PT Distinction Reviews

4.9
Overall rating
Reviews

4.9
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About PT Distinction

Your journey to a thriving online training business begins with PT Distinction. Our intuitive software simplifies the management of your entire fitness enterprise. Experience the joy of managing your training empire effortlessly...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.8
Features
4.8
Ease of Use
4.7
Customer Support
4.8

Browse PT Distinction Reviews

435 of 435 reviews
Sort by:
Henrik
Henrik
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 07/02/2021

Progress for your clients health and your business

I like the App since it give me control over my clients progression. There are several tools that my clients use daily to keep focus on their own progression.

Pros

The ability to use statistics and charts to review client results and the ability to give immediate feedback to a single client or to a group of clients. I also find it very easy to set up workout programs or swap a single exercise inside a clients program.

Cons

The message function needs to be improved.
I have to go out and back in again to read new messages sometimes.

Alan
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 11/01/2021

The best out there and I have used quite a few to get to PTD

Not only is the software top drawer. the help you get from the guys is second to none.
My dealings with [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] in particular have been very helpful.
They even have an Online University which is extremely helpful.
if you are a PT and want to enhance what you offer. This is the software for you!!!

Pros

PTD is everything you possibly need as a PT.
It keeps your clients, diary, payments, programmes, habit tracking, emails and messages all in one handy place.
With the recent updatye on Android now complete it is the perfect package.
It has been especially helpful in recent times with clients having to train at home because of Covid.
Even better as it is a useful tool when doing my Zoom PT sessions as I can show clients the videos of what exercises are in their programmes and go through them with them. Easy!!!!

Cons

Two things that I think would enhance it would be :

1. Better nutritional plans. This would really make it the PERFECT system out there.
2. A Marketplace where we could purchase ready made programmes, food plans and content,

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
2
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
2

2
Reviewed on 15/10/2020

Lots of Integrations - Overall Poor UI - Slow Development and Lots of Bugs & Unattractive...

I am continuing the things I don't like here because I have been cut off above ....

6.) The client can automatically see once a message has been read- sometimes we have to dig deeper to get our clients the best possible response and this means we cannot respond right away. This makes for terrible customer service optics because it looks like we have "read" the message without responding.

7.) The app freezes and clients lose their workout tracking when their phone locks - PTD blames user error but this never happened with trainerize.

Lastly - I hope that they start taking client feedback into consideration and take responsibility to look into the bugs mentioned above vs continuing to blame user error.

Unfortunately I feel stuck with PTD because of the google sheets integration - but i MUCH prefer the look, ease of use and UI of Trainerize.

Pros

PTD has a lot of capabilities and integrations.

Cons

I wish that I had more good things to say about PTD. We made the switch from Trainerize to create an overall more integrated experience for our clients -- I was drawn to PTD only for the google sheets integration which is big for our client delivery - however PTD has many issues

1.) The UI looks very old and looks as though it hasn't been updated in years. It's slow - to me it looks like something that has been built using cheaper means - i am trying to say this in the nicest possible way - but I worked in silicon valley for years.

2.) Clients often do not get notifications and the PTD team has no better response other than blaming the phone of the user. If this were the case - my clients would have had the same issue with Trainerize and they didnt. I have spoken to other PTD users as well and everyone has the same issue. The lack of responsibility that they seem to take in tackling this very clear BUG does not sit well with me.

3.) The search feature in the mobile app does not work period.

4.) There software updates take FOREVER. Literally they always say "this will be taken care of in the next update" -- which seems to take months if ever.

5.) there is no way to make messages unread - this to me is such a SIMPLE request yet they fight it tooth and nail. Sometimes our team has to come back to a client question and we have no way of remembering what we need to follow up with (they claim this will be taken care of in the "next update" which is still yet to happen.

Top PT Distinction Alternatives

Jonathan
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 07/01/2021

Game-Changer, Life-saver, The core of my business

Phenomenal. I love the responsiveness of the team. within 24h they get back to me, every single time. The software definitely has a learning curve, but they have shortened it dramatically with their PTD ninja courses, and it has made my quality of work so much better.

Pros

I can't begin to count the number of hours this software saves me, and allows me to free up an incredible amount of time, so that I'm able to spend more time working with my clients, and less time on menial administrative functions.

It makes the entire process so easy, to the extent I can (and have) clients sign up from my website, submit payment, and start into my programs before I ever have personal contact with them. I never have to worry about my clients being taken care of, because of how this software allows me to create multiple touchpoints for my clients over the course of a week, without me having to always be connected to it.

Cons

Well, since the upgraded, updated Android app, I'm pretty much over the moon. If I was to have 1 feature that I wish could exist, I would like it to have a more robust CRM, in particular, email tracking of opens and link clicks. But really, that would just be the icing on top.

Alternatives Considered

ABC Trainerize

Reasons for Switching to PT Distinction

The custom apps, the overall functionality, the ability to integrate white label into my website, and the overall value for money. It simply ticked more boxes at a higher quality than the other options.

Response from PT Distinction

Thank you for the incredible review Jonathan.

We're happy PT Distinction saves you so much time and helps you ensure your clients are always taken care of.

Replied 20/01/2021
Luke
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 03/01/2021

Best PT software out there

Customer service has always been top notch, very glad that android has finally caught up.

Keep it up!

Pros

The customization of the software is great, you can make it your own and on the client side its come a long way.
Putting your own custom workouts in is great, and any PDFs, coaching videos etc is really handy.

Cons

Certain features I feel could be worked on.
The schedule was always a little buggy for me so I stopped using it a while back - would be good if clients could use it to put in non-scheduled workouts.

The adherence chart is a good idea but IMO needs to look more like a calendar than a daily tick sheet.
Food diary is OK but would be better if MFP could work through it (So I just use it separately)

Also the ability to take these out of view, rather than just have an empty section.

Alternatives Considered

Calendly and ABC Trainerize

Reasons for Switching to PT Distinction

Custom app, payments, online portal are good selling points

Response from PT Distinction

Thank you Luke.

Lots of good news for you...

- You can integrate MFP, in fact we have the most complete integration of My Fitness Pal of any software!

- Clients can also add items to their schedule by going to the schedule and clicking Add.

- The schedule should be perfect so if you've had an issue there please let us know and we'll check out your set up for you.

- The adherence chart is a very simple tick sheet for clients which gives them a clear view of their overall adherence making it easy to see and improve. It's a very similar chart to that used by the likes of Precision Nutrition. For a daily tick sheet in the calendar you could add habit tracking for your client as that is exactly what you describe, to do this click Add > Tracking > Habit.

I hope that helps, and thank you once again for the great review.

Replied 20/01/2021
Jonathon
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 02/01/2021

Completely Re-Shaped My Life

I was planning on setting up with PT Distinction a long time ago, but never got round to it. Then the CoVID19 pandemic forced my hand, and I can honestly say - it's the greatest business decision I've ever made.
Not only has it allowed my clients to actually thrive during the lockdown, and allowed me to support them mentally and physically throughout - it's given me a balance in my life that I never thought possible with the number of clients I have.

Completely life changing.

Pros

The ability to educate and empower my athletes, along side programming. It's not just about giving the clients exercises, but being able to actively COACH them throughout the whole process is a game changer.

Cons

I would like a little more versatility when it comes to personalising the coaching points for individual exercises.
Each exercise has coaching points in text format and video formatting - which is brilliant.
But having a section on the prescription of each movement (the same place you have the sets, reps, load, time etc.) where you can personalise and prescribe the unique execution for that individual. For example - "focus more on biasing weight distribution through your heels" during the squat - would be an absolute game changer for me.

Alternatives Considered

TrueCoach and PTminder

Reasons for Switching to PT Distinction

The direct communication from the support team and the ability to personalise the app for my clients with the premium option. It gives my clients a feeling of exclusivity of being part of my coaching team.

Response from PT Distinction

Thank you for the amazing review Jonathon, I'm so happy PT Distinction has had such a big impact on your clients coaching and on your life.

Regarding individualising exercise descriptions for specific clients you can do this in the program builder by clicking the 3 dot menu on an exercise and selecting exercise settings, any edits to the description here will only show in the program you are currently building and not across all clients.

Replied 20/01/2021
Ryan
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 26/05/2020

Excellent software for online training, best out there

No problems at all, whenever I've had a question the response was fast

Pros

I believe this is the best software available today for online personal training (but not for live, in-person training, so if you need that look at PT Enhance or My PT Hub). Includes your own branded app that lets clients do their assigned workouts and lets the trainer view video of clients performing movements, which to me was a must-have feature (there are only 1-2 other software providers that currently have this, and their feature sets are not as good as PTD). PTD also lets all of your clients use the software for free for the first 30 days, a must if you are going to run online challenges. PTD even has tons of free resources about how to be successful as an online trainer. To me they are a no-brainer.

Cons

They do not integrate the trainer's calendar with Google calendar, Apple etc which makes it not great for in-person training (but they don't market this software for that anyway, they market it as being great for online training. So I'm not sure if it's fair to call that a Con.) Also as of this writing the Android app is not fully functional compared to the Apple app, which means my clients with Android phones are often better off using the web browser on their phone rather than the app. Other than that I can't think of any negatives, love this software.

Alternatives Considered

TrueCoach

Reasons for Choosing PT Distinction

My PT Hub did not allow clients to easily video themselves performing all the exercises as prescribed, right within the app. To me this is a must-have feature

Reasons for Switching to PT Distinction

With all the amazing features and support, I believe PT Distinction is the best choice by far for online training. I use another provider (PT Enhance) for in-person training; it is expensive and inconvenient having 2 software providers but I want all of my clients to have the best possible experience.
Anthony
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 06/01/2021

The best PT software on the market

Excellent. Outstanding.

Pros

Super versatile, easy to copy, paste and adapt workouts and nutrition to different clients. Also add and distribute new workouts and nutrition to big groups of existing clients at the same time. Workout building is easy and can be personalised - the app is waaaay better now. All the tracking for clients metrics, photos, food diary is great. Simple integration with paypalm myfitness pal, youtube. I'm only really starting to realise how powerful this software is. The tech support is superb. A human being responds to you with the answer in 24hrs or less.

Cons

Took me a while to get used to the logic - but once I did everything much easier. There is a whole library of how to videos and guides. Once you sign up there are free courses to guide you through everything - not only the technical sides of using the software but how to sell and get clients. Although a bit daunting at first it's actually pretty simple. Any complications arise from the options available which make it so versatile.

Alternatives Considered

ABC Trainerize

Reasons for Switching to PT Distinction

Was recommended by the head of my personal training school. And reviews confirmed what he said

Response from PT Distinction

Thank you for the incredible review Anthony!

Replied 20/01/2021
Ayo
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/01/2021

Excellent software, supported by a team that cares.

PT Distinction enables me to deliver fitness and nutrition coaching to a large number of people to a much higher standard, and in far less time than previously possible. The support team respond quickly to requests, and the system is constantly being upgraded. I highly recommend it.

Pros

The best features for me are the Program Builder, the 'Group Management' system, and the quality of the app/client website login portal. I love the ease with which you can deliver a multifaceted suite of coaching options to a large number of individuals, whilst maintaining the ability to quickly customise as required.

Cons

It doesn't integrate with Apple Health or Garmin Connect which is a shame as many of my clients use one or the other. There are various workarounds to this though, to be fair.

Amber
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/02/2021

The Best Personal Training Software

Overall, PTDistinction is a fantastic platform. I won't name names, but before I found PTDistinction, I tried out 4 other (well-known) platforms and none of the others come close as far as features and ease of use. I spend half the time doing the same work as on any of the platforms and PT Distinction has many more features.

Pros

PTDistinction pros? Where do I start?
Ease of use: Absolutely. I love that features are easy to find and simple to use. I can tab through fields and add things quickly. I can set out whole programs and launch them for clients easily.

Lots of features: I have found that there is almost no limit to the types of things that I can add for clients. Any type of habit tracking, template, coaching resources, assessments and on. And unlike some other platforms I tried, more features does not make this platform any less streamlined.

Tons of exercises. And if there is an exercise not already in the database, it's incredibly easy to add.

I also used to use a second platform for nutrition coaching, but I can do everything in PTDistinction now.

Cons

The only things that I could want for is messaging notifications and app availability. I would prefer if the app would give notifications when my clients message me. However, without having an app available for the coaches side this isn't available. The app be valuable for when I need to use the platform on the go from my phone. I often pull up a client's workouts during in person sessions and I currently have to do that from the web browser, which is less than ideal.

Justin
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 11/01/2021

Great software for any personal trainer/coach

Great. Highly recommend the software and the customer support is very good.
Their Facebook group is very handy and the staff are quite active in there.

Pros

PT distinction allows you to create your online coaching systems/processes with ease. It has all the tools you need to provide your clients with the services they require and allows you to give them better results.

Cons

Not too much to be honest, I have been using it for over 2 years now and pretty satisfied.

Alternatives Considered

ABC Trainerize

Reasons for Choosing PT Distinction

It was a poor software to use.

Reasons for Switching to PT Distinction

It had the functionality that I was looking for.
Giovanni
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 23/02/2022

I've tried many coaching apps and I've enjoyed working with PTD the most

My overall experience with PTD has been great. I feel like I've had everything I need to learn how to use the software and it is extremely adaptable to use which is great for a growing coaching business.

Pros

I love that I can send messages to multiple clients at the same time, the ability to have a calendar to keep me organized, and the ability to attach videos, pdfs, and links within coaching content.

Cons

At this point in time I am still learning the software so I don't know what I would add or remove.

Carly
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 12/03/2021

Guaranteed to save you time and improve your client experience

This has helped me establish a group program that will run automatically for each future intake, saving me so much time whilst being able to increase my revenue without extra work. This creates more time to spend on marketing, drawing more clients to your service and improving service to current clients.

Pros

Setting up the habit coaching has been so valuable for client experience and accountability, saving much more time for coaching and client care

Cons

It can seem a little overwhelming to start with as there are so many features and you do so much with it. There are tonnes of training videos included so if you set some time aside at the start it will save you so much time going forward.

Christina
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 27/05/2021

Such a great program

Such a great way to get training content to my online clients. Highly recommend.

Pros

I love that I can personally check in with all my clients on a daily basis through the software. Plus I can reach out to multiple clients at the same time. Super easy to set up training programs, nutritional information. But the absolute best feature so far is implementing my own training videos for certain exercises. My clients love seeing me explain the exercises. Also, PTD has so much content already available, it's never a challenge to make new programs for my clients.

Cons

I couldn't find a smooth application for client payments within PTD that could also be used on my website. And the app has glitches - Sometimes my clients cannot hear the audio through the app.

Alternatives Considered

ABC Trainerize, Exercise.com, TrueCoach and TrainHeroic

Reasons for Switching to PT Distinction

PTD offered the app, the custom branding, and great customer service. This is my first time using an online training software; I knew I was going to need a lot help getting the software connected to my website. PTD has been such a dream to work with.
James
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/11/2022

PT Distinction has been a GAME CHANGER

I need to check the software far less than I did with Trainerize, it's a lot easier to get them to do progress pictures.

Pros

The feature that has been a game changer for me is the email automation you are able to set up in PT Distinction as a group and you can time it for when you want it to go and to which clients. This means I can focus more the deliverables for the clients as I only needed to set that up once something I was unable to do using Trainerzie for example.

Cons

I think the exercise library could be bigger, the fitness assessments aren't the most user friendly for clients (it would be okay if they were with their coach or PT in the gym as the coach would have all the tech) but they aren't any videos or explanation for clients on how they should do each test that's why I have removed it from my onboarding process which is a shame because one of the problems in my niche (amputees) is posture. So if you could improve that part of the tech that would be awesome. Another problem is the measurements part of the software one of my clients had to input data on say 14 Nov and then change the date for it to be log - probably an easy fix if it were in the same place as progress pictures.

Mickayla
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 04/02/2021

Nutritionist and Trainer Review

I love it so far. It really helps me train my clients from afar with ease and I also use it with all of my in person clients so that they have a workout schedule for the days I'm not seeing them! I can't speak much to the customer service quality but I think that's a good thing because it means I haven't had any problems!

Pros

I love that I can group message in the app, that I can have the clients set up their own accounts with automation or the pre-made packages to my website, I like the ease of swiping through the workout circuits and I LOVE the video feature for clients to video their form and submit it to me!

Cons

That i have to create meal plans in a separate program and then upload them as PDFs. I wish the meal planning templates were better so I didn't have to outsource. I also wish rather than just a timer for the workouts - clients had a timer that could be set for their work time, and rest time. (Like the Smart WOD app).

Alternatives Considered

ABC Trainerize and Mindbody

Reasons for Switching to PT Distinction

My business coach uses PTD and recommended it! His team also helped me set it up and learn more about the program!
Naomi
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 13/06/2020

An Honest Review

Its been great so far so much better than the previous app I used and I will continue to use this software throughout my career in the industry.

Pros

Its easy for clients to set up, you can brand it how you like completely free of charge. Its very simple to add your own content and upload items for clients.

Cons

Theres no feature for personal trainers to take session via the app - there's also no calendar so you have to use a separate system to book clients in. I believe they should be able to pick their own slots and be independently booking sessions according to my diary

Alternatives Considered

TrueCoach

Reasons for Switching to PT Distinction

They both lagged a lot - most of the time lots of hard work was unsaved and could not be recovered. Clients didn't like the set up either.

Response from PT Distinction

Hi Naomi,

Thank you for the great review. It's great you're enjoying the software and find it easy to use.

PT Distinction is a coaching software so the scheduling is there to schedule programs and coaching that clients do themselves. You can however integrate any booking software you like which will allow you to book clients for face to face sessions.

Replied 16/06/2020
Daryll
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 06/01/2021

The Hybrid Specialist

My overall experience with PTD has been great. Especially when the country shutdown back in March 2020. Because of PTD I now run a Hybrid business (a mixture of face to face and online). So when the shut down happened there was a seamless transition for all of my face to face clients. All I hade to do was change gym workouts to home based workouts for both my face to face and online clients. I felt really great for my clients and my business at that point. My clients didn't miss a beat (some came back stronger) and nor did my finances. I did feel bad for some of my fellow trainers, whom I told about PTD but didn't listen and for that they suffered.

Pros

What I like the most about PTD is the ease of use. The ease in not only adding a new client but, through groups, setting up every aspect of their program in less than 10 minutes. Speaking of groups, using the video instructions, I was able to set up my programs (strength, fat loss and muscle builder) in less than a week.
The other thing I like about PTD is how easily it integrates with my website, paypal and other apps such as fitbit, myzone and myfitpal. This makes it so easy to monitor my clients activity, effort and eating.
There is more that I really like such as the messaging center, the ability to watch client technique through video and the interval timer but I don't have that much time.

Cons

What I like least is that it's very robust. I mean, there's alot at your fingertips.. To the point that it's very easy to get overwhelmed trying to set everything up. I actually, quit. I got overwhelmed because I tried to set everything up all at one time. Big mistake. But here's the cool part, [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] reached out to me to find out why I stop my subscription. That meant the world to me. He got me back inline and it's been awesome ever since

Response from PT Distinction

Thank you for the amazing review Daryll. We're so pleased you had your hybrid coaching all set up before the pandemic hit and your coaching and finances haven't suffered at all.

Replied 20/01/2021
Melanie
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 18/10/2021

Super helpful app for programming & coaching clients!

Overall, so much time-saving because I can create and use templates. I love that the exercises all have videos, and I can upload and/or link to videos for unique exercises - it's a real plus for my online clients to have the videos to refer to!
This app has allowed me to really grow and flourish in my online training capacity.

Pros

I love that I can create my own workout programming and 'template' them - so I am not re-creating the wheel each time. I also appreciate the new Dashboard feature, which allows me to see at a glance all my client activity. And I really love that I have been able to brand this app with my logo, etc - so when my clients use it, it is like they are using my OWN personal training app - so fabulous!

Cons

I have had some trouble with exercises disappearing in my templates. I cycle through 10-12 templates and when I go in to review them before assigning to clients/groups - I have often found whole sections and/or exercises to be gone....like they dropped out of the template somehow. This is very frustrating because I then have to go back in and re-program that template...which takes any 'time-saving' feature completely out of the picture! That is my biggest frustration at this point - it should be that the templates are saved completely and not mysteriously deleting exercises.

Brittany
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/11/2021

fantastic all-in-one coaching software

Overall love this! It takes a bit of focus/energy to learn, but you really do get to customize and automate almost everything so it's worth the learning barrier. Anyways, PTD has a lot of educational videos and tutorials, and Ash is in the Facebook group everyday answering questions.

Pros

The main reason I switched PTDistinction is because I can do pretty much all of my client communication and management in the app. I can send my clients videos, articles, check in forms, automated messages, workouts, meal plans...they don't have to use any other service (except for Zoom). I love PTDistinction's ability to automate *basically anything* you need to send your client....once you get the hang of it, you focus on more on coaching and less on admin/software stuff.

Cons

What I would most love to see is a better calendar navigation for the client. The ability for them schedule their own workouts to help them plan their week. Right now they can only reschedule what I have put on the calendar for them.

Chris
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/01/2021

PT Distinction Review

PT distinction has provided me with a platform to fully move my business online. This has given me so much freedom to be anywhere in the world and still give my clients and amazing service.

Pros

Creating programs for our clients is super easy to do. We have been able to upload all our own video demos and coaching content. We have had great feedback from clients worldwide on how easy it is to use and how they love that they can use it at anytime anywhere.

Cons

Downfall is when using the app, sometimes it lags or videos take long to load. Also, one is unable to use the app without the internet. Lastly, the app is very limited to how much you can customize it to suit your own business branding.

Jeff
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 20/10/2017

So far this has been a great platform and I love the interface. Keep it up!

My clients get a very easy to use platform and they LOVE the app to look up their workouts. That sets this a part from most platforms.

Pros

I really like the functionality and the consistent updates. they really put a lot of into the site and it shows. Over time this will become, if not already, the best PT software in the world.

Cons

So far not much I don't like but it would be very nice to see some more endurance activity friendly areas of the platform. I just signed up for a free trial with Final Surge which is designed for running coaches and it's great. They don't have the same exercise library as PTD does and I will probably always keep PTD so I can work with general clients more as a personal trainer. As a running coach, which is what I'm putting my focus on right now, I will use Final Surge and then ask my clients to go to PTD for the exercises. Over time I will make my own videos so that my running clients don't need to shift back and forth. Their platform is great so I would honestly consider something like that because PTD will gain more coaches that way. Training Peaks is too expensive and Final Surge isn't so right now many endurance coaches are gravitating towards Final Surge from what my colleagues tell me. I'm sure there are more platforms that are great for endurance coaches but so far Final Surge has the nod in my opinion.

Response from PT Distinction

Thank you Jeff.

As you mentioned our primary design is online training and online coaching but if we can improve our service for endurance coaches we are always open to suggestions.

I think the recent integrations of MyZone and Fitbit should help with endurance athlete tracking and we have Garmin integration coming soon as well.

If you have any exercise videos you want us to add or any specific improvements you would like to see feel free to drop us an email via the website contact from or to me directly [email protected].

Once again thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review.

Replied 23/10/2017
Chris
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 20/03/2017

PT Distinction - Bloody brilliant!

To have the ability to have a fully customised branded app to help track clients progress, habits, workouts and much more is amazing. It gives me a boost as a personal trainer, ensuring I am delivering a professional and personalised service to my clients. I have nothing but praise from all my clients, most of them think it's amazing that I have my own app.
The system is ever evolving and updates are rolling out all the time. Just when you think it can't get any better a new feature appears. The representative and his team must be busy bees behind the scenes.
The software has endless opportunities for set up. I am only scratching the surface with what this software can offer, but I know I can adapt and change it at any time. There is an extensive range of `how to' and coaching videos to ensure you are making the most of PTD.
PTD takes the stress out of training online. By having the ability to automate, but keeping that personal touch, frees me up to spend time with my family and friends.
The support is amazing. Any issues (usually finger trouble by me) are swiftly sorted. There is also a Facebook group to bounce ideas off other trainers and support each other through our fitness careers.
I have used other PT software in the past and PT distinction pulls the pants down on them making them look ridiculous. It really is the bees knees!

Pros

Fully customised app
The level of support
The automated features
The workout library
Results tracking

Cons

I struggle to keep up with all the new features.

Response from PT Distinction

Ha ha, this might be my favourite quote of any review ever- "I have used other PT software in the past and PT distinction pulls the pants down on them making them look ridiculous."

Thank you so much Chris.

Replied 20/03/2017
Daniel
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
4
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
2

3
Reviewed on 25/01/2022

Dissapointed

I have use PtD for years and have never felt 100% comfortable with it. From my end (as a coach) it was great , very very good as it is so powerful but but for my clients the app is too "clinical" and it's not very user friendly, I had to make a video for absolutely everything I wanted to get my clients to do as it wasn't very intuitive.

In the past 6 months the software has become even more unusable and I have now transitioned to a new software.

the customer service took a downward turn as well and it felt as if any answer you did get was from a position of "We can use it, why can't you".

It's a shame because it could be so much better than anything else out there but they seem to have focused far too much on what their software can do and not enough on how good it is to use.

In short...

I enjoyed the power it had and what it could do, it wasn't easy to use but when you knew how to use it it could be great, the problem is, My clients hated it.

Pros

The software is super powerful, it can literally do anything but you need a degree to be able to use it

Cons

Client side the software is clunky and too "busy" too much going on and not enough customisation

Phill
  • Industry: Sports
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 17/03/2021

Great Features and Easy to use

Really good, they have listened to feedback and updates the android app, they are helpful and the pricing is on point for what it offers.

Pros

The ability and ease of putting programmes together and the ability to put clients into groups so programmes go to multiple clients of same ability.

It is easy to use and the app is great both for clients (even technophobes) and trainers.

Cons

It took a long time to move everyone over from our last app and build the programmes. But once up and running it’s great.

435 reviews