Apache NetBeans Reviews

4.3
Overall rating
Reviews

4.3
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Apache NetBeans

Apache NetBeans is an open-source integrated development environment (IDE) that provides tools for Java, JavaScript, HTML5, and many other languages. It provides smart editing tools and allows users to easily refactor code....

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.5
Features
4.3
Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Support
3.9

Browse Apache NetBeans Reviews

228 of 228 reviews
Sort by:
Ashley
Ashley
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 11/04/2020

The perfect IDE for java and network development

A great introduction to IDEs and compilers letting me start my programming career in Java.

Pros

Netbeans gives me great syntax highlighting which really saves me time when it come to programming in java. It quickly highlights any errors and lets me correct them. You can also have free version for those unsure. This really let me try all the features before getting involved in the premium version.

Cons

Comparing net beans to some newer software IDEs can make it feel a little less customisable in terms of themes and feel. But if you don’t normally change your theme or colour scheme then this won’t worry you.

Rodrigo
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 04/08/2022

Powerful, reliable and easy to use for several kinds of systems engineering and development

I've been using NetBeans since 2002, and it always impresses me how easy it makes the development process. Initially was only Java. Now, I can work in complex systems with multiple languages in only one place

Pros

Works well with Java, with excellent WYSIWYG tools for Swing or JavaFX. Also works with C/C++, Python, PHP, Javascript and other languages. Easy to configure a system development with multiple languages, easy to deploy on the server (with config to multiple servers like test and production) or on the cloud.

Cons

With all these features, it is a heavy app. Demands a good machine.

Alternatives Considered

Eclipse

Reasons for Choosing Apache NetBeans

Easier to work and configure than Eclipse, not a proprietary app like JBuilder or Visual J++

Switched From

Eclipse

Reasons for Switching to Apache NetBeans

Easy to use, and cost-benefit.
Keith
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 07/11/2022

Good for Java and some other mobile languages

I would try it again and it was good for the java world and development

Pros

Great product that was fast at compiling and giving me answers to questions, great at picking out errors and very prompt and thorough about it.

Cons

Not that great with startup or switching environments or even switching jve, jvm

Top Apache NetBeans Alternatives

Explorer Eclipse

Oracle JDeveloper

Adobe Dreamweaver

Václav
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 30/08/2021

All you need IDE for web development

For the fact that it's open source and therefore for free, the quality of it is extremely good! For my need of development in classical combo HTML + CSS + JavaScript on front-end and PHP + MySQL on back-end it's a perfect solution that has served me for years without any major problems.

Pros

It has support for all commonly used languages in web development. Everything needed is available from the beginning without the need to get any extra plugins. Automatic code compilations are available in settings of each project, including CSS preprocessors and use of JavaScript modules so no other tools are needed. It has support for variety of frameworks, as well as testing tools, and has also it's own history tracking in git style which saves automatic snapshots each time you save a file.

Cons

Since it's an open source software, it's not perfect and it sometimes randomly freezes or crashes. Also because of the same reason the development of new features and updates are not as often as with other commercial software. Therefore it's not very practical for development with newer, fast changing technologies.

Achille
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 07/06/2022

The best to develop Java applications

Some yeas ago we moved from Eclipse to NetBeans because we liked many functionalities and a stable framework that this software offers.
It's a good choice, maybe the best, to develop a Java application. But when we write a web based application (eg. based on LAMP) or a mobile app, we switch to Visual Studio Code, a more complete, flexible and fast solution.

Pros

Fully features, good and proven UI, cross-platform. Good integrated tools and services: we like so much the database connector and the built-in UML modelling.

Cons

There are only two things we like least about this software:
1. if you need do write HTML/PHP/JavaScript code, you can find other solutions with more widgets, plugins, best auto-suggestion, ...
2. as it is developed on Java, you can get some hardware resources issues (especially RAM) by using this software intensively

Zala
Zala
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 19/07/2019

Help in Fast code writing

this help us to manage the product easily and this allow to design fast for front end no need to write hard coding for the design this will automatically write code for design according to drag and drop featre

Pros

NetBeans is a ide that is currently idely used in industry
That provide a best interface and auto suggestion for the method and class of langue that help to write a code fast that allow a auto alignment and auto complication of block .This also collapse a block that help to in easy to find a function that is written.this is provide drag and drop facility for design a page

Cons

not a much optimized that is working slow on less configure system as compare to sublime
size of software is high compared with other text editor

Alternatives Considered

Sublime Text

Reasons for Switching to Apache NetBeans

in sublime project not easily manageable as comped to netbeans sublime not provide drag and drop facility
Eutimio
Eutimio
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 11/07/2021

A software design student's perspective on using netbeans.

After having used it for about 1 year, this tool is very intuitive and easy to use if you know the programming language, thanks to the ease of writing code and the help it provides at the time of doing the same.

Pros

Netbeans is a tool that allows software development in an easy and efficient way if you know well the programming language in which you are working. It includes plugins that fulfill its function of facilitating the use of the IDE.

Cons

Netbens has some problems when cleaning and debugging, as well as some problems with the installation of libraries that are not in the IDE.

Bishal
Bishal
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 19/12/2023

Very good IDE for Java

Pros

I loved its smart code completion features and suggestion features of classes, methods and variables in Java. Its Gui builder is also very good and easy to use. Its built-in debugger was also good and was really useful for me.

Cons

I think it is taking too many resources and feels laggy sometimes when running heavy projects. Using it feels heavy than using other lighter IDE.

Dylan
Dylan
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 13/12/2023

Solid, customisable, no frills Java IDE

Netbeans is like an old Volvo. It might not be the sexiest IDE to look at, but it requires very little maintenance and just gets the job done every time. It's rock steady, and has pretty much all the functionality you need.

Pros

The Swing GUI editor makes it extremely easy to build programs with fairly complex UI with drag and drop components, that are then easily wired up to functionality.

Cons

It often takes a long time for new features to make it to the IDE, and it can be a bit of a learning curve to get started.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 18/09/2023

Coding Discoveries: My Apache NetBeans Experience

In my experience with Apache NetBeans, I have developed school projects such as calculators and programs using data structures like stacks and queues. The most challenging aspect was when I attempted to connect Arduino with Apache NetBeans, as it posed some complications. However, I believe it has been a valuable environment for my educational projects.

Pros

Despite its versatility, NetBeans offers an intuitive interface, making it accessible for students and learners.

Cons

While Apache NetBeans is a powerful IDE, it may have resource and compatibility limitations, a learning curve for beginners, and occasional stability issues

Stuart
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 16/05/2019

Reasonably good IDE

I have used NetBeans in the form of MPLAB X from Microchip. I find it to be a competent IDE with all the expected features, but let down by its Java-based nature causing sluggish performance and high memory consumption. When running on a a laptop on battery I find navigation laggy and compiling and debugging is far slower than usual.
Overall a decent, well-though out IDE but there are better options for Java development (unfortunately for Microchip microcontrollers there is no choice).

Pros

Simple, logical layout and wide range of preferences for tweaking the UI to taste.
Built in support for SVN makes it easy to see what has changed since previous versions of a file.
Largely conforms to standard key bindings, GUI layout etc. making transition from other software relatively painless.
Being able to have many projects loaded and quickly switch between is very convenient, although can be confusing as source file tabs are not visually distinguished between projects.

Cons

Startup time is slow and it takes little while to fully load open projects. CPU and RAM usage during normal operation is high.
It often gets stuck running a background process which means it will not close down without nagging the user and giving a semi-scary data-loss warning (it is almost always OK).
Real time code checking frequently fails leaving red or yellow underlining for non-existent (or fixed) problems. Seemingly-related is the intelligent code navigation (ctrl-clicking on variables and functions to jump to the declaration) which also fails at the same time.
USB connection to debugging tools is also temperamental, often requiring either an unplug-replug of the tool or a restart of the IDE to fix.

Ibraheem
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 21/06/2022

Development in Netbeans

Pros

The web development aspect, server option and adding plugins

Cons

More needed in the aspect of plugins and support of frame works

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft Visual Studio

Reasons for Choosing Apache NetBeans

Netbeans support more languages

Switched From

Adobe Dreamweaver

Reasons for Switching to Apache NetBeans

It support for java,php development
shashank
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 15/04/2019

Review on NetBeans.

As a basic Java developer, we work on a concept called Servlets in Java. In that servlets concept, we make use of apache tomcat tool. In the case of eclipse, we need to download some packages, deploy it in our eclipse IDE which adds on some extra work. But in Netbeans, tomcat support is readily avalible. If I want to create a web service, I need to make use of Glassfish Server. In Netbeans, Glassfish support is available without the need for external packages. I have tried to make use of Swing GUI where we can drag the components in a GUI Builder and the source code is designed automatically according to the components placed in GUI builder. Another important feature is auto-completion of code and a built-in SQL Editor. My overall experience working with Netbeans is so satisfying as it provides such good in-built features.

Pros

1) It is a free and open source IDE.
2) Inbuilt Integration of server applications like Tomcat and Glassfish.
3) Can run on operating systems like Windows, Mac, Linux.
4) We can import the project source code from global repositories like GitHub.
5) We can write the code in Multiple languages like Java, PHP, C, C++, JavaScript, HTML5.
6) Some other features like auto-completion of code, code optimization, search and replacement of code.
7) The Netbeans support is very good as they provide solutions for our queries within a short span of time with optimized solutions.
8) We can customize our own themes to make our GUI more interactive.

Cons

I did not find any flaws with this software.

Ghulam Ali
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 19/08/2022

The only option out there for OG Java Developers

Pros

When it comes to coding and java web development, NetBeans is incredibly organized. It functions on a variety of platforms, including Windows and Linux. The visual web pack functionality of NetBeans is the best feature. I always use its helpful features like debugging, code completion, support for multiple programming languages, integration, and plugins.

Cons

Netbeans slows down for no reason (sometimes) and if used for prolonged period, it stops and crashes suddenly

Serhat
Serhat
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 25/08/2023

Developer Friendly

I have developed many web and desktop applications for payment systems.

Pros

As in every IDE, it has auto-completion, error detection and correction features. But the important features for me are the quick and easy interface design, the drag-and-drop feature, and the rapid design of visual interfaces. At the same time, NetBeans has made my compiling, merging, packaging, and distribution of code very easy and has provided many integrated tools for this.

Cons

It more than met my expectation. I like using it. I love every feature of it.

Divtay
Divtay
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/11/2022

Recommended, value for money product

have a good experience and hands on product

Pros

This Software have many advantage but main is the easy to install and user friendly ..more productivity.

Cons

Cost is the some least thing ..need to drop some cost for developer

Alternatives Considered

Sublime Text
Jordan
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 11/01/2021

Complete IDE

I was using Netbeans on a daily basis, for maintaining and coding for our internal frameworks and intranet / extranet platform.

It was integrated with GIT features (pull, diff, conflict, etc).

Pros

Before switch to a more recent IDE, I used NetBeans in a daily basis. I was very found of several features like:
- Integration with local PHP and documentation
- All functions and classes can be found easily in a project
- GIT integration (diff, conflict, etc)
- Debugger included
- Fully customizable

Cons

There is one main con with Netbeans : it's slowness. That is the main reason of whyy I have switched to used another IDE. It can takes several minutes to open a big project.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 25/01/2023

A Very Good IDE for Software Developers

Overall I am happy as a user of Netbeans. I use it as an IDE for my software development purpose. I mostly integrate Tomcat, Maven, and GIT into it.

Pros

I mostly like the easiness of using this IDE. We can create any type of new project using a couple of options. It provides a code auto-suggestion feature which is very helpful for developers.We can integrate other software like GIT, Tomcat, Maven, and Ant. This makes developers' life very easy by maintaining a couple of things just from one place.

Cons

If we open a large project in Netbeans it will consume a lot of memory and will make the computer system slow.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 03/02/2023

startup platform for developers

I recommend NetBeans as an IDE for beginners because it is easy to use and can be fit with the basic projects

Pros

It is simple to install and use, and so it integrates with Git.

Cons

Basic projects can be created, but complex projects involving Angular or Advanced JavaScript are not supported.

Petr
Petr
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 25/04/2019

The only robust IDE for PHP that is free

NetBeans is probably the only IDE that has direct support for the most popular PHP framework in the Czech Republic - nette. That's why i love it.

Pros

It is open-source and multi-platform, running on both Windows and Linux.
Version 10 supports PHP 7.3 and various frameworks, including Czech nette!
Great integration of version control tools and a very clear comparison of code history changes.
Support for a large number of syntaxes, intellisense and the ability to install all kinds of plugins.
Localization of the environment into many languages, including Czech.

Cons

It's cumbersome, big, running under Java, so it needs more RAM.

Esra
Esra
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 17/04/2019

A user friendly IDE for applications

I enjoy developing applications using Netbeans. I used other IDEs but Netbeans is my favourite.

Pros

Apache Netbeans is very easy to use so it will be a good start for beginners. I still use it to develop web applications using PHP. It has Sass precompiler, Git and Svn support.

I think the IDE is very user friendly. You can navigate through the project easily. Search is comprehensive so you can find easily whatever you are looking for in the project.

Cons

It requires a high performance machine to run it. Otherwise It slows down the operating system to the point that nothing responds.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 01/04/2022

Decent IDE for Web, Mobile, and Desktop Applications

Pros

I've used Netbeans to develop PHP websites and java applications. It is very easy to code and organize files and folders even on a big project. It offers automated debugging, automatic code compliations, and automation which made the development process flawless. Apart from that, the plugins offers more functionality to the table.

Cons

One of the biggest drawbacks of Netbeans is that it suddenly freezes and stops working for minutes. Also, it becomes too slow at times.

Mordecai
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/02/2021

Apache NetBeans Review

It is a very good IDE which is easy to use and easy fix errors. I recommend it for all software and web applications.

Pros

* Good support for desktop, mobile and web applications.
* Easy to use as it has a simple and nice interface.
* It supports different operating systems.
* It supports many frameworks
* Good support for multi language such as Java, JavaScript, PHP, C++
* A very good debugger

Cons

* Large consumption of memory especially when working on big projects
* At time slow during runtime

Lilit
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 28/03/2023

Netbeans honest review

Not bad, did its job.

Pros

Ease of use, great for beginners or the ones who want to start learning coding, as it won't write rhe majority of the code for yourself.

Cons

Not hinting and autocompleting inportant things

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 19/11/2018

Satisfying IDE for JAVA, C++, PHP and Web development

I used this IDE a lot for my projects in the past. It was enough some time ago, but nowadays I would prefer to use VS code or JetBrains products. But still, it was real pleasure to have same IDE for Java, C++ and Web. However a lot of alternative tools have much more to offer.

Pros

Free
Multiple languages support
Great font for code
Great tool for novice programmer
Easy to use

Cons

Code completion problems - in bigger frameworks like Yii or Laravel - freezing
Lot of bugs, sometimes too slow
Tools integration, not so many plugins

228 reviews