Expensify Reviews

4.4
Overall rating
Reviews

4.4
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Expensify

Expensify works as a cloud-based business accounting system that is designed to manage expenses and transactions using real-time data processing. The platform allows businesses to maintain different summaries of various accounts...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.2
Features
4.3
Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Support
4.0

Browse Expensify Reviews

1,084 of 1,084 reviews
Sort by:
Nasko
Nasko
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 08/03/2022

Save Time and Money by Using Expensify

Overall very happy with Expensify as a solution that allows me to have all my expenses organized in one place. Would highly recommend using it, especially for its feature that allows me to attach digital images of the receipts to each expense item. It has a great option to submit and send expense reports to multiple people. If you are using Expensify across mutliple users, all the information is easily accessible by every team member.

Pros

A great solution to keep all my expense reports in one place, with a great option to attach PDFs of receipts and/or images of receipts. Expensify can pull data directly from my credit card statements and that feature alone saves a lot of time of manual entering numbers and vendors.

Cons

It can get a little too much to configure in the beginning and navigating down to expense categories is not the easiest to do - it takes time to find things around that I could customize but once these are all in place, using Expensify is fairly easy. Expensify creates automatic names for your reports - make sure you change them to something that makes sense to you and your accountants or everyone will wonder what Expense Report 234902u5435242ewd is for.

Rebecca
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 06/09/2022

Expensify - The Easy to Use & Manage Expense System

Pros

Expensify has a great UI for users and is a very easy system to manage. It's easy and fast to submit and approve expense reports, including when staff are traveling. Expensify is so much simpler than some of the other expense management software (e.g. Concur). Some Finance Teams seem to think that going with a more complex software. However, I've found that while Expensify does not have as many "lock down" features as other software, allows us to easily manage expenses and move things forward quickly. When you balance administrative features and user UI/expense management, I would always go with the latter. Getting those expense reports is the most important, and Expensify makes that easy and simple!

Cons

Expensify's largest drawback is their customer service. For smaller companies at least, there is no account manager and we can only receive support via chat/email. This can be a huge challenge when the integration breaks or something complex needs to change.

Verified Reviewer
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
1
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 31/01/2018

Expensify overcharges for their "Corporate" platform and becomes useless once your bank feed...

Was ok and saved time, before it broke.

Pros

Ease of launch, mobile app works decently well. Onboarding support was decent, but sadly short-lived. They still offer monthly pricing. If you're tempted to try their Corporate or higher plan, DO NOT sign on to their annual pricing plan, see below for why.

Cons

Google "expensify known issues". Review the list of the corporate cards that they don't support. Be aware that they are not disclosing the many other corporate cards that their platform doesn't support.
If you're lucky enough to use one of the corporate cards that they are currently supporting, be aware that their connection to your bank feed can break at any time. Generally, this will happen after your promotional period has ended and after your onboarding support contact has moved on.
Once the bank feed breaks you're left with only chat support, which will take an average of 12 hours or more to respond to you.
When chat support responds, it's clear that they are pasting from support scripts that have no relevance to your situation. Most responses will assume you're on a Team plan, and initially offer troubleshooting steps aimed at those clients. You'll have to explain that you're a Corporate client.
Once you explain this, you'll wait another 12 hours for a response from someone who hasn't read the prior communication chain and you'll have to explain yourself again. this sort of back-and-forth goes on for some time.
Eventually you'll get them to admit that the only work-around for a broken corporate card bank feed is a manual CSV import through each individual's account.
Don't expect any meaningful response or acknowledgement if you bother to question the fees you're paying for broken corporate access. They will not listen and will not offer any discount or refund.

Response from Expensify

Hi there, thank you for leaving your feedback! I apologize for the issues you've run into but definitely want to clarify a few things:

Re: corporate card connections. Bank connections may break for any variety of reasons, including (but is not limited to) bank maintenance, connection issues, changes in usernames/passwords, and more. Unfortunately most of these are out of our hands, but we do keep an updated list of known issues here: https://docs.expensify.com/setup-for-submitters/advanced-configuration-for-submitters/bank-import-faqs-and-known-issues.

Re help responses. We definitely don't want to have you waiting 12 hours for a response and it doesn't help that there are a lot more help requests coming in at the end/beginning of a month around billing time. I've let the team know of your concerns and will continue to improve on our response times, especially during busy periods.

Thanks for bringing these issues to our attention!

Replied 31/01/2018

Top Expensify Alternatives

Cristina
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 31/01/2024

Easy Expense Management System

Pros

As an accountant I really appreciate its expense mapping and the way it integrates with NetSuite. I like the workflow, the reports, and the automations that are included to flag any errors!

Cons

I don't have any complaints, I do feel that the use and cost ratio is not supportive for smaller companies but for high volume expenses this is an absolute MUST HAVE.

Cody
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 25/05/2022

Simple to Deploy, Easy to Maintain

From the accounting team to the newly hired sales exec, feedback from employees has been very positive with Expensify. They can use the mobile app as they go, or other import methods to make their expense reports quick and easy. Everything is directly connected to NetSuite, our ERP, and flows smoothly to the books without any extra steps. Approval routing is very simple and reminders get sent to keep things moving along.

Pros

Expensify is a very streamlined tool and does not get bogged down in high degrees of complexity which may be unnecessary. I have found all types of users at my company, from sales execs to marketing coordinators, understand how to use Expensify almost immediately. We provide a 1-pager for best practices to employees and that, in nearly all cases, is enough to get them using the tool without issue.

Cons

The corporate card integrations could use a bit of added support when it comes to receipt imports, and occasionally we have had the direct feed from our banking institution break. I think this is likely because we do not use one of the major banks for our corporate credit card though, so the issue may not be on the Expensify side.

Alternatives Considered

Nexonia Expenses and Zoho Expense

Reasons for Switching to Expensify

Expensify seemed much easier to implement, was cheaper, and I had witnessed it working smoothly at other companies in the past. In extremely large company environments it may be possible that Expensify could lack some of the deeper customizations of competing tools, but for the vast majority of businesses this ticks all boxes while remaining highly user-friendly.
Nate
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 14/08/2019

Expensify Expense Tracking

I originally used this software because it was the most straight forward "fool proof" software that allowed me to manage and track several employees travel expenses and business mileage and keeping it as simple as possible for the employees. By implementing this software into our expense tracking, our employee's no longer have to worry about paperwork and keeping track of physical receipts so long as they take a picture of it in Expensify.

Pros

The feature that won me over is the softwares ability to extract the necessary relevant information from a picture of the receipt and its reliability to accurately create an expense entry automatically. The other feature that really stands out is the dedicated email address you have to send receipts to the app. This feature is great because of rules i have established in outlook so that any "receipts" from certain companies automatically gets forwarded to my Expensify account.

Cons

Occasionally, when I was trying to submit a few large reports the app would freeze up on me. Otherwise I cannot think of any negative experiences I have had with Expensify.

Alternatives Considered

Zoho Expense

Reasons for Choosing Expensify

pricing, ease of use, ability to customize to your specific needs.

Reasons for Switching to Expensify

Reliability and accuracy. pricing, ease of use, ability to customize to your specific needs.
Mohamed Salah
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 01/02/2023

A Comprehensive Review of Expensify - An Essential Tool for Businesses

Expensify has been a great tool for our business and has helped us to quickly and easily manage our expenses. The user interface is intuitive and the reporting features are great. However, we have had some challenges with customer support and the cost can be quite high for larger businesses.

Pros

Expensify is an incredibly easy to use, user-friendly expense tracking and management system. It has an intuitive interface and allows us to quickly and easily track and manage our expenses. The reporting feature is also great and makes it easy to generate reports for our clients and other stakeholders. Overall, it has been an invaluable tool for our business and I would highly recommend it!

Cons

While Expensify does have some excellent features, the customer support can be quite slow and unhelpful at times. Additionally, it can be quite expensive for larger businesses with many users.

Laura
  • Industry: Investment Management
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 18/08/2020

Smoothest expense reporting software ever

Overall, everything has been good with Expensify down to the coding for my purposes. Users like that it literally creates a report they get paid for almost immediately without them having to nag accounting. It's a win win for everyone and well worth the cost per user.

Pros

The ease of use for our employees is great and very intuitive. I can make changes on the fly to reports if another user doesn't have it quite right for accounting purposes. It categorizes everything including mileage right where it should be.

Cons

Integration with our accounting software would probably be very easy if I could get higher ups to agree (They worry it might not flow correctly). I do have to take some manual steps to make that happen - otherwise there is nothing I want to add to the Con List.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft Excel

Reasons for Switching to Expensify

We did not have the credit card usage that Concurent was well known for. The Excel version of reporting still wasted a lot of man hours to handle. Expensify was the best of all three choices hands down. Not looking back!
Mark
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
1

4
Reviewed on 05/05/2020

Good Product - Truly Awful Onboarding and Support

While the product is good if you don't have any complications, the onboarding and support are probably the worst I have ever experienced. After a brief training session, there is no longer any phone call support allowed (only email and chat and the delays could be many hours and often days).

More recently with the COVID-19 situation, their usage has plummeted so they recently announced a doubling of pricing (100% increase) to all users if they don't switch to using their credit card which for many companies (including ourselves and including reasons like the cc syncing problem) will not work. The message about the price increase was hidden in a very very long email from the CEO titled something about support improvements.

Pros

It is easy for the end user to use, particularly given the mobile app. It has a lot of good controls and notifications for potential user errors or abuses.

Cons

The credit card sync features often don't work or are significantly delayed (days, weeks if at all) which causes unintended reimbursements for non reimbursable expenses and messed up accounting.

Alternatives Considered

SAP Concur

Reasons for Switching to Expensify

It seemed to have the controls and ease of use that we needed and it charged per active user per month rather than a per expense report submitted which fit our needs well.
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 10/12/2020

Absolutely a joy to use

Expensify makes it easy for employees to submit timely reimbursements, whether from their phones or the browser. On the other side, Expensify also makes it very easy for the expense administrator to approve reports.

Pros

The UI is so snappy and intuitive to use. Uploading receipts, finding what category to use, finding out if your expense is over budget--the UI tells you all exactly where you expect it.

Cons

This isn't inherent to the product itself, but I found customer support difficult to deal with. When I ran into a bug where the reports I had previously submitted disappeared, I had to wait a few days before they got back to me via email and their first question was basically "are you sure you had submitted them before?"

Joe
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
2
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 11/11/2020

Long time user

Overall, I would steer clear of this platform now there are better, cheaper alternatives. They do not hold up their end of the agreement and also have an archaic pricing model.

Pros

Up until they violated the terms and conditions, the platform was useful and filled our need to reduce/eliminate excel sheets for expense tracking

Cons

There are four things about this software that any potential purchaser should know:
1. Privacy doesn't matter to them. They violate their own privacy policy by sending out non-product related information to their customer base. This violates the agreement that they make you sign.
2. It is expensive. Unless you use the credit card, they charge you a lot. They also sent credit card applications to my entire company without my knowledge.
3. No useful customer service. Their customer service is almost non-existent. You cannot call them. You cannot email them. You are forced to use their concierge function that is essentially useless.
4. It takes 3 -5 days to receive reimbursements after approval.

Alternatives Considered

SAP Concur

Reasons for Switching to Expensify

Concur was very expensive. Expesnify was a little cheaper.
Reid
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 03/10/2022

Go-to Expense Reconcilliation for wide spread and remote working mid-sided companies

Overall the software is pretty good, and comparable to many direct from Banking institution programs, with the added funtionality of being able to claim reembursement for out of pocket purchases. Outside of the software itself, I would caution that the company has used used the software and associated email communications as a platform expressing their social and political views which is rather unbefitting and could be off-putting to parties who may not prescribe to the same views.

Pros

Software features multiple ways of uploading receipts and Coding spends for expenses. Application AI is very good at autmatically assigning cost codes and verifying receipts to actual spend backups. Software also allows for modification of these auto-entries in case of recoding requirements and the mobile app is very easy to use. Attachemnts are drag and drop on the Browser portal, and mobile device attachement is integrated in to OS gallery lookups. they have a good system for flagging un-filled required fields wbefore allowing the spend reports to be transmitted for approval by the designated approver.

Cons

Bank feed syncing can be delayed and charges do not appear for a few days; especially with Canadian banking services even with Tier 2 banks like HSBC. Some sysnicn issues arise between the mobile app and the browser portal if the app is left open on the mobile device - the system lags out and does not save some of the information which then requires re-entry. Fortunately this is flagged as part of how the software works so is not missed if lost, but still requires to be re-entered.

Liza
  • Industry: Renewables & Environment
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 01/06/2022

An innovative approach to uploading expense receipts of all kinds, preparing and reviewing...

We upload all expense receipts to their form by Expensify, so none of them are lost and administrators can review them and issue payment orders instantly and within specified periods. I enjoy that Expensify helps us reduce expenses and stay within budget.

Pros

I enjoy Expensify's easy-to-use design and clear tools. I enjoy that I can easily upload receipts and invoices via the mobile app. Expensify automates data dumping and saves the original document. Expensify's features make submitting and reviewing expenses easy, and Expensify cards let me track and approve employee expenses promptly. I love that the website makes it easy to locate spending categories, amend them, remit expenses, and look for abnormalities. Expensify isolates and categorizes spending calculates taxes and fees separately, and puts it all into one report, making audits and approvals quick. The notification system tells you of revisions to your submitted reports or accounting department inquiries, allowing you to respond directly and avoid delays in receiving payments.

Cons

Expensify is straightforward to use at all levels, although downloading receipts through a phone app, especially handwritten ones, can be slow and error-prone. Checking all entries before delivering reports is necessary to avoid making mistakes that delay approvals and cash.

Matt
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 08/10/2019

Expensify for Ecommerce

My overall experience with Expensify has been top notch. It really has helped our company become organized and has completely streamlined our expense tracking with ease.

Pros

Expensify is hands down the best expense tracking choice for our company.

There are a lot of pros to Expensify. Their customer service is amazing, always responding quickly and answering my questions in a very understandable manner. Their app is what we use most, it's simple and easy to use - having every feature you'd every need for tracking expenses.

I've also done some research on their company culture and it seems like they really invest into their employees lives. This definitely looks like a great company to work for.

Cons

There aren't many cons for Expensify. But if I had to choose something, it would be that the app doesn't real-time-sync with the admin system, you have to manually re-sync when something changes. For example: When the admin adds a new expense category, it doesn't show in the app right away unless the user manually "syncs". At the end of the day, this really isn't that big of a deal.

Raad
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 06/04/2023

Simplify the management and documentation of spending operations effortlessly

with Expensify , we Get automatic payment notifications and accurate spending reports, which enable appropriate corrective measures by management.

Pros

with Expensify Access all necessary tools and records easily, automate spending procedures, and facilitate budget monitoring and evaluation. With the mobile app, scan paper invoices and request approval for increased spending limits within minutes. Expensify also provides flexibility in payment processes by accepting credit card and bank transfer linking, eliminating the need for additional paperwork or switching between platforms.

Cons

The intuitive design of Expensify makes it easy to use, without encountering any difficulties.

Victoria
Victoria
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 16/08/2023

Powerful and versatile expense management software.

Expencify is a very easy to use platform with a lot of features.It helps me keep track of expenses in my department and prevents overspending.It allows me to keep a live and controlled budget and saves me time in analyzing expenses and receipts.It allows me to keep track of our employees' expenses with a corporate card and avoid unnecessary expenses.

Pros

What I like most about Expencify is the receipt scanning feature, it allows me to extract the relevant information from each receipt just by scanning it with my phone.It also saves me a lot of time by categorizing my expenses for more complete tracking.It integrates with other accounting and expense platforms, which helps to maintain more complete control over what each employee or department spends.

Cons

It is a powerful and versatile expense management software that has no weak points, it works very well.

Jany
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 16/05/2018

I love Expensify!

Save tons of time for reviewing, approving and reimbursing to employees.

Pros

It saves employees a lot of time and hassle on doing the paper work including keeping the receipts. Employees only need to take a picture of the receipt and submit with their phone. It is easy and timely. If expenses are not submitted immediately, at least the scanned receipts are kept in Expensify for employees to submit anytime later. With the feature of the scanned receipts, no more keeping the stack of paper receipts!

Cons

Syncing Expensify with accounting software (Xero) in order to get a complete and updated customer list is not 100% there yet. A lot of times, we couldn't submit an expense marking billable because the customer is not available in the drop down window in Expensify. This requires accountants like us to do extra work in accounting software (Xero) to fix the entry.

Sally
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 05/12/2019

Expensify is pretty good

Overall I think Expensify is a solid product but I do believe they would do well to add a lot of functionality from an administrator / accounting perspective.

Pros

I like the ease of loading receipts and drilling down into an expense report to find the data I need for accounting purposes. I like the user interface. It's extremely easy to add a new user and our new users never really have questions so I think the users find it easy to navigate. I love that it interfaces with our accounting software creating a seamless exchange of data once everything is set up properly; this saves a lot of time and duplicate entry. I love that it has a direct pay option - the users get the payments directly to their bank account.
The customer support is a chat feature - they don't always respond immediately but it's always pretty quick and they are extremely responsive. They have always helped solve all my issues and I consider their support to be pretty top-notch.

Cons

I think the product is lacking altogether in Reporting functionality. There's really not even a "Reports" module to speak of. You have to basically go in and pull your own data from the modules ...it makes everything feel clunky and unprofessional. It's also tricky to find what you need in settings, from an administrator perspective.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Capital Markets
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/03/2020

Best expense tool

Expensify has made our expense reporting so much more simplified and saved everyone so much time.

Pros

Expensify is in my opinion the best expense option on the market. It is so easy to use and makes expense reports a breeze.

Cons

Not really anything I dislike about expensify, but what I like the least, is I wish the software was a little smarter and able to match expenses if the receipt date is a day or two off from the billing date.

Alternatives Considered

SAP Concur

Reasons for Switching to Expensify

Ease of use and reviews.
Stefanos
Stefanos
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 11/10/2017

Reliable and rewarding!

- Expense tidying up
- Categorize according to projects, events etc.
- Everything centralized
- Ability to handle expenses with other team members

Pros

We have been using Expensify for over a year now and I can say that it we have been pleased more or less. I really like the fact that you are given the ability to manage your expense and categorize according to how detailed you really need it.

In addition, the joint report of all expenses is neat and easy to manipulate. I would say that it is quite user friendly once you get familiar with it (you do need a few times to use it in order to get a full handle on it). The app is a strong point as well.

Cons

Nothing too bad about it. Sometimes it cannot process as quickly as I desire especially when uploading pdf files. Subsequently I have had to log out and log in again to reset it in a sense.

Other than that I would say it is a rather solid service.

Kelci
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 12/12/2017

Good Concept, Buggy Execution

Easy expense report submission.

Pros

I love the convenience of being able to submit work expenses for reimbursement in multiple categories and under different reimbursement schemes. The software facilitates automatic generation of reports and offers automatic submission as well, so I don't have to worry about categorizing or submitting my reports by month, pay period, etc. That can all be customized and automated. It also keeps track of the current reimbursement schemes offered by my company (i.e. current mileage reimbursement rates) so I don't have to manually keep track of that or enter it each time.

Cons

Because there are so many features to the software and customizable options, it loses a bit of the "user friendly" aspect. It also throws a lot of flags on certain expenses that I submit due to rules in the app that don't apply to that category of expenses (i.e. receipts are required for all expenses, but when I'm submitting a mileage expense, a receipt is not applicable). In order to take full advantage of all the software has to offer, it seems like you have to be an expert on customizing the app, otherwise you get lost in the feature sets and it becomes more confusing and less user-friendly. Furthermore, I haven't found the customer service to be incredibly helpful, and think the automated concierge customer service needs to be improved in order to be useful. I also wish the software/app would send reminders to me for recurring expenses that I submit on a monthly basis. For example, I often forget to upload my receipt for my phone plan, which is paid on the same date every month. I wish the software would remind me to do so. (Maybe there is this feature available, but it is not something I have found yet).

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 17/05/2019

Expenses made easy.

Overall Im happy. They have a powerful app and uploading expenses is quick and effective. The app is decent so saves you having to use the web client. Overall it does what you need it to do, but theres some advanced functions that Expensify is missing that its competitors have (Listed above).

I would recommend this vendor if you want speed and simplicity, but if you are interested in the more advanced functions and automation then its worth having a look at competitors first.

Pros

- Very easy to upload receipts
- Handy email reminders
- Variable options for tax which helps when working internationally
- Options to retract submitted expenses to correct mistakes without waiting for them to be declined by financing teams

Cons

- The receipt scan function is slow, to the point where everyone within our teams choses to manually upload the receipt info. This is fine as it doesn't take long but it makes the scan option pointless.
- No geotagging to show location of your purchases, such as you see in Monzo/Revelout/Stirling bank etc.
- Occasional software crashes, quite a minor complaint as you simply re-launch the app and continue
- No way to automatically link into a bank card, so your expenses don't automatically upload - This would be such a game changer!
- No total expenses viewable on app, you can see the total value of each individual claim but if you want to see how much you have claimed over the week/month/year you need to manually add them up.

Howard
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
1

3
Reviewed on 11/06/2019

A Senior Accountant's Review

The direct integration between Expensify and NetSuite saves us time from keying in each expense report plus it provides a link to each receipt in NetSuite.

Pros

Expensify has partnered up with NetSuite to create a direct integration between them, which makes it so much more efficient.

Cons

Expensify makes you choose how many user's to bill every month in advance in order to get the discounted monthly rate, whether or not you actually have that make user's using it. We found not all our user's use Expensify every month. And as a result, we are paying more than we should. Unfortunately, if we chose to be billed for less user's and we have more user's then we get billed at the full price on the overage.

tim
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 11/02/2021

Great software...but they've become a scam with overcharging and hidden costs

Appalling customer service and terrible ethics.

Pros

Makes expenses simple with great workflow and authorisation steps.

Cons

Our billing moved from $9 a person on a variable basis, i.e. if 4 people used it for a month then we'd be charged 4 x $9 = $36 to an eye watering 13 x $35 = $455 a month that is FIXED for a year. We only have 9 staff...and none of us are traveling. Escalating fees is one thing when the service is being used and is good...but Expensify is forcing you to use their card and gouging users if you don't.

It's shady and unethical at best.

Expensify were leaders in the space...but they've slipped and fallen to low places. AVOID.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Furniture
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 01/05/2018

Super easy expense tracker for business, reimbursement, or personal

Helped me track my travel, business and personal expenses

Pros

Expensify is extremely easy to use. You simply take a picture of your receipt or invoice and it digitally reads the receipt, figuring out what it is for, the amount, the payment method, and the merchant. It's not always perfect at doing this, but it's usually pretty accurate. You can create "buckets" so you can keep your expenses separated by type, so if you need one for your work and one for your personal and one for your side job, they can all be separated. It's also great for trips or for tracking receipts for reimbursement. We used it at my church to track things we bought for the church, and I've used it on business trips to track my reimbursable expenditures. This is made easier by the fact that you can then run reports on your expenses so you can hand those over to the other party for reimbursement or expensing.

Cons

As I mentioned, the automatic detection feature is not always 100% accurate; some manual editing is sometimes required. Also, I've had some issues with the app freezing or the camera not working. Overall though, it manages to take most of the pain out of expense tracking.

1,084 reviews