SolarWinds Service Desk Reviews

4.6
Overall rating
Reviews

4.6
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About SolarWinds Service Desk

SolarWinds Service Desk is suitable for companies seeking a help desk solution that offers IT service management (ITSM) functionalities. SolarWinds Service Desk offers comprehensive service desk functionality that helps businesses...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.5
Features
4.4
Ease of Use
4.6
Customer Support
4.6

Browse SolarWinds Service Desk Reviews

570 of 570 reviews
Sort by:
Alejandro Enrique
Alejandro Enrique
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/06/2023

The integral IT management tool to keep your company running smoothly.

It is satisfying to have a team that provides services within the company in everything related to incidents and IT requirements and supported with a centralized tool such as SolarWinds Service Desk allows the work they perform to be easier, reliable and efficient; This tool is capable of monitoring all of the company's assets and visualizing behaviors, licenses and their use, guaranteeing security within the local corporate network and optimizing periodic maintenance work such as antivirus updates, operating system licenses (a significant point for scheduled audits in the company), which is why Solarwinds SD is an extremely important support for the organization's service desk and for all of us who use this tool.

Pros

Through the central panel we can see each and every one of the computers that make up our local infrastructure in each of the dependencies (this includes desktops, laptops, printers all in 1, etc.), this means that we can validate their performance and detect when patches or security updates are required in any of them or in the operating system they have, It also allows us to monitor by means of risk management any activity not endorsed by the IT group, such as browsing on websites not authorized by the organization or installing applications within the corporate network, which derives in risk for the security of the equipment and the information contained therein, as well as detecting unlicensed software within the infrastructure, which would be risky for the IT team.

Cons

Normally the interactions with our IT help desk was a tedious process and in some cases delayed in the attention of incidents or requirements of some areas, SolarWinds SD has adapted within its interface a high degree of intuitiveness that is perceived by each of the users who interact with this tool for the creation of incidents and thus define or assign such requirement to the appropriate personnel in order to achieve a response in the shortest possible time, this ensures maintaining the level of service without any impact and the business process without striking alterations; Solarwinds SD so far has no negative reactions in our organization.

Dillon
Dillon
  • Industry: Environmental Services
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 04/12/2019

Huge Upgrade

Overall experience with this product have been great so far. Our employees use this platform more than our last and they have also been able to find their own solutions more. I really love the support from the customer support a lot. The support is always right on top of any issues and I have experience very quick responses when I do need to contact them. A+ on customer support.

Pros

I like how easy the GUI is, editing the categories and assigning the ticket to a support tech is all very simple right from the first view. I also like how there is a quick view option where you can view the ticket without having to leave the screen.

Cons

We have an issue with Tasks. They cannot be changed once a service catalog item is ran which has made us have to create work around or create extra tickets in order for multiple people to work on one catalog item.

Alternatives Considered

Zendesk Suite

Reasons for Choosing SolarWinds Service Desk

We needed a friendlier GUI with more User integration.

Switched From

KACE

Reasons for Switching to SolarWinds Service Desk

Cost to features were a big plus. We got everything out of the box with Service Desk that we need currently.
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Warehousing
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 10/10/2018

Good Out-Of-Box product for small, scalable team

We were attempting to solve the issue of ticket management in the IT department. While it was a great out-of-the-box solution, it didn't offer the unique scalability we needed and the customer service wasn't helpful in growing the product with our needs. However, I still believe that, for a small shop, this product offers the best value for the price and is a great entry-level solution.

Pros

I like that, out-of-the-box, Samanage offers great core functionality with a stable product that ties neatly into a beautiful UI for the end users. The UI is where Samanage really knocks it out of the park though. It's modern, simplistic, "forum" layout is attractive and intuitive, and chat indicators on the tickets feels like your moving from a traditional email reply into a IM chat.

Cons

There's a lot to be desired when it comes to the fine details of the service. There are specific customization options for project management and ticket automation that aren't available that we wanted in our shop. When we reached out to our support member to discuss a possible addition/fix. They advised us to post our suggestion on their feedback board and if it received enough votes they would implement it. The same suggestion was found submitted over a year ago on the board (with over 300+ votes) yet no action was taken. I was hoping for a more, collaborative answer, instead of posting on a forum board in hopes that other members validate my need for them to implement it.

Top SolarWinds Service Desk Alternatives

ServiceNow Customer Service Management

BMC Helix ITSM

Samir
  • Industry: Building Materials
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 28/11/2023

Good tool for management

Pros

I like the simplicity to use Solarwinds all day

Cons

A lot of tools to i dont know how its working

Lillian
Lillian
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 21/08/2023

Solarwinds has an excellent ticketing system

It's been a long time since I last logged a help desk ticket. I think they've made some amazing improvements to their service, and now they can hold their own against JIRA and their entire suite.

Pros

Users can see where their requests are in the IT department's queue, and the department can stay organized. A revolutionary advance in Service Desk/Help Desk ticketing systems. Enabled IT support staff to generate user-specific support tickets with greater specificity. They all fulfilled different functions.

Cons

The SolarWinds app did not provide the end user with many options to create their own ticket. We switched to local JIRA because it used to avoid self-service.

Asim
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/10/2020

Excellent ITSM tool

Solarwind Service Desk has met all of our requirements. It is easy to use and follows ITIL best practises.

Pros

Ease of use and customisation. Customer services

Cons

Reporting is limited. Even customisation in reporting is limited

Alternatives Considered

ConnectWise ScreenConnect, ServiceNow and Zendesk Suite

Reasons for Choosing SolarWinds Service Desk

Price and lack of ITIL support

Switched From

Jira

Reasons for Switching to SolarWinds Service Desk

Price, Ease of use and customisation, Customer services
Matthaniel
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/10/2019

Great Product for Helpdesk, Task Management and Software Inventory

Pros

This solution is great for tracking incidents, solutions, problems, etc for company IT departments. It provides an easy to use interface that allows for easy creation of FAQs and a Solutions Database.

Cons

There are some things bulk items that cannot be imported without the use of the API, which is a tiny bit annoying, and some of their python and Ruby API sample code is out of date or no longer maintained.

Alternatives Considered

Zendesk Suite

Reasons for Switching to SolarWinds Service Desk

It seemed to have a more in-depth product that gave us the detail that we needed and the integration that made our lives a little easier.
Jeffrey
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/09/2020

New to SolarWinds Service Desk--Perfect fit for us!

I am Super Happy with this software. I am the administrator and I love having the ability to make changes and customization on the fly. The user friendliness of it is well above our previous software we used.

Pros

Efficiency--There are so many things that can be updated from the main page that lists your incidents. Very easy to learn and to use.

Cons

Integration with Active Directory. We were able to setup Single Sign-On, but it wasn't as smooth as I would've liked. But it does work, so it's not really a con, just the complexity of it was a little more than the rest of the setup.

Alternatives Considered

Freshservice, KACE and SysAid

Reasons for Choosing SolarWinds Service Desk

The previous software was pretty clunky, having to go to several different screens to make different updates on the same ticket. With Service Desk, I can make many of those changes without even having to open the the ticket itself.

Reasons for Switching to SolarWinds Service Desk

Overall, the user interface just seemed easier to navigate. The price was also better than the alternatives. All around, I just had a really good feeling about this software from the beginning. I actually chose this over the software that I had recommended initially.
Brett
Brett
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 01/10/2019

Great Cloud Service with Many Features, Expensive for the Full Version

Incident, problem, and change management are all extremely easy to set up and begin using due to the cloud-hosted nature of the product. As it is fully web-based, low-level training is not required for techs or users.

Pros

Easy to deploy as it is a cloud-based system. Initial setup requires low effort and detail. Branding is easy to apply, functionality is easy to test out of the gate.

Cons

Information on asset discovery, connections, and scanners feels lacking. Connecting to SCCM via the database has very little information, and after a month of attempts, it is not functional. Support has been a bit slow on response when inquiring regarding this issue, even after purchase.

Alternatives Considered

JIRA Service Management

Reasons for Choosing SolarWinds Service Desk

The previous system was not set up or deployed correctly or completely within our company.

Reasons for Switching to SolarWinds Service Desk

Functionality, especially with knowledge base management and self-service portal, is much better. The integrations with other systems promised also allows for much more expansion possibilities in the future.
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 15/10/2020

Practically Perfect in Every Way

Pros

It has a clean, easy to use, and intuitive interface. We have only scratched the surface of what it can do.

Cons

I haven't really found anything I dislike. Our previous solution was that bad.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 15/10/2020

Good Product for ITIL Best practices

I am the administrator of the application in my Managed Information Services department. I selected this product, deployed this product and administer this product and the setup and use of the product is intuitive and easy to master quickly.

Pros

The ease of creating automated workflows makes the product easy to use and creates efficiencies by automating mundane manual processes. Having the ability to work, escalate and integrate tickets all from a single pane of glass is also a good feature

Cons

Reporting is a downfall for a majority of apps these days. While some of this is mitigated through the ability to filter and export list results, more functionality in reporting is needed.

Alternatives Considered

ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

Reasons for Choosing SolarWinds Service Desk

Cost, and functionality issues

Switched From

FootPrints

Reasons for Switching to SolarWinds Service Desk

cloud based and better user interface.
Andrew
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 31/03/2022

Wish it was my daily driver...

Overall I enjoyed using this a great deal and wish we could move over to this from our current helpdesk solution. The connection time for our current software is absurd, having an external program needed just to remote in is a joke, and Kaseya goes down very...VERY often. This seems like the bar is set pretty low for SolarWinds to succeed, but I'd like to give credit where it's due. Web-based solutions for programs is truly the future in my opinion and SolarWinds is right inline with that. You can basically do everything from the web browser which means less for us to set up or maintain (and doesn't bug you about program updates all the time). I mean it when I say I'd love to move to SolarWinds.

Pros

To give some background, we took on IT services for a smaller company that was getting absorbed by us. While a lot of the IT foundations laid down were pretty flimsy or problematic, one thing stuck out as very well done. They were using Solarwinds for I.T. support and it was definitely a sigh of relief amongst the other mismanagement from before.

Everything such as device enrollment was pretty simple, the feature set for online client management was well-stocked, and my favorite was the ability to remote in without needing an external program to do so. We currently use Kaseya and it's just hot garbage, I sincerely wish we could move over to Solarwinds for our main company's IT helpdesk tools.

Cons

While there is a lot to like about this, some of the UI felt a little "cramped" from time to time. The feature set was nice, but what I was looking for was sometimes a tiny little button on a small option bar. Perhaps some buttons or icons of size would help streamline things, as this can also make training others more difficult, since the task options are easy to miss.

James
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/03/2017

Outstanding!

We needed a solution, and we needed one fast. We had test driven many, but something didn't feel right. Two things made us choose Samanage. The software had every feature we were looking for, and the people were excellent. From the beginning, we were treated like VIP's. We were given professional courtesy, we were given kindness and flexibility, we were shown appreciation, and we were given everything we needed to stand up the ticketing system in our environment. The staff, made us all feel like we were part of their family and we can't thank them enough. The demos were terrific, the trial was awesome, the sale itself went smooth, the implementation was perfect (including the SSO option), the support was phenomenal and the Go-Live went off without a hitch. This was just one of the best end to end experiences I have ever had the pleasure of being a part of. The Samanage team are just a bunch of really cool professionals that truly care about their customers. Every call was a pleasure, and they taught us how everything worked. We have had nothing but excellent support, and we are happily enjoying all the features and functionality as we use it daily. I have personally thanked them over the phone, and in email messages, but I still can't thank them enough. We were on a hard deadline to get everything working in a very short time. The Samanage team delivered on time, and within budget. We couldn't be happier. Thank you, Samanage Team! You ROCK!!!!!! :)

Pros

Ease of use, very intuitive. As described in the demos. Evertyhing worked as expected.

Cons

It doesn't know how to make me coffee in the morning, but other than that, it's hard not to like something that makes your life easier.

Verified Reviewer
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/07/2018

Amazing internal and external customer service portal

Asset management, asset auditing, help desk ticketing system.

Pros

Amazing help desk ticketing system, it integrates with our two email inboxes for internal and external support. Our internal employees use one address while our external clients use the other. Everything goes into the same queue and are labeled and categorized appropriately. When we comment and attach documents on a ticket via Samanage, the requester gets a nicely formatted (and extremely customizeable) email with the details.

The other great thing is the asset management software, you install the agent on any company computer/phone and it gives you an immense amount of information and auditing capabilities. It will literally tell you the manufacturer and serial number of monitors plugged in (even the laptop LCD screen!)

Also, support is great! You can chat with someone whenever you want and they're very good about either answering right away, or researching the issue and following up later.

Cons

It costs a decent amount, and depending on how many administrators you have the costs can jump up. But I will say it's well worth it for all the features you get.

Don
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 20/07/2021

CHG Review

Overall experience was great! Definitely like better than service now and also works well with solarwinds network monitoring.

Pros

Ticket management is easy to use
Asset management works well
Ticket assignment function works well
Helpdesk monitoring is a great tool

Cons

A little cumbersome to set up, but once completed works great! Had some difficulty adding custom fields.

Alternatives Considered

ServiceNow Customer Service Management

Reasons for Choosing SolarWinds Service Desk

Needed more functionality

Reasons for Switching to SolarWinds Service Desk

Easier to use for helpdesk team
Omer
  • Industry: Building Materials
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 23/03/2017

Great Help Desk Solution

As a member of IT in a hearth company, it is very important that I serve my internal customers in a timely manner and resolve any issues that they are having and Samanage has helped me do that due to their helpdesk solution. It offers great customization in what information I see on the helpdesk page and and thus I am able to prioritize tasks according to severity. I also like the report statistics and able to view my performance over a period of time. This helps improve on service quality.

Samanage support is very helpful and give an extremely fast response and are always very courteous

Pros

Customizable and clutter free helpdesk
Customizable Reports
Outstanding Support
Supportive Community

Cons

I dont have any particular weakness in order. As I have used it throughout the years I have become appreciative of how the interface is designed. Its clutter free and lets me do my work

Brian
  • Industry: Market Research
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 05/04/2018

A Great Replacement for Our In House Service Desk!

We've replaced our outdated, cumbersome in-house service desk with Samanage. We're already seeing higher productivity because of the SLAs we were able to set. The automations available within the system help streamline ticket submission and remove a lot of the back and forth when information is missing.

Pros

We've had great support from day one. The support team answered all of my questions about features when we trialed the system, and they've continued the great support after we officially signed up.

There are also improvements made to the platform all the time.

The platform offers way more than we use it for, but it's affordable and it's something we can grow into over time.

Cons

Some basic features are missing. For instance, I can't set the system up to alert the entire team when a trouble ticket is closed. This was an important feature on our old service desk, as it let the team know when someone else sorted out an issue. This also helped share solutions among the team. Now, when a ticket is closed, it simply disappears from queue without team learning.

The emails that are sent out can't be branded, and the customization of the emails is very limited. It's nice to be able to open tickets via email, but I'm a bit disappointed with the lack of customization.

Some sorting/filtering options don't seem to work properly. Tickets always sort by ticket number by default - not by status. This can't seem to be changed for some reason.

Eromonsele
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 30/03/2022

Great Service desk tool

Well, it was a good value for money.

Pros

It is easy to use and implement, manage and upgrade.

Cons

Well, customer service was not easy to reach

Alternatives Considered

JIRA Service Management

Reasons for Switching to SolarWinds Service Desk

Cost
Pooja
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 14/11/2021

Ideal tool for service desk management

*Solar wind is one stop for a managed service desk tool.
*IT has numerous feature associated within, one among is solarwinds network monitoring. Usually organization will have a different tool for network monitoring itself but solarwinds provides access to this future without needing to have different tool.
*Easy to access and multiple means of ticket creation and tracking.

Pros

Network Monitoring and Reporting / analytics re two feature mostly used in our organization.
This tool also helped me log into employees desktop and understand step by step to resolve any particular issue.
Provides way better workflow process and I am sure It may get way bigger.

Cons

Reports could be managed in a better format or structure because there is so much you can do with reports.

Brian
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 05/12/2019

Great to small to midsize companies

It's been good. There are times where I ask about something or inquire about a function and the response isn't the greatest

Pros

Being able to make it our own and implement company language(Categories, Incidents, Group Naming, Tasks)

Cons

Customer Support generally wants you to exhaust all means necessary in your own troubleshooting before they actually are of any help.

Jonathan
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 01/10/2022

Easy to learn and use

Overall, Solarwinds has been a very easy to learn and use system, with a friendly user interface. It is a great starting point for users that do not have experience with information management systems.

Pros

The processes that are most used by my team are very easy to perform. Ticket creation is assisted by a very user friendly UI, and ticket management after tickets are created allow for tickets to reflect evolving issues.

Cons

Proper ticket management and the ability to provide a resolution at the time of creating the ticket without closing it are just a few quality of life improvements that I can see missing as a low-tier help desk member.

Erdem
  • Industry: Computer Games
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 04/11/2022

My overall experience was great.

Pros

I was looking for a computer management software to help me manage my network and services and came across Solarwinds Service Desk. It offers an incredible amount of functionality, while maintaining a simplistic user interface. The product allows me to manage my network and services from a single place and provides a powerful group management capability, which is very user friendly. I was able to set up and customize different groups based on my own needs and preferences.

Cons

No problem, it was a great experience and I am very satisfied. I think I haven't had any complaints since the day I used it.

raju
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
2
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 09/11/2017

good for small team, but multi-team use has some draw backs for moderate/large IT departments

Pros

I like that Samanage is all web based and easy to submit/open tickets by email--very customer friendly.

Cons

The problems we experience with Samanage are related to teams within IT that have to cover components of the ticket. The Search functionality requires macros which is too complicated. Each status change sends a message to everyone, way too many emails go around--should be consolidated to a single message every ten min or so--or leave it up to the user to send a message. There is no Private Messaging within IT team, so we are constantly leaving comments, and then reassigning tickets to each other, but this leads to numerous emails going around.

Terence
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 10/04/2018

Well designed and easy to use.

Saves time and makes it easier to manage service desk requests.

Pros

Interface is intuitive and setup is easier than most Service Desk software I've used in the past especially with the help we received from the samanage implementation team.

Cons

Adjusting and maintaining the views that I want. I'm fairly picky with how I want things arranged and depending on how I navigate through samanage, my views can revert back to defaults. I feel there should be a more consistent behavior with views.

Michael
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 28/02/2019

Samanage - A seriously good help desk solution

Very good. 5/5 experience, overall the software works exactly as advertised.

Pros

The features work as advertised. We have used Dell Kace in the past and dumped it because of a lack of features; we switched to InvGate. InvGate was a really poor experience, and though it had a lot of features nothing operated properly and support was slow. Samanage has been the total opposite, when we run into an outage it is very quickly resolved and chat support is very responsive.

Cons

Improvements could definitely be made on the built-in reporting side of things; especially when it comes to computer inventory.

570 reviews