User Reviews Overview

About Microsoft Dynamics SL

Microsoft Dynamics SL is an enterprise resource planning (ERP) system designed for project-based small and medium-sized businesses. The solution offers industry-specific capabilities for professional services, government...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

Browse Microsoft Dynamics SL Reviews

84 of 84 reviews
Sort by:
Elizabeth D.
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 19/02/2018

Great and reliable software!

We are currently using this software for accounting in our company

Pros

I love how extremely customizable Dynamics SL is when it comes to fitting our team needs. Also it is backed by the biggest software name in the industry so the overall quality is great

Cons

It's learning cuve is very steep because of the degree of customization built in it. But otherwise is a really great tool.

Taylor C.
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
3.5
Customer Support
N/A

4.5
Reviewed on 15/04/2016

Dynamics SL Review - I recommend it!

Pros

I love the fact that Dynamics SL is extremely customizable when it comes to fitting my business needs. It is backed by arguably the biggest software name in the industry so the overall quality is definitely apparent.

Cons

The learning curve was a little steep for me which comes as a result of it being such flexible software. However, once learned, it is a very valuable resource and tool.

Paul H.
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4.5
Reviewed on 06/02/2015

Controller of private company, using Microsoft Dynamics SL

Pros

The product is written by one of the best names out there, Microsoft, and is supported by a great team. Getting a hold of them is easy and working with them is a pleasure.

Cons

It is built with today's technology, using SQL and Crystal; tools that my IT staff is familiar with. The database is easy to navigate and the programs can be easily integrated with our own home grown system. Microsoft is always trying to improve the product and in this latest release (SL2015), they have really hit a home run with some of the new tools, features and enhancements!

Robert V.
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4.5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/09/2016

Seamless and effective.

Pros

Pricing was very fair, and rollout was smooth. Product performs almost exactly as advertised!

Cons

Needed a bit more customization than we originally discussed.

Kelby B.
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4.5
Reviewed on 08/09/2016

Assistant General Manger

Pros

Organized numbers and easy to read/use!
Your business will love this software

Cons

Cost is a little high at first but after awhile it pays for itself

Michelle B.
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
2

3
Reviewed on 21/02/2017

Microsoft Project Management

Microsoft Project Management software has pretty much had a market monopoly for many years in terms of powerful functionality. However, the choices have become more diverse without sacrificing powerful management features. Also, I have found other applications much more user-friendly with ongoing training support & superior customer service.

Pros

Functionality

Cons

Complex, not user friendly, low level of customer service, expensive.

Gargi singh C.
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 10/11/2016

Value for money

The product feels good to operate and manage. The overall experience is pleasant with a few minor glitch's. But that can be ignored if you are not a big fan of extravagant UI.

Pros

Value for money. great functionality and swift response.

Cons

Customer support from microsoft is always lousy , so expect them to be a little delayed like always.

Hanna K.
  • Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 07/11/2016

Great Product, Y'all!

I first encountered this product through Auburn University, and really enjoyed the convenience of the product and the ease of customer support. With Microsoft Dymanics SL, it's good to have exactly what you need in mind, and the program is super helpful with accommodating those goals. And it offers copy/paste features! A total bonus for quick planning and organization.

Pros

Copy and paste feature, awesome customer support, great for organization.

Angela K.
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 14/07/2017

Microsoft Dynamics SL

Pros

Microsoft Dynamics SL is easy to use and provides an adequate foundation for keeping track of due dates and deadlines.

Cons

Microsoft Dynamics SL is fairly expensive for what you get. For the money spent on the software, it should have more capabilities.

Shivakshi C.
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 15/11/2016

Extremely easy to use.

Microsoft Dynamics SL is being used throughout our whole company on a daily basis. It is used from service techs, to sales people, and to accounting department. If someone is looking for a true accounting system for a small to mid-sized company, then I would definitely suggest looking into Microsoft Dynamics SL.

Pros

Extremely easy to use.
It has a strong and flexible Project Accounting system.
It is easy to customize.

Allen H.
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 15/11/2016

An amazing software with great UI!

Microsoft Dynamics SL delivers integrated project management and accounting capabilities that provide increased control and insight. It looks and works like Microsoft Office. That means everyone can jump right in and get to work.

Pros

Simple and easy to use.
Multi-company operations are a great benefit.

Cons

The field service module is not multi-currency compliant.

Holly S.
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 09/01/2018

Have used Dynamics SL for around 8 years. Very comfortable with it and pretty easy to get use...

Using them daily, I understands many ins and outs. I've been cross trained over the years in many of the modules. I understand there will be an upgrade coming in the near future and look forward to seeing a preview of it.

Pros

Reporting is great. I use reports weekly for time sheets when entering in payroll, for commission data. All of the look up screens are simple and give great information-- such as in the modules for Accounts Receivable, Accounts Payable, Purchasing, and General Ledger.

Cons

Different modules do not speak to one another. You have to go to several different modules to complete a task, so multiple windows must be open at a time. It tends to slow down our servers and sometimes crashes when you are in the middle of something.

Timothy J.
  • Industry: Farming
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 25/01/2020

SL may be a legacy product but provides solid value

It has been in use at my company for 14 years. While lacking a modern UI, it has been a good value for the investment.

Pros

The ability to develop custom software modules using their tools. We created three robust modules that integrate with core financial, project and distribution modules.

Cons

Microsoft doesn’t seem to put much investment in the product any longer. The legacy VB.Net Windows client is dated.

Verified Reviewer
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 23/03/2018

This product helps a lot of larger contractors effectively.

Helps our team plan logistics quickly and integrate our routes efficiently for our jobs.

Pros

I love the fact that this integrates with so many things. You can iframe forms within your website to pull all your data directly into the CRM (a much cheaper option than having a developer build api connections that auto populate the information).

Cons

I would say this is a pretty expensive product compared to what is out there. Once you get over that size though, this is a good pick.

Bonnie K.
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
3.5
Customer Support
5

4.5
Reviewed on 18/02/2015

SSI Consulting/Dynamcis SL review

Pros

Dynamics SL is very flexible, and it handles government contracting very well. SSI does a great job of implementation and ongoing support. It is especially helpful that they understand the nuances of government contracting.

Cons

Being very flexible is good news and bad news. It means you have to be more thorough in your setup to make sure you get things the way you want them. It also means that the support consultant is critical to getting it right. SSI is great at this. Just wish there were more like them.

Dynamics SL is very flexible and great for government contractors. SSI is great in those areas as well. They have been extremely helpful, from planning and implementation through continual support.

Allison D.
  • Industry: Philanthropy
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 17/02/2017

Microsoft Dynamics SL

Good product. Have been using it for 17+ years.

Pros

user friendly

Cons

located on a server rather than online

Magdalene I.
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4.5
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Support
5

4.5
Reviewed on 31/08/2016

Micooft Dynamics SL - Making Accounting Much Easier

Pros

It helps me with entering time from any device.
For my company, less time needs to be invested to create invoices from timecards.
•Project profitability is guaranteed as we do less of the work that tends to lose us money and more lucrative work.
•The ease with which we are able to hide unwanted fields makes data entry simple especially for he users ho don't use computers on an ever day basis.

Cons

•When we have a lot of invoices rather than just a few large invoices, it can be frustrating by how long it takes Flexible Billings to generate a lot of invoices
•It would be nice if Dynamics SL had an easy integration to some of the nicer salestax tools but its ok

Mark L.
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 08/01/2019

Dynamics SL works for most

Pros

Microsoft Dynamics SL is a good program for tracking finance, service, human resources, and more. It worked well for most companies out of the box.

Cons

The problem with Microsoft Dynamics SL is it is not ideal for a lot of companies. The software is really limited in who it is useful for. I would like it to be more flexible.

Srajan R.
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 15/11/2016

Review of Microsoft Dynamics SL

Organizations that have challenging project accounting needs should definitely review this product. Very few products come close to Dynamics SL in handling these broader project accounting needs as well as Dynamics SL.

Pros

Provides flexibility for complex project based cost accounting.
Flexible reporting and billing.

Cons

Improve the budgeting and forecasting.

Sagar C.
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 15/11/2016

Review of Microsoft Dynamics SL

Installation and implementation require a lot of steps. Partner´s community is decreasing because of the raising of new ERP companies that are using new technologies to build its software.

Pros

I love the fact that Dynamics SL is extremely customizable when it comes to fitting my business needs. It is backed by arguably the biggest software name in the industry so the overall quality is definitely apparent.

Cons

The learning curve was a little steep for me which comes as a result of it being such flexible software. However, once learned, it is a very valuable resource and tool.

Robert p M.
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 19/01/2017

Ms Dynamics

I have used this product for over 10 years and have been very satisfied with an excellent business tool.

Pros

Ease of Use and Interface capabilities.

Cons

Learning curve.

Payal S.
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 17/11/2016

Review of Microsoft Dynamics

We have been using Microsoft Dynamics SL 2011 for a while now and it seems to fit most of our needs. It is not super user friendly or intuitive and does take some training and a little time to get into. It is fairly easy to customize yourself if you are a tech minded person. The database is very well documented and easy to navigate which is a huge plus for developing custom reports. There are a couple reporting suites that go with this, we use FRX and like it for the most part. I have built several custom reports using SSRS simply because it is easier and provides easier access to everyone in the company without any software installed.

Allen V.
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/11/2016

Great program

Its a good program the helps with payments and more, makes work easier.Its actually not complicated like other programs out there.

Pros

Great easy

Joanne C.
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 06/12/2016

Microsoft

Love it works better then any of them out there it's a ease to handle lays outs payroll, time sheets .

Marielis H.
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 06/12/2016

Marielis Hernandez

It good program. This program offers a large variety of things to do that makes our jobs simple .

84 reviews