User Reviews Overview

About AutoEntry

AutoEntry is an automated data entry platform designed to help accountants and bookkeepers with automatically capturing all accounting information. AutoEntry reduces time spent on inputting invoices, receipts, expenses, and...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.5
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Support
4.5

Browse AutoEntry Reviews

183 of 183 reviews
Sort by:
Daniel O.
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 05/10/2017

Convenient, accurate and time saving

Pros

We have been using Auto Entry as a firm for a couple of months and we’re really impressed at how much time it can save, level of accuracy and convenience. As a medium sized accountancy firm we are always looking at options to save labour hours inputting data and so far it is a good inexpensive solution.

Purchase invoices are easy to process, we mostly upload all the invoices we want to process as one PDF and leave Auto Entry to process them, but there are options to process multi-page PDFs and more detailed breakdown. It will read the Date, Supplier name, and amounts, net of VAT and gross including it.

When Auto Entry and QuickBooks are linked up, all the Suppliers, Customers and the Chart of Accounts are linked, to the supplier account and relevant nominal can be selected from a drop down, which Auto Entry remembers going forward. You can ‘’Approve’’ invoices that are ready to import and sync up with QuickBooks.
Sales work very similar to Purchases.

Bank statements are processed quickly and are usually accurate, saving us many hours that our staff would have to spend manually summarising. The files at the end can then be either downloaded as an excel file or imported into QuickBooks. In terms of chargeable time it is inexpensive, freeing up time to work on other tasks.

When we first tried out Auto Entry, there is a chat box and the bottom right that lets you know what advisors are active at that time. They were very helpful at the start when navigating it.

- On behalf of Jerroms

Cons

Occasionally a figure may be incorrect when converting bank statements, however this is very rare.

Sometimes a duplicate items on an invoice may occur when processing purchase or sales invoices, Again quite rare.

Trevor D.
  • Industry: Arts & Crafts
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 02/10/2020

Our experience with AE

Excellent. Very good help desk

Pros

Clear , links will in accounting products. Our staff are uploading their invoices and coding on line. Much better than paper invoices floating around.

Cons

Could do with expenses being a little more clear on the page for people not frequently in AE, they have a little trouble getting used to how to do their staff expenses - but we are getting there. Also some features like when an invoice was paid by debit card or credit card. not yet available for Sage users but on the development list. Now owned by Sage I expect it will work even better with sage as time goes on.

Sandy H.
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/03/2021

Customer Service is Ace

was a bit hesitant and kept on checking every finer details - but soon gave that up!!

Pros

very clever and reasonable although we haven't started to pay for it yet - as still on free trial

Cons

nothing as yet, still in the process of trying all the modules out

Scott K.
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 26/04/2017

Revolutionised the delivery of our bookkeeping function.

Pros

Paying for credits, rather than a set monthly subscription.
We initially used Autoentry for our clients who did not use online banking to create csv bank statements, to allow us to on board them on to Xero. This in itself is an amazingly helpful function.
We have now expanded our use of this to include the sales and purchase invoice processing. The ability to identify individual line items is a great tool, for those suppliers clients use for different purchase types.
We now use Autoentry in conjunction with Xero as a document processing function.

Cons

Sometimes there can be small rounding issues with invoices when Xero is calculating the VAT on the invoice.

Tori N.
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 29/09/2020

[SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] - Excellent advisor

[SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] is always on hand to help with any issues I have within minutes of asking for help.
Nothing is too much trouble and she ensures all queries are sorted efficiently.

Pros

It is very easy to use and saves alot of data entry time.

Cons

working remotely isnt always as smooth as I would have hoped.

David E.
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 14/12/2020

Good Product / Saves Time

Overall happy with product, we are a small business and it definitely saves time ...

Pros

Ease of use and deployment are definitely the best features. It saves me a lot of time and attaches a copy image of every invoice to the accounts package. I currently use Sage and the integration has been pretty faultless. Even when you do bump into an issue (which I have had a couple) the team are quick and helpful to get it sorted.

Cons

It can sometimes struggle with 1's and I's on invoice numbers which can be problematic, other quirks can be having to constantly force an accounts package sync update when you have changed something in your accounting software, this would be best done at every sign in ?

Ajay A.
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 29/12/2020

Ease of Use - Autoentry

Auto entry allows me to have more free time using their software as data entry becomes a lot faster.

Pros

The best features are ease of use of the software with Sage Professional - Line 50. It is easy to use and very helpful when inputting Sales Invoices or Purchase invoices via autoentry. Saves a huge amount of time in inputting the info into sage.

Cons

As with all software, there seems to be small amounts of bugs in the integration between autoentry and Sage which are being dealt with.

Martin M.
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 18/01/2021

Should free up a lot of time

Pros

Quite simple to install and managed to publish some purchase invoices on my first attempt. It attahes the picture of the actual invoice to the line in sage which will save us a lot of tie checking back and looking for old invoices. Help chat seems to work well. Only been using it for a couple of days and I'm sure theser's a lot more it can do.

Cons

It has occasionally let an invoice in the inbox , perhaps the sync with Sage should happen automatically every time you open it up?

Zoe D.
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 02/08/2017

Auto Entry

Pros

I'd only used Receipt Bank prior to being introduced to Auto Entry. Being limited to just purchase invoices, it was refreshing to have the option to upload not only purchase invoices but sales invoices and bank statements. It is very easy to use, processes information in a timely manner and syncs directly to Xero to aid with the bookkeeping process. When support is needed I get a quick and helpful response.

Cons

The main issue relates to the notification of credit usage. Using the app daily does mean I keep on top of it but would be helpful to have some form of notification of credits left at any given time.

Verified Reviewer
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 20/12/2017

Xero Is Great!!

Pros

Pros
Can receive documents from many sources (web upload, smartphone app, email)
Is actually accurate when capturing data
Can handle multiple line items
Can handle multiple document types (PDF, JPG, GIF, DOC)
Can handle multiple taxes
Easy to edit transactions
Easy to batch re-categorize transactions
Easy to organize documents/transactions
Has fine grained control over how data is pushed to accounting software
Contacts, accounts, and taxes are synced with accounting software
Two-way transaction sync between accounting software and it
Handles duplicates in a smart way

Joy S.
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 10/06/2021

Autoentry review

We're trying to grow without increasing staffing so this has helped enormously dealing with manual input.

Pros

The ability to upload invoices either by email or PDF into the software
Its ability to transfer the data across to accounting software which reduces input time significantly
Staff have been very helpful when contacted.

Cons

We're still new users but set up of suppliers doesn't look like it provides the options from Autoentry that you have in the accounting software
We're still checking information before publishing

Lynne H.
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 03/10/2017

Excellent value for money time saver

Pros

Very simple to use, the data is laid out very clearly, its easy to track usage across more than one company and to find the status of any unprocessed items. The support team are very responsive and helpful. The integration to my accounting software is a big time saver.

Cons

Would be great to see more functionality in the app, currently its very simple to load documents and I'd like to be able to process them in the app too.

Hemant P.
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 20/04/2021

Support

So far pretty good, initial teething problems.

Pros

Once you get the hang of it, very straight forward to use.

Cons

Many features and need time to get used to it.

Alex M.
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 01/12/2017

Brilliant

Pros

Easy to use and very accurate with its scanning. Purchase invoices easy to process. Training webinars are also very helpful.

Cons

Occasional rounding difference when it comes to VAT calculations. Doesn't give notifications about credit usage

Tom f K.
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 03/10/2017

First Class Service

Pros

Since moving from Receipt Bank I have been very impressed and have rolled this out to all my clients. For a fast, efficient service with first class support it cannot be bettered.

Cons

Once the initial set up process has been mastered there isn't much to go wrong. I'd like to see periodic reviews of the client accounts by the support team with advice given on the few errors I've had.

George C.
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 27/04/2018

Saves time and provides a better service!

Pros

Digital records link in and save into QuickBooks. Provides for a better overall client experience. The app is great for clients to snap shot receipts. Better than receiving boxes full of paper at month end!

Cons

Additional cost to our practice where we have to scan client records in for them, so some clients need educating. However, generally makes us more efficient.

Simon C.
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/06/2017

Neil G.
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 04/12/2017

Great app but needs some development

Pros

I love this product we forward all receipts and it uploads to xero in seconds, it saves us hours of admin and resonably priced. Would highly recommend to any small buisiness. The app is easy to use and to take photos on!

Cons

The app doesn’t have ability to approve and apply to accounting software would love to get that ability soon.

Verified Reviewer
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 11/06/2018

Convenient and easy to use

Pros

Auto-entry has made it much easier and quicker to process purchase and sales invoices. I would not hesitate to recommend their services to friends or co-workers!

Cons

It would be convenient if the software remembered different expense accounts for the same supplier. This would improve the overall experience of using the package.

Elaine B.
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 24/03/2021

AutoEntry journey

The team have been very helpful and instruction very good.

Pros

Clear and easy to see the process
All team are very helpful and instructions are good

Cons

So far the process has not been as quick as I would like. I had hoped for a seamless integration with Sage L50 but so far there always seems to be an issue. The downloading for the app or PC of invoices is great- then the publishing does not happen as quickly as I would wish as each time the connection to Sage seems to drop out.

Alasdair M.
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 03/12/2017

AutoEntry makes processing receipts easy!

Pros

Easy to use, clean interface, good app, high degree of accuracy, integrates with more systems than competitor products, flexible pricing model

Cons

UX is fine, but could be improved. Other than that it's a product that people find easy to use, which makes it a valuable app for us to recommend to our clients

Robert turner S.
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 14/12/2018

Implementated it 3 times

Pros

I love so much about it, how it has so many features to automatically bring in data to your accounting systen

Cons

I simply dont have one single thing bad to say about this software. Perhaps the price can be lower or they could offer a discount for those who have multiple companies

Jonathan T.
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 08/12/2017

Brilliant!!!

Pros

Brilliant piece of software and has cut our workload down within the office. We now use this where the apprentices scan this in and then a job is completed much quicker. Would recommend this to people

Stefan B.
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 11/12/2017

Brilliant

Pros

It saves a lot of time and improves the productivity. The sage integration works well and efficient.

Cons

It would be very good if it had an option for the ex. Reference on Sage. At this time it enters the doc number in the ex. Reference but I need it to insert my project number.

Stephen J.
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 11/12/2017

Great app for bookkeepers

Pros

We've been using Autoentry for a while in our office now and it really does save a lot of time. The bank statement scanning feature in particular is very good and this is not available on a lot of similar software that we have looked at. We've also found customer service to be very good so far where we have been unsure about anything, although having said that it is fairly straight forward to use.

Cons

We haven't come across any significant issues as yet, other than some minor rounding of VAT differences when the data is imported to QuickBooks Online. But even with this it is a major time saver.

183 reviews