Cin7 Core Reviews

4.3
Overall rating
Reviews

4.3
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Cin7 Core

Cin7 Core, formally known as DEAR, is an app that makes enterprise-level inventory management, manufacturing, sales integration, reporting, and automation accessible to all businesses. Leverage the power of multi-module...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.2
Features
4.2
Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Support
4.4

Browse Cin7 Core Reviews

430 of 430 reviews
Sort by:
Nick
Nick
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 03/10/2019

The best cloud-based Inventory Management option for SMEs

As a consultant implementing DEAR Inventory for a wide range of SMEs, we have solved an innumerable amount of problems along the way. From Batch tracking, to serial number tracking, integrations with online stores, accounting, shipping, reporting and forecasting, etc, it is all there.

The team at DEAR are generally very quick to respond and offer assistance, and the users are given the power to request and vote on new features to be implemented. The subscription pricing is also at a point where it represents huge value for money.

Pros

As a cloud integration consultant working with SMEs in Adelaide and interstate to solve inventory management issues by implementing the right software, DEAR has proven again and again to be the leading choice for these businesses and is now our recommended choice as an implementation specialist.

DEAR has the functionality to provide a central solution to any SME looking to sell online or instore across a number of channels, and manage all the inventory in one place.The integration with Xero is top notch and the most robust I've seen of almost any app that connects to Xero.

The integrations to eCommerce channels are consistent in their setup and options and allow a great deal of flexibility. Complementing these integrations are shipping service integrations that allow for a full suite of inter-connected apps with DEAR as the hub.

Cons

If I had a gripe, it would be around some minor inconsistencies within the UI across various parts of the software, as well as some minor inconsistencies with various reports that are available.

Anton
  • Industry: Cosmetics
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 06/06/2022

DEAR Systems step to the future!

Still getting used to the DEAR system, however, if compare with other inventory systems we used before, I must say DEAR is the answer, so far very happy! It’s all there, just need a bit of time to learn how to navigate around. Selling on Amazon & eBay? No problem..... (once everything is set up correctly) DEAR will do all your daily routine for you. Using an eCommerce website (in our case it's WooCommerce), it’s all there! We are still in process of integration/switching from Quickbooks desktop however, after only 1 month of using DEAR (plenty of step by step, how to use information online and very straightforward YouTube videos, which will answer most of your questions (how to?) on daily routine of most of the businesses. Special thank you to the support team, for being very helpful, straight to the point answers with plenty of information provided to understand and learn ….. bravo!

Pros

Xero & Dear system user (new user experience).
Everything you need to manage warehouse inventory!
Detailed Inventory information, Order process flow, purchasing order management, stock control, eCommerce website eBay/Amazon integration, - easy to use once you get used to it.
Helpful support team, and plenty of information provided to understand and learn DEAR systems.

Cons

Takes some time to know the DEAR systems (navigate) due to many features.
I guess we need to use DEAR systems for some time to get a better understanding and therefore, give a revised review of experience and possible Cons we might have.

Reasons for Choosing Cin7 Core

Quickbooks Desktop service termination in the UK from 2023

Reasons for Switching to Cin7 Core

Inventory management - stock control - plenty of features to use now or in the future. Amazon-ebay-ecommerce integration. Daily order routine progress, overall DAER systems feels pleasant to use
Kara
  • Industry: Farming
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
2
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
1

3
Reviewed on 14/11/2018

It was DEAR to me until it wasn't

We discovered a technical glitch that caused severe bloat to our database that was seemingly stemming from DEAR. We approached the DEAR team leader with the matter. Rather than accepting responsibility and assuring us that he would provide the customer service that was necessary, he did not. He instead brought attention to other aspects of the integration. After three months of pain, and moving to a new web hosting environment, and being down for 24 hours and up and down for a total of 3 months, a technical team was able to isolate the issue as being related to DEAR, and for the last 48 hours I have still not heard back from the DEAR tech LEAD on a fix, or with any offer of any kind to help us get back up and running the way that we are supposed to be. We are trying to trouble-shoot without any answers coming from the DEAR development team. I have never seen anything this lacking in terms of customer service in my 30 years of business. I am disappointed and expected more from the tech LEAD and DEAR customer service.

Pros

I created a requirements document of what we needed in an Inventory Management System and DEAR met all of them. I was so excited to find such a robust and affordable software solution in the cloud that hit all of my notes in my small indie maker business.

Cons

It was very very difficult for us to try and implement this product on our own. We hired an outside DEAR consultant. We spent $10K in consulting fees to get up and running. It took just about 8-9 months with a FTE almost completely focused 3/4 time and problems with the integration started just about the same time that we were up and running. Though we did not realize our problems with our web site were related to DEAR. We experienced outages and slowness on our site and were directed to take matters up with our hosting company. They reset and tuned our database-- and still we experienced slow performance. Because there are many moving parts-- and several outside vendors-- each pointing to each other--- it was this long, painful, expensive journey before we arrived right back to DEAR with the performance issues stemming from their API.

Top Cin7 Core Alternatives

Darren
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 08/11/2023

Good

Not enough experience yet with the system.

Pros

Overall good platform, but needs some basic improvement.

Cons

Purchase orders. They do not populate all products per vendor and does not populate 90 day usage of product on PO. This is vital for creating purchase orders.

Jacques
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 24/05/2023

Energenic

Dear is an overall well planned software, i enjoy working on it, I will say I am 80% happy - still need development in certain areas

Pros

Procurement and Stock keeping working great, Can have latest prices on hand

Cons

Job Costing is difficult and need to go to reports to get information cast export job cost directly from Job's BOM in Production cant be exported and work on average cost - need to work on latest price as i am using the BOM for price costing

Alternatives Considered

Manu Online and Katana Cloud Inventory

Reasons for Choosing Cin7 Core

Needed a manufacturing software - Dear offer all in one

Switched From

Sage 50cloud Pastel

Reasons for Switching to Cin7 Core

Look the best for our Company at the time
Ignatius
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
1

3
Reviewed on 23/11/2023

Customer care, purchasing and Point of Sale is useless

Frustrating to deal with your help desk people who tell you to log a feature request when they are done talking to you and can't solve your problem

Pros

Easy to understand and figure out when starting off.

Cons

Your point of sale system you offer with this software is less than useless its remedial in functionality and offering. Struggle to program in store promotions on it you can't create area specific promotions for outlets in an area. Your way of setting up a cash float is useless and not user friendly. Your journals between Xero and Cin7 do not push correctly. Till overs and shorts are a nightmare to investigate. Gift cards are cumbersome to use and implement. We were using We where using Lightspeed as a point of sale before and you c=guys can learn some lessons from them your system will be something from the stone age compared to Lightspped.

Mia
  • Industry: Glass, Ceramics & Concrete
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 04/07/2023

Great support for training and set up

My CIN 7 experience so far has been great, apart from that I couldn't get urgent support from the daily support team after the training project is closed. Being a new user, this is essential, as even I have been trained, to be able fully function, further support is needed in a timely manner.

Pros

[sensitive content hidden] has provided great helping through training sessions and initial set up of the system to make my job easier, she has gone above and beyond which makes me feel that Cin 7 Core is a system I can easily recommend to other people from this prospective.

Cons

0Customer support from CIN 7 Support Team (after system set up), the turnaround to get back to me and the response is not user friendly for new users, all new users would be experiencing a lot of questions and issue at the very beginning start using the system, and the problem I experience actually stop my office functioning, to book a call online for a few days in advance doesn't work to this situation at all.

Christopher
Christopher
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 02/02/2022

Dear systems deliver what if promises

We've been using it live for one month and so far the transition has been relatively smooth.

Pros

Comprehensive ERP features that are built with the workflow and accounting in mind. Excellent interface with Xero. Very customizable, but in an easy to understand fashion.

Cons

For those switching from other platforms, it could use better historical data import functionality. In particular outstanding orders. We had about 200 open orders when we made the switch, and had to enter them manually as Dear's import features could not handle our workflow.

Alternatives Considered

Cin7 Omni and NetSuite

Reasons for Choosing Cin7 Core

Lightspeed retail has no ability to handle sales tax based on "ship to" address and has not integration with Avalara. In discussing with Lightspeed they seem unaware that this functionality is needed. Also, you can only integrate with one ecom site and inventory management was glitching with the inventory levels frequently wrong.

Reasons for Switching to Cin7 Core

Overall value for money, plus the focus on accounting was a strong selling point.
Philip
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 11/07/2023

Cin7 Excellent Inventory Management

Very easy to setup and use and excellent support when needed

Pros

Ease of use and almost instant access to support when required

Cons

No mobile app - it’s not easy to use the system in a browser on a phone

Alternatives Considered

MYOB Advanced Business

Reasons for Switching to Cin7 Core

Value for money. But in hindsight, it’s also much easier to use, updates are reliable and it just works. Plus the support is first class. It’s what I’d expect from a cloud based system.
Cory
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 15/01/2024

Himash was great

Some integrations such as Quickboks online transfer all vendors or purchases I've made to people and automatically populate them as suppliers in CIN7 Core. Similarly Avatax, once a transaction occurs, it automatically populates that specific location and it's tax rate in the drop down field, when I will always only need Tax lookup selected from the drop down. So both integrations have these messy autopopulations that don't have a simple fix to.

Pros

Onboarding support with Himash has been fantastic.

Cons

some integrations with ship station and Quickbooks haven't been as smooth as I had hoped

Owen
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/08/2019

Simple but very, very effective Inventory management and general business operations software

The business administration is now a multiple of it's previous efficiency. We can track sales, purchases and performance far, far more efficiently than before. The proof is in the pudding - walk around our sales office and at least one screen on every desk will have DEAR open.

Pros

The software is made up of simple to understand modules that have a clear purpose and have extremely good help videos and articles available. There is a "simple" and "advanced" version of most functions which makes carrying out most tasks extremely efficient while still having the power of the full functionality available in the background if needed. Any simple document can be changed to an advanced document with the click of a button.

Cons

The "Jobs" or project module is somewhat more difficult to use than other parts of the suite. Projects are a common part of many businesses and a simpler, more intuitive, module that allowed easy quotes and easy conversion to a Job would be a great enhancement.

Alternatives Considered

SAP Business One, Simpro and QuickBooks eCommerce

Reasons for Switching to Cin7 Core

Ease of use Cost Support responsiveness Comprehensive modules and integrations
Sally
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 10/12/2022

New Dear Users

We have made a massive improvement and overhaul of our wholesale company by switching over to DEAR. We are able to automate a lot of our processes and it helps us to provide a much better service for our customers. The software is a lot to get your head around at the beginning as it has a massive range of functions, however the interface is clear and quite simple to navigate and the onboarding was fantastic and really allowed us to slowly make the transition to DEAR with confidence. I would highly recommend the onboarding service as our trainer could not have been more helpful.

Pros

The great integration with woo commerce and the easy invoicing and ordering processes plus advanced inventory management capacity.

Cons

The zero/ non zero stock can be a little confusing and awkward.

Alternatives Considered

Cin7 Omni, Fishbowl and Unleashed

Reasons for Choosing Cin7 Core

We tried to go through the onboarding process with cin 7 which was very disorganised. There was no clear structure or time frame and we were pushed to go live having absolutely no idea what we were doing. The support was terrible, so we cut our losses and went to DEAR and lost a lot of money in the process. Dear is ironically now owned by CIn 7 so we are in the process of seeking compensation.

Reasons for Switching to Cin7 Core

Inventory capacity, onboarding, more pleasant user experience/ interface
James
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 08/12/2021

Pretty Darn Good!

Great! The onboarding was also very comprehensive.

Pros

We have used a lot of ordering / inventory systems over the years and this is our forever change (we hope!). I really appreciate the complex level of adjustments that can be made (eg: invoice customisation, staff permissions, custom fields) as well as the robust accounting integration. Once you use it a few times, the interface is fairly straightforward. Even my less tech savvy staff have commented they find the flow of DEAR easier to use, despite the added complexity of features.

Cons

The WooCommerce integration has been a bit temperamental to set-up to manage stock correctly and we wish it would pull orders more frequency.

Alternatives Considered

Cin7 Omni

Reasons for Choosing Cin7 Core

TG pulled the plug!

Reasons for Switching to Cin7 Core

Feature-rich and staff that actually answered our questions.
Samuel
  • Industry: Plastics
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 02/04/2020

Great manufacturing aid

Dear lets us manage the extraordinary combination of materials, compounds and product that we manufacture on a daily basis in a straightforward manner. For some of our operations--for example when we create 10-30 batches of a particular material--use of the API is almost mandatory for efficient data entry--but generally the interface does a great job. Our business is on a much stronger financial and engineering footing using DEAR.

Pros

The sales, production and purchasing modules provide an excellent integrated platform for our manufacturing operations. We stock over 300 chemicals to make hundreds of rubber compounds that we use in production of custom rubber products and Dear keeps the complexity under control. I love the continual upgrades on the cloud and the easy access from anywhere. Finally, the standard interface is good but the API lets us implement solutions to meet specific needs at various points in our production.

Cons

While the technical support is excellent I find I occasionally need to reach out to them because the online documentation is not well organized.

The reporting module is adequate but often requires off-line processing to get the results you are looking for. They make that easy with excel exporting but it is impossible to create a report that is self-explanatory. For example, you can build complex filters to get specific results but you can not re-title the generic report with a specific name, or include the filter values to explain your data.

I also wish the date fields would accept time information so that we could capture real-time production data in the system--at the moment you can only enter a start and stop date when you create finished goods.

Response from Cin7

Hello Samuel,
Thank you for your review. We are continually striving to improve the service we provide to our valuable customers. As a part of the improvement, we will be restructuring our knowledge base to reflect the module structure in the inventory application so that it will be easy for our customers to find information quicker. As we release more features we update the current knowledge base on a weekly basis. We have taken your reports suggestion into consideration. Please check our roadmap for updates when it will be released to production.
Best Regards,
DEAR Team

Replied 15/04/2020
Dmitriy
Dmitriy
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 14/06/2023

Advanced tool for advanced users

Best tool (despite cons) for small business inventory management

Pros

- Lot of features, options, various settings... all together bring opportunity to reflect almost any process you may think of. But if your vision turns to be different from one of system designers, then workarounds are demanded in many cases that seemed to be "common" and you expected them to work "out-of-box". You really need good understanding of the way system works and it is point where good onboarding consulter may help.- Responsive and quick interface (though quick reporting tools and documents lists could be more convenient).- Lot of detailed reports with settings that almost no other ERP can suggest. Cool tool for advanced users familiar with pivot tables.- Responsive and attentive support resolves most of problems

Cons

- Strange limitations in accounting settings and flow (especially when you use QBO and want to use both Dear's and QBO's analytics capabilities at the same time)- Integrations with Amazon and Shopify are cool for capturing "orders" when you are not using automated 3PLs flow. But integrations are not good for capturing invoices and shipments when you are using 3PLs like FBA. Accounting processes for e-commerce are designed in quite a specific way and you really need to understand how it works to get reliable accounting data. Thought this is wide spread problem in world of ERP systems for small businesses.

Alternatives Considered

Sellercloud, Cin7 Omni, NetSuite, Microsoft 365 and Unleashed

Reasons for Switching to Cin7 Core

The most complex features and settings
Paul
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 11/06/2020

Was a great system with lots of pro's but now massively flawed!

Performance issues are far far too common, and they seem to be unable to support them.

Pros

Contains the vast majority of required features to operate a successful e-commerce store. Nice layout, not too bulky, and sticks to what its good at. API is well written which allows you to expand usability with third party apps.

Cons

Performance! Over the past 6 months this has gone from bad to worse. The odd hang, became frequent hangs, then time outs on the server. The latest sizeable price increase to allow them to fix this was unwelcome as I already pay for a package that is supposed to perform as promised. This left a little bit of a sour taste. Now though, once again, their system is down, completely!
My team cannot access anything, at all. If a call or email comes through, we cannot see stock, prices, lead times, not even the customer records.
Support say they are working on it, the ETA? Don't know. Great.
I say avoid until they sort out their issues with performance. I will be looking for alternatives as I cannot afford this kind of issue, and paying more for the service they are already supposed to be offering is bad form in my opinion.

Alternatives Considered

Brightpearl and Unleashed

Reasons for Switching to Cin7 Core

Seemingly better features and support.

Response from Cin7

Hello Paul,

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to hear that the new UI/UX that was rolled has met your expecations.
We are constantly scalling DEAR to meet the preformance needs of our customers.
Some of our customers in the Microsoft East US data centre experienced a System Outage. This was caused by unexpected behaviour in the Microsoft Datacenter. You can find out more details about the above incident at https://status.azure.com/en-us/status/history/ June 2020 6/11 Storage - East US - Mitigated (Tracking ID 9VHK-J80). The DEAR monitoring team, which is working 24/7 to have an eye out for any performance issues, immediately spotted this and promptly contacted Microsoft to report, monitor and got the incident resolved. We recognize the important role that DEAR plays in your daily business. Rest assured we have taken the necessary steps, in discussion with Microsoft, to avoid this from occurring again.

Best Regards,
DEAR Team.

Replied 01/07/2020
Dave
Dave
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 14/01/2018

After trialing three chosen cloud-based stock-management solutions for my clients DEAR won my...

Pros

The software can be used "out-of-the-box" after a minimal amount of setup, and can also be used in more complex installations where bespoke software development might be needed.

The simplicity of the initial setup, the simplicity of the menu navigation, and the speed with which new users are able to grasp what they need to do to accomplish their tasks caused me to take a closer look at this software and I'm glad I took the time to do so.

The multiple warehouse locations field, along with the multiple bin locations field, both available in DEAR but not available in some other offerings, is a basic requirement of a stock management system as far as I am concerned.

Whilst the software might appear complex for first-time users, those with experience of stock systems and business processes should find it a breeze to set up and use for the purpose intended, especially if they are familiar with setting up other software. It's an advantage, but not a requirement, if the person(s) setting it up also have an understanding of business accounts and are able to find their way around creating/editing MS Word mail-merge templates.

I am impressed that I have been able to use the software to accomplish pretty much every task that my clients' have asked of it so far. The ease of integration with other cloud-based applications puts another tick in the box for me.

Cons

This is a comment and not a complaint; although the reporting functionality in the 'out-of-the-box' version is adequate there is room for improvement. The limitations can be overcome by exporting the files and adapting them as needed. Those with a more specific software development skill- set (or more time to learn) would be able to achieve a great deal more from the software than is possible using the 'out-of-the-box' version.

Malcolm
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/10/2021

Dear System Review

We found that Dear Systems had all the inventory requirements already built in with extra functionality of the production module allowed us to structure each one of these operations in a logical sequence. We have brought a number of our clients on to Dear systems and every one of them have appreciated the ease of use and the increased options it offers.

Pros

In discovering Dear Systems we found that the program allowed us greater functionality than most ERP systems. Although it is quite intuitive to use it packs a punch when you get deeper within the program with some functionality that much more expensive programs don’t have. Xero handles the accounting in the background whilst the sync between them works seamlessly so that you don’t notice that you are actually using 2 different programs.

Cons

The program just concentrates on inventory so other modules such as CRM are not fully developed and you would need to get an additional addin. Everything else works really well

Zeb
Zeb
  • Industry: Maritime
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 05/12/2018

Third year anniversary using dear Inventory

We run all our stock inventory through Dear, send all our quotes, sales orders, invoices etc through Dear.
It is a very good program for this and if we do hit a problem the tech support is excellent.

Pros

Its synchronization with Xero is excellent. In three years we have never had a sync issue. Also within Dear the inventory, sales and purchasing all work very well and the ability to drill through different layers to search products or orders is very good. We use the Product Availability function all the time to confirm status of sales orders v purchase orders and stock availability. We have also recently started to use the Attributes more for both sales orders and products and this has been a further tool within Dear to help us manage our day to day sales process.

Cons

What still infuriates me is the way that sales quotes show the sales margin against Average cost. This is hopeless folr any new product as there is no history and it is also hopeless if you receive a part into stock before you post the purchase invoice. Why we can't have the option in the step up to show the margin against either the supplier fixed cost or last purchase cost is beyond me!!!!!! Argh!!!!
We currently have to run all our project quotes through an Excel spreadsheet to make sure the margins are correct. This is really infuriating and as a result we are looking for alternative options for our stock management.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 16/11/2017

I Am Extremely Satisfied & Highly Recommend Dear Inventory!

Pros

After almost two years with DEAR, we couldn't be more pleased! We needed a centralised inventory system with CRM capabilities that could seamlessly integrate and sync to SHOPIFY, XERO, as well as our offline sales channels. Being in the food industry, we also needed a system that could track the shelf-life of our products, and make sure first expired items were sold first. This is an important feature for us that we did not find in TradeGecko, which we tested out as well before we made our decision in early 2016. DEAR also helps us keep track of our items on consignment (location / expiry date / batch number) as well as create hampers and other gift bundles with ease, thanks to their Bill of Materials function. I particularly enjoy the level of detail available to us, to store relevant information such as supplier SKUs and multiple price lists. The system is sturdy and the UX is straightforward and intuitive, which has made the transition easy for the whole team!

Tamara Agusta
General Manager
Profood Ltd

Cons

Occasionally DEAR can be a little slow to load, and customer service is not always as quick as one would like it to be.

Response from Cin7

Hi Tamara,

Thank you for the review. We are glad to hear that mostly everything is going well for you. If you ever do experience slow performance again please be sure to notify support immediately so our tech team can look into it. Our systems is not known for slow performance as we use top range data centers provide by Microsoft Azure.

Best Regards
DEAR Team

Replied 21/11/2017
David
David
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 13/11/2017

Plays nicely with Xero, handles our 5 international shopify websites and direct provisioning,...

Pros

We are loving this software, been using 8 months now and it is powerful. We run 5 e-commerce sites, 4 warehouses and sell in 3 currencies and it's handling all well. Support, as mentioned, isn't quite as easy as getting a call but we use their tutorials, common sense, their live chat.
We also paid for assistance with setup as we didn't want to make any mistakes and desired a bit of support from Work Smart NZ, these guys are great too and worth the extra investment if you value your time”

We are currently trying to get the good word out on various sites and we are hoping that you would to take the time out of their day to share it on Getapp:

Cons

The .docx invoice templates are hard work to manipulate, some more standardized system (like unleashed offers) would make life much easier.
No great integration with a CRM currently. Also they need a Zapier integration so it can connect to other web apps. We are using email parser functionality to achieve most of this but it's complicated.

Response from Cin7

Hi David,

Thanks so much for your review!

If you require assistance with your template customization feel free to take up our complimentary template customization service. Simply email support with all required changes and we will get it done.

In regards to CRM we currently have an integration with SALPO & Capsule CRM. If you would like mroe info about it please book in a call here https://classic.youcanbook.me/v2/jsps/cal.jsp?cal=ZgsGQaWduL34BrkiNkBY

Best Regards
DEAR Team

Replied 15/11/2017
Misa
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
2
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
2

2
Reviewed on 03/05/2018

Confusing, lack of support, lots of discrepancies with Xero integration, terrible reporting...

Pros

on the cloud.
works with Xero
multi user
Log and attributes - allow an audit trails

Cons

Reports: do not give enough flexibility to provide an overview of the business
Lack of overal flexibility i.e reports, templates for invoice, PO etc.
Integration with Xero needs improvement.
Need to have 'print all' function i.e multiple select orders, print all invoices or PO.

Response from Cin7

Hi Misa,
Some comments below address the points raised in your review:
Reports ¿ DEAR currently provides over 60 reports across purchasing, sales, inventory, manufacturing and financials. Reports are further customisable with ability to ¿drag and drop¿ a variety of data fields and can be exported to Excel for further modifications if necessary. Inflexible invoices ¿ DEAR utilises Word document type templates specifically for this reason, flexibility. You can reach out to support for template customisation at any time as you have done in the past. Bulk printing ¿ you can select sales or purchases from the relevant list and then select the documents you would like to print in bulk. Xero integration ¿ DEAR is a ¿5 star¿ rated Xero application in the Recommended Category and was nominated App Partner of November 2017. DEAR utilises Xero API almost in its entirety, however, if you have some suggestions on how to improve the integration we are happy listen.
Best Regards
DEAR Team

Replied 09/05/2018
Danielle
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 28/10/2019

We can get it to do what we need.

We have a retail store that sells custom furniture with a multi-month lead time. Most of the software out there assumes immediate fulfillment of orders so we had to have something to sit between our POS and our accounting software to "park" orders while in process. Also we wanted a robust backup for our ecommerce product information in order to easily manipulate product data and images especially in case we decide to change ecomm platforms in the future.

Pros

It is very adaptable and has a lot of features

Cons

It often takes a lot of adaptation to get exactly what I need out of the software. For example, for inventory management software, the question "what is the total dollar amount of on-hand inventory?" should be top of mind. Instead it's totally buried in a report not exactly suited for that purpose. So I had to tweak the report and favorite the amended report to have that info handy.

Alternatives Considered

Stitch Labs and Xero
Bethany
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
1

3
Reviewed on 27/02/2020

Lack of Communication with customers

Usually good, sometimes very frustrating.

Pros

It manages my inventory and order and is cloud based.

Cons

When Dear is upgrading its system, customers can find the software extremely slow or not working at all. This can go for weeks at a time causing massive frustration for my staff around the country as well as disruption to my business.
The lack of communication and support from DEAR mean you feel little loyalty to the product.

Response from Cin7

Hello Bethany,

Thank you for your feedback. We are constantly releasing new functionalities to improve the software and these releases are done over the weekend. The system is designed in a way that during an update the users aren't affected. Please visit https://dearsystems.com/release-notes/ to find out more about the releases.

We do provide 24/7 support. You can contact us via email ([email protected]), call (UK +44 145 160 7056 / AU +61 2 4058 4080 / US +1 415 650 1054), you can book a call with us on (https://calendly.com/support-dearsystems/meeting) or web chat (https://dearsystems.com/). We will also be having a WhatsApp number in a few weeks to enable our customers to contact us immediately on chat.

Best Regards,
DEAR Team

Replied 21/04/2020
Mohd Suffian
Mohd Suffian
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/11/2017

The best product of its kind in the market.

Pros

Very intuitive to use.
Many detailed features.
Excellent customer support.
Responsive to suggestions.

Cons

The way they handle the serial number of unique items of an SKU can be improved. As of right now, the auto-select serial number during 'pick' is prioritized alphabetically instead of numerically (i.e. serial number 11 is higher in auto-select priority as opposed to serial number 2), which is annoying.

Response from Cin7

Hi Mohd,

Thank you for your review we are glad to hear that things are going well with DEAR.

Just addressing your cons regarding serial number selection. It is not sorted based on alpha numerical, the auto pick is based on the costing method selected for the serialised product. If your costing method you used is the generic FIFO the system will sort it based on the First in First Out basis. If you need to be able to select which serial number you want to sell please use the Special Costing method. This will allow you to select which serialised product you want to sell during pick stage.

If you have any questions please feel free to contact us in [email protected] or book in a call here https://dearsystems.youcanbook.me/index.jsp

Best Regards
DEAR Team

Replied 21/11/2017
430 reviews