User Reviews Overview

About Namely

People are complex, but your HR solution shouldn’t be. Namely gives you the resources to make your life easier and your employees happier. With modern, intuitive technology and a world-class team of HR experts, Namely empowers...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

Browse Namely Reviews

405 of 405 reviews
Sort by:
Melissa L.
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 24/08/2020

Happy with HRIS

Namely is a good system. It has helped us to make our candidate and employee experience easier and more efficient. We are looking forward to adding the benefits system to replace our current system to really give our employees a central place to go for all of their needs.

Pros

We really like the onboarding tool for our new hires. There are definitely benefits to this system to streamline your process. For the most part, Namely provides an easy to use platform for our new hires to upload and provide their information. I really like the option of the e-signature which allows us to send out documents to individuals or company wide to be signed. Those documents are then available on the employees profile. We like the analytics which allow us to look at a variety of data points about our employees. We are preparing to add Namely benefits to our package and are hopeful that this will allow us to increase our employee experience satisfaction.

Cons

We did not have a great experience with implementation and felt that we were not prepared for our go live. Our original Customer Support person struggled with many of our questions and concerns and we were left to figure a good number of work arounds on our own. We are hopeful that the new system for getting help support will be better for us. We are frequently looking for ways to work around the limitations of the Namely software. The Namely community of users has been helpful to our company.

Response from Namely

Thank you for your review! We really appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear that Namely has enhanced your onboarding process and overall employee experience.

As for implementation, we truly apologize for your experience. We have made several improvements recently, such as introducing Data Migration Services, to ensure that our clients' implementations go smoothly and properly prepare them to go live.

As for customer support, we are confident that our new Pod Service Model will enhance clients' overall experiences and are happy to hear that you have found the Namely Help Community to be helpful.

Replied 30/11/2020
Patricia M.
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 23/04/2020

Great Service

In the beginning, there were a few bumps in the road. But once we were assigned a team like [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] we were all set. These three are the dream team as I call them. They have the answers and if not they will ensure they get you the answers. We have been extremely pleased with how they continue to provide us with the best customer service a client can ask for. They have enabled us to utilize the system to the fullest.

Pros

I find the Help Community to be a great asset and feature when you are looking for. quick response. I have to say with all that is happening with COVID-19 Namely has been on top of every new law.

Cons

The ability to run reports and headcount.

Alternatives Considered

Workday HCM

Reasons for Choosing Namely

We wanted a system that allows our team members to go in and utilize the system. Namely offered us this service and it has been a great experience thus far.

Reasons for Switching to Namely

The Facebook like feature.

Response from Namely

Thank you for your review! We really appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear that you have found your service team and the Namely Help Community to be helpful - especially during this difficult time.

Replied 27/07/2020
Caryn M.
  • Industry: Sports
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 27/11/2018

Review of Namely for time management, easily accessible benefits information and other perks

Namely has been transformational for our business, improving efficiency and allowing employees and managers to focus more on the core work of the organization without being bogged down by time-consuming HR tasks. The ability to track leave, benefits and paystubs all in one software keeps us accountable and avoids lots of paperwork!

Pros

Before my company started using Namely, we were submitting our time-off requests on paper and routing through multiple mailboxes for approvals. We did not have a reliable and convenient system for managing our leave accrual or communicating with busy managers about PTO requests. Now, all of that information is at our fingertips, approvals are a breeze, and it's easier for managers to keep track of all of their direct reports' schedules. Namely also allows us to view our pay stubs and benefits information at any time, and complete our annual open enrollment, all within the software. I would highly recommend the service to any organization looking to improve its efficiency for HR processes.

Cons

At our company, employees accrue comp time for working weekend events throughout the year. Namely does not allow us to enter that comp time in a formal system that is tracked electronically. Instead, we keep track of it on our own, and when we enter PTO requests as "comp time for XYZ event", it is on the honor system. Not a huge complaint, but would be nice if we could track that piece of our PTO the same way we can vacation time, sick time, etc.

Top Namely Alternatives

Tc D.
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 16/06/2020

Namely 2020 Review

It has been overall pretty smooth and very easy to use and track things.

Pros

We love the fact that it has the social media piece to it for internal posting of events and encouragement and recognition. The product is great due to the ability to utilize it via the app as well.

Cons

We would like to be able to upload videos. At times when updates are made, it changes things that give us a bit of a problem until we figure it out. With the benefits, it would be nice to be able to put in a beneficiary and not have to retype it over and over. We can use the dependent field, but then it looks like the person is a dependent instead of just a beneficiary

Response from Namely

Thank you for your review! We really appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear that you have enjoyed interacting with your employees on our platform. As for uploading videos and inputting beneficiaries, we will be be sure to relay your feedback to our Product team.

Replied 27/07/2020
Travis W.
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 07/04/2021

Straight forward

Line of sight is easy, metrics and reporting are well thought out. Performance management is excellent, company goal setting, company wide communication is excellent.

Pros

Namely is straight forward, clear, and easy to use right out of the box. In fact very few things have been changed for over a year.

Cons

There are not any cons, it is easy to use.

Response from Namely

Thank you for your review! We really appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear that you enjoy utilizing our all-in-one platform and find it to be straight forward.

Replied 08/04/2021
Raji K.
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 06/12/2017

Namely has been very easy to use and the support has been great and generally proactive

Pros

Namely is fairly intuitive. Most employees have not needed much in the way of training or tutorials and they like the eases of use and the user interface. It can be customized fairly well and the team and account reps are always available to help. I also love how it integrates so many HR functions under one roof and all are done well.

Cons

One minor drawbacks on time off reports is you cannot run a report to see vacation balances as of a certain day in the past (or future) - it is only current. Also, navigating is a bit clunkier than I'd like - there are no dynamic searches and you cannot jump from a Teams page for one employee to a Teams page for another employee with one click.

Mai T.
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 12/12/2016

Next Gen HR Tool!

Namely has a great user experience from both the employee standpoint, as well as an admin in the system. You can capture as much data as you want and build custom categories which makes data collection robust and easy. The support team is responsive on all matters, despite the time zone differences. Overall a great product and big bang for the buck (with some minor roadmap additions).

Pros

Ease of use is it's #1 asset

Cons

Sometimes simple things weren't contemplated early enough in building out an HRIS system (e.g. 3 different direct deposit accounts (some people like auto debit from payrolls; state tax categories)

Tyler C.
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 31/05/2018

Namely is a stellar, customizable HRIS that is great for small companies.

Pros

Great customer service, awesome "Backstage Pass" features educating about all areas of HR, and an always-improving platform are some of Namely's strengths. When I reach out to my customer success representative, I usually get a response within a few hours. She's even helped with things that are out of her realm. Namely is always asking for feedback on how to improve the product, and in my short time working with this system, I've seen several of those requested features implemented. Namely also has some of the best training resources available.

Cons

It's still fairly new, so some features are still being worked on. There are so many reports available that it's a bit difficult to know what each report contains and which would serve your purpose best.

Amanda S.
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 12/03/2020

Good product

Pros

Namely is very user friendly for the average user. The HRIS has all of the features you need for capturing employee information and documents. Features like the newsfeed and org chart are helpful for employees.

Cons

While this is actively being improved, there is a disconnect between payroll and HRIS which can add more steps to the payroll process. Additionally, the reporting feature isn't as intuitive as it could be.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 10/08/2020

Namely Review

My experience with Namely is very positive. I mainly use it for keeping track of PTO and downloading paystubs.

Pros

It is very easy to keep track of both used and unused PTO. The user can request time off in a few very simple steps and managers can respond to them quickly.

Cons

Document sharing between employees can be improved. While tabs can be added for HR departments to upload documents, it can still be difficult for the user to find the documents they are looking for quickly.

Response from Namely

Thank you for your review! We really appreciate your feedback and will be sure to relay your suggestion about document sharing to our Product team.

Replied 09/10/2020
Micquella A.
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/03/2018

Namely brings together HRIS, payroll, and benefits into a pleasantly designed, easy to use...

Pros

I love that benefit elections are synced to payroll. Before Namely, this was a huge manual effort to maintain and audit. Namely is engaging and simple for employees to use - I get frequent positive feedback on that, across our staff demographics. People also really like the activity feed to give appreciative shout-outs to coworkers. As an admin, Namely's flexible permissions are a huge plus - this is something I've missed with other cloud software my company uses.

Cons

The Time Off functionality is a bit simplistic. I'd also like to see more configurable, custom notifications.

John C.
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 16/12/2020

The absolute WORST Payroll HRIS System...EVER!!!!!!!!!

From a zero to ten it's a zero. Run...do not walk away from considering this system and support model. Way too many more modern systems and service providers than this. Apparently this company does not take into consideration feedback from customers. You also do NOT have a dedicated service rep. So once you sign the dotted line...you're on your own. Good luck...b/c you will need with this awful 1960 system design.

Pros

I do like the Facebook look and feel for the main page for ESS. Articles and help guides easily to upload to system.

Cons

Where to begin? So many to list....
Hold times for client services are crazy. I guess b/c the company is in financial trouble the staff is bare. get ready for TWO plus hours of hold times to get help!!! You can barely ever get a hold of a live person. You have to create a "call back" and list three times you want a call back...but it is within their hours. Then they send an invite for when "they" are free...not the client. System cannot track correctly FMLA or other PTO times. System cannot do imputed income on GTL or other imputed items per pay period like ADP, Paychxex, Ceridian, Workday, SAP and all other modern systems can do easily.

The software cannot do gross ups easily, manual checks are a fiasco. Whoever designed this system did NOT have background in payroll or HRIS. Manual checks cannot be ran with the regular payroll. It has to be done as a "separate payroll".

Response from Namely

Thank you for your review! We really appreciate your feedback. We are disappointed to hear that you feel Namely wasn't the right solution for your company and apologize for your negative experience.

Replied 17/03/2021
Amanda B.
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 12/07/2021

Great HRIS for Small-to-Medium Businesses

Pros

Namely is a seamless system for our HR team. It has streamlined a range of processes including onboarding, performance management, employee changes and more. It also has a great UI that makes it easy for employees to update information, access resources and complete processes like requesting time off.

Cons

We haven't used some of Namely's additional resources like payroll and benefits yet, but we look forward to evaluating those options as well.

Response from Namely

Thank you for your review! We really appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear that our platform has seamlessly streamlined several of your HR processes.

Replied 14/07/2021
Casey R.
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 20/08/2020

Namely Review

They have been great to deal with.

Pros

We like the tracking of paid time off and performance reviews best. i also love the reporting options.

Cons

The ability to customize is sometimes lacking.

Response from Namely

Thank you for your review! We really appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear that you enjoy using Namely's PTO tracking, performance reviews, and reporting features.

Replied 09/10/2020
Heather M.
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 28/05/2019

Namely is wonderful!

Pros

Namely recently added a mass time card edit feature that is wildly helpful when needing to do bulk time card edits. Namely shares your employee's birthdays and work anniversaries on the main page so you will never miss an important date!

Cons

Namely does everything we need it to do, no cons here.

Alexis T.
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 10/05/2018

Nice to have everything in one

Pros

I like that Namely is so versatile and you can do so much in one program. Ability to have everything in one spot is very helpful.

Cons

Sometimes having everything all together can be confusing for employees when there are different folders. It can be hard to find things sometimes.

Christina G.
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 21/01/2020

Great Platform for HR Basics!

Pros

Pretty easy to use for paystubs, looking up my team’s contact info, days off, etc.

Cons

Doesn’t have a way to sync birthdays with google calendars, which would be nice to anticipate birthdays. It also didn’t have a great way to provide weekly feedback (unlike 15five, for example).

Carlos alberto P.
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 10/06/2018

It is a software of human resources with a high cost but easy to use and adaptable

Pros

The software is highly configurable, It has a nice and aesthetically correct user interface, has the central and important functions for the administration of human resources

Cons

Very expensive solution even without including features based on payments and benefits, a particular and complete module of the application The resources of time and technology for the implementation is also expensive from 6 to 8 weeks approximately

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 10/04/2019

A modern HR system that works!

Centralizes all our HR functionality internally

Pros

- Modern \ Fun UI
- Wall type social functionality to make communicating with the wider company easily. This is especially important for remote employees
- Tracks birthdays and anniversaries to make employees feel appreciated automatically.
- Payrol and Reviews all centralized into the one application
- Single sign on with internal authentication methods.

Cons

- When editing a review it can sometimes be confusing that you are in edit mode, the UI makes it appear as read only (appears in grey box rather than white) when infact you can actually edit

Prince A.
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 15/12/2018

Excellent HR Management platform

Pros

one may needs little supervision in executing this software at the beginning . Comes with a very user friendly interface which makes work very easy to navigate.

Cons

The cost can however be looked at. Which is my own opinion though. The cost shouldn’t deter a lot who wishes to use this great platform. It will be great to have all of them using this excellent service.

Lynn G.
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
2

3
Reviewed on 17/03/2018

Good product, horrendous implementation

Pros

*Great way to integrate an HRIS system and payroll on one platform.
*Simple and easy interface for users. Very similar to Facebook in design and functionality.
*Lots of great workflows to utilize to eliminate pen and paper documents.
*Namely did fully refund us our money after our implementation was handled very poorly.

Cons

Phew, my boss and I had problems with our Namely implementation from the beginning. It seems that the company was undergoing a lot of turnover and restructuring during our implementation, and we felt it. There would be weeks when we would hear no communication from our lead implementation specialist. My boss thought he had quit or had been let go and had to write a strongly worded email before we got a response back. Our Namely benefits specialist then made an error with an algorithm she was using to calculate benefits costs during our open enrollment in November. If hadn't caught the error, our company would have lost thousands of dollars. We have had numerous issues with payroll since open enrollment and have cycled through several specialists since. Last week, my boss and I decided we have had enough and are moving to another HRIS system.

Adrea G.
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 10/04/2018

Ideal HR Tool for Small Start-up Businesses

Pros

Namely has been a huge help with our startup, particularly in streamlining all processes in one place. Having a dedicated Accounts Manager and Benefits Manager provides resources that assist across the spectrum. Accessibility and support are a outstanding.

Cons

As with anything, there are hiccups, such as importation of employee payroll from another product to Namely, but the good news is that the folks at Namely always work hard to get through those challenges, take the issues under advisement, and work toward solutions.

Rick S.
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 07/04/2021

CUSTOMER SERVICE/BILLING/TECH SUPPORT AGENT

Pros

DASHBOARD WAS EASY TO NAVIGATE TO SEE CO-WORKERS B-DAY AND WORKAVESTITY

Cons

TOO MANY STEP TO CLOCK IN AND OUT AND FIND CURRENT AND PREVIOUS WEEK HOUR REPORT

Response from Namely

Thank you for your review! We really appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear that our platform has kept your company connected by displaying birthdays and work anniversaries on the newsfeed.

Replied 08/04/2021
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 27/05/2018

Good HR platform

Pros

As an employee point of view, you can see the company structure, interact with coworkers, request vacations, do performance reviews, but also you can check your benefits and another HR documentation.

Cons

Frequently the platform loads a little bit slow when scrolling down the page and it becomes a pain when you need to find an old event.

Christine J.
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 12/12/2016

HRIS, Payroll & Benefits Platform

We have been with Namely for just about a year, and have had a pretty good experience. Their modern take on HR is what hooked us in the beginning, and they have been adding key features along the way. Their customer support is very responsive and knowledgable, yet the integration between HRIS and payroll is still somewhat manual. As with any new company there are some hiccups, but overall we have been pleasantly surprised.

Pros

The user interface and customization of HRIS data.

Cons

The integration between HRIS and payroll is still somewhat manual, and the reporting features are not as robust as they could be.

405 reviews