TenantCloud Reviews

4.3
Overall rating
Reviews

4.3
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About TenantCloud

TenantCloud is a cloud-based property management system designed to meet the needs of landlords, property managers and real estate professionals. The system offers property management, tenant management, accounting management and...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.3
Features
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0
Customer Support
4.1

Browse TenantCloud Reviews

353 of 353 reviews
Sort by:
Patrick
Patrick
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/07/2023

Great product for a growing property management company

Pros

Tenantcloud is affordable and it has all of the features that you would need to run a property management business. The is a useful tenant portal and property owner portal. You are able to collect rent online and receive maintenance requests. This is a product that can grow with your business.

Cons

The cons are that the financial reporting is not very easy to read and understand. The property owner portal does not show all of the transactions from the property. Transfering money takes 5-7 days. Online payments charge a small transaction fee.

Roland
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/07/2023

TenantCloud provides us all the tools we need...

Overall a very good experience. I feel like TC meets our needs well, with additional features we haven't even explored yet. All at an extremely attractive price point for anyone in the business, small or large.

Pros

TenantCloud covers all the bases that we need in order to effectively manage our properties. From property tracking and online listings, to prospective tenant applications all the way through to lease creation and signature. Once in place, tenant payments, communications, and maintenance requests are all handled in one place with continuity across all parts.

Cons

I sometimes struggle with the lease renewal process and making sure I am doing things right before actully committing changes. However, recently this is where TenantCloud has really shined. In the first yet or so support was limited to online forums and FAQ's as well as what appeared to be an offshore chat feature that would use the same tools we had and copy / paste answers from these forums and FAQs. In the past year this has all changed and a call to TC Support is now met with knowledgeable persons with a true understanding of the business (many seem to come from PM backgrounds). They will work through challenges with you and help you to confirm you are making the right decisions for YOUR business. Kudos to TC for really stepping up in this area.

Reasons for Switching to TenantCloud

App Features and price point, simplicity to do all the things we needed!
Tim
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
2
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
1

3
Reviewed on 03/11/2021

Daily SPAM & Poor Customer Service Respondes

After setting up one property the system would allow me to at more Units. Didn't have time to figure it out. The daily SPAM, the reply to asking about stopping the emails and I'm glad I didn't try to get Verified. I see a number of complaints on that process. Plus when I reached out to their online support chat, I was asked if I had an account with TC. At that moment I didn't because I wanted some answer before wasting my time. The reply was you have to have an account for us to talk to you!!! REALLY?!?!?!

Pros

It had a fresh look and it was somewhat easy to figure out without looking for or asking for help.

Cons

14 days trial is not enough time to really put this service through it's passes. The daily SPAM to upgrade and use other services and not being able to stop them. Per customer service, (my words) live with it or don't use our service.

Alternatives Considered

Innago

Reasons for Switching to TenantCloud

I didn't, I have since deleted my account and this service is no longer be reviewed for use at this time. We are left with Innago and we are testing this service. So far so good, even with some minor quarks, plus it's a free service to use.

Response from TenantCloud

Tim, thank you for taking a moment and sharing your comment with the community. We take our customer service very seriously, so we pulled the dialog to see what happened. Yes indeed, our rep has suggested you create an account but also he has answered all your questions regarding how the system works and how it can help you.

We are sad that you have decided not to go with TenantCloud, but we are hoping your business will be in a great place with your next property management software.

Best regards,
TenantCloud Team

Replied 18/11/2021

Top TenantCloud Alternatives

Jenna
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 03/04/2024

Tenant cloud

Pros

It helped organize data effectively and efficiently.

Cons

Initial set up was a bit daunting and difficult to find help at first.

Derek
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 18/07/2023

Well Rounded PM Software at a Reasonable Price

Overall we're very pleased with TenantCloud, and would refer it to other property managers. While there are a few items I'd like to see upgraded, ultimately the value is great for the price. I tested several PM softwares before deciding on TenantCloud and have been very happy with our decision.

Pros

I like a lot about TenantCloud. To summarize, I like the ability to maintain all property management related features in one place, the ease of use and comprehensive coverage of the accounting feature, the ability for tenants to download the app and submit payments, maintenance requests, etc directly from the app, the reporting functionality is great, and the application process is streamlined and professional looking.

Cons

It is sometimes necessary to develop work arounds for simple features that are not available such as: creating an invoice for the first payment due on a renewal lease, viewing a lease that is currently out for signature, etc. It would also be nice to remove the per ACH charge given that can be problematic for some tenants. It also takes 5 - 7 days for funds to credit our account after a rent payment has been made, but it used to only take 1 - 2 days which was greatly preferred over the longer timeframe.

Reasons for Switching to TenantCloud

TenantCloud had more robust features than Avail or Rentec Direct, but didn't cost nearly as much as Buildium and AppFolio. TenantCloud gave us what felt like the best value between overall functionality and cost.
Cecil
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/07/2023

TenantCloud Review

It's been great so far. Anytime I have had a question the customer service is excellent over the phone.

Pros

The Lease template and the ability to docusign leases and other documents

Cons

The ability to customize the the website. For example, we manage a lot of single SFHs and we do not have a property manager on site. It would be nice to take the "schedule a tour" feature off of our page. Instead have them fill out an application and we can contact them to schedule a time.

Alternatives Considered

Stessa

Reasons for Choosing TenantCloud

Zillow is no where near as robust of a system and their customer service is TERRIBLE

Reasons for Switching to TenantCloud

Functionality and free payment processing
Jennifer
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 17/07/2023

Good start, but needs tweaking

It's okay for the money, but could definitely use improvement.

Pros

Online portal for reporting maintenance needs

Cons

Don't take me back to the dashboard transactions when I finish a task, instead let me go back to where I was "new tenants vs all tenants, etc) so I can continue with the next owner, tenant, etc. Let me add multiple tenants to a lease, even if they don't "connect" to each other in the applications. Pre-populate an amount in the distribution section so I don't have to remember how much I need to send to an owner. Easier accounting - let me pick an owner when I need to bill a tenant, so the payment gets posted to the owner's account more easily, or to my own account. Let me add to the accounting options for more specific charges, & let me decide who is getting paid for these charges (utilities when the property is vacant, etc). Let me add charges like a "monthly pet fee" without automatically setting it up for a management fee, where I have to delete the mgmt fee every month. Show NSF charges! Process payments more quickly. Give me more control over the accounting sections. Show ALL transactions under the owner transaction tabs, not just distributions. Allow more control over the leases. Let me choose when to charge management fees when a lease starts on a date other than the first. I don't want to charge mgmt fees on the date the lease starts. TenantCloud needs to be evaluated and set up by a property manager, not people who don't understand the ins and outs of property management, how to charge fees, etc. I don't like having to post multiple transactions to get one task done.

Alternatives Considered

AppFolio Property Manager

Reasons for Choosing TenantCloud

Started my own business and it was cost effective.

Reasons for Switching to TenantCloud

Pricing, but it lacks a lot of what the others have
Carter
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/07/2023

Great Value RMS!

Teantcloud is an amazing RMS offering a full suit of features at a great price. The support team is extremely attentive and always works with us personally to find solutions and implement work arounds for us when permanent solutions will take time to implement insuring we never loose productivity.

Pros

We love the price point of Teantcloud and the features it offers, while there are definitely more “polished” RMS out there TenantCloud is an easy to use full featured program.

Cons

The worst part about Teantcloud is the lease builder (which they say is getting a refresh) and accounting. The lease builder is VERY clunky but as a “set and forget” type thing I understand why it’s a low priority. The second of my gripes with TenantCloud is the externally basic accounting, as my company has grown it’s just not enough anymore. Teantcloud does integrate with QuickBooks Online but as a company who uses Xero we are left with a disconnected workflow.

Alternatives Considered

RentRedi and DoorLoop

Reasons for Switching to TenantCloud

We chose TenantCloud because of the set of features at its price point and that its cost did not grow as we did. Our primary other option was DoorLoop which we did not go with because of the price per property model. TenantCloud is the absolute best “bang for your buck” in rental management softwares.
Ryan
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 09/07/2020

Makes managing tenants a little easier

Tenant Cloud keeps things simple. This is what I want. There are some extremnely robust solutions that offer similar offering...but too much...is sometimes overwhelming. This suits my needs just fine. There are minor issues that could use some work however I feel like Tenant Cloud will likely get better as time goes on and for now I'm happy to go along for the ride! I think they have all the nuts and bolts for the most part and the price is reasonable. I would recommend people to give it a try.

Pros

Tenant Cloud helps with automation naturally. If I can use software that takes manually entries out of the equation...I'm a fan. This software does that nicely. Tenants can view and digitally sign their lease, view charges, pay rent, communicate through platform if they like. Oh and it generates reports. What else do you really need? The interface is rather simple...easy to work with and graphically pleasing. It's rather intuitive. Doesn't take long to become comfortable. It's a nice product offering that solves my problems.

Cons

There are small details that can be frustrating but overlooked. When drafting my boilerplate lease...the format comes out slight wrong every time. The software creates a bunch of space between words or sentences. It appears random but I just edit it every time I create a lease...to clean it up and look proper. Setting up the lease could use a few tweaks. Tenant can not see a list of charges until AFTER the lease is signed. I'd like for them to see the charges at the time the lease is signed. It helps Tenant visually see what they are paying for at time of signing.

Response from TenantCloud

We are very grateful for your kind words. Thanks a lot for such a positive feedback.

Replied 21/07/2020
Kelli
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 25/11/2019

Tenant Cloud is the perfect solution for us!

Great experience, I would recommend they take requests and complaints more serious. As well, when making changes with updates, ensure that they are updates that consumers need or won't affect their current uses.

Pros

The ease of use, and ability to personalize most of the information input into the software.

Cons

The updates that are made regularly often affect items we were using and then they are no longer useful to us.

Alternatives Considered

Propertyware

Reasons for Choosing TenantCloud

Propertyware is to in-depth of software, and requires too many fields for each entry or item you want to include.

Switched From

Propertyware

Response from TenantCloud

Thanks for your great review, we really appreciate that.

Replied 25/03/2020
Douglas
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
1
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
N/A

2
Reviewed on 08/09/2022

Some nice features but falls short for full scale property management.

This software helped us until we were able to implement a product that was a better fit for us.

Pros

1. Didn't required a minimum number of properties.
2. Was able to use quickly.
3. Customer service was good as I recall.

Cons

It just fell short on the features that were available on other products.

Alternatives Considered

Yardi Voyager and Buildium

Reasons for Choosing TenantCloud

Night and day difference in the capabilities of the software.

Reasons for Switching to TenantCloud

Ease of start up.

Response from TenantCloud

Thank you for your feedback. We work hard to offer cool and helpful features for our customers. We will be happy to receive your suggestions on how we can improve, so please feel free to submit a ticket with your ideas regarding features we may implement in future updates. Thank you in advance!

Replied 12/09/2022
Robert
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 30/01/2023

Well rounded software

Overall I have had a great experience with tenant cloud. Their customer service has always been very responsive and reliable.

Pros

I love that there is payment processing at no expense to the owners or tenants and a well rounded accounting software included in the annual fee.

Cons

Currently there is not the ability to pay/refund/ or move money to tenants outside of a security deposit. I would like that feature back.

Reasons for Choosing TenantCloud

More features with tenant cloud

Switched From

TurboTenant

Reasons for Switching to TenantCloud

Price and customer service

Response from TenantCloud

Robert, we appreciate your feedback! We wanted to let you know that due to the latest system update if you want to send funds to your tenants you need to use the 'Refund' option. The same relates to the Security deposit, but please note you can refund it no later than 170 days after it was paid.
You can always email us at [email protected] and our team will be happy to assist!

Replied 03/02/2023
Kevin
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 08/09/2021

Highly Rwxommend

Overall we are pleased but this is a very competitive space. TC needs to keep pushing forward. More interaction with customers letting us know what new functionality is in the pipeline could help with customer retention
And satisfaction.

Pros

We have about 50 rentals and depended on Quicken and Excel before Tenant Cloud (TC) to manage our rentals. We reached a point where we just had to get more efficient. After looking at a number of alternatives, we selected Tenant Cloud. So happy we did. It has GREATLY simplified the advertising, leasing and rent tracking process. The payment reminders, online payment capability and auto late features have increased our overall rent collections. I also really appreciate that I constantly see TC making improvements in their software and customer support. Highly recommend it.

Cons

You are pretty much on your own when it comes to reconciling Tenant Cloud with your bank account. I’ve been told since we purchased TC that functionality was on the way to help with that but still have not seen it. Also, allowing for more customization and ad hoc reports is needed.

Vijaianand
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 17/07/2023

Good product but need to listen to power users to make it great

Overall we like it and like to improve some areas

Pros

It has very interface which is easy to use both app and websites. Lots of features and great customer support. We been with TC for more than 5 years and we like to continue as long as they continue provide the same or better.

Cons

They should allow power users to educate and make improvements to product to make it much more robust and better.

Alternatives Considered

AppFolio Property Manager

Reasons for Switching to TenantCloud

Good interface and pricing
Benjamin
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 17/07/2023

Easy to understand and use

The program helped me organize and collect rent in a timely manner.

Pros

Easy to use and to train employees on how to use the program.

Cons

More reports. The program helped me organize and collect rent in a timely manner.

Alternatives Considered

QuickBooks Enterprise

Reasons for Choosing TenantCloud

Tenant pro was easier to understand and use.

Reasons for Switching to TenantCloud

Easy to understand
Kouto
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 17/07/2023

Honest Review

Not as user friendly as some other software

Pros

Availability.The ability to be able to use it on my phone

Cons

1. Not having a feature as Pay Rent as a redo button. 2. It is too difficult to return security deposit: For final money owing by tenants, you should have pay rent with an option to use the security deposit to service the final bill. The balance, if any, should then be returned.

Alternatives Considered

Yardi Breeze

Reasons for Choosing TenantCloud

It was too much for me to be doing programming and being a property manager among other things.

Reasons for Switching to TenantCloud

These products are for large establishments
Jamie
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/07/2023

Great option for tracking tenants

Pros

I like that everything is in one place and rent is tracked automatically, including late payments

Cons

The navigation is confusing. Generally when I log in to perform monthly duties that don't happen that often I have to remember how to get where I want to go

Alternatives Considered

Zillow Rental Manager

Reasons for Switching to TenantCloud

Price and complete solution
Diego
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 27/09/2019

Best option for small landlords

TenantCloud has been crucial to managing my rentals the last 2-3 years. Extremely helpful for recording my expenses and receipts and has been a life-saver come tax time when I need to do a final reconciliation of all activities. They're always improving it too, so I can tell they really believe in their product.

Pros

The free option for landlords/owners under 75 units is essential as a cost-effective way to manage your rentals. It's cloud-based and with constant updates to it's features and reporting. Allows for online tenant screening and standalone sites for individual units to list rentals. Very user-friendly interface allows me to enter expenses and collected rents in minutes and not waste any more time than I have to. Seems pretty robust with several features that I don't even use but I can see how they might be useful to institutional or larger landlords. Definitely recommend this product.

Cons

The report formats are not what I would choose, but they can be exported to excel and customized a bit so it's not a big deal. Never had to contact their customer support so I really don't know how they are, but I imagine they're pretty responsive given what I have read.

Ron
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/07/2023

Great for all my PM needs

I would definitely subscribe again in the future, it has made my life easier by having a system in place instead of tracking multiple excel sheets.

Pros

I have multiple rentals, with a few different partners on each property. TenantCloud made it easy to track rents, expenses, and automatic online payments into different bank accounts based on the property.

Cons

Not the most intuitive system - but I have found the answer very quickly with a quick google search. TenantCloud has a pretty extensive FAQS section.

Alternatives Considered

AppFolio Property Manager

Reasons for Switching to TenantCloud

Cost and features.
Misty
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 17/07/2023

Tenant Cloud Review

Good. It allows me to run my business.

Pros

I like the ease of making a payment, the automatic application of late fees, the ability to upload pictures/videos of maintenance issues.

Cons

I have repeatedly requested that they make the time that late fees get applied a selectable option so that we can be in line with our lease agreements and not overcharge tenants or lose out on additional late fee income.

Molida
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 11/05/2018

Best inexpensive cloud property management system out there!

Pros

I did extensive researching trying to find an affordable property management system that was cloud based and stumbled upon this one. I had signed up for the free version and loved the functionality of it all. Easy to navigate and look up by property or tenant. Love how you're able to implement a copy/scan of the actual lease agreement and save it. Everything is very simple and just the basics, like maintenance, tenant info, property info and ability to add pictures of the property as well, to reports, etc. Since then I had decided to upgrade to their 100 -150 property plan. The recent upgrades have made it worth my money.

Cons

When logging in a particular property's rent payment (and lets say i needed to log multiple payments for this property for different months that were behind) and after I click on save, it brings me back to the list of all the properties instead of back to the same property's accounting page to which I had just recorded a payment. Makes it a little difficult to log multiple payments for one property since I like to be able to view which months are behind and how much and have to ability to log payments accordingly.

Karsten
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 22/08/2023

Double Time LLC - Tenant Cloud review

So far, I like the product. Seems pretty easy to use, and helps me keep leases and payments organized.

Pros

I like the lease management functionality and the ability to collect rent online

Cons

I've run into a couple limitations on number of lease documents and where to keep misc. notes. But nothing real annoying. The biggest disappointment was the extra cost for the ACH transactions. I originally selected the product because there were none, and the found out shortly after I started using that there would be the additional fees.

Andrew
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 31/01/2023

Great for Collecting Rents

Pros

It works well for collecting rents at a price more affordable compared to the competition.

Cons

They made some changes and got rid of a feature I liked (sending payments to tenants). They also added ACH fees, which was one reason I chose this software originally.

Response from TenantCloud

Andrew, due to the latest system update, now if you want to send funds to your tenants you need to use the 'Refund' option. Please contact us at [email protected] and our team will be happy to assist.

Also, kindly note that our online payments service encountered some updates in the last months: our payment processor has changed. The pricing upgrade was a difficult decision, as industry costs have increased and it became challenging for our company to cover customer fees. We hope for your understanding and we are grateful for your support.

Replied 03/02/2023
Robert
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 17/07/2023

Tenant Cloud is my partner

Tenant Cloud makes it easier to manage my properties and my tenants.

Pros

I like the ease with which it keeps track of who has paid and who still owes rent payments.

Cons

Some features are clunky and force me to make extra clicks to get back to a spot that i just was previously.

Mike
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/07/2023

Tenant Cloud is great for us!

Very good. Saves us several hundred a month. Plus we keep commission instead of giving it to PM.

Pros

We self manage several properties near us and it saves us money as supposed to using Property managers we had to manage and stay on top of all the time anyhow. Great product. Also very easy to list properties and find quality tenants.

Cons

Some features are not completely easy to understand. However Technical support is absolutely the best. Highly recommend them on that.

353 reviews