NCR Counterpoint Reviews

3.6
Overall rating
Reviews

3.6
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About NCR Counterpoint

The NCR Counterpoint solution includes an e-mail marketing tool, integrated e-commerce, mobile alerting, built-in gift card and customer loyalty programs and hardware specifically designed for the retail environment. The NCR...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
3.4
Features
3.6
Ease of Use
3.6
Customer Support
3.5

Browse NCR Counterpoint Reviews

89 of 89 reviews
Sort by:
Beth
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 11/10/2012

First, an explanation on ratings. I would have given it five stars for Ease of Use, except that I am a new user and am still learning my way around the system. That said, it is easy to figure out how to do certain tasks, but when I can't figure it out, their customer support is top notch.

We are a small farm that produces approximately 1,300 gallons of maple syrup each year, and we raise alpacas for their fiber. Our farm store is stocked with maple syrup and maple goodies, plus an inventory of alpaca products, from yarn to apparel to accessories.

I went with CounterPoint, v8.4 because it is affiliated with NCR, a major corporation that has been around a long time. The implementation team at Radiant Systems was excellent. I had the system installed on my laptop, and so far it is working great. As a new user, I am still learning how to do certain tasks, and the project team has continued to hold my hand until I have mastered all the basics. We're almost there....

It is too early to tell how I have benefited from the system, but I am looking forward to comparing my holiday retail season to last year, when I had little time to enjoy the holidays and limited resources to control my inventory.

CounterPoint allows you to add on modules, such as integrated website management, gift card processing, scheduling and ticket sales, etc. RCS outsources these modules to other companies so they can focus directly on the point of sale functionality and improvements and assure that the modules work properly with CounterPoint.

Lastly, RCS invited me to their users conference, which I highly recommend to any user of this POS program. The informational sessions covered all kinds of topics to better use CounterPoint, and it included sessions on retailing strategies that I found very helpful. RCS is truly a class act.

Greg
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4.5
Reviewed on 16/08/2011

We operate a marine wholesale distributorship, along with a retail operation. Our three sources of revenue are store traffic, phone orders and Internet orders.

Our previous software system, while specific to the marine industry and bundled with features we sorely miss, was unable to integrate e-commerce, point of sale, and shipping functionality. The time we spent dealing with each order on three different levels was time-consuming, and also allowed for the introduction of errors.

We are currently running version 8.3.9 of CounterPoint, but will be upgrading to 8.4 as soon as the season slows this fall. The implementation experience was choppy, to say the least, due to a reseller that wasn't up to speed on the software. This hiccup notwithstanding, we were able grasp the basics and run with it.

We have been using CounterPoint for just under two years now and the watershed moment was when we switched partners nine months into the project. Our reseller's knowledge of the system and ability to teach us its functionality have allowed us to move forward at a rapid pace. The program is easy to use, and a common logic follows through the system so even when playing with new features, the desired result is easy to achieve.

Our current partner could stand to be slightly more responsive, especially to issues I consider to be very basic requirements in a system of this size and power.

We are currently 95% integrated with UPS WorldShip. The only thing holding us back from 100% integration is CounterPoint's inability to receive tracking numbers back from WorldShip without cumbersome export and import of data, or utilizing a third-party program. We are currently investigating CPOnline with the hope of having full vertical integration by January 1, 2012.

So far, we have been able to streamline sales, shipping & purchasing with more good things to come!

MARK
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
2

1
Reviewed on 09/05/2019

WRONG SYSTEM FOR OUR BUSINESS

NONE

Pros

THE POS FRONT END OF SYSTEM IS OK NOT MUCH

Cons

WE ARE A WHOLE SALE RETAIL GARDEN CENTER . THIS SYSTEM NOT DESIGNED TO MANAGE ACCOUNTS AT ALL ,YOU HAVE TO CLICK AROUND ALL OVER TO FIND DIFFERENT INFO THAT SHOULD BE ACCESSIBLE FROM SAME SCENE , DIFFICULT TO ADJUST INVENTORY, OR CHANGE COST , I'VE BEEN IN THIS BUSINESS FOR 30 YEARS AND USED VARIES OTHER POS/CMS SYSTEM THIS IS THE WORSE !!!! AND MOST EXSPENSIVE POS(PIECE OF SHIT ) I'VE EVER USED ,WHOEVER WROTE THIS PROGRAM KNOWS NOTHING ABOUT HOW A BUSINESS LIKES THIS WORKS OPERATES , IT'S FOR RESTAURANT,OR CLOTHINGS STORES (MAYBE) BUT NOT FOR OUR BUSINESS OR ANY OTHER LIKE IT. THE COMPANY THAT SOLD IT TO THE OWNWERS DID NO RESEARCH OR ASK ANY QUESTIONS ABOUT OUR NEEDS . THEY JUST STUCK A SQUARE PEG IN A ROUND HOLE AND ASKED 60K. I WOULDN'T RECCOMMEND IT

Top NCR Counterpoint Alternatives

Rebecca
  • Industry: Retail
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 20/01/2015

CounterPoint is one of the most functional POS software on the market

Pros

CounterPoint and RCS, to me, are like the cream and sugar in my coffee (and I've gotta have my coffee fix every day). I can't imagine CounterPoint without RCS! What is coffee without sugar? RCS is there for you every time you need them or just have a question!
I'm a systems administrator who has been effectively using CounterPoint SQL for more than 2 years now. CounterPoint is one lean, mean calculating machine; it has made a day and night difference in our daily business routines. With CounterPoint, we are so much more efficient and effective, 100% of the time.
RCS supports this product so well that they came out to our first Go Live store deployment to make sure we were ready and set to go. At the Go Live, we hit the ground running and haven't looked back. Counterpoint SQL with RCS leading the way has made all things possible, including making our working lives so much better! The reporting has saved store managers valuable time and freed them up to allow them do more in keeping the daily operations under control. Accounting knows what is going on at any given moment, and Retail management has seen such an overall improvement in the way our business runs and functions. They just keep expanding and using CounterPoint for more and more.

Cons

There isn't anything to not like about either RCS or CounterPoint.

Terri
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 23/01/2012

Our organization is a non-profit organization, but has a specialized shop. Our shop hours are not normal retail and our customers are sometimes very demanding. Our inventory ranges from thousands of patches to clothing, jewelry, etc. We have used CounterPoint since 2005. Our shop previously had a cash register and the old source of look and order on inventory. In 2005 the shop was handed over to new management, who researched and concluded to use CounterPoint. I have been at this shop for over two years and transferred from another shop that also used CounterPoint. We had version 7.5 until this past August and we upgraded to SQL. Version 7 was great to work with but SQL is so much more... We are able to resource more reports than before, with the ease of being able to have the help menu available.

The training of staff was so easy and quick to pickup. My staff and myself have had such a great time adapting to the new software. It is so easy to track inventory, sales, customers, and again the use of many new and different reports that help us on a daily basis. Our favorite is the 2 or 3 steps at the End of Day, with the older version there were so many steps and this is 1,2,3 and complete. Our support team is highly professional and always answers our calls in a timely manner. We are also excited because we do not HAVE to call them as much now with the new SQL. I would highly recommend CounterPoint to anyone who asks.

Kevin
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 09/02/2017

Small Retail Operations

Our experience with NCR was great! Opening our first retail B&M was quite the challenge and NCR was able to help us with multiple tasks on one convenient platform. NCR featured all of the essentials. Time clock, multiple employee log-in, built-in CRM program, inventory management (I'll cover this more), and several other retail functionalities. We did not use many of the restaurant features as they were irrelevant to our operations. From memory, NCR Support was helpful and friendly, although the MAJOR issues we had took so long to fix, that we chose a different POS company in the long run.

Pros

Convenient UX, Desktop Retail Management, CRM, Time Clock with Reports, Inventory Management with 6 Week Moving Average and Several Reports, Quickbooks Online Integration

Cons

Overall untrustworthy Inventory Management! We had SEVERAL issues with NCR not recording a decrease in inventory after the sale. At the time, there was not a Purchase Order / Receiving framework. No transfers between multiple locations.

Donal
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 04/07/2015

Counterpoint, it's a thing.

Pros

This is a great point of sales system, I enjoy it because it is very easy to use during check-out, and makes it really simple to find certain items via the items tab whether you know the item number, or a part of the description, or the name of the item it's all great fun.

Cons

Navigation of Counterpoint can be a little iffy sometimes when you're trying to do something specific that Counterpoint may not accommodate for certain functions. As well, trying to find an old ticket freezes up our computers on occasion since we've had so many sales the system freezes, but we have some old computers anyways.

Mario
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

3.5
Reviewed on 03/07/2015

Competent POS software

Pros

Extensive tools and options for inventory tracking and management

Cons

The interface can be unintuitive and intimidating, especially to new users. It also seems to freeze a lot, but I don't know how much of that is the company's back end.

Erick
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
3.5
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 02/07/2015

Counterpoint works for the most part

Pros

The sales terminal is easy enough for new employees to get accustomed to.

Cons

Inventory searching. Interface of lists are walls of text. It becomes rather tiresome sorting through customized search queries.

Mark
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 21/04/2016

Nothing very special

It gets the job done, but not in any way that really sets it apart from the other POS systems I have tried. Additionally our IT team seems to have a hard time getting any new features rolled out

CHARLIE
  • Industry: Industrial Automation
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
2.5
Ease of Use
2.5
Customer Support
2.5

2.5
Reviewed on 06/11/2015

NEW VERSES OLD

Pros

FAIRLY EASY TO LEARN IF YOU CAN GET THROUGH ALL THE SCREENS. THER ARE A LOT OF GOOD FEATURES, LOTS OF GOOD INFORMATION JUST NOT IN THE FORMAT YOU WANT SOMETIMES.

Cons

WHAT SHOULD BE ON ONE SCREEN IS BROKEN DOWN TO 4 OR 5 CAUSING LOTS OF LOST TIME. AND THE SCREENS DO NOT SHOW THE WHOLE LINES WITHOUT MOVING COLUMNS EACH TIME AND IT DOES NOT SHOW THE WHOLE DESCRIPTION OF PARTS UNLESS YOU GO ZOOM EVERY TIME. THERE SEEMS TO BE NO ONE TO LISTEN TO THE PROBLEMS SO THEY CAN BE CORRECTED ON UPDATES. WE USED THE OLD COUNTER POINT FOR 15 YEARS IT NEVER GAVE ANY PROBLEMS AND WAS VERY USER FRINDLY. THE OLD COUNTERPOINT WAS SO MUCH EASIER TO READ THE SCREEN IT HAD LARGE PRINT AND A GOOD CHOOSE OF BACK GROUND COLORS, EVEN THOUGH WE GET BIGGER SCREENS THE PRINT SEEMS TO GET SMALLER. WHY DO PROGRAMS ONLY USE A SMALL PART OF THE SCREEN THESE DAYS INSTEAD OF THE WHOLE SCREEN AND MAKE THE PRINT BIGGER.

Sarah
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
1
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
2

1.5
Reviewed on 22/09/2011

We are a retailer of firearms and just found out we are the first guinea pigs to use Counterpoint SQL 8.4.3. Since firearms are a regulated industry, they are always serialized. We purchased the bound book module to facilitate tracking the acquisition & disposition of firearms. In general, I do not find the system intuitive from a laypersons perspective. I can ring up a sale. However, receiving trade-ins on guns doesn't work.

We can't take consignments. Serial #s are missing from the bound book table. Our VAR is too overwhelmed to speak to us for entire days, bringing our business to a standstill. There is a substantial list of fixes that have been submitted to the programmers, and no timetable has been given for when they will be completed. Meanwhile, our business is limping along.

Software is supposed to make your life easier, so you can run your business. It has made our life harder, and we are losing business because we are spending so much time dealing with constant problems with the system. I have to hand-write labels for our firearms because the software cannot accommodate what we need to print on the label. We have paid about $30K for a system that we are totally frustrated with, and no one will get back to us as to when things will be fixed.

Erik
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4.5
Reviewed on 17/06/2011

Overall, we're very happy with our purchase. From an point-of-sale perspective, it's very friendly. The back-office portion has some minor frustrations but has shown steady improvement. The important thing is that it met our requirements at a price point we could manage. Our integrator (Rapid Domains) has done excellent work at reasonable rates.

We do have one significant area of concern - like most software vendors, Radiant would like to increase their recurring revenue streams. In many areas where they provide additional services, this is appropriate. An example would be e-mail marketing. However, when they want to charge a monthly fee to have our system mine our data and send us e-mail alerts - I'm referring specifically to their Point of Sale Real-Time Alerts - we feel that's taking advantage of our somewhat locked-in relationship with them. It's not an end-of-the-world issue with us, but it raises suspicions that Radiant may heading towards more revenue-minded treatment of its customers than we've seen with other vendors.

For this reason, while CounterPoint SQL does handle our needs well, we can only give a cautious recommendation of the product and Radiant Systems.

Maria
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
2
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 05/04/2017

Still waiting...

Customer service is practically non-existent, and when we do get to talk to reps, they give us conflicting information. One person told us that there was no way to deduct past payments and still charge full sales tax, but another person suggested we create house accounts to fix the problem. That's great, but they sent us the procedure for NCR Silver Restaurant version, and that's not the software we're using. We're not a restaurant. We've been paying for three months and have yet to ring up our first order. I asked them to refund us since we're not up and running, but they said it's their policy to begin charging as soon as we receive the equipment (it doesn't matter if the stuff wasn't even out of the box). So disappointed in this POS system. We feel like we've been bamboozled!

Pros

The inventory system is great. The spreadsheets make it easy to update inventory and vendor information.

Cons

We're not sure how to deduct past layaway payments, store credit, and gift certificates and still charge the customer the correct sales tax. We've been waiting for customer service to call us back with the "fix" for two months.

Wing
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
2
Ease of Use
1.5
Customer Support
N/A

1.5
Reviewed on 02/07/2015

Has reliability and stability issues

Pros

It is better than using a ledger and pencil.
It is relatively easy to see store inventory.
It runs on lower end systems.

Cons

It freezes and crashes regularly despite efforts to fix or patch it.

Mary
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/01/2013

Nona Ruth's is a new table top retail gift shop. As a part of our star up we were in the market for a user friendly, robust point of sales system that would free up as much time as possible for taking care of our customers while at the same time providing as much info as possible to help us manage and grow our business. Just as important was the support and backup available from the provider.

We spent considerable time and effort evaluating every provider we could scare up.
CounterPoint and their local representative, Image Business Systems, has more than met our needs. The software is well designed, the initial training and start up effective, and the ongoing support very responsive.

We whole heartedly endorse CounterPoint and if you are looking in the Birmingham area, suggest you save yourself time and effort and go directly to Image Business Systems.

Rob
  • Industry: Retail
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
5

1.5
Reviewed on 02/07/2014

It's overly complicated and highly priced!

Pros

I cannot say anything nice about this product. There are many things we don't like about this product.

Cons

The system is overly complicated and confusing. We upgraded from their other version. The version 7 that we had before was simple to operate. In the other system, most of the functions was on the same menu. In this system, you now have to go through three to four different menus to get to the same thing, which takes time. The system runs very slowly and will stop for no apparent reason. It lacks key features; it doesn't even have a users manual. If you need to go to the help screen, the system will tell you what it is but not say how to use it.

Caleb
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 04/07/2011

We love our CounterPoint system! We have had in use for about a year and a half with no problems at all. Being a small business owner I have to spend a lot of time working. Since we purchased our system I have more time to focus on selling products and marketing my business, not to mention I get more time at home with my family.

The new system makes ordering and reordering easier than ever. The inventory management application is amazing. With one click you can see what you have and what you need. When it comes time to perform the physical count of inventory it is so simple, what used to take a week now takes a day.

The software has so many things that streamline the day-to-day operations. It is capable of telling me anything and everything that is going on in the store at any time. We can see where we are from day to day and year to year.

chantal
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
1

2
Reviewed on 14/09/2017

It has been a bad transition from Counterpoint on line.

I can't wait to switch over to something new. I am getting no resolution on my issues and all I get from support is no support at all.

Cons

I have experience problems with all aspect of this software. Orders are being lost and irretrievable. pricing is not moving from counterpoint to the website. WE have to manually import orders. very unhappy

Ankhang
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3.5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 22/07/2015

Not too shabby.

Pros

Big, easy to navigate buttons, and easy to locate items through inventory system

Cons

Could be our servers, but sometimes it takes a while to load windows, scrape for items.

Bernadette
  • Industry: Museums & Institutions
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
2.5
Ease of Use
2.5
Customer Support
N/A

2.5
Reviewed on 28/09/2016

Volunteer that uses this.

Pros

Simple touch screen options for selecting product and checking out

Cons

Outside of the main screens the system seems overcomplicated

Kelsey
  • Industry: Sporting Goods
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
3.5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 16/08/2014

Correct Information

Pros

There are some people that obviously don't know how to use this system. You can send beginning and end dates to promotions and sales. Pretty much every function I have needed, I have been able to find. I especially love the ability to export almost anything to CSV to quickly manage our 14k SKUs.

Cons

Get the right rep! There are some great reps out there, but don't buy this from Automated Office Systems in Salt Lake. You will be sorry!

Bo
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4.5

4.5
Reviewed on 23/12/2014

Overall a good tool

Pros

The design and interface is slick and user friendly, also the keyboards.The software is robust and runs smoothly in almost all occasions. The product is compact compared to the products from other suppliers. I must say, this is a very good tool for cashiers, accountants, it is worth the money spent.

Cons

The display panel could be larger, and the processing speed needs to be improved.

Ariday
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 29/11/2016

Ariday's Review

NCR is a great system. I loved how it worked with my company, and I have seen it at other big companies like our local grocery shop. It is highly recommended.

Denni
  • Industry: Retail
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
2.5
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1.5
Reviewed on 05/11/2014

Not an upgrade

Pros

The jury is still out. We are still trying to find our way through SQL. We used Counterpoint V7 for years, and SQL is like buying a whole new, unfamiliar system.

Cons

I think SQL was deliberately made different, complicated, and unrelated to V7 to generate profit for not only ncr, but for the support companies as well.

89 reviews