CapLinked Reviews

4.5
Overall rating
Reviews

4.5
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About CapLinked

CapLinked is a cloud-based virtual data room for file sharing and document management that helps businesses seeking to exchange confidential documents with third parties. The most common uses of the application include mergers...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.4
Features
4.2
Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Support
4.6

Browse CapLinked Reviews

123 of 123 reviews
Sort by:
Penny
Penny
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 06/02/2018

CapLinked is an excellent VDR that is easy to navigate.

This program works perfectly for our needs.
The invites sometimes get caught in spam but that's to be expected. Manual invites are simple to send when this happens.

Pros

Reasonably priced, secure and easy to use software. Great customer support!
I would definitely recommend this software to anyone looking for a virtual data room.

Response from CapLinked

Hello Penny,

We are glad to hear you found our platform cost efficient and straightforward! We hope to work with you again for future projects.

Caplinked

Replied 05/12/2019
Verified Reviewer
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 24/01/2018

Caplinked is powerful and easy to use

Pros

We chose Caplinked for it's easy to use/ fast modern interface, great customer support, powerful features and transparent pricing. They have a lot of features that you won't find in other VDR's (I've tried 3 different competitors). Their customer support really stood out to me as they've been very responsive and personable throughout our entire experience; from on-boarding to day-to-day use. Every member of our team was able to quickly learn the software. I feel very comfortable sharing sensitive and confidential documents through Caplinked.

Response from CapLinked

Hello!

We are glad to hear you found our platform user friendly and straightforward! We hope to work with you again for future projects.

Caplinked

Replied 04/12/2019
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Warehousing
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
2
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
1

3
Reviewed on 12/03/2021

Looking for a new solution

Looking for an alternative and my M&A group agrees.

Pros

Cheap and simplistic. Not a very sophisticated system.

Cons

It's website touts that you have permission control, but you don't, you can NEVER correct, delete, change anyone you have put in your system. The customer service person is snarky and rude. I have used other products at other companies and am very aware of what a quality system can do. This isn't it.

Response from CapLinked

Hello,

Thank you for your review and we appreciate your feedback.

We are sorry to hear that you experienced difficulty with navigating user access permissions. CapLinked allows for management of user access with the data room via the Permissions page. Please feel free to reach out our support team resources with any questions for assistance!

Replied 26/03/2021

Top CapLinked Alternatives

Verified Reviewer
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 20/03/2018

It's a good low-cost solution but certainly lacks some of the functionality of a premium...

Was able to conduct file sharing for a sellside M&A process with multiple potential buyers each requiring different permission levels.

Pros

Quickness of uploads, it's a low-cost solution, we also appreciated the amount of data we were to upload and that the pricing was not a variable per page model

Cons

Lack of reporting functions such as well-organized index reports, permission setting, draft mode takes the whole data room offline,

Response from CapLinked

Hello!

We are glad to hear you found our platform cost efficient and straightforward! The Activity Tracker provides index reports in several categories. We hope to work with you again for future projects.

Caplinked

Replied 05/12/2019
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 25/08/2019

Useful Data Room Service

I advise a lot of early stage companies and turned several clients onto this instead of our home grown solution.

Pros

It is a very robust, lower cost option for companies that need to use a data room for their funding transactions. Especially compared to larger vendors or building an in-house system.

Cons

May not have all the bells and whistles of the larger vendors, but not critical ones. If you don't need every functionality out there, this will work.

Response from CapLinked

Hello!

We are glad to hear you experienced ease in using Caplinked security features! We truly appreciate your feedback. We hope to work with you for future projects.

Thank you,
Caplinked

Replied 05/12/2019
Verified Reviewer
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/01/2018

Everything we needed and more!

Ultra-fast due diligence, seamless transaction and and extremely easy to use VDR platform at a competitive cost. The ability to monitor workflow and ease of mind regarding document security made a usually chaotic and confusing experience easy to navigate.

Pros

The base platform is extremely easy to use and to setup your virtual data room. There are so many extras that we found over competitors, which is why we chose caplinked. The best part, is that you can decide who gets to see what document and workflow is quickly and easily monitored and measured here. You can customize the dashboard in almost any way imaginable. For us, the winning factor, was customer service. The Caplinked customer service team was truly phenomenal. Extremely knowledgeable, super responsive and just really kind and helpful. It was truly a 360° service.

Cons

There wasn't anything I would complain about. It could get a bit complicated in extreme customization, but that is completely to be expected. If you don't use a VDR on a daily basis, it's hard to understand all of the Caplinked capabilities available to you. That's where their superior customer service comes into play.

Response from CapLinked

Hello!

We are glad to hear your experience with Caplinked went well! We hope to work with you again for future projects.

Caplinked

Replied 04/12/2019
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Investment Banking
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 24/05/2019

CapLinked is integral in managing our M&A Office

Pros

Ease of use and the tracking functionality

Cons

Can't delete workspaces without contacting support.

Response from CapLinked

Hello!

We are glad to hear you experienced ease in using Caplinked! Admins will soon have the ability to delete workspaces at their discretion. We hope to work with you for future projects.

Thank you,
Caplinked

Replied 05/12/2019
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 24/05/2019

CapLinked vs Sharepoint

Very positive. Company was going through re-financing and required a virtual data room for authenticated prospects/investors. CapLinked helped in setting structure for various documents and management of the distribution of the documents.

Pros

Ease of use, UI , role / project based set up. For most part very intuitive and address majority of the requirements. We shifted form internal Sharepoint solution and were up and running with CapLinked in under 4 hours.

Cons

Having to manage documents in multiple places. Would have preferred to have caplinked manage the LINKS to documents in their "native" locations rather than uploading them and having to maintain consistency with revisions.

Response from CapLinked

Hello!

We are glad to hear your experience with Caplinked overall positive! We truly appreciate your feedback. We hope to work with you for future projects.

Thank you,
Caplinked

Replied 05/12/2019
Christopher
Christopher
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 10/02/2018

Does what I need it to do

Easy to conduct a survey without frustratingly long and complex questions

Pros

Caplinked makes it easy to upload confidential files and can control who has access to them. I like the way I can limit the time users have to view files.

Cons

Would be nice to build our own graphical reports. There's really only 1 graphical report, the activity tracker.

Response from CapLinked

Hello Christopher,

We are glad to hear you found our platform user friendly and straightforward! We are currently working on updated the Activity Tracker feature for an improved experience. We hope to work with you again for future projects.

Caplinked

Replied 05/12/2019
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/01/2018

CapLinked has provided my company with a secure platform with all the functions we need, yet...

Pros

CapLinked's organizational interface makes it easy to navigate files and manage documents. You never feel insecure while sharing confidential information through CapLinked. The permission settings make it easy to decide which groups can and cannot read specific files.The best part is the tracking system to review activity on each file.

Response from CapLinked

Hello!

We are glad to hear you experienced ease in using Caplinked security features! We hope to work with you again for future projects.

Caplinked

Replied 04/12/2019
Raj
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
2
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 17/05/2019

Owner

So far so good except the cons described above. Having a data room is very professional and we love offering that service through caplinked!

Pros

Easy to use and is visually appealing (to look at on a daily basis). Good price and has basic features that everyone needs. I like having the control to the dataroom and have knowing what user has what type of access.

Cons

I think the biggest con is to have to contact caplinked to delete a data room, and that to they only delete on Thursdays. Also I think caplinked should send out an email when your running over your space in the data room. Those are the two biggest problems

Response from CapLinked

Hello Raj,

We are glad to hear your experience with Caplinked went well! Admins will soon have the ability to delete workspace at their discretions. We truly appreciate your feedback. We hope to work with you for future projects.

Thank you,
Caplinked

Replied 05/12/2019
Jeff
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 02/08/2016

Solid platform with ever evolving features.

After using Formstack for many years we needed a more powerful solution. I reviewed approximately 8 different products and judging on features and value CapLinked was the clear winner.

Pros

Watermarking, white labeling, ability to send feature ideas/requests to customer service that actually get reviewed and implemented.

Cons

Areas that are under development to be improved have to do with navigation, reporting and general user experience. There are no serious flaws.

Response from CapLinked

Hi Jeff, thank you for choosing CapLinked! Glad to hear you had a positive experience with us.

Replied 02/08/2016
Ashok
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 07/02/2018

I am a first time user and my first experience has been good. It is a great product

Pros

the ease of use is what stands out. It was easy to onboard other users as well quickly. The user interface is intuitive and the software is stable. I was able to do the initial configuration within 15 minutes. I have used customer support extensively. They have been very patient and helpful. they seem committed to resolving the customer's issue. Suggestions to improve the product were taken in the right spirit. I do hope some of the suggested features find place in subsequent releases.

Cons

The software has certain issues handling PDF documents created by scanning physical documents. There is no feature to view permissions for a folder directly. The Search functionality is very basic and there is ample scope for improvement.

Response from CapLinked

Hello Ashok,

Thank you for your feedback! We are constantly improving our features, including folder level permissions, for the ease of users. You are now able to view the Permissions of a group based on the folder. We hope to work with you again for future projects.

Caplinked

Replied 05/12/2019
Fulvio
  • Industry: Luxury Goods & Jewelry
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 01/06/2021

Perfect tool for mid-sized company due diligence

Pros

Ease of use and full features for a very good value for money

Cons

Sometimes downloaded documents take too long to be readable

Alternatives Considered

Digify

Reasons for Choosing CapLinked

Price

Switched From

Drooms

Reasons for Switching to CapLinked

Superior interface and pricing

Response from CapLinked

Hi Fulvio,

Thank you for your review of CapLinked! We appreciate your feedback and are glad that you've found ease of use within the platform.

CapLinked Team

Replied 09/06/2021
Christine
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 06/07/2022

MainStreet CFO CapLinked Review

Pros

Easy to use, can set different permissions for different groups, can preview file before opening or downloading.

Cons

Difficult and time consuming to upload large files.

Response from CapLinked

Hello Christine,

Thank you for your review! We appreciate your feedback as a CapLinked customer.

Thank you,
CapLinked

Replied 25/07/2022
Alicia
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 03/05/2018

CapLinked is very transparent with its price, has great customer support, and easy to use.

Great online support, customer representative is available all day any time. User friendly and recommended to my friends and business partners.

Pros

Any person who has no experience can learn how to use CapLinked in sorting, filing, audit, and tracking communication. It is super easy to use and has a great platform and extremely secure.

Cons

There can be better methods to export data. For example, exporting data should be user friendly and neatly organized. Some features need update.

Response from CapLinked

Hello Alicia,

We are glad to hear you experienced ease in using Caplinked security features! We are constantly improving our features for the ease of users. We appreciate input from the user perspective. We hope to work with you again for future projects.

Thank you,
Caplinked

Replied 05/12/2019
Liz
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 20/03/2018

Fairly easy to get up and running.

Pros

Protects sensitive information, allows us to see who has accessed, when, and for how long. Download and printing permissions/restrictions are available.

Cons

Minor complaint, but I don't like that when you give an existing member access to a new folder, they don't automatically get an email alert. We often use different folders for different projects and the invitations to separate folders may come months apart, so folks forget that they are already in the system.

Response from CapLinked

Hello Liz,

Thank you for your feedback! We are constantly improving our features, including notifications feature, for the ease of users. We appreciate input from the user perspective. We hope to work with you again for future projects.

Caplinked

Replied 05/12/2019
Peter
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 18/01/2022

Good combination of value and features

Pros

Overall this was a good virtual data room for storing and transmitting information, tracking activity and managing the process.

Cons

The permissions functionality was a little clunky and would have liked better alerts for certain activities

Response from CapLinked

Hello Peter,

We are glad to hear you experienced ease overall using CapLinked! We are always working to improve CapLinked for our clients and appreciate your review.

Thank you for your feedback,
CapLinked

Replied 31/01/2022
Sahil
  • Industry: Investment Management
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/03/2018

Splendid!

Investor Management; Document management; DD Management and Contract Management

Pros

Security, Ease of Use and fully feature packed! Customer support was round the clock and very supportive.

Cons

It is really difficult to think of a con. There are no cons. It's one of the best platforms I have ever used.

Response from CapLinked

Hello Sahil,

We are glad to hear you found our platform user friendly and straightforward! We hope to work with you again for future projects.

Caplinked

Replied 05/12/2019
Edgar
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 07/02/2018

Very good plataform!

Pros

Easy to use and manage.
Clean interface make it very legible.
Watermarks are a must!
Lots of logs to keep an eye on the evolution.

Cons

Its a little pricey and offers extras a little expensive.
Changing the folders permissions, when you have several groups and folders could be improved, to avoid extra clicks.

Response from CapLinked

Hello Edgar,

Thank you for your feedback! We are constantly improving our features, including folder and file permissions, for the ease of users. We appreciate input from the user perspective. We hope to work with you again for future projects.

Caplinked

Replied 05/12/2019
Patrick
Patrick
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
N/A

2
Reviewed on 06/09/2022

Budget Option and It Shows

Pros

It is super cheap and a lot of early stage companies use it but it comes at a cost of the quality of the product

Cons

Very difficult to use, the access control functionality is not intuitive

Response from CapLinked

Hi Patrick,

We appreciate your feedback! If we can assist in providing a better experience or any additional resources for setting permissions or granting access, please feel free to reach out to our support team or visit https://support.caplinked.com/hc/en-us.

The CapLinked Team

Replied 08/12/2023
Jaleli
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 10/08/2021

"Great Product"

Excellent.

Pros

The ease of use is one of the reasons why we like CapLinked. We work with many outside consultants and investors who need to access folders and files so finding a platform that they could all access without trouble and allows us to give access to different documents for different organizations was great.

Sharing links is easy and the feature that shows you the detailed activities of each invitee is also very helpful.

Cons

The look and feel of the site. It could be a lot more crisp and modern.

Response from CapLinked

Hello Jaleli,

We truly appreciate your feedback and will review your considerations in future updates. Thank you for your glowing review!

Thank you,
CapLinked

Replied 31/08/2021
Kartik
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 27/03/2018

Easy

Pros

The software is user-friendly. The customer support is quick. There are good features and functionalities in the product

Cons

Some of the functionalities of the CapLinked software are not intuitively placed and took some time to find and use.

Response from CapLinked

Hello Kartik,

We are glad to hear you found our platform user friendly and straightforward! We are constantly improving our features for the ease of users. We hope to work with you again for future projects.

Thank you,
Caplinked

Replied 05/12/2019
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 12/01/2018

Easy to use software, and awesome customer support.

Pros

Really intuitive platform that made me more effecient. Would recommend this to anyone as a better alternative to Dropbox. It's just better for businesses.

Cons

I don't really have any cons with the platform, it really functions nicely and is simple to use. Would recommmend to all businesses.

Response from CapLinked

Hello!

We are glad to hear your experience with Caplinked went well. We hope to work with you again for future projects.

Caplinked

Replied 04/12/2019
Thomas
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 30/09/2016

CapLinked Review

We have been using this platform now for about six months. It is by far, the easiest data room tool I have ever used. The folks at CapLinked are great to work with and very responsive, however, the product is so intuitive to use, I didn't have to utilize their support very much at all.

Pros

Very easy to use. Data uploads are intuitive and fast.

Cons

Really, nothing.

Response from CapLinked

Hi Thomas, we're so happy to hear you've had a positive experience using CapLinked!

Replied 30/09/2016
123 reviews