User Reviews Overview

About Dynamics 365 Business Central

Microsoft Dynamics 365 Business Central is a cloud-based enterprise resource planning (ERP) software solution designed for midsize organizations to streamline business operations and accelerate cash flow. This SaaS solution...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
3.5
Features
3.5
Ease of Use
3.5
Customer Support
3.5

Browse Dynamics 365 Business Central Reviews

92 of 92 reviews
Sort by:
Peter M.
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 20/03/2018

Full of unrealised potential

Pros

I've evaluated NAV for other roles and now I have been using the product I am convinced that it is a very powerful product when configured correctly. It has options for many roles and the ability to configure the system exists but is limited by design.

Cons

Very high cost support and difficult nature of upgrades is a real turn off. Each version upgrade is treated as a new deployment. Lacks the ability to make even the most basic changes without partner assistance or developer licence. While the product has a lot of potential I would be reluctant to upgrade an old version as I feel there are other products out there which can do the same job with a much more reasonable price tag.

Value for money is the main reason I have marked this application down.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 12/12/2017

Great cloud based solution for small-medium businesses.

Keeps all our business data in one spot. Very easy for everyone do to their own paperwork.

Pros

Attach PDF's of invoices, PO's right to the entry. Keeps all ERP data in one spot. Can work from any device. All of our guys can work in the field and we have yet to hire an administrator.

Cons

Report creation requires a developer to help set up. Support costs can be high if you don't have a computer savvy person in your company.

Elizabeth A.
  • Industry: Philanthropy
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 21/12/2017

Financial package

Pros

We use NAV for all our accounting needs -- G/L, accounts payable/receivable, payroll. Easy to use and reports are simple to set up.

Cons

occasional glitches after upgrades, but that's to be expected and they are corrected quickly. We receive good support from our service provider.

Phil A.
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 15/11/2019

DONT PUT YOUR TEAM THROUGH THIS

Pros

As some on who has to use this software daily in a client facing role this is the worst product in the world. If you are the product procurement officers and looking for a CRM, you will be hated for years, long after you are gone if you make your co workers use this product. Even making a client card is like puling teeth, the search query for products is ridiculously hard to use.

Cons

This software makes me want to quit my job because it is so difficult to do any part of the sales process on it. Searching products, making quotes, checking my orders. Also there is no notifications so you dont know when your case has moved along unless you go and physically check it which is also not easy. Once again, if you buy this product you a damning your co workers to years of mental anguish and some might genuinely start hating their job so much that they quit.

YOU WERE WARNED.

Victor M.
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 14/03/2017

overly complicated

I use it daily. it may be a great accounting program but a very poor construction project quoting tool

Pros

For my job there is no Pros

Cons

Complicated and time consuming to learn. Should not be used as a program to quote multiple components for projects.

Lauren B.
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 19/08/2019

Great User Friendly Software

Pros

I liked that the software was user friendly and easy to get trained on. I found it to be more thorough than Quickbooks. Very easy to do journal entries across multiple companies and reconcile every month.

Cons

The limited about of users for the price.

Kyle K.
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 10/01/2018

Dynamics Nav (Navision) is a solid product that is very complimentary to your skills.

I would strongly recommend this product given an experience consultant is a part of it. The costs can get there if not prepared and actively managing it but most clients are in good shape.

Pros

Nav has tons of potential and can accommodate almost any situation. It is very flexible, scalable, fairly intuitive and powerful. The complimentary products, ISV network, is coming on stronger to help with the offering.

Cons

It is really dependent on the consultant to configure, train and have it ready to go correctly. If not, there will be issues and can get out of hand.

Kyle J.
  • Industry: Farming
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 10/03/2021

Easy to use

Easy to use and makes analyzing data and pulling reports a breeze.

Pros

The software is very easy to use and intuitive. I use on a daily basis, and pulling reports is great. Interface is awesome.

Cons

Just upgraded to the latest software. It now takes many additional click to do the same task as before.

Jb E.
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
1

2
Reviewed on 11/04/2017

Maybe Wonderful IF You're an Accounting guru

As a Project Manager, MS Nav is more of a hassle than it should be. No fields automatically fill and you are often entering the same information multiple time.
For example, even though you Login with your Username and Password - You must fill in Who you are, What Division you work for, What Sub Company you Work for, List your manager, the Date - All just to write an order. Also, each line item in a PO requires the date to be entered 3x and the job number to be typed after each item. Unacceptable when it comes to productivity and user friendliness

Pros

It better than paper...

Cons

See review above

Dong H.
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 17/11/2017

Dynamic Nav

Good for trading company

Pros

Dynamic Nav is very useful for Small Size Business Company. An easy to use in ERP system and easy to cuztomize

Cons

With Dynamic Nav, It still not much automatic in process. About attached document, It is not useful.

Manisha M.
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4.5
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4.5

4.5
Reviewed on 15/09/2016

Leading software for small to medium business needs

Pros

The product is upgraded regularly to provide a base platform that is extremely cutting edge.

Cons

The product requires understanding of fundamental business practices which some customers may not be familiar with.

Katy P.
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
3
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

2
Reviewed on 16/03/2019

Not worth it

Horrible! Cannot wait to get rid of it!

Pros

Honestly, there is very little I like about this software. The potential capabilities of the newest product line are great. It just costs hundreds of thousands of dollars to get it programmed and even more to keep it up to date.

Cons

Too expensive to update as needed. Way too expensive to have it front loaded. Too complicated for an in house team to set up. This is the most complicated and finicky software I have ever had to use. I cannot wait until we are using our new ERP system. Software times you out after a few minutes and does not autosave. Information fields do no flow properly between functions.

Dave S.
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
2
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 15/06/2018

Navision....not a platform you want to work with

Avoid this one.

Pros

This product was relatively inexpensive for an enterprise... Migrations to newer versions were problematic and ended up requiring developer support.

Cons

Upgrades always broke things. Need a dev to add new fields. Not an intuitive application. Support for it from MS is non-existent.

Verified Reviewer
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/05/2018

Very useful for Small to Medium Business

Very useful for Small to Medium Business

Pros

It has all the major Features of an ERP. It is easy to customized. Easy to get support. A wide range of business trust this software.

Cons

Complicated and time consuming to learn. But the company will provide training once you decided purchase the product.

Jeff P.
  • Industry: Aviation & Aerospace
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
2
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
4

2
Reviewed on 22/05/2018

It was horrible. The software is too temperamental.

None

Pros

There are lots of ways to gather data. The tabs are understandable to use because they are set up like other MS products

Cons

Everything has to be entered exactly correct or items will not ship. It is overwhelming and overly complicated. Impossible for those not experienced in computers.

Ankit K.
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 11/04/2019

Navision review

Pros

The best thing about this product is its very user friendly.
It doesn't need much higher internet bandwidth to operate.

Cons

The usual error came in this product is table lock.

Derek B.
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
2
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
N/A

2
Reviewed on 27/10/2019

NAV for time tracking

It's frustrating trying to navigate the tool, it's counterintuitive to use. There's no feature to import from Excel

Pros

I like being able to copy lines from previous weeks. The ability to store project codes is convenient

Cons

It is counter intuitive to navigate. When I submit time I have to go back out and create a new timesheet and manually transfer lines over and have the exact number of lines, no more no less

Amr K.
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
N/A
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 13/11/2018

John G.
  • Industry: Food Production
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
N/A
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 14/12/2017

Rajesh L.
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for Free Trial
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 24/04/2019

Microsoft Dynamics NAV review

Pros

Ease
Flexibility of implementation
Dimensions

Cons

More options to open a single window so for new users it seems rocket science initially but experienced users look this as an advantage

Jeremiah O.
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 12/09/2019

my Microsoft dynamics NAV by pmx review

it is good and i recommend it for automated daily media buying activities.

Pros

it makes our day to day media buying process as it automates the process for better efficiency and saves time.

Cons

the software doesn't make room for recall especially in situations where the initial data has been modified.

Hunter H.
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 23/10/2019

Great Product

Microsoft has always been a great service that our company enjoys using. This service continues to strengthen the brand of Microsoft.

Pros

The thing i like is that the interface is easy to use. The setup requirements are better than the normal setup ideals.

Cons

I did not like how it is difficult to add users into our system. Not everyone has had a positive experience with this software.

Thomas S.
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 26/05/2017

Property Management for Dynamics NAV is a great solution for Real Estate Companies

Better collaboration, higher transparency, less redundant data and work.

Pros

With PMX Property Management we can manage almost our entire operations with this solution. We especially like that the solution provides a very stong and flexible accounting base with a lot of reporting tools available.

Cons

As with every integrated solution people have to adapt to the fact that all information is in one data base afterwards. The learning process for everybody that one's actions / entries influence all others takes some time.

Fiona J.
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 26/01/2017

Good for property management if you use the add-on

I liked the solution so far, it's easy to learn and use, even if requires some time to understand the logic. Just as any other software I guess. Together, it's a great solution, allows us to manage all aspects from accounting to leasing to reporting. We use it on a subscription base.

Pros

Flexible can be adjusted to our business. NAV partner Admiral is very supportive. We liked subscription option, did not need to invest upfront. Integrated accounting and lease management allow having all numbers in one place and it gets easy to analyze. Much faster tenant billing process than we had before. Good training material from Soft4RealEstate.

Cons

Smart NAV partner is needed. Even with a subscription, there is a set-up fee and we had to invest some amounts into development. But now we have what we need. Much of info on NAV in Customersource, but need time to search for it.

Renate C.
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 26/05/2017

Great software that covers all operation of real estate management.

We can provide better customer service because everybody finds their needed information faster and more secure. That is a big advantage for all.

Pros

The best thing is that we got rid of many Excel-files that provided the connections between our individual tasks. Now there all data in one place and everybody can can get to their taks-realted information and data easliy. That is a big progress for all!

Cons

Due to the one-software-covers-the-whole-company idea, it is complex and needs some training. But the PMX-people are always there for us on the other hand.

92 reviews