CCH ProSystem fx Reviews

4.3
Overall rating
Reviews

4.3
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About CCH ProSystem fx

CCH ProSystem fx is an on-premise firm management application designed to help businesses streamline the entire project and client management lifecycle, from managing contact information and recording expenses to handling billing...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
3.8
Features
4.3
Ease of Use
4.0
Customer Support
3.9

Browse CCH ProSystem fx Reviews

52 of 52 reviews
Sort by:
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 08/10/2018

CCH Prosystem Fx - quality product with a price to match

Pros

Prosystem Fx is a professional level tax software program generally designed for big firms, but it is useful for any professional that wants a high quality product. It handles most every form and calculation you can imagine with ease, and I would place it as the #2 professional level tax software product on the market based upon its features. They also have customer support that is usually very good, as some support personnel are also the software developers during the busy season. Prosystem Fx is the name for a large product suite, so it's hard to describe a particular feature as the selling point.

Cons

It is very expensive -- generally the most expensive tax software product on the market.

Linsay
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 01/11/2023

CCH ProSystem fx for tax practice

I had a rough startup with CCH, but now that those issues have been resolved this software is working well for me and my small tax practice.

Pros

I utilize some pieces of CCH ProSystem fx, including Planning, but also utilize Axcess Tax for the cloud feature. I think the tax preparation is great, but it does take a lot of time to set up if you are using it for the first time to get return defaults set. There are lots of videos and instructions available in the help section.

Cons

It's a hard to obtain software information and pricing from CCH because there are so many options available and specifics are only available from talking with an account rep.

Alternatives Considered

ProConnect Tax, Drake Tax and Lacerte Tax

Reasons for Switching to CCH ProSystem fx

I was more familiar with CCH and the pricing options ended up being more affordable for a 150 return package than the other options for me at the time.
Joe
Joe
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
2
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 20/07/2020

Not good, but likely your best option

I've been using the software for 10+ years and every month I find a new problem with it, almost without fail. tax is complicated so I get that they can't program fro everything that may come up but sometimes it is a struggle to get simple things right.

Pros

Functionality is better than most of the other tax software out there, navigation to frequently used items is decent. read the cons, but this is still likely the best option out there

Cons

tons of calculations that you cannot find support for how the software is doing the math, link to worksheets option never just takes you to where the number is entered, states look like they were all designed by a different developer so there are 50 different ways to do the same thing on different states, e-file rejects can be impossible to clear, support is only marginally useful and most of the time has to kick you to developers, some data entry is just completely hidden and if you don't know exactly where to go you will not intuitively find it.

Top CCH ProSystem fx Alternatives

CS Professional Suite

ProConnect Tax

Jared
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 12/02/2020

Gets the job done, but could use some upgrades

Engagement is our main tool for preparing and storing our audit workpapers. It's dependable (for the most part), and easy to train new hires on.

Pros

(referring specifically to Engagement) The software is very simple to use initially, but has some fun tricks you can pick up on with repeated use. It's very well organized, and has a lot of strong built-in tools. It's easy to organize an audit, and also have all your work linked directly back to a trial balance. It also makes preparing schedules for financial statements quite easy.

Cons

(referring specifically to Engagement) There are some antiquated functions, like some of the trial balance reports that are 'locked' so that you can't modify any cells within them. Additionally, a lot of the reports have excess tabs that add additional clutter to the spreadsheets, and it's not clear why they're there. Lastly, the system can be slow to open and close files, but that's what you have to put up with, I guess.

David
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
1

4
Reviewed on 26/07/2022

No Customer Service... ZERO...NONE

Customer service... what customer service? NEVER NEVER NEVER NEVER!!!! Do not purchase unless you are a large firm spending 50 or 100 thousand.

Pros

The software will prepare any return. I need for foreign returns and this has all forms. But when something goes wrong you are on your own. There is no one at the other end of the telephone to help you.

Cons

NO CUSTOMER SERVICE! Spent 2 weeks trying to add a state. Worse than on hold with the IRS. 2 and 3 hours and still no answer. Put in a ticket and maybe in a week someone calls if at all. Had to go though a different sales rep to get technical help as my sales rep stopped calling me. Used at a larger firm and was good but now on my own and you are at the bottom of the barrel for any help. Actively looking to switch as my heart will not take another tax season with no service.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 01/02/2019

Audit Engagement Management Software

Pros

CCH Prosystems is a critical tool for audit engagement management. This program allows me to create binders that contain all of the work that is being done on a particular project. Anyone with rights to the file can access it in real time from their personal computer.

Cons

The only pain point for me comes from when a user has an engagement file "checked out" on their computer this locks the file and that file cannot be modified or edited until the user checks it back in. This can certainly be frustrating when you need to get your work done.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 01/07/2019

It has so much of functions! Maybe a little more than I need

I've used it for several years of financial statements audit, and I've enjoyed it without major issue.

Pros

This has all the good functionalities. It is not only an audit binder, but it also provides financial statements preparation functions, such as consolidation and elimination. Also, you can roll-forward an entire binder to make things easier.

Cons

This has so much of functions, maybe a little more that I need. It gets slow. Also, setting up all the leadsheet and links between workpaper and financial statements can take some time.

Ivan
  • Industry: Outsourcing/Offshoring
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 18/09/2021

CCH ProFx - An App You Can Consider

Overall, the software is a great tool to use for audit, tax and other projects management purposes and with its competitive price, one should consider this among their picks.

Pros

I've used this software for quite a long time and is a good tool for our tax and audit of Singapore companies. It is quite simple to use and navigate and you can master it in no time. Perfect for managing our client audits and achieve efficient workflow.

Cons

Personallt, I prefer cloud-based softwares over desktop application softwares. By being in Cloud, this can resolve issues in checking in & out and synchronizing the binders in the app and provide real-time results.

Nazli
Nazli
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 08/09/2021

Accounting Gem

Over all its a good product.

Pros

We are using several WK products for accounting and taxation this is also one of them. Calculations are very accurate. Highly professional software for accounting.

Cons

You really dont know how calculation done and its bit expensive for small scale companies. In worst case if you find any bug in any box you cant override it with correct value.

Isabelle
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 01/04/2024

A basic system reliable and easy

Pros

It's easy to use and reliable, it has a safe feeling as well to share sensitive documents

Cons

the functionalities could be improve, for example, to be able to preview the documents uploaded instead of having to download them each time.

Neon
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 13/02/2020

Essential Software for Your Day to Day Auditing

I use CCH ProSystem fx (“PFX”) in my day to day auditing job. It allows me to be much more organized in the structure of my audits. It also allows me to be more efficient in my job, especially when the audit engagement team “buys into” setting up workpapers properly by integrating the features that PFX has to offer. The software can be a hassle when the software becomes “buggy”. Luckily, if you’re an experienced user, it’s easy to get past the problems. However, there is a definitely a learning curve for newer users. Overall, I have had a positive experience over the past 4 years of utilizing PFX, and would choose it over its competitors, such as CaseWare.

Pros

CCH ProSystem fx ("PFX") is a robust piece of software that has many beneficial features that my audit firm utilizes. Things such as utilizing "TB-Links", and utilizing the built in reporting and adjusting journal entry features allow us to track any and all of the issues that we run into our clients. It also allows us to remain organized from one period to another, making audits potentially much easier. If a user is a veteran of utilizing PFX's tools, audit workpapers as well as financial statements can essentially build themselves. Once an workpaper has been set up well, it allows the engagement team to be much more efficient in future periods.

Cons

Despite all of the great features CCH ProSystem fx ("PFX") has to offer, it can be very buggy. The software integrates into Excel, Word, Adobe and more, and provides the user with many tools to assist in them in their audits. However, these addons, particularly those with Excel, tend to “break” and become unusable. This may cause the entire Microsoft Suite to lock up or freeze, which can create severe issues if the user is not diligent in saving their work. The addons may also not “load” into their intended software, which can be a difficult issue to fix if the user is not experienced. Users in my firm often have to contact our IT department in order to get these issues resolved in a timely manner. Despite these issues, I personally believe the pros outweigh the cons.

Bryan
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 06/01/2020

If you are an Accounting firm, you already know!

CCH is the gold standard for accounting firms. I look forward to the day where I only have one icon to setup for my accountants, all products tied into one platform. For now, they have a pretty good pulse on the accounting industry, and if you are an accounting firm and NOT using CCH, I'm really uncertain on how you could operate!!

Pros

CCH is the main name in the accounting space. Whether it be their tax software, research materials or time and billing, CCH is and likely will always will be synonymous with the accounting world. ProsystemFX's suite of products is mission critical to a firm such as mine. Reliability, consistency, ease of installation, everything just works. What I, as the IT Manager like best is the level of support I receive from CCH. Sometimes, especially with their Time/Billing software, I am reluctant to upgrade the software, CCH is always there to help me through the process, and will even jump on my computer and do it themselves.

Cons

The software, which runs through a SQL server environment does get slow. The interface has not really changed that much over the past decade and feels dated the first time you use it. While there are technical updates that happen often, it certainly wouldn't hurt if CCH offered a visual update to at least make it look like it was made in the modern day. Currently, it looks like it came out of the Windows 98 days, becasue, it did!!

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 24/05/2019

Fantastic package for tax work

Anyone who knows tax work knows that things can get very, very hairy. There's always some little quirk that complicates things. In my experience, ProSystems has come prepared. For every little oddball situation, there's an option. For every little weirdness, there's an override. The diagnostic features are fantastic for working out all the little kinks. The help features go into great detail, making it easier to understand how your different inputs will affect the return. The integration with other CCH products is superb. The chat support is very knowledgeable for when you just can't figure things out. Constant updates means they are always working towards a better, more accurate product. I love this software.

Pros

Lots of options. Handles complexity well. Different UI options to suit your preferences. Nice integration with audit software and fixed assets software. Handles multiple return types (corporate, partnership, employee benefits plans, etc.). Excellent tech support. Most importantly, accurate results!

Cons

Steep learning curve. Help features are not as detailed for state returns.

Lauren
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 18/04/2022

What has happened to Profx Engagement?

Overall, over the years it has been great, but now I'm being forced to consider alternatives.

Pros

I have used this software for years, it is great, I recommended to everyone. Support in the past was always prompt and knowledgeable.

Cons

In recent months I have endured significant problems, and support takes days to respond. Often, the fixes from support are only temporary, and similar issues occur.

Alternatives Considered

CS Professional Suite

Reasons for Switching to CCH ProSystem fx

Good experience with CCH at prior firm.
Michelle
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 06/12/2022

Honest CCH ProSystem fx

This software can prepare any return that you need it for including complex state and federal returns. The interface is very easy to use. Using with Engagement in the best feature and allows you to work seamlessly with other departments and saves your hours of work in tax preparation. It's the best tax software available and I would highly recommend it.

Pros

The software is very easy to use even for the most complex returns. The linking feature with Engagement is the best tool. I can make all my tax entries in Engagement and within minutes the tax return is completed as well. Another great feature is the work flow management, I can always tell who has the file and what the status is of it.

Cons

It is very expensive. Probably the most expensive tax software on the market. Also, sometimes it's hard to find the support for how the program is calculating tax.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 13/02/2019

Complicated but Powerful

Reliable software and good support. It's not perfect, but the administration is simple and straightforward.

Pros

Support can be top notch. I worked directly with support on many technical issues. Great documentation and easy to find how-to's on support.cch.com. I was more of an administrator of the software and I found user administration in Engagement and Tax were both fairly straight-forward. I also appreciated that the Tax software release schedule is released for the whole year, which makes it easy to schedule maintenance because you know exactly when updates will be released. This helps a lot during the busy tax season.

Cons

Inconsistent support. I spent countless hours working with support and unfortunately for all the amazing support technicians there are a few who don't have the skills to know when to escalate or how to scope an issue they've never seen before.

Mike
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 20/08/2019

ProSystemsFX

Overall even though they are expensive I think they are the best on the market. I've tried a few others and they didn't prepare some of the returns I wanted to prepare or you had to do some of the return manually which was absurd. Still the best on the block.

Pros

Excellent Diagnostics, Premier Software, been using it since mid 1970's when they were Computax. You can prepare every state in the US that has a tax, can do composite returns for partners at the state level.

Cons

The cost is really high, particularly for a small firm that pays by the return rather than the whole unlimited software package. When calling support you may end up waiting a half hour to get a tech. I dislike that they bill in July for the NEXT YEAR for part of the sign up process. Now on their billing they don't itemize the bill or show a date for when the return was prepared and you have to go through hoops to get the information. VERY frustrating.

Catheirne
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
1

2
Reviewed on 07/03/2023

CCH ProFx is heading downhill at supersonic speed.

We've been almost 40 years with CCH ProFx. This is the WORST we've ever seen. We used to be able to justify the cost with the software's sophistication, reliability and technical support. All are now among the missing.Save your money and your sanity. Look elsewhere.

Pros

Today? Absolutely nothing

Cons

Technical support has become nonexistent. Glitches in software calculation abound. Lack of knowledge of support...if you actually are able to get to a live person on the phone.

Nathalie
Nathalie
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 15/10/2019

CCH Pro Systems Fx - Best Tax Prep Software Out There

Overall, I've had a very positive experience with Pro Fx.

Pros

I like how user friendly the software is as well as all the different forms that are available. It's also a very sophisticated program

Cons

Sometimes in entity returns, you have to input a number manually in order to trigger a deduction. For example, in order to claim section 179 deduction, you have to manually enter the business income. I would think this would be automatic as it is in some other softwares.

Lluvia
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/07/2021

Great software

I have been using CCH Prosystem fx for over 20 years. Every year it becomes more user friendly, and the features keep on improving.

Pros

The software is very user friendly and the training on how to use it is fantastic.

Cons

The least thing I liked about the software is that sometimes certain fields cannot be overwritten.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/09/2019

Versatile Program

It's been smooth and easy. Using this program makes each day much easier at the office. Staff can track their billable hours, and each client is organized individually with their data to find at your convenience.

Pros

I love the ability to track clients, create projects, track projects, process billings etc. all in one program.

Cons

There are a few user friendly logistics I would change, especially the ability to delete a client number and use it again in a way easier manner.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 11/02/2021

ProSystem Tax

I am very happy with my experience. Clients receive an excellent tax return that is prepared well thanks to the software.

Pros

I like the most that it is user friendly and easy to maneuver. The input flows through seamlessly to the tax return and provides an accurate return.

Cons

I like least that there are some bugs that I have notified the developers about and have not yet been able to be resolved.

Rachel
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 08/02/2021

Great Concept

I utilize CCH ProSystem fx on a daily basis to perform my job functions as an auditor.

Pros

Great place to host and store a lot of data and large files. Has options to link data, which can be helpful when streamlining workpapers.

Cons

Takes time to learn all of the features and functionality. Is not always the most user friendly program and always seems to have updates that need to run to fix bugs.

McKenz
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 10/12/2019

Good place to store information

It makes it easy for the whole firm to find the necessary information.

Pros

CCH prosystem engagement is a great place to store plenty of information. It performs some basic rollover accounting needs. It meets the needs to store information.

Cons

It can get a little complicated and isn’t the most intuitive system. I can figure things out with instructions fine, but going freestyle is a bit more intimidating until I learn it.

Josh
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

3
Reviewed on 14/11/2018

Good Tax Software

I have found this to be one of the best tax preparation software's that I have used and even though it is more costly than most others, it is a good value. Some software just can give you headaches and in the middle of tax season that is very frustrating, and I have not had that problem with CCH Prosystem FX.

Pros

The ease of use and moving between forms made for efficient time in preparing returns for businesses and individuals. Did not have to spend a ton of time searching for the forms needed

Cons

Multi - state functions, unfortunately apportioning income between multiple states was not very user friendly.

52 reviews