Photo Mechanic Reviews

4.8
Overall rating
Reviews

4.8
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Photo Mechanic

Photo Mechanic is a media management software that helps photo studios and photographers view and manage images via a unified portal. The platform allows users to import, edit and export photos stored on memory cards and other...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.9
Features
4.8
Ease of Use
4.8
Customer Support
4.9

Browse Photo Mechanic Reviews

16 of 16 reviews
Sort by:
Sam
Sam
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 28/09/2021

Easily the best way to manage RAW files

I've loved using it. I work with a huge amount of RAW photos at a time and it's made the narrowing down process exceptionally easy. Saves me hours each week.

Pros

I used to spend a significant amount of time trying to find a specific RAW photo file using the normal mac finder or Lightroom, but Photo Mechanic makes it very easy and loads the files so quickly it amazes me that they're actually RAW files! Hugely speeds up my work flow.

Cons

The way the software updates is a little annoying, and it seems like every other time I open it there's a update! Which means downloading the new version, installing it, etc. Wish this was a simpler process that worked in the background and didnt require you to overwrite the old version... or that it was less frequent!

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/01/2023

Photo Mechanic saves you days in your image editing!

Brilliant from the start. If culling is hard for you - this software will shave off so much time!

Pros

I have used the software for more than 5 years and as soon as I installed it, it shaved off days of my image editing process. As a wedding photographer, you come home with thousands of images and the culling process was the one thing that made the whole thing unbearable - until I found Photo Mechanic. I can now open folders with 1000 images in them and cull them easily by keeping the finger on the keyboard for adding colour flags. Adobe Bridge cannot cope with so many photos and it would take ages (up to 20 minutes) to display all images in the folder - even though I have a powerful iMac! But Photo Mechanic breezes through the amount of data and the culling process now takes hours instead of days!

Cons

Can't say anything negative about it. Just love it!

Alexander
  • Industry: Photography
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 18/08/2021

Photo Mechanic Review

Pros

Photo Mechanic is good at working fast compared to lightroom.

Cons

Several cons about Photo mechanic is that crop tool doesn't show case what would be cropped, and you can't select a specified thumbnail.

Top Photo Mechanic Alternatives

Sam
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 29/10/2021

Working with large amounts of photos? Best way to manage

Pros

I use Photo Mechanic to speed up my workflow by helping me to narrow down large quantities of images, usually in RAW format. This software has shaved hours off of the time it used to take me to do this as it loads RAW photos in milliseconds and allows you to very quickly flag the ones you want to keep. I also love that it's a one off payment, so not another subscription to keep up with.

Cons

I don't think it's that visually appealing compared to other software I use... has a very dated feeling, but honestly as the functionality is flawless I'm happy to overlook this.

Anna
  • Industry: Photography
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/12/2021

Make your life as a photographer easier

Pros

I used to create smart collections in lightroom and then cull within the software. As I upgraded camera bodies and went mirrorless, the files became larger and this took forever and a day. I got Photo Mechanic, and it has saved me hours on hours on culling! It is a photographer's best tool!

Cons

I really don't have any complaints about it. It does look a little out dated, but who cares, it works great!

luis fernando
  • Industry: Facilities Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 04/01/2023

Qualidade

Edits very fast and easier for the app and its users

Pros

Easy to use and very good for photo and video editing, among others.

Cons

When paying at the end of the month with a debit or credit card

Alternatives Considered

PhotoShelter for Brands

Reasons for Switching to Photo Mechanic

For quality and easy to use without errors and ads
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/07/2022

Photo Mechanic is the king of metadata and lots of images!

It is the BEST software for photojournalists to prep they take for transmission, and works wonderfully with Photoshelter, FTP, etc. for sending jobs to archives or to clients.

Pros

If you are working with lots of EXIF metadata for archive purposes, you want this software. It's been the industry standard for the past twenty years and it is very actively maintained. With the ability to cull and work with thousands of images quickly, it pays for itself in no time.

Cons

Asset management. For many years, this was a missing spot from the software. Now they have another version of the software that accomplishes this. They were smart in keeping them separate as users have different needs.

Spencer
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/04/2023

Culling at the Speed of Light! ⚡️

It's been a fantastic revelation to the company. It allows us to increase our work capacity and efficiency.

Pros

Photo Mechanic allows my team to cull at the speed of light which is a much quicker and effective way to work through large numbers of files quicker than we could in Lightroom which we use to edit them.

Cons

There are regular glitches in the software that sometimes mean quitting and reopening.

Salman
  • Industry: Animation
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 12/01/2023

I am Personally using this app

This app for Entertainment only

Pros

Fusions of This App Is very Good For Everyone

Cons

There is nothing defecult in this app easy to used

Samantha
Samantha
  • Industry: Photography
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 07/11/2022

Photo mechanic is my new favorite for culling photos!

Photo mechanic is my new go-to for photo culling. I can go through about a hundred photos in about 4 minutes, rating them for easy export into LR with ratings in place.

Pros

I love how fast photo mechanic renders a photo in focus compared to Lightroom. It also allows me to rate photos easily and then export into Lightroom for easy edits after.

Cons

There was a small learning curve, but that really isn't a big deal. The software has a lot of great functions.

Valéria
  • Industry: Photography
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 13/01/2023

If you are a photographer, you need to use this

Pros

How quickly I can choose and transfer photos to my editing program

Cons

It could have features such as "metadata" to view camera model info. It shows only the lens model info.

Response from Camera Bits

Note that you can customize the Metadata that is shown.

To show the camera model in the Preview Window, consult this documentation:
https://docs.camerabits.com/support/solutions/articles/48001144384-the-preview-window

Replied 18/01/2023
Allison
  • Industry: Photography
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 21/05/2021

Can now cull galleries in minutes!

Pros

I love this software so much! I can cull through a whole session so fast! My images load instantly and it makes my workflow so much better and faster. Couldn't live without it!

Cons

What I like least about this software is I feel like every time I open it, it tells me an update is available. I feel like I have to update it every single time!

Eliud
  • Industry: Photography
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 06/04/2021

Photo Mechanic Review

Photo Mechanic is an amazing software that enables me to save time through its fast rendering capabilities compared to the previous software I have been using in the past.

Pros

The software renders previews immediately and makes it easy to go through an entire batch of images super fast.
The 1:1 previews are also rendered instantly so it's easy to analyze sharpness and focus.

Cons

The user interface looks outed and is not quite as intuitive.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Photography
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 26/01/2021

Photo mechanic is a must for photographers

Pros

This is a wonderful program that I don't know how I functioned without it! It makes my culling and importing process SO much quicker and seamless.

Cons

Sometimes my photos have a line or two in them that only shows up in photo mechanic and not in post processing.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 09/09/2022

This is best software for photo editing

Best experience in all time use

Pros

This is best software for photo editing &pricing to very low

Cons

Yes ,its very helpfull software in this site
So you can download hai excess all images in this software

Vanderlei
Vanderlei
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for Free Trial
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 28/04/2022

Fotos integras

redimensionar,
renomear,
copiar,
apagar,
pré-visualizar
extyensão de arquivos compactados.

Pros

Ediçoes rápidas
arquivos avulsos
Lotes de fotos em único envio

Cons

imcompatibilidade com um ou alguns programas de fotoshop

16 reviews