JIRA Service Management Reviews

4.5
Overall rating
Reviews

4.5
Overall rating
Reviews
Visit Website

User Reviews Overview

About JIRA Service Management

Formerly known as Jira Service Desk, Jira Service Management is an IT service management solution that unlocks high-velocity teams. IT is in the midst of rapid transformation to build capabilities that enable quick delivery of...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.3
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Support
4.3

Browse JIRA Service Management Reviews

665 of 665 reviews
Sort by:
Shayla
Shayla
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 15/02/2023

Probably the top program for managing projects

Jira is a sophisticated and flexible project management solution with a wide range of applications. Jira's strengths lie in the depth of its task management features, the breadth of its integrations, and the depth of its reporting and analytics tools, all of which contribute to the program's capacity to help you better understand your projects and teams.

Pros

To accommodate the fact that various people have different ways of doing things, this user interface may be easily altered to fit individual needs. Jira makes it simple and quick to design and implement unique workflows and rules. One way to break down large projects into manageable chunks is to keep everyone in the loop on how things are shaping up.

Cons

Jira's flexibility allows for personalization, but more in-depth modifications may call for specialized skillsets.Performance difficulties: Some users may have performance issues, especially when working with larger projects or those that include complicated procedures.

Tora
Tora
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 30/04/2023

Expert service management system

I mainly use it for task management on small projects, but I plan to gradually expand the scope of use as I get used to the operation and screen environment. Since it can be used in a wide range, it is recommended that I use it for task management and workflow for small-scale projects with a small number of people to get a feel for its operation. Sharing issues with project members in other companies or remote locations is possible. You can discuss and work on a common visualized platform, such as managing work progress and solving problems.

Pros

It is a slightly different tool from the so-called general ITSM system (or service). Operation and maintenance (though not limited to) tend to be individualized. Still, JIRA caters to tasks and support on a "role" basis, so sharing knowledge using OJT is possible, depending on ingenuity.

Cons

It may be a problem due to the multifunction, but I think the problem is that the screen is a bit hard to see. (The problem may be solved by changing the layout of frequently used functions, but I haven't used it much yet, so I think it will be a problem that will be solved as I use it).

Alternatives Considered

ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

Reasons for Choosing JIRA Service Management

Because we can search by tag, we can quickly find problems and solutions, success stories and reference examples. Since the SLA can be configured according to individual design, the achievement status can be confirmed in a report, and the current progress and what needs to be done can be shared immediately. Full-text search is possible with indexing, so this system has a sense of security, even if you think you missed it.

Switched From

ServiceNow

Reasons for Switching to JIRA Service Management

Functionality that manages queries centrally. Improved working conditions enhance visualization and efficiency. Queries, support and information distribution are centralized, so there is no waste in work, and it is simple and clear what to do next so that I can do my job.
Terry
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 13/12/2023

Jira is a good tool but need to know the limitation

The ITSM offers a high-quality service and a competitive price compared to other tools. However, it requires a skilled implementation partner for a successful deployment. This tool also needs ongoing support and maintenance to ensure optimal performance. It is not advisable to rely on a short-term professional service during deployment without continuous support/improvement.

Pros

Jira's ITSM module is user-friendly and intuitive. You don't need much training to master it. One of the features I appreciate most is the ability to mention other people with @ in the comment section and keep them updated on the ticket status.

Cons

The IT asset management module is very complex and requires a lot of configuration to enable the basic features. The out of box feature in this module was not useful for my purposes. I had to set up the IT asset classes from the schema level, which was time-consuming and tedious.

Top JIRA Service Management Alternatives

Natasha
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 18/01/2024

Review from a user

Pros

JIRA is the most useful tool for my remote team. I love that I get a bird's eye view of the items and statuses of what my team is working on. I am able to get a quick summary of the items that will make this month's sprint. It also makes collaboration easier as the system promotes ownership, accountability, and progress.

Cons

I wish we can assign more than one user to a card or assign a whole team.

Jayanth
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 14/08/2023

JIRA is the best overall Bug & Issue Project Management tool

Pros

- JIRA is very simple to setup & deploy for beginners & can also be used very effectively by advanced users- Has integrations with other tools- JIRA helps report, manage & track bugs, product features via tickets in 1 place- JIRA has history of tickets, work logs, etc that help document projects & promote overall accountability

Cons

- JIRA can be expensive for small companies & small teams- JIRA needs licenses for users just to view the JIRA board & tickets

Alternatives Considered

monday.com

Reasons for Switching to JIRA Service Management

We chose JIRA as everyone were familiar with the tool & had prior experience with using it.
Laura
Laura
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 22/09/2023

Simple and effective task management software

It's useful for monitoring progress and coordinating the many tasks that have been delegated. In fact, the tool's progress track can be used to make estimates for the deadlines themselves.

Pros

We utilize Jira to proactively guard against issues, notify clients when they are discovered, and monitor their progress and enhancements. Having the assignor's identity and that of the assigned person clearly shown also helps establish trust.

Cons

I had trouble finding older tickets or finding out who else had been assigned to the key I was working on; an internal chat function could greatly benefit those of us waiting for clients to respond to comments.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 01/04/2024

Great ITSM

Pros

Tool with good features and great for tracking tickets. Perfect for collaboration with your teammates. I like the customizable dashboard.

Cons

As any software of this kind the setup can be complex and difficult for new users.

Meylis
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 26/03/2024

Highly productive management software

Pros

Features and functions to manage tasks and sub-tasks

Cons

Since there are quite a bit of features, which is good, but it took some time to learn and get used to them.

Angeli Eloise
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 08/04/2024

Great way for multi-department ticket processing!

Pros

Can be viewed by anyone, easily connected to Salesforce

Cons

Comment thread is a bit long, hoping overall layout can be improved

Ruchir
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 02/05/2024

Easy to use bug tracking system

Pros

Its an effective tool for tracking and managing bugs. Tool is intuitive and easy to use for beginners.

Cons

The search functionality can be improved. Searching for issues becomes challenging sometimes

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Music
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 23/07/2019

A great option for on-site ICT service desk management

Overall we are very happy with Jira Service Desk; it has allowed us to provide a higher level of support to users than our previous service desk, and non-profit pricing was very beneficial for us. The software is usable in its default setup but we have found that there is still plenty of customisation that can be done if needed to suit more complex requirements.

Pros

I find the UI of Jira Service Desk very clean and modern compared to other service desks software on the market. Included with the service desk is a customisable user-facing portal for users to raise tickets in, which proved very popular with staff when raising tickets alongside traditional email tickets. Due to the way Jira splits service desks into different projects, we were able to create service desks for other departments in the organisation which helped improve productivity and workflow. There are some very useful and well-designed default reports included for ticket statistics (which can be used to keep management happy!). We found the default setup of Jira Service Desk fit our needs very well, but it is very easy to customise ticket workflows and other features to suit more complex needs.

Cons

For a service desk technician using Jira Service Desk the back-end UI for managing tickets can be a little overwhelming, however this can be fixed by editing the default workflows for tickets to hide not required information and details. The administration settings are somewhat unintuitively set out for system administrators, but once you get to grips with the layout it becomes easy enough to find what you need from the settings page. We found the instructions on the Atlassian website for setting up an external redirect with a custom URL in IIS a little sparse on detail, but a quick trip to the Atlassian forums cleared up any queries we had with the process.

Reasons for Choosing JIRA Service Management

We switched as part of a service contract change which meant our Kaseya service desk which was provided by our MSP was no longer an option. Instead we decided to look at alternative service desk software that could be used for our needs, and as we were at the time considering implementing both OpsGenie and Confluence (which are also Atlassian products) we decided to remain in the Atlassian ecosystem and choose Jira Service Desk.

Switched From

Kaseya VSA

Reasons for Switching to JIRA Service Management

We chose Jira Service Desk as it was one of the few with a pricing model that worked for us; being a non-profit organisation, their free licencing for non-profits was a huge selling point to us. This was coupled with the fact we were at the time considering implementing both OpsGenie and Confluence (which are also Atlassian products) so we felt staying within the Atlassian ecosystem would prove beneficial.
Nathan
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 23/06/2023

Jira Service Management a Powerful Ticket System

Overall when the software works it does the job, it's a bit of a nightmare to configure and the costings are not the cheapest but not as expensive as competitor products, i.e. zendesk, freshdesk etc.

Pros

Works very well as a ticket system, it's very customisable and uses JQL for custom queries if you're inclined towards detailed reporting. Third Party Addins available online in their marketplace and bountyful automation features.

Cons

It's very difficult to setup requires alot of time and effort and the software is not userfriendly so if you're implenting for a team that isn't IT literate then perhaps include some extra training days.

Alternatives Considered

Freshdesk and Zendesk Suite

Reasons for Choosing JIRA Service Management

We outgrew spiceworks and required a real ticket system

Reasons for Switching to JIRA Service Management

Functionality was near identical it came down to price and the fact we already used Jira for our Dev enviroment.
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 01/04/2022

Service Management Tool Anybody Can Use

Pros

The ease of use and anybody can use the tool for Ticketing, project management, issue tracking, dashboards etc...

Cons

The options are at times clumsy and confuse the end users when the data is too much.

Alternatives Considered

ServiceNow

Reasons for Choosing JIRA Service Management

The cost was too high and we couldn't afford the price for the project budget.

Switched From

Track-It!
Jordan
Jordan
  • Industry: Outsourcing/Offshoring
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/01/2023

A great tool that brings visibility, productivity and collaboration to the team

You can take so much value from Jira is used correctly and if the team is well aware on how to use it. We use it on our daily standups and it helps a lot see what other team members are doing and their progress. You can easily spot who has more buffer and who needs a hand. The history feature is also a big plus to see what was changed in the description of the cards. I see this tool is a perfect fit for big companies.

Pros

Estimating the team's velocity can be pretty accurate when the users fill in their Story Points and the time to completion. Cards also provide a lot of information, team members can collaborate in the comments section and the ability to create sub-tasks is a big plus.

Cons

Jira can become overwhelming for newcomers, specially if there are no explicit policies on how to use it. Also, when marking tasks as Done, it feels the completion time fields are a bit redundant.

Thomas
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 25/07/2023

Very happy 2+ years use of JIRA.

Pros

Pretty much everything to do with ticket management and notifications from our internal 'customers'

Cons

The search functionality could do with some work when looking for older tickets and the searching of 'similar requests'

Alternatives Considered

Zoho Desk and Zendesk Suite

Reasons for Switching to JIRA Service Management

More customization that some of the competitors but not so much so as to make it confusing to set up.
Justin Alex
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 23/08/2017

Highly customizable and integrates well with the Atlassian ecosystem

Customization, integrations, workflows, SLAs

Pros

Newbies to JIRA Service Desk can get a service desk project up and running in less than 30 minutes. If your organization is already using JIRA for issue tracking, then having a help desk with Service Desk is a no brainer. It allows you to integrate software teams and IT teams better within the same ecosystem.

The benefit of JIRA Service Desk, when compared with other help desk tools, is the customizability of your workflow. You can set up a workflow to be simple (with Open > In Progress > Closed statuses) or complex (with other statuses like On Hold or Waiting for Customer).

SLAs are highly configurable, with the power of JIRA's JQL functionality. So one can conjure up a query to fit their SLA needs. With the addition of custom fields, a Service Desk administrator can create fields to capture important information to streamline the help desk process.

Having Confluence also provides more benefits in which you can integrate an existing knowledge base space to a help desk project and self-serve your customers.

Finally, being in the Atlassian ecosystem enables you to add additional functionality and enhancements with the use of Apps. There are close to 1500 apps available for JIRA, and many are constantly updated by the app developers.

Cons

Administering JIRA Service Desk (and JIRA in general) can be daunting for a new user. With a number of customizations that one can do in a JIRA application, there will come a time where there can be a performance impact on the environment if the application is not governed well.

The Customer Portal (customer facing interface) is spartan in terms of customization. You can only customize so much, but it is limited in terms of branding it to suit your company's design specs.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 02/05/2023

Cumbersome and slow, but no challenger

We're using Jira to manage our tickets and it works well. There are solid alternatives and competitors in the field, so I'm not sure for how long we'll keep using jira.

Pros

The feature set of Jira is very wide, it is possible to achieve a lot. The ticket management system works, and it is possible to customize it a lot. Custom fields, custom status, sceens shown in transitions, automation rules based on triggers, ...Jira being extremely famous, it has the advantage of being easy to connect to virtually anything: sentry, aws, circle ci, slack, notion, figma, github, ...

Cons

The UI is confusing, slow, and sometime very painful. For instance, for the longest time they did not support the markdown syntax in the text boxes. I consider myself very experienced with Jira and yet, I still get lost. Especially when it comes to managing boards or project or admin settings.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 14/11/2022

Good Tool for driving ITSM processes

Overall we are very pleased with Jira Service Management and have implemented incident management processes using it.

Pros

User friendly, easy to learn, integrates well with Atlassian eco system, roles based access control, licensed based on service agents

Cons

Dashboard and reporting gadgets can be improved further to provide better trend reports for the incidents, marketplace plugins can become overwhelming.

Alternatives Considered

ServiceNow

Switched From

Freshservice

Reasons for Switching to JIRA Service Management

Better pricing and Atlassian ecosystem
Andrea
  • Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 19/11/2019

Best on premise

We use on premise version. Software administration can be burdensome for a small staff, updates and monitoring can require quite a lot of time. Price raised two times since first purchase. Apart from this, the tool has enabled us to precisely structure the service desk, reducing by 70% the number of phone calls and emails to better filled forms on the customer portal and the use of a chat addon.

Pros

- High Control
- Wide choices of features
- Confluence Integration
- Very rich suite of addons on premise version...

Cons

- ...which requires extra costs
- Some features are too basic and pretty much requires addons
- Learning Curve for admin requires effort

Alternatives Considered

ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

Switched From

Lansweeper
Mai
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 02/10/2022

Famous tool, yet can still be better

Reasonable experience

Pros

It has a very high adoption rate and big user base, therefore there are a lot of tutorials on how to do some certain things with Jira Service Management. That's a big advantage.

Cons

Nevertheless, quite a few features JIRA Service Management can enhance. For instance, the search engine of the whole JIRA is not yet powerful, although it is expected to be powerful because it's a system that administrates a large number of tickets. Searching using text often results in poor results. Additionally, it is currently not possible for searching for some phrases that belong to a hyperlink that is hidden inside a text.
Additionally, it is not yet possible to create a new type of relationship that links an issue with another issue. Currently one can only choose from a dropdown of relationship types that are already available there.

Marta
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 03/05/2023

A truly powerful help desk management tool

Once past the cumbersome process of agreeing on workflows and setting everything up, the journey with Jira Service Desk has been pretty smooth. I recommend it for teams looking to deal with multiple sources of tickets. Streamlining the process buys more problem-solving time, which users of our application always appreciate!

Pros

Easy use for the agents (help desk consultants) is why we decided on this tool. The ability to connect tasks to our regular projects in Jira Software is another winner feature because it saves a lot of time and allows better communication between teams.

Cons

The major downside to Jira Service Desk is customizing it. I don't know if anyone uses it straight out of the box, but for us, it was necessary to spend a couple of days customizing workflows, screens, and general settings.Another rather annoying thing is the vagueness of the agents' assignments which determines how much we pay for licenses.

Guibson
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 18/08/2023

Great Project Management Tool that enables teams to cross collaborate and become efficient

It is very user friendly, once the adoption and the knowledge of what is trying to be achieved, Tasks become a huge help on a daily project lifecycle

Pros

The most important part of the Jira functionality is the availability to enable teams to create, update, comment, assign, and establish a clear channel, and expectations that are required to complete a project in an organized and efficient fashion, the feasibility of documenting and creating a project status report based on tasks, pre-defined or project tailored tasks.

Cons

I believe that graphical interface dashboards would help to be robust, meaning, more detailed information, and the availability to generate clear reports is always useful for clients that don't want to access Jira, and just want an insight dashboard or the Project Lifecycle.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Market Research
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 29/07/2018

Unlike others, doesn't need complex configuration

With the help of Service Desk we get feedback from users about the bugs they find in the product. As the result, we fix them really fast. By adding fields that users need to add while submitting bug, we decrease time that is needed to reproduce bug or clarify the issue. Also, we can communicate with user directly if needed.
At the same time user can always get back and see status of ticket they submitted.
Also, it says a lot when you see Atlassian using its own product and using it really well.

Pros

When you use this application as an addition to JIRA, it is a great tandem. I adviced my company to use Service Desk when we were discussing how to receive bugs and ad-hoc requests. We are using this application fro several years and we do not think about changing it.

Cons

The only bad point that I can mention about Service Desk is its price. A lot of clients I worked with complained about it. They manage really carefully the number of users that are Agents (users you actually pay for), and get really upset if they were not carefull enough and their bill was higher then they expected.

Shubham Vasantrao
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 11/01/2023

The best Ticket/Bug Tracking Tool

Pros

1) We mainly used this tool to plan our tasks for the projects we were working on.2) Creating Sprint Cycles and assigning tickets for each issue is very convenient using JIRA3) We can see the progress made by the ticket owner in the ticket description.4) There is a very brief and concise Audit history which we can track to see how the ticket status has changed5) I like the customization feature for each team and each product. We can choose what statuses and workflow our ticket should go through and select and arrange them very quickly.6) We can even link the BitBucket repo link and confluence link with our JIRA ticket, which is very handy for developers.

Cons

It can be sometimes overwhelming for newcomers, especially when one is not that familiar with JIRA and its terminologies, and it does have its learning curve.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 02/01/2023

JIRA - Can't live without it

Pros

Jira allows us to track individual issues across the organization accurately by assigning unique identifiers. It allows us to effectively manage our issues using groupings(epics), Releases, and sprints.

Cons

Starting new projects on the SAAS is a bit tricky to get it to match older configs you are interested in as it is geared towards kickstarting new users.

Alternatives Considered

GitHub and Asana
665 reviews