Genius ERP Reviews

4.2
Overall rating
Reviews

4.2
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Genius ERP

Genius ERP is a complete enterprise resource planning (ERP) solution that includes software, implementation services and field expertise for small to mid-sized custom manufacturers. For over 30 years, Genius ERP has been the...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.2
Features
4.1
Ease of Use
4.0
Customer Support
4.2

Browse Genius ERP Reviews

128 of 128 reviews
Sort by:
Manisha
Manisha
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 09/08/2023

Genius ERP is very Powerful Accounting and Billing System.

Stability and secure financial data sharing product and through the Genius ERP budgeting and projects expense management and tracking is quite effective.

Pros

Documentation and the invoicing capabilities with Genius ERP are useful and the inventory management is perfect and through its features its very simple managing multiple projects financial data. Easy creating clean reports and the access control features response its cost effective and easy on project time management.

Cons

Helpful Accounting tool and the performance its good and i really have nothing to underline from all the Genius ERP functionalities.

Jeffrey
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 30/09/2020

Genius ERP Review

The implementation team has been very helpful and informative in getting the system configured to go live.

Pros

We like the ability of this software to be able to handle custom BOM's that we use in our manufacturing processes. This allows us to load BOM's to the system and manage our manufacturing for each course.

Cons

Nothing at this time. The software is meeting the requirements that we anticipated.

Alternatives Considered

SYSPRO

Reasons for Choosing Genius ERP

We needed a more robust system to handle our custom BOM's

Reasons for Switching to Genius ERP

Syspro used outside consultants to implement the system while Genius consultants were in house. We wanted to deal with the Company not a third party.
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Industrial Automation
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 06/12/2018

Somewhat Idiosyncratic

A complex tool and as with most ERP systems the users willingness to learn will be the biggest barrier. But in addition to those barriers the interface of Genius really does not help. It is also very much a closed book with the only route to tailoring via expensive support requests. The tool should be brought up to date with a modern and configurable front end - it is not even possible to create custom fields for your organization or possible to show/hide fields that you do not require.

Pros

It has comprehensive coverage of business processes

Cons

The user interface is dated, multiple screens and cross-module interactions and subtleties that are very difficult to understand. It is also impossible to streamline the interface or customize it in any way with many redundant and irrelevant fields left to confuse users.

Response from Genius Solutions

Thank you for taking time to leave us some honest feedback about our system. I understand your concerns about our interface if you would like to get in touch with me at [email address] we can talk more about the limitations of our front end. I'm glad you find our ERP system to be comprehensive, and I appreciate you taking the time to help us improve our product. - Jesse Linklater, Director of Marketing

Replied 02/07/2019

Top Genius ERP Alternatives

CHRISTIAN
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 01/09/2020

Genius Review

Pros

The team that helped us implement the software helped us customize the software to fit our company and best industry practices. We are really happy with the work flow of this software.

Cons

Integration was easy and the flow is great. I do wish the software had the ability to allow at lease an administrator to delete or Undo transactions that were accidentally confirmed or the ability to at lease minimally edit confirmed transactions (Dates, Text, different fields, ETC.)

Response from Genius Solutions

Hi Christian, Glad to hear that the switch to Genius from Quickbooks is working out for you! Thanks for leaving us a review!

Replied 08/10/2020
Michelle
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 25/10/2022

Just getting started

Genius is allowing us to update a very dated "ERP" and our overall business processes to be more efficient and transparent with the company executives.

Pros

I love how everything is one spot, over time it's become very intuitive to use. It has provided visibility that we didn't have and should streamline our overall process as a company.

Cons

The software terminology was difficult to understand initially. Therefore, we had increased difficulty merging Genius's processes with our current processes. It was a big learning curve.

Eric
Eric
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 03/01/2019

Great ERP for manufacturing

We have replace our Epicor ERP with GENIUS ERP and we are very happy with the change. Genius is way faster than Epicor and is easier to learn and operate. I highly recommend Genius ERP.

Pros

This is a very effective ERP. The software is easy to learn and easy to operate. It can by automated to a certain degree with it's GTA (Genius Task Automation) system. Every major updates comes with many new features, so it get better and better with every updates.

Cons

Customization is very limited with Genius. You cannot change or alter the behavior or the look of the software. You may lose some needed functionality when the software is updated. Somme bugs can take many updates before they get fixed.

Response from Genius Solutions

Hi Eric, We're so glad to hear that you are happy you made the switch to Genius ERP! We want to make our software the absolute best and are always trying to work out the kinks, so thank you for the feedback. I'm pleased to hear that you think we are always improving and that you would highly recommend us. Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! - Jesse Linklater, Director of Marketing

Replied 02/07/2019
Kathleen
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
1
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
2

3
Reviewed on 20/10/2022

Older versions NOT accounting friendly

I am looking to upgrade our system, because it is by far one of the worst (least intuitive) accounting software programs I've ever used (and I've been in the industry for 10+ years).

Pros

The accounting functions of our business can be tracked with the same software as our ERP

Cons

Finding reports, and basic accounting functions is not intuitive and their online "help" is vague and NOT helpful. There is no way to retrieve past bank reconciliations (that I have found) which is inconvenient when you don't have access to previously saved records. Hopefully they've improved on later versions.

Bentson
Bentson
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 08/08/2023

Crucial resource management tool

Project governance has been basic performance measuring system. This product has reduced cost of production by eliminating time mismanagement and tracking each project development stage. It removes bottlenecks that slows workflows maintaining steady production lifecycle.

Pros

Advanced data analytics from organization generated by this platform has been critical for planning and decision-making. It helps my team to prioritize on most demanding tasks that are essential for operations. It accounts for all funds allocated on different tasks and time estimated for implementation.

Cons

The impact of Genius ERP has been positive in the organization. I am impressed by the overall productivity.

Samuel
  • Industry: Farming
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 13/08/2023

Reliable Project Governance Application

We have been able to track and manage most of our customer data. It has enabled the organization to plan and implement critical decisions on production life cycle.

Pros

I was able to customize most of data entry fields. It is easy to use and set up across the enterprise. The customer support team was proactive and ready to offer any assistance when contacted.

Cons

I have not experienced any operational challenges after deployment.

James
James
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 19/07/2023

The real enterprise planning application

Marketing with the right planning platform has advanced our customer reach plans. This platform has stimulated marketing growth and enhanced accountability for marketing resources. It is easy to work with this software and measure the impact on general business outcomes.

Pros

It helps sales and marketing team to plan and implement programs that are suitable with available resources. This software has auditing and budgeting tools that improves transparency and reduces resource mismanagement.

Cons

The results have been positive for the period we have been using Genius ERP.

Kaleb
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 16/07/2023

The Genius Way

We are only a few months past go live but compared to our previous experience(s) it's been very smooth sailing and we still have plenty to do to maximize our ROI in this product. We are already seeing some big wins in reduced hours for purchasing and receiving and I expect over time we'll reduce our transaction costs by about 30% which is a good win in anyones eyes.

Pros

There are some very well thought out features for HMLV manufacturers, the strength of the BoM's combined with the Engineering Lifecycle Documents gives a great tool-set for managing preliminary purchases and production. The UI is intuitive and easy to follow with excellent consistency between modules which makes it simple to work with.

Cons

On the flip side there have been a couple of things that we have encountered that seemed at first to be less than genius when compared to other parts of the system. We found this was pretty frustrating but compared to what we were using previously it's a long way ahead. The genius approach is very regimented and while this could be deemed as inflexible it also adds to stability.

Response from Genius Solutions

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with Genius. I'm glad that you could see some clear ROI in such a short time and I hope you find that we continue to be user-friendly for you.

Replied 19/07/2023
Kristen
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 24/09/2020

A User Friendly ERP System

They offer many different avenues for training; Genius E-class, Genius Academy and an in depth help section within the software for each module. Genius has a strong desire to have a satisfied customer.

Pros

Genius is used across our whole organization. It is easy to navigate and learn. It has helped us streamline processes, reduce costs and increase customer responsiveness.

Cons

Genius is not yet entirely web based. We have run into situations where the software is not advanced enough to support us on automation projects that we would like to implement. Customization of reports can be costly.

Response from Genius Solutions

Hi Kristen, I'm glad to hear that Genius has streamlined your processes and reduced your costs that's what we strive to do for our customers! Thanks for leaving a review!

Replied 08/10/2020
François
  • Industry: Railroad Manufacture
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 02/09/2020

Genius ERP in Small Manufacturing Business

Pros

We were operating without any form of ERP or similar software, so the switch was not such an easy task! Genius made it easy for us by visiting and analyzing our needs and capabilities from the start. The training sessions before our Go Live date were well organized and tailored to our needs and methodologies.

Cons

With less than a year in, we are now at the point of using the data that has been recorded in Genius for forecasting and reporting purposes, and this part may be a little less intuitive. Anybody with SQL experience could easily find their way, but not our case at the moment.

Response from Genius Solutions

Hi Francois, I'm really glad that you found our implementation process to go well for you getting a new ERP is no easy task! I know some of our reporting modules are harder to learn, I can pass your name along to our Customer Success team, as they will have some training that can help you out. Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review.

Replied 08/10/2020
Bill
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 05/01/2019

Genius Manufacturing Review

Our experience with Genius has been excellent. From the beginning, they have been a true partner to us at Kennedy Tank.

Pros

Genius' ERP is very easy to use. It is detailed and flexible. It connects all aspects of our manufacturing business.

Cons

To use Genius, you have to click and confirm almost everything. This is time consuming but is not too bad.

Response from Genius Solutions

Hi Bill, Thank you so much for the review. we are always happy to hear from you! I'm so glad that you find Genius ERP easy to use, and that we have been a valuable partner to you! We really value your feedback on our system. - Jesse Linklater, Director of Marketing

Replied 02/07/2019
Willy
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 20/07/2023

Genius ERP

Pros

BOM building, transferring into purchasing, receiving, and invoicing is smooth and works well, especially for repeat products and purchasing.

Cons

Customization of reports requires programming knowledge to complete, or reliance on Genius staff to do

Kevin
  • Industry: Furniture
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 07/12/2018

Great Service! Friendly Staff!

Pros

Extremely satisfied with the support and services that were provided through this company. Any problems were dealt with in a professional way. Anyone looking for this sort of service won’t be disappointed.

Cons

Did not experience any bad with this software, All problems were solved by Genius ERP!

Response from Genius Solutions

Hi Kevin, It's fantastic to hear that you are having such a positive experience with our company, we strive to create great relationships with our customers! Thanks for leaving us a five-star review! - Jesse Linklater, Director of Marketing

Replied 02/07/2019
Guy
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 28/06/2019

Customisation of our ERP

We have a long term relationship with Genius Solutions for over 20 years and they have give us a good support.

Pros

Genius Solutions have built custom application for us that we used. We have never see other ERP that can make what we do with Genius.

Cons

I have nothing wrong to say about genius.

Response from Genius Solutions

Hi Guy, it's always great to hear from you! I'm glad to hear that Genius Solutions is working so well for you. Thank you so much for the review! - Jesse Linklater, Director of Marketing

Replied 04/07/2019
Gaurav
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 27/08/2020

Great ERP software

its functional , can do what we desired to do.

Pros

I like it is fully compatible with Solidworks. Easy to learn and maintain inventory.

Cons

Some menu items are way deep in software.

Response from Genius Solutions

I'm glad to know that the switch form Sage has paid off for you!

Replied 08/10/2020
Gaetan
  • Industry: Textiles
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 24/08/2021

Responsable of Engineering

I can get a lot from the data base and use pivot tables and get all the analysis needed.

Pros

Genius is a excellent product which is intuitive and quite easy to use

Cons

In my opinion the Quality (non-conformities) section is not as we should expect for such good ERP

Fabiola
  • Industry: Industrial Automation
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 21/10/2022

Good... but to much clicking, it doesn't predict your activity or preferences

I have great expectations and still learning to use it, although to much clicking here and there, it will be useful if it would predict the repetitive daily action for the user, the research filters are annoying.

Pros

Everything is well connected, improve the budget control.Great to manage customer prepaiements.

Cons

Not all the screens save my view preferences, it doesn't predict your daily actions so the filters become very annoying to use. The updates sometimes mess with some of the customed reports. You cannot bill non-stock items under an invoice made from an expedition for stock items.

Vincent
  • Industry: Import & Export
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 20/10/2022

Purchasing and inventory management

Im sure tehre is a lot op options that would be usefull that we do know even know abouté

Pros

Easy to use, lot of oftions but some options are not adapted to us

Cons

Cannot enter the same lot number twice and some functionalities are hard to use.

Chris
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 11/07/2019

Easily the best ERP software we have used.

Pros

Its fast and accurate job costing, labor and material tracking.

Cons

There are some screens that don't seem to ever remember the user preferences and need to be re-organized every time they are opened. A small but annoying thing to do every day.

Response from Genius Solutions

Hi Chris,
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We're very happy to hear that Genius ERP is the best ERP software you have ever used! I will pass this on to our team! - Jesse Linklater, Director of Marketing

Replied 25/07/2019
Valérie
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 30/09/2020

Genius ERP

Pros

Helpful for cost per project analysis. A lot of features so we can adapt to our own business.

Cons

Not friendly user. Need more training. The help guide is not really helpful when we do research on it.

Adam
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 12/10/2022

Genius ERP Saves Time

Every time we progress past an obstacle in our initial setup stages, we have learned how to use Genius to strengthen our project tracking abilities. Overall, the software has helped organize our work effectively and the transition to the system has been positive.

Pros

Our company has gained an appreciation for the Recommended Reorder function to increase productivity and organization of purchasing materials.

Cons

Integration of our business into Genius has been difficult because it has been unclear how to properly set up our custom projects as 'jobs' in the system. Because of this we have run into instances where jobs need to be closed, and then re-created due to being made incorrectly. For example, an irreversible mistake was when a job was created within Engineering Lifestyle whereas it should have been launched directly into production from Sales Orders for our use case.

Mathieu
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 20/10/2022

review

Pros

technical support, several option and feature

Cons

a full instruction manuel, we cannot delete item

128 reviews