon S3 is the one the best and cost effective storage solution in the market. Storage management and monitoring is also easy can monitor using the Amazon CloudWatch. The Different storage class like S3 Standard-IA, S3 One Zone-IA, S3 Glacier Glacier Deep Archive help to reduce the cost of the storage if used effectively.

Pros

Amazon S3 is an object storage service. It is highly scalable and data availability is also very good of all the different availability zones. Amazon S3 provide the 99.999999999 % (11 times 9) durability. It is the cost-effective storage as we can storage the objects in different Amazon S3 storage class. Best part in it is the old data move automatically move to the low cost storage class based on the access frequency. The cross-Region replication is helpful in to move the data into the local region to reduce the latency.

Cons

Amazon S3 should come up with the auto sync with the local drive option. Managing firewall for Amazon S3 is one important part and should be setup carefully AWS also help and provide suggestion on it but we should not follow it always. Buckets on Amazon S3 also helpful in running the low cost storage. We can not run a complete dynamic website on it.

Verified Reviewer
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
2

5
Reviewed on 01/05/2018

S3, like all of AWS, is a big sprawling powerful product

Pros

S3 is absolutely an expert tool, and as such is incredibly powerful. We use S3 throughout our workflow in a bunch of different places, and it solves a number of problems for us wherever we need to put files online (whether temporarily or permanently). For certain types of hosting and usage, the pricing is so low you can essentially forget that it costs anything and throw whatever you want at it.

Cons

The level of complexity in S3 is quite high, so even a process like setting permissions on a bucket feels like passing through some sort of inscrutable bureaucracy to some degree. While many AWS users are likely domain experts, for the rest of us who lack the time (or inclination) to dedicate as much time to learning the system, S3 can have an extremely steep learning curve and some byzantine ways of doing things.

Monish
Monish
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 23/03/2020

Efficient and easy to use Distributed file Storage System

over all it is a pretty good experience

Pros

s3 auto rewrites the file, need not handle if file exists delete then write etc..
it gives ability to create static web pages, can be used as a redirecting page
it can be used in sql copy commands, where a query generated results can be stored into the s3 file in different formats
can set different permission models to a file or a set of files in a bucket
has Java jar's, python support and ubuntu command line support so that it can be automated through programming

Cons

the file or folder name cant be a prefix sub string of other file name
example :
if i have file1.csv and file1.csv.zip
if i delete file1.csv through code , it deletes both the files

and the static web hosting dont support https, for this we have to do a workaround

1,088 reviews