Coupa Reviews

4.1
Overall rating
Reviews

4.1
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Coupa

Point solutions are pointless: spend smarter with the leading spend management platform built for companies like you. The Coupa platform allows you to take control of your spend and position your business for resilience and...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
3.9
Features
3.9
Ease of Use
3.9
Customer Support
3.9

Browse Coupa Reviews

95 of 95 reviews
Sort by:
Hossain Md
Hossain Md
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 18/01/2022

Coupa - The Expense Manager for your business

Coupa Expense has been a great software for our company to manage the spent smartly with a full proof apprval process. It has brought more transparency and accountability among the team members. As an organisation, we really appreciate this platform and would like to suggest others to use this application in their business.

Pros

Coupa Expense is easy to use. The following features are most amazing to me -
1. Requisition and PO management.
2. Approval DoA/flow chart is very easy to assign.
3. Reimbursement process is simple.
4. Multiple currency is available.
5. Full spent analysis report feature.

Cons

Coupa Expense is one of the best expense management softwares and I personally do not see any improvement area for this software.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 05/06/2018

End user's love but application team might face hurdles

Effectively reduces cost, better operational efficiencies and better end user experience

Pros

The tool is meant to give a very good experience to end users. All the out of box functions are designed with high quality UI standards which will reduce the learning curve for end users. IT team don't have to spend hours to explain the features and functions as the terminologies and configurations are quite intuitive. Finally so much comes out of box if planned well and ahead of time a lot of customization requirement can be avoided. The T&E module is really liked by a lot of top tier business users.

Cons

The integration capability is not up to the mark. When it comes to customize a lot of road blocks can be faced but it seems the Product team is actively looking in to some of them and with every release they are making some advancement in this direction. There are some weird limitation on few types of reporting capabilities which I think should be there.

Whitney
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
2
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 08/05/2023

Horrible product with worse support

Below is part of a transcrpt with Support from last week:Support: Hello! I'm {NAME}, how may I be of assistance today? Me: Well first of [all] the last chat person just HUNG UP ON ME [via chat] because I was letting him know (respectfully) I was not pleased that I can't get phone support...I would like to speak to a manager please...I've been dealing with a problems since yesterday and this is now my 4th chat.Support: Do you want to get connected to the previous person? Me: No. He hung up on me...I would like to speak with a supervisor Support: Sorry for the inconvenience. Me: Yes inconvenience. Also rude. Also, your system is frustrating...I would like to speak with a supervisorSupport: Sorry, but there is no call support available. Can you please elaborate the issue in detail? Me: Well...so far all of the "help" via chat has not been helpful. What do you propose? I am frustrated because I have been over this MULTIPLE TIMES via chat Support: Sorry for the inconvenience. Me: Don't say that again, please. I don't believe it Support: Can you please elaborate the issue in detail? Me: One more time then....After 90 mins and three attempts to get rid of me, I finally had an answer - a very simple (yet non-obvious) "click here and add this" resolution.

Pros

I really don't like anything about Coupa. I am not a direct customer - I am a supplier who has had to interact with my customer's system infrequently over the years.

Cons

I find Coupa to be a poorly designed product, difficult to use, lacking many basic features, and which adds layers of complexity to minor workflows. But their Support is worse - no phone access, no escalation path - only a chat box where they repeatedly misunderstand questions and then request screenshots.

Top Coupa Alternatives

Oracle Database

SAP Ariba Strategic Sourcing

Patrick
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 22/03/2024

Supply Chain Guru and Coupa CSO

Pros

Coupa has a lot of fonctionnalities and solutions that offer anything you want and need for supply chain purposes. It offers a wide range of easy-to-use training courses.

Cons

The primary thing is that Coupa has a really expensive pricing structure.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Translation & Localization
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 16/07/2021

Coupa Review

Utilizing this product daily to send client invoices due for payment.

Pros

Its website is easy to navigate and upload invoices to. Support communication is a straight forward process as well.

Cons

It can be frustrating that the PO's need to be updated in order to process invoices. It is also frustrating that the system will not let you recall, void, or dispute an invoice that may have been uploaded incorrectly. It would be nice to be able to add changes even after an invoice has been submitted...even if that change was subject to client review.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 21/10/2022

Coupa

Overall experience is positive considering the time it saves and power it gives to its users .

Pros

Coupa speed is excellent and its is easy to use, whenever nee features are launched they are also easy to deploy and integration was smooth

Cons

Sometimes it hangs and does not respond but it happens rarely

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 04/02/2019

Coupa is a versatile platform for procurement as well as billing

This system works well and eliminates a lot of manual entry on the AP department.

Pros

You can make it as formal or informal as you want.
billing off of a PO is very simple

Cons

sometimes the servers speed is an issue.
it can take up to several minutes to process a single record.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 07/07/2021

Coupa Expense Software Review

I am happy with using Coupa expense

Pros

The user interface is good and it allows real time tracking of your transactions.

Cons

The one downside i have is the lack to customize your view or dashboard.

Verified Reviewer
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 10/07/2018

The best expense coding system we've ever had!

Pros

It is easy to learn and use! The process for updating and communicating about various transactions is so much simpler than it used to be. It's saved us time by keeping communication between our users and approvers streamlined. The fact that I can just hit "reply" to an email asking me to adjust some coding on a receipt has kept me from digging around in my company directory, figuring out who to call with a question, and getting redirected often. So much faster.

Cons

It can be a little slow to load and the mobile version has often had issues uploading receipt images or giving me access to all the coding breakdowns I need.

Verified Reviewer
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 03/04/2018

All purchases are placed through this system to deliver to accounting

Pros

The Simplicity of entering items to be approved. The different areas are very self explanatory and it is easy to navigate through.

Cons

Repetitiveness of entering information or submitting something. After entering all the information on one page it makes you re-approve on the next page. When adding another line to the items in cart, it makes you completely re-enter all information which is frustrating when the items are linked but may just be different in price.

jennifer
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 15/02/2023

Great billing tool

Pros

It's an easy way to keep track of your invoiced and bill he companies/clients you work with

Cons

It does has a learning curve, i needed someone o guide me through the initial process, bu once you understand i it is very easy to use and keep sharing ongoing invoices

siva
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 29/01/2018

Intuitive and stream lined invoice automation

Pros

With Coupa invoicing, your Account payables can handle less paper, reduce errors and decrease the invoice processing times drastically.With Coupa Invoicing, electronic invoices flow into the system from the suppliers, are automatically matched to a PO or contract (two-way or three-way matching), channeled for approval, and then routed for payment. The entire automated invoicing process is electronic for 100% accuracy. With Coupa invoicing one can Strengthen supplier relationships, use resources more effectively, capture early payment discounts, increase compliance, and reduce business risk. Suppliers will love Coupa, because they can monitor the status of their invoice online via a self service portal. There are multiple ways invoices will be processed in Coupa invoicing Viz via supplier portal, Emailed invoices to Accounts Payables etc. Coupa invoicing has automated invoice matching and tolerances capability, supplier actionable notifications, mobile friendly app.

Cons

Coupa cannot handle accounting. It needs to be integrated with an accounting software or Enterprise Resource Planning tool.

Hicham
  • Industry: Outsourcing/Offshoring
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 20/07/2023

Coupa experience

Positive experience

Pros

The quick response and also gathering remarks from validators to adjust things if needed

Cons

Sometimes we need to add more details to give full view for approval process

Dawn
  • Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 21/05/2018

Coupa Accounting and Expense (implementation)

Pros

We have used Coupa Accounting for a number of years, and just purchased Coupa Expense. Really excited about:
- Mileage capture (save a lot of time)
- Receipt parsing (e.g. we don't have to type in expenses--line items pulled from the receipt)
- Mobile submission of expenses
- Embedding tutorial videos for new users directly into the interface
- Level of partnership and support to implement successfully

Cons

Too soon to tell, as we have not yet gone live. Based on our previous experience with Coupa AP and our current experience thus far, I have high expectations for the project.

Paul
  • Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 03/09/2018

This product is very valuable to a large organization and specifically the accounting teams of...

Pros

1. Can be configured in almost any way a business needs. 2. Approval chains can be as simple or complex as you need them. 3. Administration can be managed by accounting team. 4. Integration with Google maps for mileage records. 5. Super easy for users to adopt

Cons

1. Implementation can be painful depending on which route you go. Coupa may direct you to a third party they partner with and you may be stuck we super strict deadlines and change orders if you aren't able to stick to them.

shetal
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 06/02/2018

simple and user friendly expense management software

mobile app, automatic mileage calculations, streamlined approvals, inbuilt analytics

Pros

Coupa makes reimbersement of employee expenses a breeze. Credit card Transactions can be automatically loaded.Coupa expenses Mobile app comes with voice capture capability. The expenses approval workflows are streamlined. Expenses policies can be changed easily. Based on the expenses history and other industry data, coupa flags each expense on a frugal meter thus encouraging employee to spend less.

Cons

Coupa needs to be integrated with ERP for accounting and payments. Sometimes this is a pain as there can be integration issues.

Marsha
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 18/11/2016

We should have done this years ago!

Our company was stuck in an antiquated paper-based system of tracking indirect spend. Originally it was fine, as managers were able to keep up with their approving responsibilities. As time went on and the company grew, managers backed off of this responsibility and invoices were coming in without any purchase orders, let alone signed ones. Time for a change. I researched many indirect spend, procure-to-pay software systems until we decided on Coupa. We are very happy with the program. Not only does it put the responsibilities back on the requestors and the approvers, we have opened up more time for our Accounts Payable Clerk to handle other meaningful tasks.

Pros

Ease of use; supplier portal

Cons

Currently the phone application does not allow a user to create a requisition

Laxmikanth
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
2
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

1
Reviewed on 16/03/2018

Very rigid application without any Flexibility

Please do proper due deligence and do not rely on sales pitch. The only reason i am writing this review is to save others because i do not want anyone else to go through the pain we have been through.

My recommendation - Do not bother looking at Coupa. Look for other options

Pros

Honestly, except the user interface which is common on most expense applications there is nothing much to offer.

Cons

Does not support entire credit card transaction feed
Application is rigid and does not offer any flexibility.
They over promised when selling and under delivered
Customer support is bad

Robert
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
4

2
Reviewed on 15/11/2023

powerrubber.com 's opinion

if you want to loos your money, it is a good place to buy for access. 0 refund or return.

Pros

only the colours which are a very calm and proper for this type of platform

Cons

nothing, we lost our money, so please choose wiser.

Erika
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 25/10/2020

Comprehensive and easy to use

Overall, Coupa makes the RFx process faster, easier, and more objective, thus yielding better results.

Pros

Coupa’s ability to take inputs in any form (question, statement, text, numeric, percentages, etc) and track and compare them is incredibly useful for the bidding process.

Cons

Having to delete a bid or item field, without the ability to edit them in the template, is more cumbersome than necessary.

Bill
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
2
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
2

3
Reviewed on 23/04/2020

Limited support for Suppliers

Fair. If Coupa would assist the supplier more it would help their customers in implementing some of the solutions (cXML, Flat File, etc.)

Pros

Fairly easy to use. Not very complicated.

Cons

From the Supplier portal perspective there is not much functionality. The only support mechanism is via Chat. The techs seemed to be limited in knowledge to what is just on the Supplier Portal. Any questions related to how to assist our 'mutual' customer they can not answer and state you need to contact customer. Some customers do not have the technical capability to assist a supplier thus making enhancements to the supplier/customer relationship difficult. Customers seem to not get a very good response time from Customer Portal techs which exacerbates the issue.

Megan
Megan
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 09/01/2019

Coupa Review

It's quick and easy to use and learn!

Pros

It is so easy to put in a request for a PO and attach documents and information needed for the purchase. The request then gets sent to the appropriate people for approval and purchase. The accounting team then does the rest!

Cons

I forget to upload the receipt sometimes.

Stephen
Stephen
  • Industry: Sporting Goods
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
2
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
N/A

2
Reviewed on 10/05/2019

Incredibly Frustrating

Pros

For an invoicing software, it does the trick. It can keep track of what you owe and how long you've owed it.

Cons

Where to begin? The UI is terrible. The software is incredibly cumbersome and not user friendly at all. I can't imagine why anybody likes using it.

Valerie
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 05/10/2016

Events Coordinator Using Coupa

I find Coupa to be very easy and straightforward. I do find that I have difficulty editing when I need to go back. It seems I have to delete the entire Coupa that I submit when I need to make a change, and end up starting from scratch.

Pros

It is quick and easy to use.

Cons

I find that it is difficult to make edits to the coupas after I have submitted them. I also think that the feature to alert the people who need to approve the Coupa, is lacking. Even if I put a date that I need the Coupa by, I feel like it doesn't register enough with the people who need to approve it. Maybe have some reminders?

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 24/10/2018

Coupa Expenses

Pros

Coupa Expenses allows me to easily create expense reports to submit for reimbursement. It is easy to log in via the web and I can create multiple expense reports per month for different projects. My company was able to pre-populate the expense categories and projects so I can classify my expenses properly.

Cons

When loading a receipt it take a few seconds to actually load which slows down the process when I have to add a lot of expenses.

95 reviews