User Reviews Overview

About M1 ERP

ECi M1 is a subscription-based enterprise resource planning (ERP) system, available on-premise or via the cloud, that automates financials, inventory, production, sales/quoting and production planning. The solution is suitable...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
3
Features
3.5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3.5

Browse M1 ERP Reviews

65 of 65 reviews
Sort by:
Joe S.
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
2
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
1

3
Reviewed on 01/11/2020

ECI Support does not understand this product and will not stand behind it.

Pros

If you are able to deploy, implement and customize M1 for your company without any support from ECI this is a good option.

Cons

Support is terrible -
ECi was unwilling to respond to any of my questions on the software's functionality. I have paid for maintenance and support on 9 licenses for over 15 years and they will not even respond to my online request. When I finally called in and waited for a live person they insisted that I needed to pay for training in order to get answers to general use questions about how to setup and use different functions in the software. After 2 hours of paid training I had very few answers to my questions and my trainer "[SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN]" had a list of questions he was going to "get back to me on". It has been several weeks and once again I have no answers and "[SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN]" is ignoring my emails.

Aaron S.
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3.5
Ease of Use
3.5
Customer Support
4.5

4
Reviewed on 23/02/2016

M1 ERP Review

Pros

The training and implementation was fantastic. The product is well suited for our needs and the cost tracking functionality is great. The greatest strengths of the software are inventory control, cost/labor tracking, and reporting.

Cons

The accounting functionality and process can be burdensome. While it does get the job done, incorporating a FIFO system with real time cost of goods sold entry would be much more advantageous. Currently M1 only offers average, standard, or last cost of goods sold, which can really make things difficult if inventory costs change. Additionally, not having "real-time" financials is frustrating. You don't get the "actual cost of goods sold" until an accounting entry is made, so you cannot track financials daily or weekly unless your accounting department has time to make this entry and reconcile it on that same interval. Granted, moving to the COGS program could fix this issue, but the additional work and potential for mistakes makes it easier to wait for financials.

Ken B.
  • Industry: Building Materials
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 13/12/2018

Do not buy this software in Australia - Dishonest business practices and terrible support

They installed the core system for one company to test, then couldn't get their optional modules to work, but still performed the agreed work to customize our installation (and charged us)... then finally gave up trying to get THEIR optional module to work in version 8, and told us that we had to upgrade to version 9 to get those modules to work.

Then after we upgraded to version 9, they said that version 9 now no longer supported that optional module, or the custom work they had already been paid for.

We have been promised repeatedly by their support team and management that they would fix the issues and get this up and working as soon as possible. Please don't fall for these lies like we did.

Instead of trying to fix anything, their support department literally just 'solved' all of the 30+ support tickets in their system on with the same day with the message 'SOLVED: This function or a component that it relies on is no longer supported' with no option for further discussion... no refund for the optional modules or custom work we had done... and then they have the hide to say that they need to get us to sign off and accept the fact that they can't make that company work before they even install the core systems for any of the 6 other companies.

Pros

Their sales team made a really good pitch, then went radio silent the moment we signed up, and quit 6 weeks later.

Based on their pitch, we engaged them to provide version 8 of the core system seven companies, and a couple of optional modules for a couple of those companies, and a few custom modifications, we were assured this would be straight forward and ready to use in 8-12 weeks.

It has been over 2 years and they been unable to even get one of those companies up and running as per the our agreement with them.

Cons

The worst part about this experience? Everything that happened after they had our money...

In all of my professional life I have never before experienced such intentionally dishonest behavior in a professional setting. Deciding to use ECi M1 has been the worst business decision that we have ever made.

If you are in Australia, or if you intend to rely on the Australian support team, I cannot urge you strongly enough to stay away from ECi M1. They have repeatedly proved themselves incompetent and dishonest.

Response from ECi Software Solutions

With hundreds of passionate M1 clients implemented throughout Australia and thousands more globally, we are sorry your experience has been less than expected. Version 9 is written in an advanced language and an early release that coincided with your implementation - the upgrade offering a more flexible and future-proof platform. We do continue to offer local support to all our clients to experience the benefits of M1 and happy to discuss a way forward with you.

Replied 30/04/2019
Laurie S.
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
2
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 04/05/2017

Terrible company to do business with and terrible product.

The key benefit is having to start over and implement something else after less than 5 years on the product.

Pros

It's easy to customize, which is good because - you are going to be doing a lot of customizing.

Grids - basically an onscreen report are easy to create - also good because this subs in for the lack of workflow.

Cons

If you want an accounting system that routinely can't do basic math you'll love M1 (simplified example - $100 payment to $100 invoice resulted in a -$200 balance - and M1 doesn't even allow negative invoices).

Screens are overloaded with fields you will never, ever, ever use. There's no workflow for any process - making it easy to "lose" a sales order or a work order or skip a step (complete a work order without issuing the raw materials - sure why not - and no warning). No built in alerts (that's an extra module - but you have to create the alerts yourself). The canned reports are nearly useless. The support team is terrible. The company itself outside of support is also awful to do business with and won't refund us for our unused implementation hours, or an extra module we purchased that we immediately decided wouldn't work for us (didn't even install it).

Roy B.
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 01/03/2018

Smooth transition from previous MRP system. Logical transactions and easy to retrieve data...

Overall very satisfied with the functionality of the product.

Pros

Systematic logical sequence of steps from the time an order is placed to final shipment of the products.

Cons

Forecasting needs to be improved. The way sub-assemblies are scheduled could be improved although very flexible.

John W.
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4.5

4.5
Reviewed on 30/04/2015

M1 has been great The design was with end users in mind

Pros

The low cost of overhead to run M1 is its best feature. It is very robust, and runs day after day with minimal support required. M1 is very user friendly and intuitive. Also, the use of Crystal Reports on an SQL database allows for easy modification and development of reports that then are easily run from inside M1 giving users a seamless feel. We have had excellent support during implementation and post implementation.

Cons

I am anxious for continued development of the manufacturing floor scheduling.

Grant K.
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
N/A

1
Reviewed on 04/06/2018

Awarded the worlds worst service and product

Don't waste your time and money

Pros

Technically it works and some of the functions are understandable. But the setup, service and basic norms affiliated with software are missing

Cons

Terrible service and backup. Only 1 technician that knows what he is doing and he is across NZ and AU and he is not allowed to give out his direct contact details. Recently logged a ticket on the 3rd of May and got first response on the 4th June! If you want to know your GP and other profitable forecasts or set up a half decent quote and reporting be prepared to have to spend a whole lot more.

Mark S.
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4.5

4.5
Reviewed on 09/04/2015

M1 is esential to our success

Pros

The ability of this software to fully integrate all aspects of our business. It is very stable and easy to customize.

Cons

As the M1 has grown, there have been times where response times have been a little longer than expected.

Slavy D.
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Other for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 14/10/2017

Terrible choice

Before giving any attention to this product do your own research on it. Original M1 code was stolen from other company by former employees then followed by lawsuit in which M1 people lost.

Pros

Good Sales Team :) Might be good for very small company but wouldn't recommend to any company. After trying other ERPs have almost no Pros except how they did Part Revision.

Cons

Software failed when was put to load. Worked fine in pilot but when needed to manage 1.4k POs on daily basis it couldn't do math. At one point had daily meetings with development team from Australia on issues but still couldn't resolve all issues. About twice a week were getting orphan records in DB, development team were no help on this.
ECi started promising us new version but promise was sliding.
After 8 month of deployment time and about 6 month after go live hard decision was made, search for new ERP. When ECi was asked to give us partial refund because their product didn't perform as advertised they revealed themselves as very bad partner.
M1 also has major security issue.

Pam G.
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4.5
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4.5

4.5
Reviewed on 15/09/2016

Flexible, customizable, & user friendly

Pros

The vendor is wonderful to work with. From the sales thru the president, their open door policy is forward thinking and provides customers with a sense of being taken care when they need it. The product M1 has proven to be the most customizable and flexible system I've dealt with in 36 years however I'm still learning more of what all it can do.

Cons

The least liked, even though it this is by no means a dislike on my part, for the product would be the way item master must be for the local bin and not being able to have multiple bins per one location for one item.
The vendor side would be the fresh talent they are with vs. Those with 20 plus yrs.

Lance J.
  • Industry: Aviation & Aerospace
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4.5

4.5
Reviewed on 21/01/2016

Selection of ECI M1

Pros

The product already has deep features but it has the flexibility which allows for code to be written by us to enhance the system. This allows us to get specific on certain methods we use that may not be stock methods for an industry.

Cons

At this point in the process, we have not uncovered a negative.

Cameron M.
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3.5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 05/08/2014

ECi M1 ERP a good tool

Pros

IT support is timely and almost always available.

Cons

It doesn't account for scrap within a job, and scrap tracking overall is very difficult. The software seems to want to manage scrap with completed good parts together, and that does not work when trying to track to meet ISO requirements.

Evan C.
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
1
Ease of Use
1.5
Customer Support
1.5

1.5
Reviewed on 26/09/2014

Large Number of Bugs, Poor Development, Unimpressive Tech Support

Pros

M1 is more customizable than many other options.

Cons

Based on the increasing number of bugs and no new bug fixes, it seems that M1 is being phased out by ECi. The software is nearly unusable with Windows Vista and is mediocre at best on Windows 7. The scheduling module is terribly poor, and ECi has displayed zero effort in improving these issues. The tech support response time is horrid and there are very few well-trained tech support staff available (however a few are knowledgeable). Come on ECi! Fix this product which has great potential!

Jeremy P.
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 10/11/2016

Good quote to cash tool

This is a simple program to learn the basics of with a multitude of options. The user interface is very straight forward. It is mostly all encompassing as far as ERP systems go. The options are plentiful, but pricey. Extra seats are a bit pricey. A good tool for a small business trying to track quote to cash.

Pros

All inclusive

Cons

Costly for add-ons

Lauren B.
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 12/11/2019

M1 Review

I use the software daily. Like I said it is very easy to navigate. I wish I knew more about the capabilities and what we can use it for in our industry.

Pros

Once you understand the features and how to navigate, it is a fairly easy software to use. Information is easy to find. It is also easy to query for information.

Cons

There are not any modules available that we know of that can assist in training to understand the features that M1 has to offer. There are several features that we don't use. Features that we wish we knew more about are scheduling and the possibility of integrating a bar code scanning system. Our IT admin has been working on this with M1.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
2

3
Reviewed on 19/03/2019

M1 gets the job done but there are better options to be had

Everything from sales and marketing data, to employee data as well as financial data is housed in our M1 system.

Pros

All the data you could ever need about your business can be housed in M1, between the data and the custom reports that can be made, it is a valuable tool to have.

Cons

Its clunky to use, most things take too many clicks to find and it feels like you have to go out of your way to find what you are looking for. It takes some work to make it user friendly in the least bit

Grant K.
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
2
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
1

3
Reviewed on 11/07/2016

Do not use M1

The implementation was extremely difficult with very little support from M1. We were told 6 weeks but 14months later it was working although still many unanswered questions. Then the support for real live changes has been terrible

Pros

Excellent promises by the sales people - they never eventuate though!

Cons

Support - they are the worst

Tammy B.
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
1

3
Reviewed on 14/06/2021

Big Sales Pitch - Poor Follow Through

Poor customer service is the biggest problem. There are some in "support" that are very good and know the software well. But there have been major issues with some of the "management" types and emails go unanswered on a regular basis. I honestly don't know what some of these people do. Once they get your money, they aren't really interested in helping.

Pros

What I like most about the software is how easy it is to stay on top of the General Ledger on a daily basis. If something goes wrong, I don't have to wait until closing to find the problem. M1 makes it possible to make corrections immediately.

Cons

1. We were told the job costing module would apply labor & burden properly. It doesn't.
2. We were told the BOM would upload to the job. It doesn't. That was an expensive lie for us.
3. When the guys make mistakes, it can be difficult and tedious to find and correct mistakes.
4. We made it clear from the start that one customization would be needed and would be VERY important. Numerous attempts have not gotten a result.

Todd M.
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 14/03/2018

Lifesaver

For us it was really the staff that made us feel at ease with out decision, from the salesperson to our implementer to the folks in support. They have really come through for us over the time we have used M1.

Pros

M1 has helped us track serial and lot numbers effectively and allowed us to streamline many processes across the company. Have used it for five years now, we rely on the data it generates to run our business in the most efficient and cost effective way possible. Our implementer took the time to learn our business and made suggestions on how the software could assist us in areas we had not even considered. We definitely choose the right software!

Kody F.
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 23/01/2018

Great Software

Pros

We have been using this software for 10 years and I don't know how we ever survived without it.
Product Configurators really helped us streamline our estimating and planning processes.

Cons

We have tuned M1 to a point where we have very little issues. It took some time to really figure it out but we realized that the core system didn't really need a lot of the customizations that we thought it did.
I'm not good at cons...

Pam G.
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 08/09/2017

ERP made your way

This is a great solution for a small or med sized business that feels they are unique or different. The intergration with 3rd party software(s) that are commonly used by businesses looking for an ERP system, The add on modules are robust but some are lacking, such as the purchasing planner. With any software, each has something special about them and for me, M1 has a special niche in the software customizations and ease of use.

Pros

This is the most customizable ERP I have ever dealt with or implemented. Love, Love this as it easily can modify to serve the challenges of about any size company, growth rate, and experience levels. This is the best feature of this software.

Cons

The main con from my exoperiences has been the support personnel and the lack of knowledge of the product and the response. With that said, let me say that it is not complelely fair as the compaqny has experienced a rapid growth and with that comes new personnel and the years of experiences are just not there.

Marie R.
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 05/04/2018

Try M1 First!

Pros

We replaced Global Shop with M1. We like M1 because is quick and efficient. We are working on more customized reporting and moving to the newest version - very exciting for our company!!

Cons

Getting new downloads up and running is a little difficult. Hard to coordinate M1 Support with our outside IT Consultant

Benjamin B.
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 12/11/2019

Good ERP System

Pros

The software makes it easy to find a lot of data that can be exported and used as necessary

Cons

It is more difficult to set up reports and customize fields for users that do not want to see all fo the background data and only want specifics

Pierre P.
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Support
4.5

4
Reviewed on 17/04/2015

My experience with this product is positive

Pros

All the functionality of a larger program without the big program cost and the flexibility to do minor customization.

Cons

Slow performance. Some reports of tools are at times very slow. Our Job Analysis report runs very slow at times. Usually when the quantity is more than 1 and the material quantity is more than 100.

Bill R.
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
2
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 05/09/2017

Frustrating to Deal with!! Poor Customer Service!! Implementation process is terrible!!

We purchased this program more that 3 years ago, the implementation process was horrible! and they have done very little to help us get this program up and running as a result we are using about 10% of the program that we have paid for. we purchase a copy of Sage every year to handle our accounting, because we have not been shown how to use the accounting side of the program( I have never even looked at it to see what it looks like). We have tried to use the payroll side of the program and it was not accurate so we stopped using it.

Cons

Terrible customer support right from the initial implementation, we have had issues with this program from the very start and get 0.00 help...there is some hype that they will get our issues solved with no, or very little follow through, we just get sent from one person to the next and start from square one each time.

65 reviews